DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that the cited prior art does not teach “wherein the target message display area is located in front of the video image display area in a direction of Z axis,” as recited in the claim. Remarks, pp. 7-8.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC §103 over a combination of Bernstein et al. (US 20160277802) and Bilbrey et al. (US 2011/0164163).
As presented in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103, Bernstein teaches wherein the target message display area is located in front of the video image display area in a direction of Z axis ([0056], “FIG. 2C illustrates an example user interface 202 of a broadcast that includes engagement representations, according to an implementation. In the example of FIG. 2C, three viewers have joined the broadcast, as illustrated by updated viewer indication 230. The three viewers have provided engagements in the form of signals of appreciation represented by icons 250 and comments 255. The icons 250 are an example of a type of engagement representation. The social media server may provide indications of the engagements and the video interaction engine may trigger display of the representations of the engagement representations, such as icons 250 and comments 255. Each of the icons 250 represents a single signal of appreciation from one of the three viewers. The appearance of the icons (e.g., color such as yellow hearts vs. pink hearts, or fill such as stripe fill vs. dotted fill) may serve to differentiate the source of the signal of appreciation.” Figs. 2A, 3B-3B, 4C-4D).
Applicant additionally submits that the cited prior art teaches a message display area and video area on the same display plane, which is a flat texture-based UI. Applicant concludes that the cited prior therefore does not teach “wherein the target message display area is located in front of the video image display area in a direction of Z axis,” as recited in claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., preclusion of “a message display area and video area on the same display plane,” and/or “a flat texture-based UI”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-8, and 15-18, Applicant is directed to the following claim rejections for analysis as to how previously-cited prior art teaches the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 13, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bernstein et al. (US 20160277802) and Bilbrey et al. (US 2011/0164163).
Regarding claim 1, Bernstein teaches a method for information interaction, comprising:
displaying a video image in a video image display area ([0055], “FIG. 2B illustrates an example user interface 201 of a beginning portion of a broadcast via a social media network, in accordance with an implementation. The user interface 201 may be generated by an interactive streaming application installed on the consumer computing device. The user interface 201 may include a viewing area 245, in which the broadcaster can see the video stream.” Figs. 2A-2C); and
determining a target message and displaying the target message in a target message display area ([0056], “FIG. 2C illustrates an example user interface 202 of a broadcast that includes engagement representations, according to an implementation. In the example of FIG. 2C, three viewers have joined the broadcast, as illustrated by updated viewer indication 230. The three viewers have provided engagements in the form of signals of appreciation represented by icons 250 and comments 255. The icons 250 are an example of a type of engagement representation. The social media server may provide indications of the engagements and the video interaction engine may trigger display of the representations of the engagement representations, such as icons 250 and comments 255. Each of the icons 250 represents a single signal of appreciation from one of the three viewers. The appearance of the icons (e.g., color such as yellow hearts vs. pink hearts, or fill such as stripe fill vs. dotted fill) may serve to differentiate the source of the signal of appreciation.” Figs. 2A-2C);
wherein projection of the target message display area in the plane where the video image display area is located is located on a left side and/or a right side of a preset central area of the video image display area ([0056], “The icons 250 are an example of a type of engagement representation. The social media server may provide indications of the engagements and the video interaction engine may trigger display of the representations of the engagement representations, such as icons 250 and comments 255.” Figs. 2A-2C).
wherein the target message display area is located in front of the video image display area in a direction of Z axis ([0056], “FIG. 2C illustrates an example user interface 202 of a broadcast that includes engagement representations, according to an implementation. In the example of FIG. 2C, three viewers have joined the broadcast, as illustrated by updated viewer indication 230. The three viewers have provided engagements in the form of signals of appreciation represented by icons 250 and comments 255. The icons 250 are an example of a type of engagement representation. The social media server may provide indications of the engagements and the video interaction engine may trigger display of the representations of the engagement representations, such as icons 250 and comments 255. Each of the icons 250 represents a single signal of appreciation from one of the three viewers. The appearance of the icons (e.g., color such as yellow hearts vs. pink hearts, or fill such as stripe fill vs. dotted fill) may serve to differentiate the source of the signal of appreciation.” Figs. 2A, 3B-3B, 4C-4D).
Bernstein does not expressly teach orthographic projection of the target message display area.
Bilbrey teaches an orthographic projection rendering ([0032], “Second display area 204 of the split screen display can show computer-generated imagery of the objects (e.g., buildings) in the images (e.g., live video) of display area 202. In some implementations, the computer-generated imagery can be created on the fly or can be retrieved from a repository. For example, once the live video has been identified as downtown San Francisco, computer-generated imagery of downtown San Francisco can be downloaded from a network resource. Alternatively, known real-time rendering techniques can be used to generate 3D computer-generated imagery that can be navigated by the user. For example, 3D models of recognized objects of downtown San Francisco can be constructed out of geometrical vertices, faces, and edges in a 3D coordinate system. The models can be rendered using known real-time rendering techniques (e.g., orthographic or perspective projection, clipping, screen mapping, rasterizing) and transformed into the current view space of the live video camera.”).
In view of Bilbrey’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bernstein to include orthographic projection of the target message display area. The modification would serve to enhance depiction of graphical elements in a user interface. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the combination further teaches wherein, the orthographic projection is located entirely or partially in the video image display area (Bernstein: [0056], “The icons 250 are an example of a type of engagement representation. The social media server may provide indications of the engagements and the video interaction engine may trigger display of the representations of the engagement representations, such as icons 250 and comments 255.” Figs. 2A-2C; Bilbrey: [0032]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the combination teaches wherein displaying the target message in the target message display area comprises: moving the target message toward the target message display area (Bernstein: [0056], “In other words, after an icon appears in the viewing area 245, the system may be configured to make the icon move (for example, floating up) and then fade out and disappear from the viewing area 245 after a predetermined time.” [0061], Figs. 2C, 3B).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the target message includes at least one of: an emoticon message, a picture message, a virtual item, or a text message (Bernstein: [0032], “For example, a signal of appreciation may be represented by an icon. The icon may be a heart shape, a star shape, a smiley face shape, or some other shape.”).
