DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the first TNode is a HO candidate BS, which is recited explicitly in the parent claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2,5,7-11,13-22, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2020/0077285 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1.
Regarding claims 1, 25, and 26, D1 discloses scenario adaptive downlink beam management scheduling, which comprises:
obtaining a configuration associated with measurement occasions during which the WD can perform measurements for a first TNode; obtaining a number indicative of how many measurement occasions, during which the WD can perform measurements for the first TNode (Referring to Figures 3-6, a base station performs transmit beam sweeping to arrive at a best narrow transmit beam (obtaining a configuration). The beam measurement resources are beam measurement reference signals such as, but not limited to, SSB signals or periodic CSI-RSs. By using RRC signaling, each beam measurement resource is identified by a unique ID, such as, but not limited to, an SSB ID or CSI-RS Resource Indicator (“CSI”). The measurement resources are periodically repeated within the measurement reporting interval. FIG. 3 depicts three periodic beam measurement resources: RS_A 306a, 316a, and 326a; RSB 306b, 316b, and 326b; and RS_C 306c, 316c, and 326c (associated with measurement occasions during which the WD can perform measurements for a first TNode/obtaining a number indicative of how many measurement occasions, during which the WD can perform measurements for the first TNode). The number of the measurement resources depicted herein is selected for convenience purposes, and the number may be smaller or greater, without restriction. Each beam measurement resource is associated with a different base station transmit beam. As depicted in FIG. 3, each measurement resource is repeated N times, resulting in N repeated occasions. The number of repeated occasions depicted in the figures herein is three, comprising a first repeated occasion, a second repeated occasion, and an Nth repeated occasion. The user device measures the measurement resources and reports to the base station a best L1-RSRP, as well as the associated resource ID which reflects the best transmission beam from the user device's point of view. See paragraphs 0040-0042.);
allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers or no transceivers, based on the number and based on whether the first TNode is a HO candidate BS or a serving BS; performing at each available measurement occasion, the measurements relating to the subset allocated to the available measurement occasion (To perform the beam selection at least two antennas are utilized in the user device to form a suitable receive beam. The at least two antennas can be at least two separate antennas or multiple antenna elements within an antenna array. At least two transmit antenna ports may be necessary for transmission of the reference resource, and at least two receive antenna ports may be necessary for receiving the reference resource. See paragraphs 0080-0085. Referring to Figures 3-6, a first beam selection Occasion 302 depicts a base station employing an array of, in this case, three narrow (high gain) transmit beams, indicated herein as 304a, 304b, and 304c. Each narrow transmit beam may be received by the user device (receive antennas correspond to a subset of receive antennas and part of transceivers) and measured accordingly, depicted in FIG. 3 as reception A 306a, which corresponds to transmit beam 304a; reception B 306b, which corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and reception C 306c, which corresponds to transmit beam 304c. Each transmit beam is received using a receive beam beamforming setting. According to this beam selection protocol, the user device may use a single receive beamforming setting for each narrow transmit beam, and for each repeated Occasion of transmit beams, as depicted herein. With respect to Occasion One, the user device maintains a uniform receive beamforming setting for each transmit beam, such that receive beam 308a corresponds to transmit beam 304a; receive beam 308b corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and receive beam 308c corresponds to transmit beam 304c (allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers based on the first TNode is a serving BS). The user device measures a signal quality of the received transmit beams, wherein a measurement is generally performed for each of the received transmit beams, as depicted by 310a, 310b, and 310c, with respect to Occasion A, 320a, 320b, and 320c, with respect to Occasion B, and 330a, 330b, and 330c, with respect to Occasion N (performing at each available measurement occasion, the measurements relating to the subset allocated to the available measurement occasion). The user device prepares a report of the measured signal qualities for transmission to the base station. The report may include one or more measurements for each beam of each repeated Occasion, or the report may include an average of measurements corresponding to a single transmit beam, transmitted over a plurality of Occasions. See paragraphs 0041-0043.);
wherein reception for measurement is turned off for all of the plurality of transceivers during one or more of the available measurement occasions for which no transceivers are allocated (Note, the claim limitation is dependent from an alternative form limitation and is taught in light of the alternative form limitation as recited above. However, for completeness the claim limitation is taught by the prior art. Referring to Figures 3-6, The user device's receiver may be switched off during transmission of other repeated measurement resource occasions within the same reporting interval (reception for measurement is turned off for all of the plurality of transceivers during one or more of the available measurement occasions), in order to reduce user device power consumption. According to one aspect of the disclosure, the first beam selection protocol identified in FIG. 6 may replace the P2 step of the P1/P2/P3 method described above. See paragraphs 0052-0054.)
