DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
A preliminary amendment was filed on 08/30/2024. Claims 30 and 35 have been amended, and 11-13, 17-18, 22-29, 33-34, and 36-37 have been canceled. Currently, claims 1-10, 14-16, 19-21, 30-32, and 35 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In multiple instances of claims 1 and 21, “the first surface” and “the second surface” are used to refer to different first and second surfaces (e.g., the first surface of the microsphere layer, first surface of the tissue interface, etc.). While it is generally understood that each instance refers to the respective surfaces of the respective layer, examiner recommends clarifying the language to specify the first and second surfaces of each respective layer.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20180353663) in view of Tout (US 20200179581), and further in view of Locke ‘227 (US 20130144227).
Regarding claim 1, Locke discloses a system for treating a tissue site with negative-pressure (abstract), the system comprising:
a dressing comprising a cover and a tissue interface (fig. 2, tissue interface as bottommost “first layer” 210, with cover being remaining layers in tissue interface 114)
cover comprising:
a stand-off layer (212) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig. 2, second layer 212 with first surface facing up towards cover 116, second surface below), the second surface comprising a plurality of surface features (fig. 2, surface features as apertures 230, or alternatively shown in fig. 5 the indents on the bottom surface defining blisters 225);
a sphere layer (214) comprising a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the stand-off layer and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig. 2, third layer 214 with blisters 235 with a first surface pointing upwards, second surface pointing downwards), the microsphere layer configured to have a first tack and a second tack (paragraph 0118 describes bonding surfaces of each of the layers, including layer 214, to be sprayed with a pressure-sensitive adhesive, which inherently has tack. A first tack and a second tack could be interpreted as the pressure-sensitive adhesive applied to the first surface of layer 214 and second surface of layer 214. Alternatively, the second tack as best understood by the context of instant claim 9, is a tack of the adhesive after a force has been applied, which may be the same as the first tack), the microsphere layer and the plurality of surface features configured to manifold fluid across the cover (paragraph 0065 describes blisters 225 of second layer 212 allowing for manifolding, paragraph 0067 describes third layer 214 as a manifold)
a film layer comprising a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the sphere layer, and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig. 2, another “second layer” 212 below third layer 214 with two surfaces, paragraph 0066 describes second layer 212 as comprising a film);
a bonding adhesive layer comprising a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the film layer and a second surface opposite the first surface (paragraph 0098 describes how all of the individual components of the dressing 104 are bonded together with an adhesive and laminated to each other. As such, the film layer/another “second layer” 212 would have a bonding adhesive to bond with the first layer 210 below); and
a sealing adhesive layer comprising a plurality of openings (paragraph 0069 describes adhesive 245 extending about a periphery, a portion, or the entire cover 116, where discontinuities may be provided by apertures or holes in the adhesive), a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the bonding adhesive layer (fig. 2, adhesive on cover 116 to contact the skin, putting a first surface of the adhesive layer in close proximity to ), and a second surface opposite the first surface (adhesive described in 0069 has another surface opposite)
the tissue interface comprising:
a first surface (fig. 2, bottom “first layer” 210 has a first surface pointing upwards);
a second surface opposite the first surface, the second surface of the tissue interface configured to be positioned proximate to the tissue site (fig. 2, bottom “first layer” 210 has a bottom surface configured to be proximate to skin surface after removal of release liner 250);
Locke is silent to wherein the sealing adhesive layer having a bond strength that is less than a bond strength of the bonding adhesive layer, and does not explicitly teach the sphere layer being a microsphere layer, and further does not teach a film coupled to the first surface of the tissue interface; and a dressing interface configured to couple to the dressing, the dressing interface comprising: a first chamber; a first piercing element disposed in the first chamber; a second chamber; and a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber; and the dressing interface being configured to draw fluid from the first chamber at a first predetermined pressure and to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the sealing adhesive that attaches to a patient’s skin should be weaker than adhesive bonds holding together the assembly, as the skin-contacting adhesive is typically designed such that the cover can be removed from the skin, whereas the bonds holding the article together should do so.
