DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 06 April 2026, regarding application number 18/842,671.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 4-11 remain pending in the application, while claims 2-3 have been cancelled. Claims 10-11 are new.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the objection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 16 January 2026. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-, filed 06 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 4-9 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and with respect to new claims 10-11, have been fully considered but are not persuasive for at least the reasons discussed in the prior office action. However, upon further consideration and for the purpose of compact prosecution, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of newly cited references Yoshikawa (US 20020091461 A1) and Atohira et al. (US 20180121578 A1).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a. “communication unit” in claims 1 and 10
b. “storage unit” in claims 1 and 10
c. “teaching unit” in claims 1, 4, 7-8 and 10
d. “execution control unit” in claims 1 and 5
e. “force sense value acquisition unit” in claim 1
f. “error correction unit” in claim 1
g. “simulation unit” in claim 6
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Regarding the limitations reciting the “units”, the specification discloses a computer in Figure 1 and Paragraph [0014] and an algorithm for performing the claimed functions in Paragraphs [0014]-[0026], in the specification filed on 29 August 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 20170139397 A1 and Kawai hereinafter), in view of Kim et al. (US 20180264648 A1 and Kim hereinafter), Inoue (US 20140214203 A1 and Inoue hereinafter) and Yoshikawa (US 20020091461 A1 and Yoshikawa hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Kawai teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs., especially Fig. 2, loader 110 and main spindles 121-122; [0007], [0040]-[0041 "The loader 110 includes a loader head 111 and a loader driver 113. For example, the loader 110 carries the workpiece W between the main spindles 121 and 122 (to be discussed later) and a workpiece carrier 125."] and [0052]-[0053]), the robot control device comprising:
a communication unit configured to transmit and receive a signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the machine tool (see Figs. 1A and 4A-7B, communicator 30; [0007]-[0008], [0022], [0027] and [0080]-[0082 "Then the controller 70 causes the operation terminal 100 to transmit the information, such as the machining program, stored in the storage 80 to the industrial machine 200, on the basis of an operation made by the operator. In the industrial machine 200, the controller 130 controls the operation of the loader 110, machine tool 120, or the like on the basis of the received information, such as the machining program."]);
a storage unit configured to store specifications of the signal that the communication unit transmits and receives (see Figs. 1A and 4A-7B, storage 80; [0034 "The storage 80 stores various types of information, including programs and data used by the controller 70 to perform control. Examples of the information stored in the storage 80 include information about the communication destination of the communicator 30. Examples of the communication destination of the communicator 30 include the industrial machine 200, as well as a computer (not shown) of a management center that manages the industrial machine 200."], [0049], [0059] and [0078]-[0082 "Then the controller 70 causes the operation terminal 100 to transmit the information, such as the machining program, stored in the storage 80 to the industrial machine 200, on the basis of an operation made by the operator."]);
a teaching unit configured to set the signal that the communication unit transmits and receives (see Figs. 1A and 4A-7B, operation terminal 100; [0007], [0022], [0049 "The operation terminal 100 is able to operate at least one of the loader 110 and machine tool 120 by wireless communication."], [0059] and [0078]-[0082 "Then the controller 70 causes the operation terminal 100 to transmit the information, such as the machining program, stored in the storage 80 to the industrial machine 200, on the basis of an operation made by the operator."]), to receive an input by a user, and to set an operation procedure for robot to supply or pick up the workpiece, based on the input received (see [0030], [0052]-[0053], [0059 "In this state, the operator of the operation terminal 100 or the operator of the industrial machine 200 operates the operation panel 140 to register the X, Z, and Y coordinates of the loader chuck 112 in a storage or the like disposed in the controller 130. Thus, the position setter 131 sets the coordinates of the first position P1 in the industrial machine 200. Subsequently, the operator manually performs similar operations using the operation terminal 100, and the position setter 131 sets the positions of the loader chuck 112 corresponding to respective operations, in the industrial machine 200. Examples of the positions include a second position P2 in which the loader chuck 112 passes the workpiece W to the main spindle 121, a third position P3 in which the loader chuck 112 passes the workpiece W to the main spindle 122, a position in which the workpiece is carried out, and a position in which the loader chuck 112 reverses the workpiece W using a reversing device (not shown) and holds it in a different manner."] and [0082]); and
an execution control unit configured to cause the fastening mechanism and the robot to execute the operation procedure (see [0047 "In this case, the controller 130 may control the operation of the loader 110 and machine tool 120 on the basis of a program stored in the storage of the higher-order controller."]-[0053]).
Although it may be implied, Kawai does not explicitly teach the signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the fastening mechanism.
Kawai is additionally silent regarding the teaching unit configured to set an operation procedure for the fastening mechanism;
a force sense value acquisition unit configured to acquire a force sense value that reflects a force generated by interaction between the workpiece and the robot when the operation procedure is executed; and
an error correction unit configured to correct an error of a position and a posture of the robot during the operation procedure, based on the force sense value acquired by the force sense value acquisition unit to decrease the force sense value during the operation procedure of the fastening mechanism.
