DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/29/24; 6/10/25; and 9/24/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers as filed 8/29/2024 and claiming certified copy of PCT/KR2023/003119, KR 10-2022-0030577 as made available under the PCT and received at the International Bureau.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites as a parenthetical expression “control of water content” as if it is a species of the intended use of “controlled modification” recited in the preamble. It is unclear whether this species recitation is a requirement or a potential recommendation of the claimed controlled modification intended use parameter, and interpretation of the claim language as written may reasonably vary from one artisan to another. Claims 2-17 require all limitations of claim 1. Appropriate clarification is required.
In claim 10, there are multiple components recited qualitatively with regard to a weight ratio however only two numbers in a weight ratio such as a range of what may be considered a part and a whole or a numerator and a denominator. How to interpret the ranges and parts/wholes may vary from one artisan to another.
Similarly, claim 13 includes a pushing force parenthetical expression which is similarly unclear.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20070046093 (Moller et al., “Moller”, translation enclosed).
The pending claims are drawn to a paste composition comprising at least two backbone polymers, a diglycidyl ether monomer, an active ingredient, and a carrier, wherein the at least two backbone polymers, the diglycidyl ether monomer, the active ingredient, or the mixture thereof is uniformly distributed in the carrier, the backbone polymers or the active ingredient includes an adhesive polymer having a single-helix structure to form a scaffold backbone, and the carrier is not reactive with the backbone polymers, the diglycidyl ether monomer, and the active ingredient. The preamble of claim 1 is interpreted as an intended use which does not impart further structural limitations into the claims beyond the structural components otherwise listed and addressed below.
Moller teaches a paste which includes gelatin and hyaluronic acid cross-linked with 1,4-butanedioldiglycidyl ether in water wherein hyaluronic acid is added to gelatin to form a sponge having a porous structure (see [0036], [0060], [0078], [0106], [0107], [0161], [0168], and [0186]). Moller’s denatured collagen which is gelatin constitutes one of the at least two backbone polymers and hyaluronic acid the other backbone polymer (see page 4 of 23 of translation, first full paragraph) wherein the denatured collagen is considered a single-helix structure to form a scaffold backbone in accordance with the definitions provided in the instant specification as filed for instance at paragraph [0008] and paragraph [0024](see also limitation of instant claim 5 wherein hyaluronic acid and/or gelatin may be considered also as active ingredients).
Moller further includes 1,4-butanedioldiglycidyl ether as a chemical crosslinker (see page7 of 23 of translation, first paragraph line 3)(“a diglycidyl ether monomer” as in claim 1). Moller teaches saline as a most preferred solvent which may be considered a carrier of the paste formulation (see page 7 of 23 of translation, paragraph starting “The paste may be obtained by suspending particles…”), and this portion of Moller generally describes suspension of a stabilized paste formulation which appears to describe a uniform distribution in a carrier, as recited further in claim 1 and wherein the carrier would not be considered reactive with backbone polymers or additional claimed components as also further recited in claim 1. Moller teaches that the formulations may include active agents such as thrombin-stabilizing agents or for instance an active agent which is aprotinin or pepstatin or fibronectin or tranexamic acid for instance (see claim 7).
Because Moller does not teach a single embodiment necessarily including the requisite components claimed, this rejection is made using obviousness rationale. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the aforementioned elements in a single product or in a single process of making a hemostatic sponge surface as taught by Moller, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so where Moller teaches structural and functional advantages of each formulation component as addressed above, and one reasonably would have expected success from combining these known elements into a single embodiment of the invention for hemostatic functionality in medical applications.
Regarding claim 3, Moller teaches that collagen denatured results in gelatin which may be used as the gelatin component (see page 4 of 23, first full paragraph of translation).
Regarding claim 4, Moller suggests that the hyaluronic acid may be added to gelatin to form a sponge with the hyaluronic acid bound to the inside of the sponge and uniformly located inside a reticulate sponge structure (see [0060] and [0186]), which appears to be a structure the same or substantially the same as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Moller teaches hyaluronic acid and water (see [0106]).
Regarding claim 7, Moller teaches cellulose components including carboxymethylcellulose in addition to the aforementioned gelatin and collagen components (see “The biologically absorbable material…” paragraph of translation).