Moreover, Locke teaches wherein the closed cells (235) have a diameter between 0.50-10 mm (paragraph 0082). As such, the cells have a diameter of 500 microns, and as such the spheres can be read upon as microspheres.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that the sphere layer is a microsphere layer, since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Locke does not teach a film coupled to the first surface of the tissue interface; and a dressing interface configured to couple to the dressing, the dressing interface comprising: a first chamber; a first piercing element disposed in the first chamber; a second chamber; and a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber; and the dressing interface being configured to draw fluid from the first chamber at a first predetermined pressure and to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure.
However, Tout teaches a dressing interface for coupling a negative-pressure source to a dressing (abstract), wherein a tissue interface comprises a film coupled to the first surface of the tissue interface (fig. 7B, sealing member 114 on top surface of manifold 112, [0038] describing such a sealing member as a polyurethane film) the dressing interface comprising:
a first chamber (fig. 7B, cavity 364);
a first piercing element (317) disposed in the first chamber (fig. 7B, cutting element 317 to pierce through layers, disposed in cavity 364);
a second chamber; and
a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber; wherein
the dressing interface being configured to draw fluid from the first chamber at a first predetermined pressure (fig. 7B, interface draws fluid using primary lumen 120 to remove fluid from tissue site 102, paragraph 0033) and to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that the tissue interface further comprises a film coupled to the first surface of the tissue interface, and a dressing interface configured to couple to the dressing, the dressing interface comprising: a first chamber; a first piercing element disposed in the first chamber; a second chamber and the dressing interface being configured to draw fluid from the first chamber at a first predetermined pressure, as taught by Tout, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for a sealing member that forms a sealed space and can later be perforated (see Tout, paragraph 0005).
Locke, as modified by Tout, does not teach a second chamber, and a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber, wherein the dressing interface is also configured to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure.
However, Locke’227 teaches a dressing for negative pressure wound therapy (abstract), wherein in the plurality of dressings is interpreted as “a dressing” (fig. 1, dressings 114), wherein the dressing has a first and second chamber (fig. 1, each dressing 114 having a chamber), wherein each chamber is configured to draw fluid from a first and second predetermined pressure (fig. 1, first chamber at the far left to draw fluid, and second chamber in the middle to draw fluid at a second pressure, even assuming first pressure is the same as the second).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Tout such that it comprises a second chamber, wherein the dressing interface is also configured to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure, as taught by Locke, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that can treat different wound areas simultaneously (see Locke, paragraph 0011).
Locke, as modified by Tout and Locke ‘227, does not teach a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber.
However, because Tout utilizes a cutting element for its single chamber to pierce a sealing member (paragraph 0065), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the second chamber of Tolt, as modified by Locke ‘227, to also have a piercing element in order to pierce through the sealing member for its respective chamber for the purpose of consistent functionality.
Regarding claim 2, Locke discloses the device further comprising a negative-pressure source configured to be coupled to the dressing interface (fig. 1, negative-pressure source 102)
Regarding claim 3, Locke does not teach wherein the first chamber is coupled to the negative-pressure source with a first conduit and a second chamber is coupled to the negative-pressure source with a second conduit.
However, Locke ‘227 teaches a first conduit for a first chamber and a second conduit for a second chamber (fig. 1, leftmost chamber connected to a first delivery conduit 126, and middle chamber connected to another delivery conduit 126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that the first chamber is coupled to the negative-pressure source with a first conduit and a second chamber is coupled to the negative-pressure source with a second conduit, as taught by Locke, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that can treat different wound areas simultaneously (see Locke, paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 4, Locke does not teach wherein the negative-pressure source is configured to be in fluid communication through the first conduit to the first chamber at the first predetermined pressure and to be in fluid communication through the second conduit to the second chamber at the second predetermined pressure.