Kim teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs., especially Fig. 9, robot arm 110 and chuck 520; [0005]-[0009]), the robot control device comprising:
a communication unit configured to transmit and receive a signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the fastening mechanism (see Fig. 3, communication interface unit 330; [0013], [0034 "Furthermore, the robot controller 120 can include a communication interface unit 330. For example, if the robot controller 120 communicates with a machine tool that is the target machine 140 of the robot motion, the communication interface unit 330 can a) transmit a request to confirm the normal operation of the machine tool to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool; b) transmit a processing start command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool; c) transmit a chuck open command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool, and d) transmit a chuck close command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool."] and [0045]);
a storage unit configured to store specifications (see Fig. 3, data storage unit 360; [0041] and [0048 "The data storage unit 360 can store the work type of the robot motion, the workflow of the robot motion for each work type, the information on the work environment in which the robot motion is performed, the work information on the robot motion, and the like."]);
a teaching unit configured to set the signal (see Fig. 3, teach pendant 130; Figs. 12-13, all; [0008], [0032], [0045] and [0085]-[0090]), to receive an input by a user, and to set an operation procedure for the robot to supply or pick up the workpiece, based on the input received (see Figs. 12-13, all; [0008]-[0009], [0040]-[0041], [0050]-[0051], [0085]-[0089 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the loading position of the material” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the material on the work tray 700 or the position information that the material is loaded to the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510."] and [0090 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the unloading position of the workpiece” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the workpiece from the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510 or the position information placing the workpiece on the work tray 700."]); and
an execution control unit configured to cause the fastening mechanism and the robot to execute the operation procedure (see [0008 "...the performing of the robot motion in accordance with the work type and the workflow of the robot motion by controlling the robot based upon the measured information on the work environment and the received work information on the robot motion..."] and [0041]).
Inoue teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (all Figs.; especially Fig. 1, robot 2, machine tool 5 and clamper 6; [0010] and [0025]-[0026]), the robot control device comprising:
a storage unit configured to store specifications of the signal (see Fig. 1, block storing part 11; [0010], [0028] and [0030]-[0032]);
a teaching unit configured to set the signal (see Fig. 1, selecting part 12 and/or selecting and inputting part 14; Fig. 3, all; [0010], [0030 "First, at step S11, the operator selects from the block storing part 11 any number of blocks which are required for forming an operating program."]-[0031 "The plurality of blocks which were selected at step S11 are displayed at the displaying part 13. As can be seen from FIG. 3, at step S11, the blocks “SELECT USER COORDINATE SYSTEM” L1, “SELECT TOOL COORDINATE SYSTEM” L2, “(ADVANCE TO) FRONT OF MACHINE” P1, “OPEN DOOR” L3, “PLACE UNPROCESSED WORKPIECE” P2, “RELEASE WORKPIECE” L4, “CLAMP WORKPIECE” L5, “(RETRACT TO) FRONT OF MACHINE” P3, “CLOSE DOOR” L6, “STAND BY” P4 are selected."], [0031] and [0037]),
to receive an input by a user, and to set an operation procedure for the fastening mechanism and the robot to supply or pick up the workpiece, based on the input received (see Fig. 3, all, especially L3 and L5; [0030]-[0031 "The plurality of blocks which were selected at step S11 are displayed at the displaying part 13. As can be seen from FIG. 3, at step S11, the blocks “SELECT USER COORDINATE SYSTEM” L1, “SELECT TOOL COORDINATE SYSTEM” L2, “(ADVANCE TO) FRONT OF MACHINE” P1, “OPEN DOOR” L3, “PLACE UNPROCESSED WORKPIECE” P2, “RELEASE WORKPIECE” L4, “CLAMP WORKPIECE” L5, “(RETRACT TO) FRONT OF MACHINE” P3, “CLOSE DOOR” L6, “STAND BY” P4 are selected."], [0031] and [0037]); and
an execution control unit configured to cause the fastening mechanism and the robot to execute the operation procedure (see [0025]-[0027 "The controller 10 is a digital computer. It controls the operations of the robot 2 and the machine tool 5 and acts as an operating program writing system which writes the operating program of the system 1."]).
