Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "Embodiments of the present application are related to," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes,"” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: “a first power control parameter set is associated a joint” should be “a first power control parameter set is associated with a joint”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 19, 23, 28-30, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “The UE of claim 1, wherein, two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets are configured for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in the activated BWP, and each SRS resource set is associated with a power control parameter set, wherein, when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission of the activated BWP in the slot, a first pathloss reference signal (RS) of a first power control parameter set is associated a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states, and a second pathloss RS of a second power control parameter set is associated with a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states, wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets”. Claim 16 depends from claim 1. It is unclear what the scope claim 16 is, what the first and second pathloss reference signal associations are when fewer than two joint or uplink common TCI states are applicable. Examiner suggests amending claim 16 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “The UE of claim 1, wherein, two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets are configured for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in the activated BWP, and each SRS resource set is associated with a power control parameter set, wherein, when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission in the slot, for a first power control parameter set, when a first joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in a list of set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the first power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the first joint or uplink common TCI state, when a second joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in the list, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the second power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the second joint or uplink common TCI state, wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower ID of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets ” claim 19 depends on claim 1. It is unclear what the scope of claim 19 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 19 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “The UE of claim 1, wherein two PHR including an actual PHR and a virtual PHR in the slot are transmitted, wherein, when the actual PHR is determined based on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a second SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the second SRS resource set, or when the actual PHR is determined based on a PUSCH transmission associated with a second SRS resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a first SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the first SRS resource set, wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower identifier (ID) of two SRS resource sets configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.” Claim 23 depends 1. It is unclear what the scope of claim 23 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 23 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “The method of claim 27, wherein, when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission of the activated BWP in the slot, a first pathloss reference signal (RS) of a first power control parameter set is associated with a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states, and a second pathloss RS of a second power control parameter set is associated with a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states, wherein the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower identifier (ID) of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.” claim 28 depends on claim 26. It is unclear what the scope of claim 28 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 28 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “The method of claim 27, when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission in the slot, for a first power control parameter set: when a first joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in a list of set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the first power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the first joint or uplink common TCI state; and for a second power control parameter set: when a second joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in the list, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the second power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the second joint or uplink common TCI state, wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower ID of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.” claim 29 depends on claim 26. It is unclear what the scope of claim 29 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 29 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 30 recites the limitation “The method of claim 26, wherein two PHR including an actual PHR and a virtual PHR in the slot are transmitted, and wherein: when the actual PHR is determined based on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a second SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the second SRS resource set, or when the actual PHR is determined based on a PUSCH transmission associated with a second SRS resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a first SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the first SRS resource set, wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower identifier (ID) of two SRS resource sets configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.” claim 30 depends on claim 26. It is unclear what the scope of claim 30 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 30 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 34 recites the limitation “The processor of claim 33, wherein, when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission of the activated BWP in the slot, a first pathloss reference signal (RS) of a first power control parameter set is associated with a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states, and a second pathloss RS of a second power control parameter set is associated with a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states, wherein the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower identifier (ID) of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.” claim 34 depends on claim 26. It is unclear what the scope of claim 34 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 34 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “The processor of claim 33, when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission in the slot, for a first power control parameter set: when a first joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in a list of set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the first power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the first joint or uplink common TCI state, or p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the first power control parameter set are determined based on a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index with an identifier (ID) being 0 in the list; and for a second power control parameter set: when a second joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in the list, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the second power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the second joint or uplink common TCI state, or p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the second power control parameter set are determined based on a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index with an ID being 1 in the list, wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower ID of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.” claim 