However, Locke ‘227 teaches a dressing for negative pressure wound therapy (abstract), wherein in the plurality of dressings is interpreted as “a dressing” (fig. 1, dressings 114), wherein the dressing has a first and second chamber (fig. 1, each dressing 114 having a chamber), wherein each chamber is configured to draw fluid from a first and second predetermined pressure (fig. 1, first chamber at the far left to draw fluid, and second chamber in the middle to draw fluid at a second pressure, even assuming first pressure is the same as the second).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that it comprises a second chamber, wherein the dressing interface is also configured to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure, as taught by Locke, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that can treat different wound areas simultaneously (see Locke, paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 5, Locke does not teach wherein the first piercing element is configured to pierce the stand-off layer.
However, Tout teaches wherein the piercing element (319) pierces through all of the layers underneath the top cover body (fig. 7A-7B, cutting element piercing through)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke wherein the first piercing element is configured to pierce the stand-off layer, as taught and suggested by Tout, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for a sealing member that forms a sealed space and can later be perforated (see Tout, paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 6, Locke does not teach wherein the second piercing element is configured to pierce the stand-off layer, the microsphere layer, the film layer, the bonding adhesive layer, the sealing adhesive layer, and the film.
However, Tout teaches wherein the piercing element (319) pierces through all of the layers underneath the top cover body (fig. 7A-7B, cutting element piercing through), including a sealing member 114, with [0038] describing such a sealing member as a polyurethane film). Moreover, Tout, as modified by Locke ‘227, teaches that a potential second piercing element would have the same functionality for consistent function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke wherein the first piercing element is configured to pierce the stand-off layer, as taught and suggested by Tout and Locke, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for a sealing member that forms a sealed space and can later be perforated (see Tout, paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 7, Locke discloses wherein the plurality of surface features comprise a plurality of projections extending away from the first surface of the stand-off layer (see annotated fig. 5 below)
Regarding claim 8, Locke discloses wherein the second surface of the stand-off layer and the first surface of the microsphere layer form a pathway (paragraph 0050, “a ‘manifold’ generally includes any substance or structure providing a plurality of pathways adapted to collect or distribute fluid, which may involve moving fluid across a tissue site under pressure”), the pathway being configured to manifold fluid across the cover (paragraph 0050) and to prevent fluid flow in response to application of a force to the cover (paragraph 0068 describes the closed cells 235 having a yield strength of greater than 20 MPa. While it describes the closed cells being preferably resistant to collapsing under therapeutic levels, if a force greater than the yield strength is applied, it could deform the closed cells and thus prevent fluid flow.)
Regarding claim 9, Locke discloses wherein the microsphere layer comprises a plurality of microspheres (fig. 2, closed cells 235, paragraph 0082 describes the diameter being at least 0.5 mm, or 500 microns to be in a micro scale) and an adhesive configured to provide the first tack to the first surface of the microsphere layer (paragraph 0118 describes a pressure-sensitive adhesive), and to provide the second tack to the first surface of the microsphere layer after a force has been applied to the cover (Locke teaches the use of a pressure-sensitive adhesive which has a tack. Applying a pressure would provide a second tack, even if the second tack is the same as the first tack)
Regarding claim 10, Locke discloses wherein the first surface of the microsphere layer comprises the microspheres (fig. 2, top surface of third layer 214 comprises the closed cells 235) and the second surface of the microsphere layer comprises the adhesive (paragraph 0118 describes a bonding surface on each of the various film layers. The adhesive can either be on the bottom surface of third layer 214, or attached to third layer 214 from the adhesive on top surface of the layer below), the microspheres being embedded into the adhesive when the force is applied to the cover (the microsphere layer/third layer 214 having an adhesive on the bottom surface has the microspheres embedded into the adhesive before and after a force is applied to the cover)
Regarding claim 19, Locke, as modified by Tout, discloses the dressing interface further comprising a first surface with a first opening to the first chamber (see Tout, fig. 7A, conduit port 356 as a surface with a first opening into cavity opening 366), the first surface configured to be coupled to the dressing (fig. 7A shows the opening coupled to sealing member 114, if not indirectly) but does not teach a second opening to the second chamber.
However, because Tout, as modified by Locke ‘227, would have a second cavity with consistent performance, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate a second opening to the second chamber to be obvious for the purpose of allowing fluid to eventually leave the second chamber.