Yoshikawa teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs.; [0011]), the robot control device comprising:
an execution control unit configured to cause the fastening mechanism and the robot to execute an operation procedure (see Fig. 3, all; [0011 ''A loader control device is a loader control device 20 for controlling a loader 5 which delivers a work W to a chuck 2 of an outer device 1."]-[0012 "According to this structure, the position of the loader chuck 14 is fixed to the work delivering position instructed beforehand, and the work W is delivered to the chuck 2 of the outer device 1. When the work W is held by the chuck 2 of the outer device 1 and becomes under a restricted state, in the case a displacement has occurred between the center position of the loader chuck 14 and the center position of the chuck 2 of the outer device 1, the torque of the motors 11, 12 for transferring the chuck position of the loader 5 increases."], [0027] and [0036]-[0037]);
a force sense value acquisition unit configured to acquire a force sense value that reflects a force generated by interaction between the workpiece and the robot when the operation procedure is executed (see Fig. 1, torque detection means 28-30 and/or displaced amount detecting means 31; [0011 "The displaced amount detecting means 31 detects by the torque of the motors 11, 12 of the loader 2, the displacement of the center position of a loader chuck 14 and the center position of the chuck 2 of the outer device 1, when a work W is delivered with the loader chuck 14 placed on the work delivering position."]-[0012], [0028 "Torque detecting means 28˜30 are provided to each of the driving system of the servomotors 11˜13 of each axis."] and [0036 "At the time being, the displaced amount detecting means 31 detects the displaced amount of the center position (02) (FIG. 4) of the loader chuck 14 and the center position (01) of the outer device chuck 2, from the torque of each servomotors 11˜13 when the loader chuck 14 becomes under a restricted state by being held by both the outer device chuck 2 and the loader chuck 13."]-[0037 "For example, as shown with chained line in FIG. 3, when the work W is held by both the spindle chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14, in the case the position of the loader chuck 14 is not fixed to an appropriate position, the torque in the X axis or Y axis direction is to become high. Since the direction of the torque can be known by +/−, it can be easily known to which side an excessive force is applying."]); and
an error correction unit configured to correct an error of a position and a posture of the robot during the operation procedure, based on the force sense value acquired by the force sense value acquisition unit to decrease the force sense value during the operation procedure of the fastening mechanism (see Figs. 3-4, all; [0011]-[0012], [0036 "At the time being, the displaced amount detecting means 31 detects the displaced amount of the center position (02) (FIG. 4) of the loader chuck 14 and the center position (01) of the outer device chuck 2, from the torque of each servomotors 11˜13 when the loader chuck 14 becomes under a restricted state by being held by both the outer device chuck 2 and the loader chuck 13. The adjusting means 32 adjusts this displaced amount to the coordinate data of the locating position (1), (2), . . . which corresponds to the locating position setting means 23. Therefore, the position is fixed to the adjusted coordinate value from the next time."]-[0037 "For example, as shown with chained line in FIG. 3, when the work W is held by both the spindle chuck 2 and the loader chuck 14, in the case the position of the loader chuck 14 is not fixed to an appropriate position, the torque in the X axis or Y axis direction is to become high. Since the direction of the torque can be known by +/−, it can be easily known to which side an excessive force is applying. According to this value and the direction, the locating is carried out by displacing the locating position by a determined amount in the next cycle. In the case a rather large torque is generated in the next cycle, the locating position is displaced even more. By carrying out this control by each cycle, the delivery can be carried out at an appropriate locating constantly."] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robot control device of Kawai to further transmit and receive a signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the fastening mechanism, as taught by Kim, in order to transmit fastening mechanism opening and closing commands and receive responses to the commands, to further automate a machining process.
It further would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robot control device of modified Kawai to set an operation procedure for the fastening mechanism, as taught by Inoue, in order to provide an operator with the capability of programming the fastening mechanism.
It further would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robot control device of modified Kawai to include a force sense value acquisition unit configured to acquire a force sense value that reflects a force generated by interaction between the workpiece and the robot when the operation procedure is executed and an error correction unit configured to correct an error of a position and a posture of the robot during the operation procedure, based on the force sense value acquired by the force sense value acquisition unit to decrease the force sense value during the operation procedure of the fastening mechanism, as taught by Yoshikawa, in order to calculate a positional error while supplying the workpiece to the fastening mechanism and to correct for the error.
Regarding Claim 9
Kawai teaches a machining system (see Fig. 2, industrial machine 200; [0007] and [0022]-[0024]) comprising:
the robot control device according to claim 1 (modified Kawai as discussed above in claim 1);
a machine tool including the fastening mechanism (see Fig. 2, machine tool 120 and main spindles 121-122; [0007], [0044 "The machine tool 120 is, for example, a parallel biaxial lathe. The machine tool 120 includes the main spindles 121 and 122, turrets 123 and 124, and the workpiece carrier 125."]); and
a robot controllable by the robot control device and configured to supply and pick up a workpiece to and from the fastening mechanism (see Fig. 2, loader 110; [0007], [0041 "The loader 110 includes a loader head 111 and a loader driver 113. For example, the loader 110 carries the workpiece W between the main spindles 121 and 122 (to be discussed later) and a workpiece carrier 125."] and [0052 "The controller 130 then moves the Y moving body 116 a in the negative Y direction so that the workpiece W faces the main spindle 121. The controller 130 then moves the Z moving body 115 a in the negative Z direction and causes the grasping nail 121 a of the main spindle 121 to hold the workpiece W."]-[0053 "After machining the workpiece W, the controller 130 causes the main spindle 121 to pass the workpiece W to the loader chuck 112."]).