35 depends on claim 33. It is unclear what the scope of claim 35 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 35 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim 36 recites the limitation “The processor of claim 32, wherein two PHR including an actual PHR and a virtual PHR in the slot are transmitted, and wherein: when the actual PHR is determined based on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a second SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the second SRS resource set, or when the actual PHR is determined based on a PUSCH transmission associated with a second SRS resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a first SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the first SRS resource set, wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower identifier (ID) of two SRS resource sets configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.” Claim 36 depends on claim 32. It is unclear what the scope of claim 36 is when this condition is not met. Examiner suggests amending claim 36 to positively and concretely recite the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al., WO 2021260658 A1 (hereinafter GAO) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. US 20220060998 A1 (hereinafter Khoshnevisan).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches
A user equipment (UE) (the wireless communication device 2600; [0179]) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (memory 2604”[0179]); and
at least one processor (one or more processors 2602; [0179]) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a signaling activating one or more codepoints respectively indicating at least one common transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for an activated bandwidth part (BWP) of a serving cell,
wherein, at least one codepoint of the one or more codepoints indicates two joint or uplink common TCI states (is configured with a single list of TCI states for both UL and DL beam indication;[0057], has two unified uplink/downlink TCI states or two uplink TCI states activated; [0154]);
( “the wireless communication device 2600 includes one or more processors 2602 … memory 2604”[0179]“a UE may be dynamically indicated by a TCI codepoint in DCI one or two of the activated TCI states”[0055] “a same list of TCI states may be used for both DL
and UL, hence a UE is configured with a single list of TCI states for both UL and DL beam indication.”[0057] “For a UL channel or signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS) to be transmitted in a UL beam pair associated with a pathloss RS with index k, its transmit power in a transmission occasion i within a slot in a bandwidth part (BWP) of a carrier frequency of a serving cell”[0026] “if at least one codepoint in the TCI field of the UL DCI has two unified uplink/downlink TCI states or two uplink TCI states activated”[0154])
Gao fails to expressly teach transmit at least one power headroom report (PHR) in a slot for the activated BWP of the serving cell, wherein the at least one PHR includes at least one virtual PHR, each virtual PHR being determined based on a power control parameter set.
However, Khoshnevisan teaches transmit (a PUSCH transmission occasion I; [0057]) at least one power headroom report (PHR) (one or more PHR values; [0130]) in a slot for the activated BWP of the serving cell, wherein the at least one PHR includes at least one virtual PHR, each virtual PHR being determined based on a power control parameter set (power control parameters;[0130]).
("When a UE determines that a Type 1 PHR for an activated serving cell is based at least in part on an actual PUSCH transmission, for a PUSCH transmission occasion i on an active uplink BWP"[0057]" one or more PHR values are determined using a set of power control parameters, of the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters, corresponding to an earliest repetition of the PUSCH transmission that overlaps with a first slot in which the information identifying the one or more PHR values is transmitted."[0130]" the PHR MAC-CE may include the actual PHR. Otherwise, the MAC-CE may include the virtual PHR."[0063])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Khoshnevisan’s teaching of determining and transmitting virtual PHR based on power control parameter sets with Gao’s teaching of activating codepoints indicating two joint or uplink common TCI states for uplink transmitting because both address uplink power control and reporting for PSCH/UL transmissions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the activated UL/common TCI state information taught by Gao to select or determine the appropriate power control parameter set used for virtual PHR taught by Khoshnevisan, thereby improving UE power headroom reporting accuracy for multi-beam or multi-panel uplink transmission.
Regarding claim 26,
Claim 26 reflects a method for implementing the device in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 32, Gao teaches
Claim 32 reflects a processor for implementing the device in claim 1. Gao also discloses a controller (Each virtual apparatus may comprise a number of these functional units. These functional units may be implemented via processing circuitry, which may include one or more microprocessor or microcontrollers, as well as other digital hardware, which may include Digital Signal Processor (DSPs), special-purpose digital logic; [0196]). Therefore, claim 32 is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 16, 19, 23-24, 27-31, 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of in view of Kang et al. WO 2020197291 A1 (hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 16, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Gao teaches
The UE of claim 1, wherein, two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets are configured for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in the activated BWP, and each SRS resource set is associated with a power control parameter set, wherein, when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states (a same list of TCI states may be used for both DL and UL;[0057]) applicable for uplink transmission of the activated BWP in the slot, a first pathloss reference signal (RS) of a first power control parameter set is associated a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states, and a second pathloss RS of a second power control parameter set is associated with a joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states,
“a same list of TCI states may be used for both DL and UL”[0057] “TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)”[0056] “ each UL TCI state can be associated with a set of power control parameters. For a given UL TCI state, different sets of power control parameters may be associated to PUCCH, PUSCH, and SRS. Each set of power control parameters may include one or more of P0 , α, a pathloss RS, and a closed loop index and can be considered as a "power control state" with a power control state ID. Each of P0, α, pathloss RS, or closed loop index is from a configured list of the corresponding parameters. For example, a list of P0, α, pathloss RS, or closed loop indices may be configured for PUSCH (or PUCCH, SRS)”[0163] “two unified uplink/downlink TCI states are indicated in DL DCI, each PUCCH repetition is transmitted using one of the unified uplink/downlink TCI states and is associated with one TRP. Two TPC commands, i.e., TPC#1 and TPC#2, are included in the DL DCI with TPC#1 associated with the first unified uplink/downlink TCI state and TPC#2 associated with the second unified uplink/downlink TCI state”[0149] “For a UL channel or signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS) to be transmitted in a UL beam pair associated with a pathloss RS with index k, its transmit power in a transmission occasion i within a slot in a bandwidth part (BWP) of a carrier frequency of a serving cell”[0026] “if at least one codepoint in the TCI field of
the UL DCI has two unified uplink/downlink TCI states or two uplink TCI states activated”[0154]
Gao fails to expressly teach wherein; the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.
