DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryan et al. (US 2020/0197107), herein referred to as Ryan.
Regarding claim 1, Ryan discloses a surgical navigation system (10) (claim 1, ¶142-¶257, figures 1-9), comprising a head-mounted device (104) (claim 1 and ¶143), comprising a sensor module (210) (claim 1 and ¶143), comprising at least one tracking camera (206) (claim 1 and ¶143), a processing module (102) (claim 1 and ¶143), connected to the sensor module (210) (claim 1 and ¶143), and a display module (104) (claim 1 and ¶143), connected to the processing module (102), and comprising a display generator (204) (¶143), and a plurality of visual markers (100, 108, 110) (¶143 and figure 1), recognized and tracked individually by the tracking camera (206) (¶143, ¶146, ¶152, figures 2A, 2B, 4-6), wherein, three-dimensional position and orientation of each of the plurality of visual markers (100, 108, 110) is recognized and tracked by the tracking camera (206) (¶152, ¶174, figures 5 and 8), and then the processing module (102) calculates spatial conversion relationship between each of the plurality of visual markers (100, 108, 110) based on the three-dimensional position and orientation to create a local coordinate system, and then the display module (104) generates a virtual image based on the local coordinate system through the display generator (204) (¶176, ¶179, figures 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 2, Ryan discloses wherein one of the visual markers (100, 108, or 110) is used as a positioning reference that includes a calibration part (¶179 and figure 9), and the positioning reference is fixed on body of a patient or stays still when the surgical navigation system (10) is used for a medical procedure (¶179 and figure 9).
Regarding claim 3, Ryan discloses further comprising a registration pointer (figure 1) that is attached with at least one visual marker (100, 108, 110) and includes a registering part (¶179 and figure 9).
Regarding claim 4, Ryan discloses wherein when the registering part of the
registration pointer (figure 1) points the calibration part of the positioning reference (figure 1), the processing module (102) calculates spatial conversion relationship between the registration pointer (figure 1) and the positioning reference based on the three-dimensional position and orientation of the visual markers (100, 108, 110) to calibrate a distance between the registering part and the visual marker on the registration pointer (¶179 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Ryan discloses wherein the registration pointer (figure 1) is used to register three-dimensional position and orientation of one or more landmarks on the patient (¶179).
Regarding claim 6, Ryan discloses wherein the registration pointer (figure 1) is used to calibrate a distance between a surgical instrument (¶179) and a visual marker thereon (¶179) through pointing boundary of the surgical instrument (¶179) with the registering part (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Ryan discloses wherein the surgical instrument is an
impactor (608) with an acetabular component (612) for hip replacement surgery (900), and the registration pointer (figures 6 and 7) is used to calibrate a distance between the acetabular component of the impactor (608) and the visual marker thereon (¶179) through pointing two ends of the impactor (608) with an acetabular component (612) with the registering part (figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Ryan discloses wherein the medical procedure is selected
from the group consisting of hip replacement surgery (900) (¶179), knee replacement surgery, corrective osteotomy for malunion of an arm bone, distal femoral and proximal tibial osteotomy, peri-acetabular osteotomy, elbow ligament reconstruction, knee ligament reconstruction, ankle ligament reconstruction, shoulder acromioclavicular joint
reconstruction, total shoulder replacement, reverse shoulder replacement, total ankle
arthroplasty.
Regarding claim 9, Ryan discloses a method of using the surgical navigation system of claim 3 (see claims above) to assist a hip replacement surgery (900) (¶179), comprising fixing a first visual marker (¶179 and figure 1) as the positioning reference on the patient (¶179), attaching a second visual marker (¶179 and figure 1) on the registration pointer (¶179), recognizing the first and the second visual markers individually (¶179) and pointing the calibration part of the positioning reference by the registering part of the registration pointer (figure 1) points to calibrate a distance between the registering part (¶179) and the visual marker on the registration pointer (¶179), pointing one or more landmarks of pelvis of the patient by the registering part of the registration pointer to register three-dimensional position and orientation of the one or more landmarks (¶179 and figure 9), defining a local coordinate system based on the three-dimensional position and orientation of the one or more landmarks (¶179 and figure 9), attaching a third visual marker (1902) (¶179) on femur of the patient (¶179, ¶185), recognizing the third visual markers (1902) (¶179, ¶185) and move the femur of the patient horizontally and vertically to determine a center of a hip joint (¶185 and figures 6 and 7), and defining a safe zone (¶177 and figures 6 and 7) for being inserted with an acetabular component (612) based on the local coordinate system and the center of the hip joint (¶177 and figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Ryan discloses wherein the one or more landmarks (¶179) comprises a left anterior superior iliac spine (ASIS) (figures 6 and 7), a right ASIS, and a pubic symphysis.
Regarding claim 11, Ryan discloses wherein the local coordinate system is related to a pelvis size or position and orientation of an anterior pelvic plane (figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Ryan discloses further comprising: attaching a fourth visual marker (606) (¶176) on an impactor (608) with the acetabular component (612) (figure 6), and recognizing the second and the fourth second visual markers (figure 6) individually and point two ends of the impactor (608) with an acetabular component (612) by the registering part of the registration pointer points to calibrate the distance between the acetabular component of the impactor (608) and the fourth visual marker (606) (¶177).
Regarding claim 13, Ryan discloses further comprising tracking and guiding the impactor (608) with the acetabular component (612) to align the safe zone (¶177, ¶179).
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775