Kim additionally teaches a machining system (see Fig. 9, all; [0005]-[0010] and [0065]) comprising:
the robot control device according to claim 1 (modified Kawai as discussed above in claim 1);
a machine tool including the fastening mechanism (see Figs. 1 and 9, target machine 140 and chuck 520; [0065 " Referring to FIG. 9, the end effector 200 of the robot arm 110 holding the material 710 can be placed adjacent to the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510 in order to receive the work information on the robot motion (e.g., the information related with the loading of the material 710 to the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510)."]); and
a robot controllable by the robot control device and configured to supply and pick up a workpiece to and from the fastening mechanism (see Figs. 4 and 9, all; [0009 "...the work information on the robot motion can include at least one of information related with picking up the material on the work tray, information related with loading the material to the chuck of the machine tool, information related with unloading a workpiece of the material processed by the machine tool from the chuck of the machine tool..."] and [0065]-[0067]).
Claims 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (as modified by Kim, Inoue and Yoshikawa) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Atohira-2 et al. (US 20180121578 A1 and Atohira-2 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Kawai teaches the robot control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Kawai is silent regarding wherein the teaching unit identifies a type of the fastening mechanism in accordance with the input received.
Atohira-2 teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs., especially Fig. 10; [0004]-[0006]), the robot control device comprising:
a teaching unit (see Fig. 1, display 22; Fig. 10, all; [0004]-[0006], [0110 "The CPU 12 generates image data in which the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14 are represented in the form of a list, and displays it on the display 22."]-[0111 "The user operates the data input section 20 so as to select the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the list displayed on the display 22. The data input section 20 sends the input data input by the user to the CPU 12 via the I/O interface 18."], [0112]-[0113] and [0124]);
wherein the teaching unit identifies a type of the fastening mechanism in accordance with the input received (see Fig. 10, machine tool model 160 and/or jig model 168; [0106 "In step S1, as illustrated in FIG. 10, the CPU 12 arranges the robot model 102 and a machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100 in response to the input operation by the user."]-[0107 "The machine tool model 160 is a three-dimensional model of a machine tool capable of machining a workplace by a cutting tool, and includes a work table model 162, a spindle head model 164, a cutting tool model 166, a jig model 168, and a workpiece model 170."], [0110 "The system memory 14 pre-stores a plurality of types of robot models including the robot model 102 and a plurality of types of machine tool models including the machine tool model 160. The CPU 12 generates image data in which the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14 are represented in the form of a list, and displays it on the display 22."], [0111 "The user operates the data input section 20 so as to select the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the list displayed on the display 22. The data input section 20 sends the input data input by the user to the CPU 12 via the I/O interface 18."], [0112 "In response to the received input data, the CPU 12 reads out the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14, and arranges the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100."] and [0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teaching unit of the robot control device of modified Kawai to identify a type of the fastening mechanism in accordance with the input received, as taught by Atohira-2, in order to display a virtual model of a particular fastening mechanism selected by the user.
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Kawai teaches the robot control device according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Kawai is silent regarding wherein the execution control unit sets a parameter based on the type of the fastening mechanism.
Atohira-2 teaches wherein the execution control unit sets a parameter based on the type of the fastening mechanism (see [0112], [0113 "The system memory 14 stores various virtual machine tool operation parameters in association with the machine tool model 160. These virtual machine tool operation parameters are parameters necessary for simulatively operating the machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100 in the following step S10."]-[0114 "The virtual machine tool operation parameters include an origin and axial directions of a machine tool coordinate system 172, a movement speed and virtual movable range of the work table model 162, a movement speed and virtual movable range of the spindle head model 164, positioning information of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168, and a rotation speed of the cutting tool model 166, etc."], [0115]-[0121 "The positioning information of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168 includes position coordinates of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168 in the machine tool coordinate system 172, and a parameter relating to a method for clamping the workpiece model 170 by the jig model 168 (e.g., clamping the workpiece model 170 between two openable and closeable claws provided at the jig model 168)."] and [0154]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robot control device of modified Kawai to set a parameter based on the type of the fastening mechanism, as taught by Atohira-2, in order to display a virtual model of a particular fastening mechanism selected by the user and to set parameters for said fastening mechanism.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Kawai teaches the robot control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Kawai is silent regarding wherein the teaching unit is configured to allow for setting the operation procedure via a single setting screen.