Regarding claim 13, Bernstein teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor; and wherein the memory is configured to store program codes, and the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory (Bernstein: [0099]-[0099]). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Bernstein teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium, wherein, the non-transitory computer storage medium has program codes stored thereon, which when executed by a computer device (Bernstein: [0099]-[0099]), causes the computer device to perform a method (Bernstein: [0099]-[0099]). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 14.
Claim(s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bernstein, Bilbrey, and Rodriguez et al. (US 2018/0367483).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein, in response to the target message originating from a current client, the target message moves along a first path; and in response to the target message originating from a client other than the current client, the target message moves along a second path.
Rodriguez teaches, in response to a target message originating from a current client, the target message moves along a first path; and in response to the target message originating from a client other than the current client, the target message moves along a second path ([0395], “In this example, several chat users have input messages in the chat conversation, as shown by messages 1006 input from three chat users different than the first user and displayed in the display area 1004. Chat messages 1008 have been input by the first user and displayed in the chat interface in display area 1004. In this example, chat messages from other users are identified by a graphical user identifier and chat messages input by the first user are displayed right-justified on the display screen.” Fig. 10).
In view of Rodriguez’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein, in response to the target message originating from a current client, the target message moves along a first path; and in response to the target message originating from a client other than the current client, the target message moves along a second path. The modification would serve to facilitate identification of the source of messages. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the combination teaches wherein, the first path is a path between a message editing interface and the target message display area; the message editing interface is used to edit and send the target message (Rodriguez: [0395], “In this example, several chat users have input messages in the chat conversation, as shown by messages 1006 input from three chat users different than the first user and displayed in the display area 1004. Chat messages 1008 have been input by the first user and displayed in the chat interface in display area 1004. In this example, chat messages from other users are identified by a graphical user identifier and chat messages input by the first user are displayed right-justified on the display screen.” Fig. 10).
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bernstein, Bilbrey, Rodriguez, and Baron et al. (US 2009/0063995).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein, the second path is a random path other than the first path.
Baron teaches randomly placing graphical elements in a graphical user interface ([0053], “The bubble messages appear as text in speech bubbles that pop out of users' avatars. The bubble messages are placed randomly about an area of the GUI 203a, appearing and then fading away after a short period.”).
In view of Baron’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the second path is a random path other than the first path. The modification would serve to enable users to express thoughts without expecting or requiring a response due to the undirected and temporary format of the messages (see Baron: [0053]).
Claim(s) 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bernstein, Bilbrey, Aisemberg (US 2018/0341373), and Cupala et al. (US 2013/0325954).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, the combination teaches wherein, in response to two or more identical first target messages being determined from the same client within a preset time period, moving paths of the two or more identical first target messages are the same.
Aisemberg teaches wherein, in response to messages being determined from a same client within a preset time period, moving paths of messages are the same ([0070], “Assume that the people portion 708 includes a person indicator 710 associated with the sender-user (Amy) who sent the original message to Chad, that original message consisting of a static heart emoji.” [0071], “The notification presentation component 118 displays this notification 712 above the person indicator 710 associated with the sender-user, Amy.” Fig. 7).
In view of Aisemberg’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein, in response to first target messages being determined from the same client within a preset time period, moving paths of the first target messages are the same. The modification would serve to further aid in determining the source of messaging content.
While the combination teaches the moving paths being in response to first target messages being determined from the same client within a preset time period, the combination does not expressly teach, in response to two or more identical first target messages being determined from the same client within a preset time period, moving paths of the two or more identical first target messages are the same.
Cupala teaches, in response to two or more identical messages being determined within a preset time period, presentation of the two or more identical messages is the same ([0084], “When the emote is identical, the two avatars and user information may be combined in a single feed 810 item as depicted in FIG. 8. As can be seen, feed item 810 indicates that KPMGLITTER and MATSLY both cheered. Their corresponding icons are both shown as part of the feed item. When different emotes are input by different users nearly simultaneously, separate feed items may be created for each.” Figs. 8-9).
In view of Cupala’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein, in response to two or more identical first target messages being determined from the same client within a preset time period, moving paths of the two or more identical first target messages are the same. The modification would serve to further facilitate user navigation and operation of the user interface.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches further comprising: displaying a third identifier corresponding to the two or more identical first target messages in the target message display area, the third identifier being used to display a number of the first target messages currently arriving at the target message display area (Cupala: [0084], “When the emote is identical, the two avatars and user information may be combined in a single feed 810 item as depicted in FIG. 8. As can be seen, feed item 810 indicates that KPMGLITTER and MATSLY both cheered. Their corresponding icons are both shown as part of the feed item. When different emotes are input by different users nearly simultaneously, separate feed items may be created for each.” Figs. 8-9; Bernstein: [0056]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bernstein, Bilbrey, and Aisemberg.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the target message is displayed with a user identifier of a user sending the target message.
Aisemberg teaches wherein a target message is displayed with a user identifier of a user sending a message ([0070], “Assume that the people portion 708 includes a person indicator 710 associated with the sender-user (Amy) who sent the original message to Chad, that original message consisting of a static heart emoji.” [0071], “The notification presentation component 118 displays this notification 712 above the person indicator 710 associated with the sender-user, Amy.” Fig. 7).
In view of Aisemberg’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the target message is displayed with a user identifier of a user sending the target message. The modification would serve to identification of viewers and their interactions with content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R TELAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426