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the measurement occasions are SSB time occasions, CSI-RS time occasions, or DM-RS time occasions (Referring to Figures 3-6, a base station performs transmit beam sweeping to arrive at a best narrow transmit beam. The beam measurement resources are beam measurement reference signals such as, but not limited to, SSB signals or periodic CSI-RSs. By using RRC signaling, each beam measurement resource is identified by a unique ID, such as, but not limited to, an SSB ID or CSI-RS Resource Indicator (“CSI”). The measurement resources are periodically repeated within the measurement reporting interval. FIG. 3 depicts three periodic beam measurement resources: RS_A 306a, 316a, and 326a; RSB 306b, 316b, and 326b; and RS_C 306c, 316c, and 326c. See paragraphs 0040-0042.)
Regarding claim 5, D1 discloses wherein the first TNode is a serving BS associated with an active TCI state, or wherein the first TNode is a serving BS associated with a configured TCI state (Referring to Figures 3-7, Regarding postprocessing, the user device selects a measurement instance with the strongest signal quality estimated within the reporting interval, and it reports this selected measurement instance together with an associated resource ID to the base station (serving BS, interpreted as active therefore associated with an active TCI state). According to this aspect of the disclosure, the user device must also store the receive beam configuration associated with the best signal quality measurement instances and an associated resource ID. In a subsequent P3 phase, if the base station fixes its transmission beam associated with the same resource ID, then the user device retrieves the associated user device receive beam configuration and applies this receive beam setting. The user device receives and measures each received transmit beam from the base station for each repeated Occasion, as indicated by receipt and measurement blocks 710a, 710b, and 710c for repeated Occasion One 702, receipt and measurement blocks 720a, 720b, and 720c for repeated Occasion two 712, and receipt and measurement blocks 730a, 730b, and 730c for repeated Occasion N 722. See paragraphs 0057-0059.)
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses wherein the first TNode is a HO candidate BS (Note, the dependent claim depends an alternative limitation recited in the parent claim which is taught in light of the rejection above. Therefore, the claim limitation is taught.)
Regarding claim 8, D1 discloses wherein the first TNode is a serving a BS for a deactivated secondary cell (Note, the limitation “for a . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not affordable patentable weight as the intended-use limitation is merely a recitation of some future intended purpose and not a positive recitation. The prior art is also capable of such configuration and therefore teaches the claimed limitation. Referring to Figures 3-6, a first beam selection Occasion 302 depicts a base station employing (serving BS) an array of, in this case, three narrow (high gain) transmit beams, indicated herein as 304a, 304b, and 304c. Each narrow transmit beam may be received by the user device and measured accordingly, depicted in FIG. 3 as reception A 306a, which corresponds to transmit beam 304a; reception B 306b, which corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and reception C 306c, which corresponds to transmit beam 304c. Each transmit beam is received using a receive beam beamforming setting. According to this beam selection protocol, the user device may use a single receive beamforming setting for each narrow transmit beam, and for each repeated Occasion of transmit beams, as depicted herein. With respect to Occasion One, the user device maintains a uniform receive beamforming setting for each transmit beam, such that receive beam 308a corresponds to transmit beam 304a; receive beam 308b corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and receive beam 308c corresponds to transmit beam 304c. See paragraphs 0041-0043.)
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses the number indicative of how many measurement occasions during which the WD can perform measurements for the first TNode are available is obtained from a per-defined rule, wherein the pre-defined rule is base don whether the first TNode is an intra-frequency neighbor cell TNode, an inter-frequency neighbor cell TNode, or a serving Node (Referring to Figures 3-6, a base station (serving Node) performs transmit beam sweeping to arrive at a best narrow transmit beam. The beam measurement resources are beam measurement reference signals such as, but not limited to, SSB signals or periodic CSI-RSs. By using RRC signaling, each beam measurement resource is identified by a unique ID, such as, but not limited to, an SSB ID or CSI-RS Resource Indicator (“CSI”). The measurement resources are periodically repeated within the measurement reporting interval. FIG. 3 depicts three periodic beam measurement resources: RS_A 306a, 316a, and 326a; RSB 306b, 316b, and 326b; and RS_C 306c, 316c, and 326c (obtaining a number indicative of how many measurement occasions, during which the WD can perform measurements for the first TNode). The user device may be configured to receive only one repeated Occasion of transmit beams (pre-defined rule based on serving TNode). By receiving a limited number of repeated Occasions, the user device preserves battery resources.. See paragraphs 0040-0042 and 0053-0054.)