Atohira-2 teaches wherein the teaching unit is configured to allow for setting the operation procedure via a single setting screen (see Fig. 10, machine tool model 160 and/or jig model 168; [0110 "The system memory 14 pre-stores a plurality of types of robot models including the robot model 102 and a plurality of types of machine tool models including the machine tool model 160. The CPU 12 generates image data in which the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14 are represented in the form of a list, and displays it on the display 22."], [0111 "The user operates the data input section 20 so as to select the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the list displayed on the display 22. The data input section 20 sends the input data input by the user to the CPU 12 via the I/O interface 18."], [0112 "In response to the received input data, the CPU 12 reads out the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14, and arranges the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100."] and [0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teaching unit of the robot control device of modified Kawai to allow for setting the operation procedure via a single setting screen, as taught by Atohira-2, in order to display a virtual model of a particular fastening mechanism selected by the user.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Inoue and Yoshikawa) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sagasaki et al. (WO 2021049028 A1 and Sagasaki hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Kawai teaches the robot control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Kawai is silent regarding further comprising:
a simulation unit configured to perform a simulation of the operation procedure and display a result of the simulation.
Sagasaki teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see Fig. 2, robot 60 and chuck mechanisms 12a-12b; [0059]-[0068]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference WO_2021049028_A1), the robot control device comprising:
a simulation unit configured to perform a simulation of the operation procedure and display a result of the simulation (see Figs. 3-5, all; [0063 "The machine model 811 is data for simulating the operation of the chuck mechanisms 12a and 12b, the workpieces 5a and 5b, the tool holders 11a and 11b, and the tools 6a and 6b in the machining chamber."]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robot control device of modified Kawai to include a simulation unit configured to perform a simulation of the operation procedure and display a result of the simulation, as taught by Sagasaki, in order to assist an operator with visualizing and editing a robot program.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Inoue, Yoshikawa and Atohira-2) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Atohira (US 20190329405 A1 and Atohira hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Kawai teaches the robot control device according to claim 7 (as discussed above in claim 7),
Kawai further teaches wherein the teaching unit is configured to set an operation parameter of the robot to a preset value (see [0047 "The controller 130 is configured or programmed to centrally control the operation of the loader 110 and machine tool 120 on the basis of a predetermined machining program."], [0059] and [0078 "In this case, the operation terminal 100 is able to receive and pass information by storing predetermined information in the storage 80 thereof and wirelessly transmitting the predetermined information. The predetermined information need not always be stored in the storage 80 and, for example, may be stored in a memory card or the like inserted into the card slot 42."]-[0082]).
Kim additionally teaches wherein the teaching unit is configured to set an operation parameter of the robot to a preset value (see Figs. 12-13, all; [0085]-[0090]).
Inoue additionally teaches wherein the teaching unit is configured to set an operation parameter of the robot to a preset value (see Fig. 3, all; [0030 "First, at step S11, the operator selects from the block storing part 11 any number of blocks which are required for forming an operating program."]-[The plurality of blocks which were selected at step S11 are displayed at the displaying part 13. As can be seen from FIG. 3, at step S11, the blocks “SELECT USER COORDINATE SYSTEM” L1, “SELECT TOOL COORDINATE SYSTEM” L2, “(ADVANCE TO) FRONT OF MACHINE” P1, “OPEN DOOR” L3, “PLACE UNPROCESSED WORKPIECE” P2, “RELEASE WORKPIECE” L4, “CLAMP WORKPIECE” L5, “(RETRACT TO) FRONT OF MACHINE” P3, “CLOSE DOOR” L6, “STAND BY” P4 are selected.]).
Kawai is silent regarding the setting screen includes a button for displaying a pop-up window for correction of the preset value.
Atohira teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece (see Fig. 1, all; [0004] and [0019]-[0022]), the robot control device comprising:
a teaching unit configured to set the signal (see Figs. 7-9, all; [0029]-[0034]);
wherein the teaching unit is configured to set an operation parameter of the robot to a preset value (see Fig. 9, panel 260; [0031]-[0035 "When a position register PR3 is selected in the sub menu 252, the setting changing unit 123 displays a panel 260 showing setting information on the position register PR3 by superimposing it on the image of the real space. The setting changing unit 123 displays the numeric keypad 240 by superimposing it on the image of the real space when an operator touches and selects positional information in the panel 260, and receives input of a numeric value of the selected positional information."]) to receive an input by a user, and to set an operation procedure for the robot to supply or pick up the workpiece, based on the input received (see Figs. 6-9, all; [0003] and [0026 "For example, an operator may input desired operation (teaching points) of a robot to the simulation device 90 and may check the operation of the robot by performing the simulation operation."]-[0034]); and
an execution control unit configured to cause the robot to execute the operation procedure (see [0039 "When the operation program of causing the robot 30 to perform the desired operation is created as described above, the operation program is transmitted to the robot controller 50 (step S13). The robot controller 50 having received the operation program executes the operation program to control the robot 30."]);
the setting screen includes a button for displaying a pop-up window for correction of the preset value (see Fig. 9, setting menu 251, sub menu 252 and/or panel 260; [0034]-[0035 "In the example of FIG. 9, the setting changing unit 123 displays a sub menu 252 showing a list of position registers when an operator selects the position register (“POSREG”) in the setting menu panel 251. When a position register PR3 is selected in the sub menu 252, the setting changing unit 123 displays a panel 260 showing setting information on the position register PR3 by superimposing it on the image of the real space."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the setting screen of the robot control device of modified Kawai to include a button for displaying a pop-up window for correction of the preset value, as taught by Atohira, in order to enable an operator to change teaching positions of the robot.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai, in view of Kim and Atohira-2.
