DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: “electrical pane” should be “electrical panel.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0222295 to Wareham et al. (“Wareham”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0096441 to Eppe et al. (“Eppe”), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220141944 to Wootton et al. (“Wootton”). Eppe was submitted by Applicant in the IDS of 08/29/2024.
Regarding claim 1:
A smart electrical power switching apparatus (Wareham discloses a load control switch (also called a miniature latching power switch). Wareham at par. [0034] and Figs. 2-3.) comprising:
a housing sized and shaped to fit into a circuit breaker panel (Wareham discloses that the load control switch has a housing that fits in a circuit breaker panel. Wareham at par. [0034] and Figs. 2-3.), the housing comprising:
…
a first electrical interface to couple to an output of the circuit breaker, wherein the first electrical interface receives an output power from the circuit breaker, wherein the apparatus is powered via the output power of the circuit breaker (Wareham discloses that the load control switch is connected to the output of a circuit breaker (see Fig. 3) and Fig. 4 of Wareham shows a power connection from the circuit breaker to the load control switch (along with a neutral connection form the neutral terminal to the miniature latching power switch). Wareham at pars. [0043]-[0044] and Figs. 2-4. Thus, Wareham discloses and/or renders obvious a load control switch that is powered by the circuit breaker.);
a second electrical interface to couple to a load associated with the circuit breaker (Wareham discloses that the output of the load control switch is connected to the load. Wareham at pars. [0043]-[0044] and Fig. 3.);
a relay electrically coupled to the first electrical interface and the second electrical interface (As discussed above, Wareham discloses that the load control switch (“relay”) is electrically coupled to the circuit breaker and load. Wareham at pars. [0043]-[0044] and Figs. 2-4.);
processing circuitry configured to control the relay to selectively apply the output power from the circuit breaker to the load (Wareham at par. [0043] (“[o]ne or more individual circuits can be controlled in an on/off fashion ….”).),
mechanically held-latching contacts that are formed into the shape of busbar connectors of a circuit breaker, the mechanically held-latching contacts configured to stab or bolt into a circuit breaker panel to contact an electrical panel (As discussed above, Wareham discloses that the load control switch can be located in the circuit breaker panel but does not explicitly disclose the claimed mechanically held-latching contacts. In a same field of endeavor, switching device (and thus analogous art), Eppe discloses that a switching device can have an insulated housing 3 with a fastening side 6 that are designed for snapping onto a mounting rail. Eppe at par. [0023]. Eppe also discloses that the switching device can be an attachment to a circuit breaker. Eppe at pars. [0005] and [0043]. Thus, Eppe discloses the claimed “mechanically held-latching contacts.”
As discussed above, Wareham disclose a load control switch that can be located in a circuit breaker panel. Eppe discloses a comparable switching device with an improved housing design that can be mounted on a standard mounting rail (see Eppe at par. [0023]). It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to improve the housing of Wareham’s load control switch in the same way to allow for mounting onto a standard mounting rail, and the results the results of such a modification would have been predictable. See MPEP § 2143.I.C.).
a wireless transceiver configured to communicate with external devices (Wareham discloses that the load control switch communicates with external devices. Wareham at par. [0036]. However, Wareham in view of Eppe does not explicitly disclose the load control switch includes wireless communication. In a same field of endeavor, smart switches (and thus analogous art),Wootton discloses a smart switch apparatus 117 that includes wireless transceiver. Wootton at par. [0062]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a wireless communication module in the load control switch of Wareham in view of Eppe in order to adapt to control devices that are not in the same physical circuit as the load control switch. Because both Wootton and Wareham in view of Eppe relate to smart switches, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the mechanically held-latching contacts are non-conductive (Eppe at par. [0023].).
Regarding claim 3: The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to transmit control commands to one or more additional smart electrical power switching apparatuses, the control commands to configure the one or more additional smart electrical power switching apparatuses to selectively apply power from a circuit breaker to one or more associated loads (Wareham discloses a main load management system control can control a plurality of load control switches. Wareham at [0032] and Fig. 1. The communication can be wireless based on the teachings of Wootton, as discussed above. Wootton disclose that the smart switch 117 can control other smart devices. Wootton at pars. [0062]-[0063]. In addition, Wareham discloses that the load control switches can be daisy chained together. Wareham at par. [0045]. Accordingly, whether the other load control switches are wireless or wired, based on the modified system of Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton, the wireless load control switch can transmit control commands from the management system control to these other devices (as taught in Wootton). Thus, Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton renders obvious the claimed wireless transceiver.)
Regarding claim 4: The apparatus of claim 3,
wherein the processing circuitry receives, via the wireless transceiver, user input specifying a load priority, wherein the control commands are based on the load priority (Wareham discloses determining load profiles based on user setting. Wareham at par. [0043].).