Regarding claim 10, D1 discloses wherein the number indicative of how many measurement occasions during which the WD can perform measurements for the first TNode are available is obtained from a configuration obtained from a second TNode (Referring to Figures 5-8, the signal quality of the various transmit beams is still measured and reported to the base station for selection of a preferred transmit beam, as depicted in 810a, 810b, and 810c with respect to repeated Occasion One 802, 820a, 820b, and 820c with respect to repeated Occasion Two 812, and 830a, 830b, and 830c with respect to repeated Occasion N 822. Meanwhile, for each wide receive beam, the user device further activates neighbor cell detection. The activation of neighbor cell detection with varying directions of wide receive beams allows for detection of neighboring cells in different directions (interpreted as obtained from a configuration obtained from a second TNode). By detecting neighboring cells, said neighboring cells can be reported to the base station, such that the user device is timely prepared for handover. See paragraphs 0058-0060.)
Regarding claim 11, D1 discloses wherein allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers is further based on a signal quality/strength measurement for a plurality of transceivers (Referring to Figures 3-6, a first beam selection Occasion 302 depicts a base station employing an array of, in this case, three narrow (high gain) transmit beams, indicated herein as 304a, 304b, and 304c. Each narrow transmit beam may be received by the user device and measured accordingly, depicted in FIG. 3 as reception A 306a, which corresponds to transmit beam 304a; reception B 306b, which corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and reception C 306c, which corresponds to transmit beam 304c. Each transmit beam is received using a receive beam beamforming setting. According to this beam selection protocol, the user device may use a single receive beamforming setting for each narrow transmit beam, and for each repeated Occasion of transmit beams, as depicted herein. With respect to Occasion One, the user device maintains a uniform receive beamforming setting for each transmit beam, such that receive beam 308a corresponds to transmit beam 304a; receive beam 308b corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and receive beam 308c corresponds to transmit beam 304c (allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers based on the first TNode is a serving BS). The user device measures a signal quality of the received transmit beams, wherein a measurement is generally performed for each of the received transmit beams, as depicted by 310a, 310b, and 310c, with respect to Occasion A, 320a, 320b, and 320c, with respect to Occasion B, and 330a, 330b, and 330c, with respect to Occasion N. The user device prepares a report of the measured signal qualities for transmission to the base station. The report may include one or more measurements for each beam of each repeated Occasion, or the report may include an average of measurements corresponding to a single transmit beam, transmitted over a plurality of Occasions. See paragraphs 0041-0043.)
Regarding claim 13, D1 discloses wherein allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceiver is further based on power consumption constraints (Referring to Figures 3-6, The user device's receiver may be switched off during transmission of other repeated measurement resource occasions within the same reporting interval in order to reduce user device power consumption. According to one aspect of the disclosure, the first beam selection protocol identified in FIG. 6 may replace the P2 step of the P1/P2/P3 method described above. See paragraphs 0052-0054.)
Regarding claims 14 and 18, D1 discloses wherein allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers/wherein a size of each subset of the plurality of transceivers is based on constraints in data rates between a digital interface chip comprised by the WD and a baseband chip 912 comprised by the WD (Referring to Figures 3-6, a first beam selection Occasion 302 depicts a base station employing an array of, in this case, three narrow (high gain) transmit beams, indicated herein as 304a, 304b, and 304c. Each narrow transmit beam may be received by the user device (the user device, see Figure 9 and paragraph 0060, by definition and configuration, comprises a data rate constraint between the digital interface chip and baseband chip) and measured accordingly, depicted in FIG. 3 as reception A 306a, which corresponds to transmit beam 304a; reception B 306b, which corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and reception C 306c, which corresponds to transmit beam 304c. Each transmit beam is received using a receive beam beamforming setting. According to this beam selection protocol, the user device may use a single receive beamforming setting for each narrow transmit beam, and for each repeated Occasion of transmit beams, as depicted herein. With respect to Occasion One, the user device maintains a uniform receive beamforming setting for each transmit beam, such that receive beam 308a corresponds to transmit beam 304a; receive beam 308b corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and receive beam 308c corresponds to transmit beam 304c (allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers based on the first TNode is a serving BS). The user device measures a signal quality of the received transmit beams, wherein a measurement is generally performed for each of the received transmit beams, as depicted by 310a, 310b, and 310c, with respect to Occasion A, 320a, 320b, and 320c, with respect to Occasion B, and 330a, 330b, and 330c, with respect to Occasion N. The user device prepares a report of the measured signal qualities for transmission to the base station. The report may include one or more measurements for each beam of each repeated Occasion, or the report may include an average of measurements corresponding to a single transmit beam, transmitted over a plurality of Occasions. See paragraphs 0041-0043.)