Regarding Claim 10
Kawai teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs., especially Fig. 2, loader 110 and main spindles 121-122; [0007], [0040]-[0041 "The loader 110 includes a loader head 111 and a loader driver 113. For example, the loader 110 carries the workpiece W between the main spindles 121 and 122 (to be discussed later) and a workpiece carrier 125."] and [0052]-[0053]), the robot control device comprising:
a communication unit configured to transmit and receive a signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the machine tool (see Figs. 1A and 4A-7B, communicator 30; [0007]-[0008], [0022], [0027] and [0080]-[0082 "Then the controller 70 causes the operation terminal 100 to transmit the information, such as the machining program, stored in the storage 80 to the industrial machine 200, on the basis of an operation made by the operator. In the industrial machine 200, the controller 130 controls the operation of the loader 110, machine tool 120, or the like on the basis of the received information, such as the machining program."]);
a storage unit configured to store specifications of the signal that the communication unit transmits and receives (see Figs. 1A and 4A-7B, storage 80; [0034 "The storage 80 stores various types of information, including programs and data used by the controller 70 to perform control. Examples of the information stored in the storage 80 include information about the communication destination of the communicator 30. Examples of the communication destination of the communicator 30 include the industrial machine 200, as well as a computer (not shown) of a management center that manages the industrial machine 200."], [0049], [0059] and [0078]-[0082 "Then the controller 70 causes the operation terminal 100 to transmit the information, such as the machining program, stored in the storage 80 to the industrial machine 200, on the basis of an operation made by the operator."]);
a teaching unit configured to set the signal that the communication unit transmits and receives (see Figs. 1A and 4A-7B, operation terminal 100; [0007], [0022], [0049 "The operation terminal 100 is able to operate at least one of the loader 110 and machine tool 120 by wireless communication."], [0059] and [0078]-[0082 "Then the controller 70 causes the operation terminal 100 to transmit the information, such as the machining program, stored in the storage 80 to the industrial machine 200, on the basis of an operation made by the operator."]), wherein the teaching unit receives an input by a user, based on the input received, and sets an operation procedure the robot to supply or pick up the workpiece (see [0030], [0052]-[0053], [0059 "In this state, the operator of the operation terminal 100 or the operator of the industrial machine 200 operates the operation panel 140 to register the X, Z, and Y coordinates of the loader chuck 112 in a storage or the like disposed in the controller 130. Thus, the position setter 131 sets the coordinates of the first position P1 in the industrial machine 200. Subsequently, the operator manually performs similar operations using the operation terminal 100, and the position setter 131 sets the positions of the loader chuck 112 corresponding to respective operations, in the industrial machine 200. Examples of the positions include a second position P2 in which the loader chuck 112 passes the workpiece W to the main spindle 121, a third position P3 in which the loader chuck 112 passes the workpiece W to the main spindle 122, a position in which the workpiece is carried out, and a position in which the loader chuck 112 reverses the workpiece W using a reversing device (not shown) and holds it in a different manner."] and [0082]).
Although it may be implied, Kawai does not explicitly teach the signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the fastening mechanism.
Kawai is additionally silent regarding the teaching unit identifies a type of the fastening mechanism and
sets an operation procedure for the fastening mechanism.
Kim teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs., especially Fig. 9, robot arm 110 and chuck 520; [0005]-[0009]), the robot control device comprising:
a communication unit configured to transmit and receive a signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the fastening mechanism (see Fig. 3, communication interface unit 330; [0013], [0034 "Furthermore, the robot controller 120 can include a communication interface unit 330. For example, if the robot controller 120 communicates with a machine tool that is the target machine 140 of the robot motion, the communication interface unit 330 can a) transmit a request to confirm the normal operation of the machine tool to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool; b) transmit a processing start command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool; c) transmit a chuck open command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool, and d) transmit a chuck close command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool."] and [0045]);
a storage unit configured to store specifications (see Fig. 3, data storage unit 360; [0041] and [0048 "The data storage unit 360 can store the work type of the robot motion, the workflow of the robot motion for each work type, the information on the work environment in which the robot motion is performed, the work information on the robot motion, and the like."]);
a teaching unit configured to set the signal (see Fig. 3, teach pendant 130; Figs. 12-13, all; [0008], [0032], [0045] and [0085]-[0090]), wherein the teaching unit receives an input by a user, based on the input received, and sets an operation procedure for the robot to supply or pick up the workpiece (see Figs. 12-13, all; [0008]-[0009], [0040]-[0041], [0050]-[0051], [0085]-[0089 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the loading position of the material” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the material on the work tray 700 or the position information that the material is loaded to the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510."] and [0090 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the unloading position of the workpiece” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the workpiece from the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510 or the position information placing the workpiece on the work tray 700."]).