However, Kang teaches wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.
(where #0 corresponds to the lower identifier and #1 corresponds to the higher identifier, “two SRS resource groups (#0, #1) are set, means that a plurality of SRS resources having the same purpose (antenna switching, beam management, etc.) and the same time domain operation (aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) It may mean that the SRS resource group (or SRS resource set)”[page 20])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Kang’s first and second SRS resource set ordering to Gao’s teaching that each UL TCI state may be associated with a set of power control parameters including pathloss reference signals. Kang also teaches that two SRS resources set may be configured and identified as lower-ID and Higher-ID SRS resource sets. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated associate the pathloss RS of each power control parameter set with the corresponding TCI states/SRS resource set to maintain consistent beam, pathloss, and power control operation for each uplink transmission path.
Regarding claim 19, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Gao teaches
The UE of claim 1, wherein, two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets are configured for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in the activated BWP, and each SRS resource set is associated with a power control parameter set, wherein , when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission in the slot, for a first power control parameter set, when a first joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states (a same list of TCI states may be used for both DL and UL; [0057) is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in a list of set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the first power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the first joint or uplink common TCI state,
when a second joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a second SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in the list, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the second power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the second joint or uplink common TCI state,
(“if at least one codepoint in the TCI field of
the UL DCI has two unified uplink/downlink TCI states or two uplink TCI states activated”[0154] “a same list of TCI states may be used for both DL and UL”[0057] “TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)”[0056] ] “For a UL channel or signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS) to be transmitted in a UL beam pair associated with a pathloss RS with index k, its transmit power in a transmission occasion i within a slot in a bandwidth part (BWP) of a carrier frequency of a serving cell”[0026] “ each UL TCI state can be associated with a set of power control parameters. For a given UL TCI state, different sets of power control parameters may be associated to PUCCH, PUSCH, and SRS. Each set of power control parameters may include one or more of P0 , α, a pathloss RS, and a closed loop index and can be considered as a "power control state" with a power control state ID. Each of P0, α, pathloss RS, or closed loop index is from a configured list of the corresponding parameters. For example, a list of P0, α, pathloss RS, or closed loop indices may be configured for PUSCH (or PUCCH, SRS)”[0163] )
Gao fails to expressly teach wherein; the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.
However, Kang teaches wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.
(where #0 corresponds to the lower identifier and #1 corresponds to the higher identifier, “two SRS resource groups (#0, #1) are set, means that a plurality of SRS resources having the same purpose (antenna switching, beam management, etc.) and the same time domain operation (aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) It may mean that the SRS resource group (or SRS resource set)”[page 20])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kang teaches organizing two SRS resource sets as lower-ID and higher-ID with Gao’s teaching that each UL TCI state may be associated with a set of power control parameter because both address uplink power control and reporting for PSCH/UL transmissions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine both teachings in order for the UE to constantly determine the proper control parameters for each configured PUSCH/SRS transmission path.