Regarding claim 15, D1 discloses wherein a size of each subset of the plurality of transceivers is based on a signal quality/strength measurement for a subset of the plurality of transceivers (Referring to Figures 3-6, a first beam selection Occasion 302 depicts a base station employing an array of, in this case, three narrow (high gain) transmit beams, indicated herein as 304a, 304b, and 304c. Each narrow transmit beam may be received by the user device and measured accordingly, depicted in FIG. 3 as reception A 306a, which corresponds to transmit beam 304a; reception B 306b, which corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and reception C 306c, which corresponds to transmit beam 304c. Each transmit beam is received using a receive beam beamforming setting. According to this beam selection protocol, the user device may use a single receive beamforming setting for each narrow transmit beam, and for each repeated Occasion of transmit beams, as depicted herein. With respect to Occasion One, the user device maintains a uniform receive beamforming setting for each transmit beam, such that receive beam 308a corresponds to transmit beam 304a; receive beam 308b corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and receive beam 308c corresponds to transmit beam 304c (allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers based on the first TNode is a serving BS). The user device measures a signal quality of the received transmit beams, wherein a measurement is generally performed for each of the received transmit beams, as depicted by 310a, 310b, and 310c, with respect to Occasion A, 320a, 320b, and 320c, with respect to Occasion B, and 330a, 330b, and 330c, with respect to Occasion N (interpreted as a size). The user device prepares a report of the measured signal qualities for transmission to the base station. The report may include one or more measurements for each beam of each repeated Occasion, or the report may include an average of measurements corresponding to a single transmit beam, transmitted over a plurality of Occasions. See paragraphs 0041-0043.)
Regarding claim 16, D1 discloses wherein a size of each subset of the plurality of transceivers is based on whether the first TNode is a serving BS or an HO candidate BS, and wherein if the first Tnode is a serving BS the measurements are performed for more transceivers than if the first Tnodes is an HO candidate BS (Note, the condition limitation, “if . . .” is considered optional and not given patentable weight as the limitation is not a positive recitation and is merely contemplated. Referring to Figures 3-6, a first beam selection Occasion 302 depicts a base station employing an array of, in this case, three narrow (high gain) transmit beams, indicated herein as 304a, 304b, and 304c. Each narrow transmit beam may be received by the user device and measured accordingly, depicted in FIG. 3 as reception A 306a, which corresponds to transmit beam 304a; reception B 306b, which corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and reception C 306c, which corresponds to transmit beam 304c. Each transmit beam is received using a receive beam beamforming setting. According to this beam selection protocol, the user device may use a single receive beamforming setting for each narrow transmit beam, and for each repeated Occasion of transmit beams, as depicted herein. With respect to Occasion One, the user device maintains a uniform receive beamforming setting for each transmit beam, such that receive beam 308a corresponds to transmit beam 304a; receive beam 308b corresponds to transmit beam 304b; and receive beam 308c corresponds to transmit beam 304c (allocating for each of the available measurement occasions a subset of the plurality of transceivers based on the first TNode is a serving BS). The user device measures a signal quality of the received transmit beams, wherein a measurement is generally performed for each of the received transmit beams, as depicted by 310a, 310b, and 310c, with respect to Occasion A, 320a, 320b, and 320c, with respect to Occasion B, and 330a, 330b, and 330c, with respect to Occasion N (interpreted as a size). The user device prepares a report of the measured signal qualities for transmission to the base station. The report may include one or more measurements for each beam of each repeated Occasion, or the report may include an average of measurements corresponding to a single transmit beam, transmitted over a plurality of Occasions. See paragraphs 0041-0043.)
