DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: “bath temperature of from 200 to 1500°C” should have only one preposition. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a pre-forming step of forming”. This limitation is grammatically improper, as a pre-forming step should precede a forming, not be the forming. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Hasegawa et al. (JP H10-017977).
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa teaches a Mo-Si alloy (¶ 10) containing 35%-45% Si (¶ 12) and 0.1%-5% Cu (¶¶ 13-14). This lies within the claimed range. The Mo-Si alloy is expected to inherently contain silicides, absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Watanabe et al. (JP 2003-055761).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a molybdenum silicide or tungsten silicide containing sputtering target containing 10-300 ppm (0.001%-0.03%) Au or Ag (abstract). This lies within the claimed range.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by Kieffer et al. (US 3,086,886).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-9, Kieffer teaches a component comprising molybdenum, tungsten, or their alloys (col. 1, lines 16-17). The component is submerged in a molten bath containing 3%-30% silicon and the remainder copper (col. 2, lines 3-10). Preferably, the bath contains 10%-15% Si (col. 2, lines 28-30). The molten bath is maintained at a temperature of 800°C -1300°C (col. 3, lines 9-14). Kieffer teaches up to 50% of the copper in the copper-silicon bath may be replaced by Sn or Ag additions (col. 3, lines 23-27). The Cu and Sn/Ag corresponds to the claimed element X. This results in a silicide coating layer on the alloy, with elements from the bath adhered thereon (col. 2, lines 10-15).
Kieffer does not expressly teach the silicide coating contains 0.001%-10% by mass of Cu, Sn, or Ag. However, the process of forming the silicide coating in Kieffer is substantially identical to the process for making the claimed silicide. The instant specification states forming a silicon bath containing 0.001%-99.99% mass Si with a remainder of element X (Spec., ¶ 70), ideally 0.01%-50% or 0.1%-20% (Spec., ¶ 75). The temperature of the bath is 200°C -1500°C (Spec., ¶ 70). The immersion time is at least one minute (Spec., ¶ 77). In comparison, the process of Kieffer uses a bath containing 10%-15% Si (col. 2, lines 28-30) maintained at a temperature of 800°C -1300°C (col. 3, lines 9-14). In addition, the immersion time is forty minutes (col. 3, lines 19). Where the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of anticipation has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. This is the case here, as every process parameter disclosed in Kieffer lies within the process parameters for making the claimed product. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the prior art product to be identical to the claimed product, absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Kieffer teaches the molybdenum body is shaped and cleaned prior to immersion in the copper-silicon bath (col. 2, lines 3-4). This intrinsically is a pre-forming step.
Regarding claims 11-12, the metal silicide component disclosed in Kieffer is intrinsically capable of functioning as a heating element or electric resistor (see col. 1, line 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al. (EP 0886458).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Wan discloses a (Mo,W)Si2 heating element containing up to 0.05% mass Cu or Au (abstract). This overlaps the claimed range, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 12, a heating element is intrinsically an electric resistor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alexander (US 2,866,724) discloses a Mo or W silicide comprising Cu silicide but does not disclose the claimed ratios.
/XIAOBEI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784