Regarding claim 20, Locke does not teach wherein
a piercing end of the first piercing element is a first distance from the first surface of the dressing interface and the first piercing element is at a first angle relative to the first surface of the dressing interface; and a piercing end of the second piercing element is a second distance from the first surface of the dressing interface and the second piercing element is at a second angle relative to the first surface of the dressing interface.
However, Tout teaches wherein a piercing end of the first piercing element is a first distance from the first surface of the dressing interface (fig. 7A, end of cutting element 317 at a first distance away from opening in conduit port 356) and the first piercing element is at a first angle relative to the first surface of the dressing interface (fig. 7a, cutting element 317 at an angle relative to the first surface in conduit port 356). Moreover, because Tout, as modified by Locke ‘227, suggests a duplication of the piercing element for a second piercing element for the second chamber, this piercing element would be at a second distance from the first surface of the dressing interface and at a second angle relative to the first surface, even assuming the distance and angle is the same for both piercing elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that a piercing end of the first piercing element is a first distance from the first surface of the dressing interface and the first piercing element is at a first angle relative to the first surface of the dressing interface; and a piercing end of the second piercing element is a second distance from the first surface of the dressing interface and the second piercing element is at a second angle relative to the first surface of the dressing interface, as taught and suggested by Tout and Locke, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for a sealing member that forms a sealed space and can later be perforated (see Tout, paragraph 0005), and for the purpose of keeping functionality consistent for each of the chambers.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke in view of Tout and Locke ‘227, and further in view of Kenny (US 20090281526).
Regarding claim 15, Locke, as modified by Tout and Locke ‘227, does not teach the dressing interface further comprising: a first valve fluidly coupled to the first chamber, the first valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the first predetermined pressure; and
a second valve fluidly coupled to the second chamber, the second valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the second predetermined pressure.
However, Kenny teaches the use of a duckbill valve (fig. 6A, valve 528) that opens in response to a vacuum source downstream (paragraph 0093), and atmospheric pressure can assist in closing the duckbill valve (paragraph 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that the dressing interface further comprising: a first valve fluidly coupled to the first chamber, the first valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the first predetermined pressure, as taught by Kenny, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows flow in only one direction (see Kenny, paragraph 0065 describing the duck-bill valve as a one-way valve to permit exudates to flow in one direction only).
Moreover, because Locke ‘227 teaches a second chamber, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the desire for consistent functionality among the chambers of Locke, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include a second valve fluidly coupled to the second chamber, the second valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the second predetermined pressure, for the purpose of maintaining consistent functionality for both chambers.
Regarding claim 16, Locke, as modified by Tout and Locke ‘227, does not teach wherein: the first valve is configured to enable fluid communication between a negative-pressure source and the first chamber in response to a pressure at the first predetermined pressure; and the second valve is configured to enable fluid communication between the negative-pressure source and the second chamber in response to a pressure at the second predetermined pressure.
However, Kenny teaches wherein the valve is configured to enable fluid communication between a negative pressure source and its target location in response to a pressure at the first predetermined pressure (paragraph 0065). Moreover, a second valve for the second chamber, as suggested by Locke ‘227, would also enable fluid communication between the negative pressure source and the second chamber in response to a pressure at the second predetermined pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that the first valve is configured to enable fluid communication between a negative-pressure source and the first chamber in response to a pressure at the first predetermined pressure; and the second valve is configured to enable fluid communication between the negative-pressure source and the second chamber in response to a pressure at the second predetermined pressure, as taught by Kenny, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows flow in only one direction (see Kenny, paragraph 0065 describing the duck-bill valve as a one-way valve to permit exudates to flow in one direction only).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke.