Regarding claim 5: The apparatus of claim 3,
wherein the apparatus acts as a hub for the one or more additional smart electrical power switching apparatuses, wherein the one or more additional smart electrical power switching apparatuses send monitoring data to the wireless transceiver, and the processing circuitry compiles the monitoring data (Wootton disclose that the smart switch 117 can control other smart devices. Wootton at pars. [0062]-[0063]. Thus, Wootton discloses a wireless transceiver acting as a hub. Wareham discloses monitoring load feedback data and determining load profiles based on user setting. Wareham at pars. [0010] and [0043].).
Regarding claim 6: The apparatus of claim 5,
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to send, via the wireless transceiver information regarding the complied monitoring data to the external device (Wareham at pars. [0051]-[0055] and Fig. 7.).
Regarding claim 7: The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine load profiles for each of the additional smart electrical power switching apparatuses, and source profiles for one or more power sources; determine which of the one or more associated loads to supply power to based on the load profiles, the source profiles, and the load priority (Wareham discloses determining load profiles based on user setting. Wareham at par. [0043].).
Regarding claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform one or more of Automatic Transfer Switching, control, load management, and load monitoring (Wareham discloses performing load management and automatic transfer switching. Wareham at pars. [0032] and [0043].)
Regarding claim 11: The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
a rail mounting slot (Eppe at par. [0040].) .
Regarding claim 12: The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
one or more adapter plates configured to couple with the housing (Eppe discloses that connection side 6 is provided with a tab (“adapter plates”) to snap onto the rail. Eppe at par. [0023].)
Regarding claim 13:
A smart electrical power switching system (Wareham at Figs. 1-3.)comprising:
a switching hub in communication with an external device; and one or more switching apparatuses in communication with the switching hub, wherein the switching hub and the one or more switching apparatuses each comprise: a housing sized and shaped to fit into a circuit breaker panel, the housing comprising: mechanically held-latching contacts that are formed into the shape of busbar connectors of a circuit breaker, the mechanically held- latching contacts configured to stab or bolt into a circuit breaker panel to contact an electrical panel; and a first electrical interface to couple to an output of the circuit breaker, wherein the first electrical interface receives an output power from the circuit breaker, wherein the apparatus is powered via the output power of the circuit breaker; a second electrical interface to couple to a load associated with the circuit breaker; a relay electrically coupled to the first electrical interface and the second electrical interface; a wireless transceiver; and processing circuitry configured to control the relay to selectively apply the output power from the circuit breaker to the load (Please see analysis in claim 1. Note that the wireless load control switch in the modified system of Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton will act as the “switching hub” based on the teachings of Wootton, as discussed above.).
Regarding claim 14: The system of claim 13,
wherein the mechanically held-latching contacts are non-conductive (Please see analysis in claim 2.).
Regarding claim 15: The system of claim 13,
wherein the switching hub is configured to transmit control commands to the one or more switching apparatuses, the control commands to configure the one or more switching apparatuses to selectively apply power from a circuit breaker to one or more associated loads (Please see analysis in claim 3.).
Regarding claim 16: The system of claim 15,
wherein the processing circuitry receives, via the wireless transceiver, user input specifying a load priority, wherein the control commands are based on the load priority (Please see analysis in claim 4.).
Regarding claim 17: The system of claim 15,
wherein the hub is configured to send, via the wireless transceiver information regarding complied monitoring data to the external device (Please see analysis in claim 6.).
Regarding claim 18: The system of claim 15, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine load profiles for each of the additional smart electrical power switching apparatuses, and source profiles for one or more power sources; determine which of the one or more associated loads to supply power to based on the load profiles, the source profiles, and a load priority (Please see analysis in claim 7.).
Regarding claim 19: The system of claim 13,
wherein the switching hub and the one or more switching apparatuses each further comprise one or more adapter plates configured to couple with the housing (Please analysis in claim 12.).
Regarding claim 20: The system of claim 13,
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform one or more of Automatic Transfer Switching, control, load management, and load monitoring (Please see analysis in claim 8.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0260229 to Hayes et al. (“Hayes”).
Regarding claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a third electrical interface to couple to a second power source, and a mechanically latching relay to switch between the output of the circuit breaker and the second power source (Wareham discloses that the load control switch is a mechanically held device. Wareham at par. [0035]. Wareham also discloses use of an automatic transfer switch. Wareham at pars. [0005] and [0032]. However, Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton does not explicitly disclose that the load control switch includes a third electrical interface. In a same field of endeavor, controlling power to a load (and thus analogous art), Hayes discloses a power modulation circuit 104 that switches between a first power supply 110 and a second power supply 112 (“third electrical interface”). Hayes at par. [0019] and Fig. 1. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include Hayes’s transfer switch in the load control switch of Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton because Hayes’s switch takes into account ambient temperature, which can affect, transfer time. Hayes at par. [0003] and [0015]. Because Hayes and Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton relate to load control switches, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0043376 to Maderic et al. (“Maderic”) (Note citations for Maderic are to Provisional Application No. 63/230,815.)