Regarding claim 8, Moller teaches that surfactants including starches may be included (see “Examples of nonionic surfactants” paragraph of translation).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Moller appears to teach the same or substantially the same components to be used in a product for the very same purpose, however Moller does not recite an amount of carrier as a weight percentage or weight ratios of formulation components as in the respective claims. Accordingly, as to the absolute and/or relative amounts which may be expressed as weight ratios, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform routine optimization procedures with regard to the amounts, parts and wholes, to achieve the desired end result such as adhesive efficacy and total formulation hemostatic effect and stability, as is customary in the art. One would have been motivated to do so as part of routine inquiry to maximize stability and benefits and minimize undesired physical properties for instance.
Regarding claim 18, Moller teaches a method for preparing a paste by including hyaluronic acid solution with a sponge having a porous structure and performing crosslinkage and subsequent wetting the sponge in a saline solution to make a paste, steps which appear to achieve a base formulation, a porous scaffold, and obtaining a biodegradable injectable paste the same or substantially the same as claimed, absent evidence to the contrary. Moller teaches the sponge may be mixed, dried by heating, and sterilized as well as subsequent grinding into powder or flakes for instance by milling, extrusion, granulation, or similar (see page 7 of 23 of translation, in particular).
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20070046093 (Moller et al., “Moller”, translation enclosed) as applied to claims 1-10 and 18 above, and further in view of KR20130123080A (Lee et al., hereafter “Lee”, translation enclosed).
The teachings of Moller as they pertain to claims 1-10 and 18 have been delineated above. Further regarding claim 11, Moller does not specify the paste to include micro-hydrogel particles including the components otherwise addressed above and having the characteristics and/or characteristic functions and intended processes of use further recited in claim 11 (“that maintiains a balance between viscosity and elasticity by including…” and “exhibits a paste form that is applicable to an application site using one syringe by comprising the carrier in an amount…”). It is noted that Moller teaches injection (“In addition to the above test method,” paragraph of translation) thereby suggesting Moller’s paste is injectable. As to the claim language “obtained from” and “offers a form…” and “exhibits a paste form that is applicable…”, these functions appear inseparable from the structural components addressed above in regard to claim 1 and to be used for the very same purpose.
As to the micro-hydrogel particles recited in claim 11 and the specific size recited in claims 12 and 13, Lee cures this deficiency. Like Moller, Lee teaches crosslinked hyaluronic acid materials and process of making these for application to biological tissue (see abstract, in particular). Lee’s Example 1 teaches pulverization of the washed hyaluronic acid crosslinked material to a particle size of 100 to 500 micrometers (see translation of Example 1), a range entirely included by the range recited in claims 12 and 13.
As to the tack value recited in claim 14, the water content character recited in claim 15, the blood coagulation index in claim 16, and the viscosity character in claim 17, Lee teaches the tack as a function of concentration of hyaluronic acid crosslinked as measured using a rheometer (see Example 2, Figure 2, and Test Example 2). Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971). Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) citing In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531, 173 USPQ 685 (1972). In the instant case, it is the examiner’s position that the tack value claimed in claim 14 appears to be the same or substantially the same as would have resulted from the combination of Moller and Lee teachings to be used for the very same purpose. Similarly, the water content and blood coagulation index properties described in claims 15 and 16 as well as the viscosity further detailed in Lee’s Test Example 1 complex viscosity measurement methods of analysis appear to be the same or substantially the same as would have resulted from the combination of Moller’s hemostatic material with Lee’s hyaluronic acid tissue adhesion material, absent evidence to the contrary.
Both Moller and Lee pertain to functional hyaluronic acid or similar materials for topical application in hemostatic and/or wound treating type applications. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the elements outlined above wherein the particles are in the form of a micro-scale hydrogel material, as suggested by Lee using the components of Moller, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to facilitate good formulation of usable products with a stable physical formulation as suggested by Lee. Further, one would have been motivated to measure and/or optimize additional parameters including particle size, particle diameter pushing force, tack force, water content, blood coagulation index, and viscosity so to achieve the desired end result for instance as a function of hyaluronic acid or equivalent concentration as reasonably suggested by the teachings of Moller and Lee considered as a whole by the ordinary artisan. One would have been motivated to do so to facilitate good physical stability for story and for use as a hemostatic and/or topical or injectable formulation in accordance with the teachings of Moller and Lee.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617