CTNF 18/842,755 CTNF 79672 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed August 29, 2024. The preliminary amended claims 1-30, are currently pending. Priority Certified copy of priority document 20220100374, dated May 06, 2022, is acknowledged which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 08/29/2024, 11/20/2024, 01/27/2025, 04/25/2025, 07/07/2025, 11/14/2025, 12/01/2025 and 03/26/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 8-16, 23-30 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa et al (hereinafter Hasegawa) (WO2022/081630, IDS) . Regarding claim 29, 1, 16, 30, Hasegawa discloses a method (apparatus) of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: obtaining an indication to measure a set of positioning reference signal, PRS, resources, wherein each of the set of PRS resources is associated with a plurality of timing error groups (TEGs) ( A WTRU may be configured to perform TEG measurement and/or reporting (see paragraph 0232). A WTRU may be configured to determine an association between TEGs and UL-PRS and/or DL-PRS resources. In examples, the WTRU may be indicated (e.g., via network configuration) the association between a TEG and a set of resources (e.g., DL-PRS reception resources or UL-PRS transmission resources). The WTRU may (e.g., based on the indicated association) use the same set of transmission and/or reception parameters for (e.g., corresponding to the same TEG) the set of resources for transmission and/or reception (para. 0234). A WTRU may be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling) or indicated (e.g., via DCI) to use the same TEG for a set of DL-PRS. A WTRU may be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling) or indicated (e.g., via DCI) to use multiple TEGs for DL-PRS reception and/or UL-PRS transmission. In examples, the WTRU may determine to use multiple TEGs for DL-PRS reception and/or UL-PRS transmission in a set of resources ) (para. 0236); performing, based on the indication, at least one measurement for each of the set of PRS resources, the at least one measurement being performed within a measurement period, wherein the at least one measurement corresponds to at least one TEG in the plurality of TEGs for each of the set of PRS resources ( A WTRU may report TEG information to the network (e.g., to an LMF), for example, in a measurement report. The WTRU may report the information in association with one or more positioning methods (e.g., a DL-based positioning method). The WTRU may report one or more of the following: the TEG associated with a PRS resource (e.g., each PRS resource such as a DL-PRS resource, a UL-PRS resource, etc.), or the combined TEG of the resources involved in the measurement of a positioning parameter. In examples (e.g., for a DL-based positioning method ) (para. 0243, 0245, 0246); and transmitting a report of the at least one measurement for each of the set of PRS resources to a network entity ( the WTRU may report which TEG is used for a DL-PRS reception (e.g., each DL-PRS reception) if the WTRU uses multiple TEGs to receive the DL-PRS resource(s) involved in RSTD measurement. In examples (e.g., if the WTRU uses one TEG to receive two DL-PRS), the WTRU may report the TEG associated with both DL-PRS resources the WTRU may use the same TEG for DL-PRS reception in two or more DL-PRS resources for RSTD measurement ) (paras. 0077, 0081, 0090-0091, 0246, 0247). Hasegawa further discloses at least one processor (element 118), memory (elements 130, 132) coupled the processor (element 118) (paras. 0032, 0033). Regarding claims 8, 23, Hasegawa discloses transmit a capability indication to the network entity, wherein the capability indication indicates at least one of a processing capability of the UE to perform the at least one measurement for the set of PRS resources or a buffering capability of the UE to store data associated with the at least one measurement for the set of PRS resources, and wherein to obtain the indication, the at least one processor is configured to obtain the indication based on the capability indication (The WTRU may be configured (e.g., preconfigured) with an order for reporting TEG information based on the WTRU's capabilities. For example, the WTRU may be configured (e.g., preconfigured) to report the information described under (4), (3), (2), or (1) above in a certain order based on the WTRU's capabilities. For example, the WTRU may determine to report the information described under (4) if the WTRU is capable of doing so. If the WTRU is not capable of reporting any of the TEG information described herein, the WTRU may indicate (e.g., to a network) that it is not capable of reporting TEG information associated with a Rx−Tx timing difference) (para. 0250). Regarding claims 9, 24, Hasegawa discloses receive PRS assistance data based on the capability indication, wherein the set of PRS resources is based on the PRS assistance data (the WTRU receives the PRS transmission via multiple paths ….. The first path may be associated with a first SRSp based on a first path direction and a first SRSp spatial relation associated with the first path direction) (paras. 0006, 0240). Regarding claim 10, Hasegawa discloses allocate an amount of a first memory or a first buffer for data associated with the at least one measurement for each of the set of PRS resources; and store the data associated with the at least one measurement for each of the set of PRS resources in the allocated amount of the first memory or the first buffer (paras. 0241, 0246, 0247, 0264). Regarding claims 11, 25, Hasegawa discloses wherein each of the set of PRS resources is further associated with one transmission-reception point (TRP) in a set of TRPs (para. 0236). Regarding claims 12, 26, Hasegawa discloses wherein the plurality of TEGs includes at least one of: a reception (Rx) TEG or a reception-transmission (Rx-Tx) TEG (paras. 0249, 0250). Regarding claims 13, 27, Hasegawa discloses wherein the at least one TEG is associated with a group of measurements, where a relative timing error for a pair of measurements in the group of measurements is within a margin of error (para. 0249). Regarding claim 14, Hasegawa discloses wherein the set of PRS resources is associated with a same slot in a plurality of slots, such that the at least one measurement is performed for each PRS resource of the set of PRS resources in the same slot (paras. 0241, 0244 0247). Regarding claims 15, 28, Hasegawa discloses receive a request to measure the set of PRS resources from the network entity, wherein the measurement period is associated with a time period during which the UE is expected to perform the at least one measurement (paras. 0256, 0260) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-7, 17-22, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI whose telephone number is (571) 272-3014. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30am to 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached at 571 272 3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632. Application/Control Number: 18/842,755 Page 2 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/842,755 Page 3 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/842,755 Page 4 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/842,755 Page 5 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/842,755 Page 6 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/842,755 Page 7 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/842,755 Page 8 Art Unit: 2632