Regarding claim 10: The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
a signal amplifier antenna mounted to the circuit breaker panel, wherein the signal amplifier antenna wirelessly receives a signal from the wireless transceiver (Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton does not disclose amplifying the wireless signal. However, Maderic at p. 3 discloses that an “example embodiment communicates with a belt or wrist-pack that contains a small user interface and boosts the wireless signal to be transmitted to the patient hospital monitoring system.” With respect to claim 10,the problem faced by the inventor is how to overcome a weak wireless signal. Maderic solves this problem by boosting the wireless signal. Accordingly, Maderic is “reasonably pertinent” to the problem faced by the inventor and thus is analogous art. See MPEP § 2142.01(a)(I). Because boosting (amplifying) wireless signals was known, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to amplify the wireless signal from the load control switch using known methods (such as that disclosed in Maderic). Because both Maderic and Wareham in view of Eppe and Wootton relate to wireless communication, the modification would yielded predictable results. See MPEP § 2143.I.A.).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wareham in view of Hayes.
Regarding claim 21:
A method of automatically switching an electrical load from one circuit to another circuit (Wareham at Abstract and Fig. 10.), the method comprising:
coupling an output of a circuit breaker for a first power source, a load associated with the circuit breaker, and a second power source via an electrical power switching apparatus (Wareham discloses a load control switch that is connected to a circuit breaker. Wareham at Fig. 3. Wareham also discloses use of an automatic transfer switch. Wareham at pars. [0005] and [0032]. However, Wareham does not explicitly disclose that the load control switch includes a connection to a second power source. In a same field of endeavor, controlling power to a load (and thus analogous art), Hayes discloses a power modulation circuit 104 that switches between a first power supply 110 and a second power supply 112. Hayes at par. [0019] and Fig. 1. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include Hayes’s transfer switch in the load control switch of Wareham because Hayes’s switch takes into account ambient temperature, which can affect, transfer time. Hayes at par. [0003] and [0015]. Because Hayes and Wareham relate to load control switches, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).);
monitoring the first power source for an interruption of power; when there is not an interruption of power from the first power source, selectively providing power from the first power source to the load via the electrical power switching apparatus; and when the interruption of power from the first power source is detected, switching, via a relay of the electrical power switching apparatus, from the first power source to the second power source to selectively provide power from the second power source to the load (Hayes discloses monitoring and switching the power as claimed. Hayes at pars. [0019] and [0028]-[0040] and Fig. 2, method steps 202, 204, and 206.).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of Wareham, and further in view of Wootton.
Regarding claim 22: The method of claim 21, further comprising
receiving, via a wireless transceiver of the electrical power switching apparatus, user input specifying a load priority (Wareham discloses determining load profiles based on user setting. Wareham at par. [0043]. Wareham discloses that the load control switch communicates with external devices. Wareham at par. [0036]. However, Wareham in view of Hayes does not explicitly disclose a wireless transceiver. In a same field of endeavor, smart switches (and thus analogous art),Wootton discloses a smart switch apparatus 117 that includes wireless transceiver. Wootton at par. [0062]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a wireless communication module in the load control switch of Wareham in view of hayes in order to adapt to control devices that are not in the same physical circuit as the load control switch. Because both Wootton and Wareham in view of hayes relate to smart switches, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).).
Regarding claim 23: The method of claim 22,
cycling power to the load based on the load priority (Wareham discloses switching loads on and off based on input information. Wareham at par. [0059].).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wareham in view of Hayes and Wootton, and further in view of Eppe.
Regarding claim 24: The method of claim 22,
wherein the electrical power switching apparatus comprises a housing sized and shaped to fit into a circuit breaker panel, the housing comprising non-conductive mechanically held-latching contacts that are formed into the shape of busbar connectors of a circuit breaker, the mechanically held-latching contacts configured to stab or bolt into a circuit breaker panel to contact an electrical pane (Wareham discloses that the load control switch can be located in the circuit breaker panel but does not explicitly disclose the claimed mechanically held-latching contacts. In a same field of endeavor, switching device (and thus analogous art), Eppe discloses that a switching device can have an insulated housing 3 with a fastening side 6 that are designed for snapping onto a mounting rail. Eppe at par. [0023]. Eppe also discloses that the switching device can be an attachment to a circuit breaker. Eppe at pars. [0005] and [0043]. Thus, Eppe discloses the claimed “mechanically held-latching contacts.”
As discussed above, Wareham disclose a load control switch that can be located in a circuit breaker panel. Eppe discloses a comparable switching device with an improved housing design that can be mounted on a standard mounting rail (see Eppe at par. [0023]). It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to improve the housing of Wareham’s load control switch in the same way to allow for mounting onto a standard mounting rail, and the results the results of such a modification would have been predictable. See MPEP § 2143.I.C.).)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0064377 to DeBoer et al. discloses power distribution apparatus with remotely operated devices mounted separately in a panel.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0405600 to He Zhang discloses a load connected to a smart switch with a wireless communication device.
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116