Regarding claim 23, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Khoshnevisan teaches wherein two PHR including an actual PHR and a virtual PHR in the slot are transmitted, wherein, when the actual PHR is determined based on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a second SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the second SRS resource set, or when the actual PHR is determined based on a PUSCH transmission associated with a second SRS resource set, the virtual PHR is associated with a first SRS resource set and determined based on a power control parameter set associated with the first SRS resource set,
("When a UE determines that a Type 1 PHR for an activated serving cell is based at least in part on an actual PUSCH transmission, for a PUSCH transmission occasion i on an active uplink BWP"[0057]" one or more PHR values are determined using a set of power control parameters, of the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters, corresponding to an earliest repetition of the PUSCH transmission that overlaps with a first slot in which the information identifying the one or more PHR values is transmitted."[0130]" the PHR MAC-CE may include the actual PHR. Otherwise, the MAC-CE may include the virtual PHR." [0063] “UE 120 may include means for determining a PHR value for a CC based at least in part on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in the CC, wherein the PUSCH transmission includes a first repetition associated with a first set of power control parameters and a second repetition associated with a second set of power control parameters,”[0047] “For a PUSCH transmission, a set of uplink power control parameters may be configured…The uplink power control parameters may include a list of SRI-PUSCH mappings, where “SRI” refers to an SRS reference indicator or SRS resource indicator, and each member of the list may have an ID”[0054] "When a UE determines that a Type 1 PHR for an activated serving cell is based at least in part on an actual PUSCH transmission, for a PUSCH transmission occasion i on an active uplink BWP"[0057])
Khoshnevisan fails to expressly teach herein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower identifier (ID) of two SRS resource sets configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.
However, Kang teaches wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a lower identifier (ID) of two SRS resource sets configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets.
(where #0 corresponds to the lower identifier and #1 corresponds to the higher identifier, “two SRS resource groups (#0, #1) are set, means that a plurality of SRS resources having the same purpose (antenna switching, beam management, etc.) and the same time domain operation (aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) It may mean that the SRS resource group (or SRS resource set)”[page 20] ” When the base station schedules the PUSCH in DCI format 0_0, since the SRI field in the CB based or non-CB based transmission does not exist in DCI format 0_0, a direct beam indication method through DCI is not supported. In this case, the UE transmits the corresponding PUSCH using the same beam as the beam to be applied to transmission of the PUCCH resource having the lowest ID among the PUCCH resources configured in the active BWP of the corresponding cell (ie, spatial relation info is the same).”[page 18] “The base station may configure SRS resource group #0 and SRS resource group #1 through an RRC message, and indicate {panel#0, panel#1} through MAC-CE and/or DCI. The UE transmits the SRS in the resources corresponding to the SRS resource group #0 and the SRS resource group #1 through the first panel (panel#0) and the second panel (panel#1). When the base station instructs the terminal to {panel#1, panel#2} through MAC-CE and/or DCI, the terminal corresponds to the second panel (panel #1) and the third panel (panel#2). Transmit SRS.”[page 20 - 21] )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kang teaches two SRS resource sets identified as lower-ID and Higher-ID sets with Khoshnevisan’s teaching of determining actual and virtual PHRs using first and second power control parameter sets for PUSCH transmission. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to associate Khoshnevisan’s first and second power control parameter sets with Kang’s firs/lower-ID and second/Higher-ID SRS resource set used by the actual PSCH transmission, a virtual PHR may also be determined for the other configuration SRS resource set, thereby allowing the network to receive power headroom information for both possible uplink transmission paths in the same slot.
Regarding claim 24, Limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Khoshnevisan teaches wherein, two PHR including two virtual PHRs in the slot, wherein, the two virtual PHRs are transmitted based on a first power control parameter set associated with a first SRS resource set of two SRS resource sets configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP and a second power control parameter set associated with the other SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets.
(" one or more PHR values are determined using a set of power control parameters, of the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters, corresponding to an earliest repetition of the PUSCH transmission that overlaps with a first slot in which the information identifying the one or more PHR values is transmitted."[0130]"the PHR MAC-CE may include the actual PHR. Otherwise, the MAC-CE may include the virtual PHR." [0063] “wherein the PUSCH transmission includes a first repetition associated with a first set of power control parameters and a second repetition associated with a second set of power control parameters, and wherein the one or more PHR values is determined based at least in part on one or more of the first repetition or the second repetition”[0086] “For a PUSCH transmission, a set of uplink power control parameters may be configured…The uplink power control parameters may include a list of SRI-PUSCH mappings, where “SRI” refers to an SRS reference indicator or SRS resource indicator, and each member of the list may have an ID”[0054] “A UE may transmit a PUSCH on an active uplink bandwidth part (BWP) b of carrier f of serving cell c using a parameter set configuration”[0052])
Regarding claim 27,
Limitations of parent claim 26 have been discussed above. Claim 27 reflects a method for implementing the device in claim 16 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 28,