Regarding claim 17, D1 discloses wherein a size of each subset of the plurality of transceivers is based on power consumption constraints (Referring to Figures 3-6, The user device's receiver may be switched off during transmission of other repeated measurement resource occasions within the same reporting interval (reception for measurement is turned off for all of the plurality of transceivers during one or more of the available measurement occasions; thereby, corresponding to size of subset of transceivers), in order to reduce user device power consumption. According to one aspect of the disclosure, the first beam selection protocol identified in FIG. 6 may replace the P2 step of the P1/P2/P3 method described above. See paragraphs 0052-0054.)
Regarding claim 19, D1 discloses transmitting a measurement report to the second TNode, the measurement report comprising a signal quality/strength measurement value (Referring to Figures 5-8, the signal quality of the various transmit beams is still measured and reported to the base station for selection of a preferred transmit beam, as depicted in 810a, 810b, and 810c with respect to repeated Occasion One 802, 820a, 820b, and 820c with respect to repeated Occasion Two 812, and 830a, 830b, and 830c with respect to repeated Occasion N 822. Meanwhile, for each wide receive beam, the user device further activates neighbor cell detection. The activation of neighbor cell detection with varying directions of wide receive beams allows for detection of neighboring cells in different directions. By detecting neighboring cells, said neighboring cells can be reported to the base station (interpreted as second TNode), such that the user device is timely prepared for handover. See paragraphs 0058-0060.)
Regarding claim 20, D1 discloses wherein the signal quality/strength measurement value is obtained by combining one or more signal quality/strength measurements for each transceiver of a first subset of the plurality of transceivers (Referring to Figures 5-8, the signal quality of the various transmit beams is still measured and reported to the base station for selection of a preferred transmit beam, as depicted in 810a, 810b, and 810c with respect to repeated Occasion One 802, 820a, 820b, and 820c with respect to repeated Occasion Two 812, and 830a, 830b, and 830c with respect to repeated Occasion N 822. Meanwhile, for each wide receive beam, the user device further activates neighbor cell detection. The activation of neighbor cell detection with varying directions of wide receive beams allows for detection of neighboring cells in different directions. By detecting neighboring cells, said neighboring cells can be reported to the base station (interpreted as second TNode), such that the user device is timely prepared for handover. See paragraphs 0058-0060.)
Regarding claim 21, D1 discloses wherein all transceivers of the plurality of transceivers not belonging to any of the subsets allocated to the available measurement occasions are turned off during all the measurement occasions during which the WD can perform the measurements for the first TNode (Note, the claim limitation is dependent from an alternative form limitation and is taught in light of the alternative form limitation as recited above. However, for completeness the claim limitation is taught by the prior art. Referring to Figures 3-6, The user device's receiver may be switched off during transmission of other repeated measurement resource occasions within the same reporting interval, in order to reduce user device power consumption. According to one aspect of the disclosure, the first beam selection protocol identified in FIG. 6 may replace the P2 step of the P1/P2/P3 method described above. See paragraphs 0052-0054.)
Regarding claim 22, D1 discloses wherein reception for measurements is turned off for all of the plurality of transceivers during each of the available measurement occasions for which no transceivers are allocated (Note, the claim limitation is dependent from an alternative form limitation and is taught in light of the alternative form limitation as recited above. However, for completeness the claim limitation is taught by the prior art. Referring to Figures 3-6, The user device's receiver may be switched off during transmission of other repeated measurement resource occasions within the same reporting interval, in order to reduce user device power consumption. According to one aspect of the disclosure, the first beam selection protocol identified in FIG. 6 may replace the P2 step of the P1/P2/P3 method described above. See paragraphs 0052-0054.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bao et al. (US 2024/0183925 A1) - a UE reports a combination pattern for a combined measurement associated with samples across PRS occasions of a PRS measurement procedure. In another aspect, a UE reports a combined calibration error of a combined measurement associated with samples across PRS occasions of a PRS measurement procedure.
Manolakos et al. (US 2023/0354080 A1) - The UE then measures positioning signals using an MG configuration indicated by the response. Based on measurements of the first set of positioning signals, the UE may select a second MG configuration, send a second request to use the second MG configuration, and receive a response to the second request. The UE then measures a second set of positioning signals using an MG configuration indicated by the response to the second request.
Abedini et al. (US 2023/0239907 A1) - Performing a plurality of measurements on a plurality of resources allocated for uplink transmissions during a period of time, wherein the plurality of resources include resources allocated for at least one of scheduling request transmissions or random access channel transmissions, and transmitting a measurement report
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462