CTNF 18/842,761 CTNF 94207 DETAILED ACTION Claim(s) 1-16 and 19-22 are presented for examination. Claim(s) 1, 7-13, 15, 16 and 19-22 are amended. Claims 17 and 18 are canceled. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) PCT/CN2022/079140 submitted on March 3 rd , 2022 . Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on August 29 th , 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites a machine claim, “ A communication apparatus … ”, and the list of devices (i.e., one or more processors, and a memory) in the preamble. The body of the claim recites the action steps: “ receive… indicate …etc. ” performed by the communication apparatus. For clarity and placing the claim into a proper machine claim, it is suggested to replace “ A communication apparatus … ” with “ A communication apparatus comprising:” so that the aforementioned list of devices, are comprised by the communication apparatus, which are performing these actions/steps ( see MPEP 2106.03, section I 1 ; MPEP 2173.05(p), section II 2 ). Claim 20 recites a similar limitation . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim (s) 1-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “ the first PBCH comprises less information than a second PBCH …” in line 8 . 07-34-03 AIA The term “ less ” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ less ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, it is unknown how much information is included in the first PBCH compared to the second PBCH . Claim(s) 11 and 19-22 are rejected for a similar reason. Claim(s) 2-10 and 12-16 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim as set forth above. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret as best understood . Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 15, 16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. (US 2021/0058879 A1) hereinafter “Geng” in view of TANG (US 2021/0329537 A1) . Regarding Claims 1 and 19, Geng discloses a communication apparatus [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, a communications apparatus “11”] , comprising one or more processors and a memory [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, including one or more processors “1132” and a memory “1131”] , wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, the memory “1131” storing one or more programs] ; and the one or more processors are collectively configured to execute the computer program [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, the one or more processors “1132” configured to implement the stored programs] , so as to [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, to] : receive measurement configuration information transmitted by a second network device [see fig. 5: Step “103”, pg. 7, ¶81 lines 1-3, the second information is sent by the second network device, and correspondingly, the terminal receives the second information] , wherein the measurement configuration information comprises indication information [see fig. 5: Step “103”, pg. 7, ¶82 lines 1-3, the second information is determined based on the first information, and includes information related to the synchronization signal block]. Although Geng discloses receiving measurement configuration information transmitted by a second network device, Geng does not explicitly teach “ the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) does not comprise a PBCH, or the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured SSB comprises a first PBCH, and the first PBCH comprises less information than a second PBCH ”. However Tang discloses receiving measurement configuration information transmitted by a second network device [see fig. 5: Step “501”, pg. 5, ¶77 lines 1-4, a user equipment receives an indication from a network device] , wherein the measurement configuration information comprises indication information [see fig. 5: Step “501”, pg. 5, ¶77 lines 1-4, and the indication is used for indicating a first frequency domain location of an SSB within a first frequency domain range] , wherein the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) does not comprise a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) [see fig. 5: Step “501”, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 1-2; ¶82 lines 1-5, the user equipment detects the SSB based on the indication at the first frequency domain position within the first frequency domain range] . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) does not comprise a PBCH, or the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured SSB comprises a first PBCH, and the first PBCH comprises less information than a second PBCH” as taught by Tang in the system of Geng for an initial search process (such as SSB search) to take less time, without increasing resources required for a user equipment to initially access a network device [see Tang, pg. 1, ¶4 lines 1-4] . Regarding Claim 2, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 1. Geng further discloses wherein the measurement configuration information comprises one or more pieces of the indication information [see pg. 7, ¶76 lines 1-11, the cell information is at least one of a cell global identifier (CGI), a physical cell identifier (PCI), and frequency information of a cell of a current base station] , and one piece of the indication information corresponds to one to-be-measured cell [see pg. 7, ¶76 lines 1-11, the carrier information is at least one of frequency information and frequency domain bandwidth information of a carrier of the current base station] . Regarding Claim 5, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 1. Geng further discloses wherein the indication information corresponds to one SSB frequency [see pg. 7, ¶83 lines 1-11, the second information includes offset/index information of the at least one indicated synchronization signal block] , and the to-be-measured SSB is an SSB corresponding to the SSB frequency [see pg. 7, ¶83 lines 1-11, and frequency information of the at least one indicated synchronization signal block is determined with reference to the existing frequency information and the offset/index information] . Regarding Claim 7, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 1. Geng further discloses wherein the first PBCH comprises a system frame number (SFN) and an SSB index [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-10, the information used to determine whether synchronization signal blocks are synchronized in time domain include a system frame number (SFN) and/or time stamp information] . Regarding Claim 8, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 1. Geng further discloses wherein the first PBCH occupies one or two symbols in a time domain [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-10, the measurement information of the synchronization signal block is used to indicate a location of the synchronization signal block in time domain] . Regarding Claim 9, Geng discloses the method according to claim 1. Geng does not explicitly teach “ ignoring the indication information on a condition that a frequency of the to-be-measured SSB is on a synchronization channel frequency grid, and determining that the to-be-measured SSB comprises the second PBCH ”. However Tang discloses ignoring the indication information on a condition that a frequency of the to-be-measured SSB is on a synchronization channel frequency grid [see pg. 5, ¶80 lines 1-7, the RMSI is carried on a PDSCH, DCI of the PDSCH is carried on a PDCCH, a time-frequency resource location where the PDCCH is located is indicated by a PBCH] , and determining that the to-be-measured SSB comprises the second PBCH [see pg. 5, ¶80 lines 1-7, and the PBCH also indicates whether the SSB where the PBCH is located is associated with the RMSI] . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “ignoring the indication information on a condition that a frequency of the to-be-measured SSB is on a synchronization channel frequency grid, and determining that the to-be-measured SSB comprises the second PBCH” as taught by Tang in the system of Geng for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1. Regarding Claim 10, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 1. Geng discloses the method further comprising: determining that the to-be-measured SSB comprises the first PBCH according to the indication information [see pg. 5, ¶57 lines 1-7, the synchronization signal block is a synchronization signal (SS), a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH Block)] . Regarding Claim 12, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 11. Geng discloses the method further comprising: receiving notification information transmitted by a first network device [see fig. 5: Step “102”, pg. 6, ¶73 lines 1-2, the first network device sends the first information to the second network device] , wherein the notification information is configured to indicate that an SSB on at least one cell [see fig. 5: Step “102”, pg. 7, ¶74 lines 1-8, both the first network device and the second network device are base stations] . Regarding Claim 15, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 11. Geng further discloses wherein the first PBCH comprises a system frame number (SFN) and an SSB index [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-10, the information used to determine whether synchronization signal blocks are synchronized in time domain include a system frame number (SFN) and/or time stamp information] . Regarding Claim 16, The combined system of Geng and Tang discloses the method according to claim 11. Geng further discloses wherein the first PBCH occupies one or two symbols in a time domain [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-10, the measurement information of the synchronization signal block is used to indicate a location of the synchronization signal block in time domain] . Regarding Claims 11 and 20, Geng discloses a communication apparatus [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, a second communications apparatus or second network device “13”] , comprising one or more processors and a memory [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, includes a processing module “1322” and a storage module “1321”] , wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, the storage module “1321” configured to store program code] ; and the one or more processors are collectively configured to execute the computer program, so as to implement a method of [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, the processing module “1322” configured to implement the stored program code to perform a method of] : transmitting measurement configuration information to user equipment [see fig. 5: Step “103”, pg. 7, ¶81 lines 1-3, the second information is sent by the second network device, and correspondingly, the terminal receives the second information] , wherein the measurement configuration information comprises indication information [see fig. 5: Step “103”, pg. 7, ¶82 lines 1-3, the second information is determined based on the first information, and includes information related to the synchronization signal block] . Although Geng discloses transmitting measurement configuration information to user equipment, Geng does not explicitly teach “ the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) does not comprise a PBCH, or the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured SSB comprises a first PBCH, and the first PBCH comprises less information than a second PBCH ”. However Tang discloses transmitting measurement configuration information to user equipment [see fig. 5: Step “501”, pg. 5, ¶77 lines 1-4, a user equipment receives an indication from a network device] , wherein the measurement configuration information comprises indication information [see fig. 5: Step “501”, pg. 5, ¶77 lines 1-4, and the indication is used for indicating a first frequency domain location of an SSB within a first frequency domain range] , wherein the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) does not comprise a PBCH [see fig. 5: Step “501”, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 1-2; ¶82 lines 1-5, the user equipment detects the SSB based on the indication at the first frequency domain position within the first frequency domain range] . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) does not comprise a PBCH, or the indication information is configured to indicate that a to-be-measured SSB comprises a first PBCH, and the first PBCH comprises less information than a second PBCH” as taught by Tang in the system of Geng for an initial search process (such as SSB search) to take less time, without increasing resources required for a user equipment to initially access a network device [see Tang, pg. 1, ¶4 lines 1-4] . Regarding Claim 21, Geng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, a memory “1131”] , storing an instruction [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, storing one or more programs] , wherein when the instruction is invoked and executed in a computer [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, to be implemented by one or more processors “1132”] , the computer is caused to execute the method according to claim 1 [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, the one or more processors “1132” configured to implement the stored programs] , so as to [see fig(s). 5 & 16, pg. 16, ¶225 lines 1-4, to perform a communication method] . Regarding Claim 22, Geng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, a storage module “1321”] , storing an instruction [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, configured to store program code] , wherein when the instruction is invoked and executed in a computer [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, to be implemented by a processing module “1322”] , the computer is caused to execute the method according to claim 11 [see fig(s). 5 & 13, pg. 14, ¶201 lines 1-7, the processing module “1322” configured to implement the stored program code to perform a communication method] . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 3, 4, 6, 13 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent Application Publication: Wang et al. (US 2021/0368371 A1) ; see fig. 2, pg. 3, ¶50-¶54 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RUSHIL P SAMPAT whose telephone number is (469) 295-9141. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri (8 AM - 5 PM). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner-TC 2400, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 6 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 7 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 8 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 9 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 10 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/842,761 Page 11 Art Unit: 2469 1 A machine is a "concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices." Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348-49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)). This category "includes every mechanical device or combination of mechanical powers and devices to perform some function and produce a certain effect or result." Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1355, 84 USPQ2d at 1501 (quoting Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267, 14 L. Ed. 683, 690 (1854)). 2 IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005)