Atohira-2 teaches a robot control device for controlling a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs., especially Fig. 10; [0004]-[0006]), the robot control device comprising:
a teaching unit (see Fig. 1, display 22; Fig. 10, all; [0004]-[0006], [0110 "The CPU 12 generates image data in which the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14 are represented in the form of a list, and displays it on the display 22."]-[0111 "The user operates the data input section 20 so as to select the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the list displayed on the display 22. The data input section 20 sends the input data input by the user to the CPU 12 via the I/O interface 18."], [0112]-[0113] and [0124]), wherein the teaching unit receives an input by a user, based on the input received, identifies a type of the fastening mechanism (see Fig. 10, machine tool model 160 and/or jig model 168; [0106 "In step S1, as illustrated in FIG. 10, the CPU 12 arranges the robot model 102 and a machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100 in response to the input operation by the user."]-[0107 "The machine tool model 160 is a three-dimensional model of a machine tool capable of machining a workplace by a cutting tool, and includes a work table model 162, a spindle head model 164, a cutting tool model 166, a jig model 168, and a workpiece model 170."], [0110 "The system memory 14 pre-stores a plurality of types of robot models including the robot model 102 and a plurality of types of machine tool models including the machine tool model 160. The CPU 12 generates image data in which the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14 are represented in the form of a list, and displays it on the display 22."], [0111 "The user operates the data input section 20 so as to select the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the list displayed on the display 22. The data input section 20 sends the input data input by the user to the CPU 12 via the I/O interface 18."], [0112 "In response to the received input data, the CPU 12 reads out the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14, and arranges the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100."] and [0124]) and sets an operation procedure for the fastening mechanism (see [0112], [0113 "The system memory 14 stores various virtual machine tool operation parameters in association with the machine tool model 160. These virtual machine tool operation parameters are parameters necessary for simulatively operating the machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100 in the following step S10."]-[0114 "The virtual machine tool operation parameters include an origin and axial directions of a machine tool coordinate system 172, a movement speed and virtual movable range of the work table model 162, a movement speed and virtual movable range of the spindle head model 164, positioning information of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168, and a rotation speed of the cutting tool model 166, etc."], [0115]-[0121 "The positioning information of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168 includes position coordinates of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168 in the machine tool coordinate system 172, and a parameter relating to a method for clamping the workpiece model 170 by the jig model 168 (e.g., clamping the workpiece model 170 between two openable and closeable claws provided at the jig model 168)."] and [0154]) and the robot to supply or pick up the workpiece (see [0127 "Specifically, the user operates the data input section 20 (e.g., a mouse) so as to select one of the robot coordinate system 132, the tool coordinate system 134, the machine tool coordinate system 172, and the main coordinate system 138 in FIG. 10."]-[0128], [0135 "In step S6, the CPU 12 obtains a position symmetric to the component model with respect to the reference point, the reference axis, or the reference plane. ] and [0154]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robot control device of Kawai to further transmit and receive a signal instructing or confirming an operation state of the fastening mechanism, as taught by Kim, in order to transmit fastening mechanism opening and closing commands and receive responses to the commands, to further automate a machining process.
It further would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robot control device of modified Kawai to identify a type of the fastening mechanism and set an operation procedure for the fastening mechanism, as taught by Atohira-2, in order to display a virtual model of a particular fastening mechanism selected by the user and to set parameters for said fastening mechanism.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atohira-2, in view of Kim.