Limitations of parent claim 26 have been discussed above. Claim 28 reflects a method for implementing the device in claim 16 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 29,
Limitations of parent claim 26 have been discussed above. Claim 29 reflects a method for implementing the device in claim 19 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 30,
Limitations of parent claim 26 have been discussed above. Claim 30 reflects a method for implementing the device in claim 23 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 31,
Limitations of parent claim 26 have been discussed above. Claim 30 reflects a method for implementing the device in claim 24 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 33,
Limitations of parent claim 32 have been discussed above. Claim 33 reflects a device for implementing the method claim 27 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 34,
Limitations of parent claim 32 have been discussed above. Claim 34 reflects a device for implementing the method claim 28 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 35, Limitations of parent claim 32 have been discussed above. Gao teaches
when there are two joint or uplink common TCI states applicable for uplink transmission in the slot, for a first power control parameter set: when a first joint or uplink common TCI state associated with a first SRS resource set of the two joint or uplink common TCI states is associated with a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index in a list of set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index configured for PUSCH transmission in the activated BWP, p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the first power control parameter set are determined based on the set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index associated the first joint or uplink common TCI state, or p0, alpha, and closed loop index of the first power control parameter set are determined based on a set including p0, alpha, and closed loop index with an
(“if at least one codepoint in the TCI field of the UL DCI has two unified uplink/downlink TCI states or two uplink TCI states activated”[0154] “a same list of TCI states may be used for both DL and UL”[0057] “TCI states may also be used to select UL panels and beams used for UL transmissions (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS)”[0056] ] “For a UL channel or signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS) to be transmitted in a UL beam pair associated with a pathloss RS with index k, its transmit power in a transmission occasion i within a slot in a bandwidth part (BWP) of a carrier frequency of a serving cell”[0026] “ each UL TCI state can be associated with a set of power control parameters. For a given UL TCI state, different sets of power control parameters may be associated to PUCCH, PUSCH, and SRS. Each set of power control parameters may include one or more of P0 , α, a pathloss RS, and a closed loop index and can be considered as a "power control state" with a power control state ID. Each of P0, α, pathloss RS, or closed loop index is from a configured list of the corresponding parameters. For example, a list of P0, α, pathloss RS, or closed loop indices may be configured for PUSCH (or PUCCH, SRS)”[0163] )
Gao fails to expressly teach the first power control parameter […]with an identifier (ID) being 0 in the list; and second power control parameter […] with an ID being 1 in the list. wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets
However, Kang teaches the first power control parameter […]with an identifier (ID) being 0 in the list; and second power control parameter […] with an ID being 1 in the list. wherein, the first SRS resource set is an SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and the second SRS resource set is an SRS resource set with a higher ID of the two SRS resource sets
(where #0 corresponds to the lower identifier and #1 corresponds to the higher identifier, “two SRS resource groups (#0, #1) are set, means that a plurality of SRS resources having the same purpose (antenna switching, beam management, etc.) and the same time domain operation (aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) It may mean that the SRS resource group (or SRS resource set)”[page 20])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kang teaches #0 corresponding to the lower identifier and #1 corresponding to the higher identifier with Gao’s teaching that each UL TCI state may be associated with a set of power control parameter because both address uplink power control and reporting for PSCH/UL transmissions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine both teachings in order for the UE to constantly determine the proper control parameters for each configured PUSCH/SRS transmission path.
Regarding claim 36,
Limitations of parent claim 32 have been discussed above. Claim 36 reflects a device for implementing the method claim 20 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 37,
Limitations of parent claim 32 have been discussed above. Claim 37 reflects a device for implementing the method claim 31 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Reference Cited But Not Relied Upon
Zhang et al (US 20190281588 A1) teaches sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets are configured for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in the activated BWP, and each SRS resource set is associated with a power control parameter set, : “receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource configuration, the SRS resource configuration to indicate one or more configured SRS resource sets, and the one or more configured SRS resource sets to indicate one or more configured SRS resources…transmitting or causing to transmit a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission or an SRS in the SRS resource indicated by the DCI.”[0202] “the MAC CE can include one or more of the following parameters for each SRS resource set: CC index; BWP ID; P0 and alpha set ID; Pathloss reference RS ID; closed-loop index; and SRS resource set ID.”[0045] “when the transmission is the SRS, the RRC message is to further include a power control parameter set for each SRS resource set,”[0206]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al (US 20190281588 A1) is pertinent to the disclosure of SRS resource sets configured for PUSCH transmission in an activated BWP. Each associated with a power control parameter set including P0 and alpha set ID, pathloss refence RS ID, closed-loop index.
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/Alison Slater/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647