Regarding claim 21, Locke discloses a cover for a dressing (abstract), the cover comprising:
a stand-off layer (212) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig. 2, second layer 212 with first surface facing up towards cover 116, second surface below), the second surface comprising a plurality of surface features (fig. 2, surface features as apertures 230, or alternatively shown in fig. 5 the indents on the bottom surface defining blisters 225);
a sphere layer (214) comprising a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the stand-off layer and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig. 2, third layer 214 with blisters 235 with a first surface pointing upwards, second surface pointing downwards), the microsphere layer configured to have a first tack and a second tack (paragraph 0118 describes bonding surfaces of each of the layers, including layer 214, to be sprayed with a pressure-sensitive adhesive, which inherently has tack. A first tack and a second tack could be interpreted as the pressure-sensitive adhesive applied to the first surface of layer 214 and second surface of layer 214. Alternatively, the second tack as best understood by the context of instant claim 9, is a tack of the adhesive after a force has been applied, which may be the same as the first tack), the microsphere layer and the plurality of surface features configured to manifold fluid across the cover (paragraph 0065 describes blisters 225 of second layer 212 allowing for manifolding, paragraph 0067 describes third layer 214 as a manifold)
a film layer comprising a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the sphere layer, and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig. 2, another “second layer” 212 below third layer 214 with two surfaces, paragraph 0066 describes second layer 212 as comprising a film);
a bonding adhesive layer comprising a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the film layer and a second surface opposite the first surface (paragraph 0098 describes how all of the individual components of the dressing 104 are bonded together with an adhesive and laminated to each other. As such, the film layer/another “second layer” 212 would have a bonding adhesive to bond with the first layer 210 below); and
a sealing adhesive layer comprising a plurality of openings (paragraph 0069 describes adhesive 245 extending about a periphery, a portion, or the entire cover 116, where discontinuities may be provided by apertures or holes in the adhesive), a first surface adjacent to the second surface of the bonding adhesive layer (fig. 2, adhesive on cover 116 to contact the skin, putting a first surface of the adhesive layer in close proximity to ), and a second surface opposite the first surface (adhesive described in 0069 has another surface opposite)
Locke is silent to wherein the sealing adhesive layer having a bond strength that is less than a bond strength of the bonding adhesive layer, and does not explicitly teach the sphere layer being a microsphere layer.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the sealing adhesive that attaches to a patient’s skin should be weaker than adhesive bonds holding together the assembly, as the skin-contacting adhesive is typically designed such that the cover can be removed from the skin, whereas the bonds holding the article together should do so.
Moreover, Locke teaches wherein the closed cells (235) have a diameter between 0.50-10 mm (paragraph 0082). As such, the cells have a diameter of 500 microns, and as such the spheres can be read upon as microspheres.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Locke such that the sphere layer is a microsphere layer, since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tout in view of Locke ‘227.
Regarding claim 30, Tout discloses a dressing interface for coupling a negative-pressure source to a dressing (abstract), the dressing interface comprising:
a first chamber (fig. 7B, cavity 364);
a first piercing element (317) disposed in the first chamber (fig. 7B, cutting element 317 to pierce through layers, disposed in cavity 364);
a second chamber; and
a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber; wherein
the dressing interface being configured to draw fluid from the first chamber at a first predetermined pressure (fig. 7B, interface draws fluid using primary lumen 120 to remove fluid from tissue site 102, paragraph 0033) and to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure.
but does not teach a second chamber, and a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber, wherein the dressing interface is also configured to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure.
However, Locke’227 teaches a dressing for negative pressure wound therapy (abstract), wherein in the plurality of dressings is interpreted as “a dressing” (fig. 1, dressings 114), wherein the dressing has a first and second chamber (fig. 1, each dressing 114 having a chamber), wherein each chamber is configured to draw fluid from a first and second predetermined pressure (fig. 1, first chamber at the far left to draw fluid, and second chamber in the middle to draw fluid at a second pressure, even assuming first pressure is the same as the second).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Tout such that it comprises a second chamber, wherein the dressing interface is also configured to draw fluid from the second chamber at a second predetermined pressure, as taught by Locke, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that can treat different wound areas simultaneously (see Locke, paragraph 0011).
Tout, as modified by Locke ‘227, does not teach a second piercing element disposed in the second chamber.
However, because Tout utilizes a cutting element for its single chamber to pierce a sealing member (paragraph 0065), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the second chamber of Tolt, as modified by Locke ‘227, to also have a piercing element in order to pierce through the sealing member for its respective chamber for the purpose of consistent functionality.
