DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng US PG-PUB 2022/0268617 A1 (hereafter Zheng), prior art of record as being the US equivalent of WO 2021227144 listed as the third reference under the heading “Foreign Patent Documents” on the IDS filed 29 August 2024.
As to claim 1: Zheng discloses a filling level measurement arrangement (20; see fig. 3) for measuring the fill level in a reservoir (10; see fig. 1 and ¶ 15), the filling level measurement arrangement being arrangeable above a surface of a substance present in the reservoir (see ¶ 25), the filling level measurement arrangement comprising:
a sensor housing (24; see fig. 2 and ¶ 17) with a base plate (241; see fig. 5 and ¶ 18) which defines an interior space (not labeled but see the space considered to be in an interior space in fig. 2), the underside of the base plate (241) being configured to face the surface of the substance (see ¶ 24 and 25 regarding the relative position of the base plate to the fluid measured),
a sensor arrangement (see fig. 5; the components depicted therein are considered to constitute a sensor arrangement) with an evaluation electronic system (41; see figs. 2 and 5 as well as ¶ 21) and a sensor element (420; see fig. 5 and ¶ 23) is arranged in the interior space of the sensor housing (24) (see fig. 2) , the sensor element (420) is arranged in the base plate (241; see ¶ 24) and is designed to send a measurement signal in the direction of the surface of the substance and to receive a reflection signal reflected by the surface of the substance in response to the measurement signal (see ¶ 24 and 25), the sensor element (420) being set back in the base plate (241) with respect to the underside of the base plate (see fig. 5 and ¶ 24), in the direction of the interior space of the sensor housing (see fig. 2).
As to claim 2: Zheng discloses the filling level measurement arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the base plate (241) has a cylindrical hole (242; see fig. 5 and ¶ 24) in which the sensor element (420) is arranged (see ¶ 24).
As to claim 4: Zheng discloses the filling level measurement arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the filling level measuring arrangement (20; see fig. 3) is arranged centrally above the reservoir (10) (see fig. 3 regarding the position of the level measuring arrangement 20 and reservoir 10).
As to claim 6: Zheng discloses the filling level measurement arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the base plate (241) is interchangeable (see fig. 5 and ¶ 18; the base plate is a component of cover 24 but is distinct therein and can therefore be removed if so desired and is therefore considered to be interchangeable) and/or wherein the base plate has an interchangeable insert in which the sensor element is fastened.
As to claim 7: Zheng discloses the filling level measurement arrangement according to claim 2, wherein the filling level measurement arrangement (20) is arranged centrally above the reservoir (10) (see fig. 3 regarding the position of the level measuring arrangement 20 and reservoir 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng US PG-PUB 2022/0268617 A1 (hereafter Zheng), prior art of record as being the US equivalent of WO 2021227144 listed as the third reference under the heading “Foreign Patent Documents” on the IDS filed 29 August 2024 in view of Krietemeier et al. US Pat 6,311,868 B1 (hereafter Krietemeier).
As to claim 5: Zheng teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 1, including a base plate (241), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the base plate is an injection moulding element.
However, Krietemeier teaches a plate (112; fig. 1) is an injection moulding element (see col. 8, lines 19-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng’s base plate to be an injection moulding element because injection molding provides the useful and predictable results of a consistent manufacturing method that is precise, repeatable, durable, and especially useful for storing liquids because it can produce leak resistant shapes/materials without welding lines and is therefore particularly useful in applications where liquids are being stored and thus would be useful to Zheng’s device by prevention of leaks or potential leaky weld/bond locations.
As to claim 8: Zheng teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 7, including a base plate (241), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the base plate is an injection moulding element.
However, Krietemeier teaches a plate (112; fig. 1) is an injection moulding element (see col. 8, lines 19-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng’s base plate to be an injection moulding element because injection molding provides the useful and predictable results of a consistent manufacturing method that is precise, repeatable, durable, and especially useful for storing liquids because it can produce leak resistant shapes/materials without welding lines and is therefore particularly useful in applications where liquids are being stored and thus would be useful to Zheng’s device by prevention of leaks or potential leaky weld/bond locations.
As to claim 9: Zheng as modified by Krietemeier teaches the filling level measurement arrangement according to claim 8, wherein the base plate (241 of Zheng) is interchangeable (see Zheng fig. 5 and ¶ 18; the base plate is a component of cover 24 but is distinct therein and can therefore be removed if so desired and is therefore considered to be interchangeable) and/or wherein the base plate has an interchangeable insert in which the sensor element is fastened.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3: The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious to the skilled artisan a filling level measurement arrangement wherein the base plate has a conical hole, wherein the sensor element is arranged in the tip of the conical hole, when considered in combination with the other limitations as recited in the instant claim and those of parent claim 1.
In particular, while it is known from the prior art to make use of a conical hole in a sensor arrangement, (see, for example Dieterle et al. US PG-PUB 2022/0291331 A1 ¶ 16 [hereafter Dieterle]), there is no reasonable teaching, suggestion, or other motivation to combine the teaching of Dieterle with any of the other cited prior art of record to arrive at Applicant’s claimed invention as set forth by the limitations of claim 3.
As to claims 10-12: Each of said claims depend ultimately from claim 3 and accordingly each is also objected to as containing allowable subject matter at least by virtue of depending from a claim that is itself objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN M ROYSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2855