Regarding Claim 11
Atohira-2 teaches a computer device for teaching an operation of a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism, the computer device comprising at least one processor (see all Figs., especially Fig. 10; [0004]-[0006]), wherein
the at least one processor causes a display device to display a user interface for teaching at least an operation of the robot (see Fig. 1, display 22; Fig. 10, all; [0004]-[0006], [0110 "The CPU 12 generates image data in which the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14 are represented in the form of a list, and displays it on the display 22."]-[0111 "The user operates the data input section 20 so as to select the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the list displayed on the display 22. The data input section 20 sends the input data input by the user to the CPU 12 via the I/O interface 18."], [0112]-[0113] and [0124]), wherein
the user interface is configured to allow a user to input a setting for identifying a type of the fastening mechanism (see Fig. 10, machine tool model 160 and/or jig model 168; [0106 "In step S1, as illustrated in FIG. 10, the CPU 12 arranges the robot model 102 and a machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100 in response to the input operation by the user."]-[0107 "The machine tool model 160 is a three-dimensional model of a machine tool capable of machining a workplace by a cutting tool, and includes a work table model 162, a spindle head model 164, a cutting tool model 166, a jig model 168, and a workpiece model 170."], [0110 "The system memory 14 pre-stores a plurality of types of robot models including the robot model 102 and a plurality of types of machine tool models including the machine tool model 160. The CPU 12 generates image data in which the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14 are represented in the form of a list, and displays it on the display 22."], [0111 "The user operates the data input section 20 so as to select the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the list displayed on the display 22. The data input section 20 sends the input data input by the user to the CPU 12 via the I/O interface 18."], [0112 "In response to the received input data, the CPU 12 reads out the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 from the pluralities of types of robot models and machine tool models stored in the system memory 14, and arranges the robot model 102 and the machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100."] and [0124]), a setting for signals to be sent to and received from the fastening mechanism according to the type of the fastening mechanism (see [0112], [0113 "The system memory 14 stores various virtual machine tool operation parameters in association with the machine tool model 160. These virtual machine tool operation parameters are parameters necessary for simulatively operating the machine tool model 160 in the virtual space 100 in the following step S10."]-[0114 "The virtual machine tool operation parameters include an origin and axial directions of a machine tool coordinate system 172, a movement speed and virtual movable range of the work table model 162, a movement speed and virtual movable range of the spindle head model 164, positioning information of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168, and a rotation speed of the cutting tool model 166, etc."], [0115]-[0121 "The positioning information of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168 includes position coordinates of the workpiece model 170 with respect to the jig model 168 in the machine tool coordinate system 172, and a parameter relating to a method for clamping the workpiece model 170 by the jig model 168 (e.g., clamping the workpiece model 170 between two openable and closeable claws provided at the jig model 168)."] and [0154]), and a setting for defining at least one of coordinate of a reference point of the robot, a position of the robot, an approaching speed of the robot to the fastening mechanism or state of a hand of the robot holding the workpiece (see [0060]-[0061 "The maximum drive speed is a parameter for determining the maximum speed (rotational speed) at which the robot model 102 drives the revolving drum model 108, the robot arm model 110, or the wrist model 112 in the virtual space 100."], [0127 "Specifically, the user operates the data input section 20 (e.g., a mouse) so as to select one of the robot coordinate system 132, the tool coordinate system 134, the machine tool coordinate system 172, and the main coordinate system 138 in FIG. 10."]-[0128], [0135 "In step S6, the CPU 12 obtains a position symmetric to the component model with respect to the reference point, the reference axis, or the reference plane. ] and [0154]).
The claimed setting for signals "to be sent to and received from the fastening mechanism" is a statement of intended use. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. Accordingly, Atohira2 teaches each and every limitation presented in this claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Atohira-2 is silent regarding signals to be sent to and received from the fastening mechanism", Kim teaches the claim limitation.
That is, Kim teaches a computer device for teaching an operation of a robot that supplies and picks up a workpiece to and from a fastening mechanism (see all Figs., especially Fig. 9, robot arm 110 and chuck 520; [0005]-[0009]), the computer device comprising at least one processor, wherein
the at least one processor causes a display device to display a user interface for teaching at least an operation of the robot (see Figs. 12-13, all; [0008]-[0009], [0040]-[0041], [0050]-[0051], [0085]-[0089 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the loading position of the material” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the material on the work tray 700 or the position information that the material is loaded to the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510."] and [0090 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the unloading position of the workpiece” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the workpiece from the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510 or the position information placing the workpiece on the work tray 700."]), wherein
a setting for signals to be sent to and received from the fastening mechanism (see [0013], [0034 "Furthermore, the robot controller 120 can include a communication interface unit 330. For example, if the robot controller 120 communicates with a machine tool that is the target machine 140 of the robot motion, the communication interface unit 330 can a) transmit a request to confirm the normal operation of the machine tool to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool; b) transmit a processing start command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool; c) transmit a chuck open command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool, and d) transmit a chuck close command to the machine tool, and receive a response thereto from the machine tool."] and [0045]), and a setting for defining at least one of coordinate of a reference point of the robot, a position of the robot, an approaching speed of the robot to the fastening mechanism or state of a hand of the robot holding the workpiece (see Figs. 12-13, all; [0008]-[0009], [0040]-[0041], [0050]-[0051], [0085]-[0089 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the loading position of the material” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the material on the work tray 700 or the position information that the material is loaded to the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510."] and [0090 "In one embodiment, if the message of “please enter the unloading position of the workpiece” is selected, the teach pendant 130 can communicate with the robot controller 120 for the robot controller 120 to receive the position information picking up the workpiece from the chuck 520 of the machine tool 510 or the position information placing the workpiece on the work tray 700."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer device of Atohira-2 to further include a setting to send and receive signals from the fastening mechanism, as taught by Kim, in order to transmit fastening mechanism opening and closing commands and receive responses to the commands, to further automate a machining process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656