Regarding claim 35, Tout discloses the dressing interface further comprising a first surface with a first opening to the first chamber (see Tout, fig. 7A, conduit port 356 as a surface with a first opening into cavity opening 366), the first surface configured to be coupled to the dressing (fig. 7A shows the opening coupled to sealing member 114, if not indirectly) , wherein a piercing end of the first piercing element is a first distance from the first surface of the dressing interface (fig. 7A, end of cutting element 317 at a first distance away from opening in conduit port 356) and the first piercing element is at a first angle relative to the first surface of the dressing interface (fig. 7a, cutting element 317 at an angle relative to the first surface in conduit port 356)
but does not teach further comprising: a second opening to the second chamber, the first surface configured to be coupled to the dressing, and a piercing end of the second piercing element is a second distance from the first surface of the dressing interface and the second piercing element is at a second angle relative to the first surface of the dressing interface.
However, because Tout, as modified by Locke ‘227, would have a second cavity with consistent performance, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate a second opening to the second chamber to be obvious for the purpose of allowing fluid to eventually leave the second chamber.
Moreover, because Tout, as modified by Locke, suggests a duplication of the piercing element for a second piercing element for the second chamber, this piercing element would be at a second distance from the first surface of the dressing interface and at a second angle relative to the first surface, even assuming the distance and angle is the same for both piercing elements.
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tout in view of Locke ‘227, and further in view of Kenny.
Regarding claim 31, Tout does not teach the device further comprising: a first valve fluidly coupled to the first chamber, the first valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the first predetermined pressure; and a second valve fluidly coupled to the second chamber, the second valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the second predetermined pressure.
However, Kenny teaches the use of a duckbill valve (fig. 6A, valve 528) that opens in response to a vacuum source downstream (paragraph 0093), and atmospheric pressure can assist in closing the duckbill valve (paragraph 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Tout such that the dressing interface further comprising: a first valve fluidly coupled to the first chamber, the first valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the first predetermined pressure, as taught by Kenny, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows flow in only one direction (see Kenny, paragraph 0065 describing the duck-bill valve as a one-way valve to permit exudates to flow in one direction only).
Moreover, because Locke ‘227 teaches a second chamber, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the desire for consistent functionality among the chambers of Locke, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include a second valve fluidly coupled to the second chamber, the second valve configured to be closed at ambient pressure and actuated in response to the second predetermined pressure, for the purpose of maintaining consistent functionality for both chambers.
Regarding claim 32, Tout does not teach wherein: the first valve is configured to enable fluid communication between the negative-pressure source and the first chamber in response to a pressure at the first predetermined pressure; and the second valve is configured to enable fluid communication between the negative-pressure source and the second chamber in response to a pressure at the second predetermined pressure.
However, Kenny teaches wherein the valve is configured to enable fluid communication between a negative pressure source and its target location in response to a pressure at the first predetermined pressure (paragraph 0065). Moreover, a second valve for the second chamber, as suggested by Locke ‘227, would also enable fluid communication between the negative pressure source and the second chamber in response to a pressure at the second predetermined pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Tout such that the first valve is configured to enable fluid communication between a negative-pressure source and the first chamber in response to a pressure at the first predetermined pressure; and the second valve is configured to enable fluid communication between the negative-pressure source and the second chamber in response to a pressure at the second predetermined pressure, as taught by Kenny, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows flow in only one direction (see Kenny, paragraph 0065 describing the duck-bill valve as a one-way valve to permit exudates to flow in one direction only).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, Locke does not teach wherein the bonding adhesive layer is configured to fill the plurality of openings of the sealing adhesive layer when a force is applied to the cover.
There does not appear to be fair support within the specification of Locke that the pressure-sensitive adhesive that would bond together each of the layers below cover (216) would fill the openings of the adhesive layer on the cover (216) upon application of a force, nor does there appear to be motivation to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so.
Karpowicz (US 20070219532) teaches the use of a gap filler paste for the primary wound cover, but does not teach an adhesive going into openings of adhesive upon application of force.
For these reasons, claim 14 contains allowable subject material.
Conclusion
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781