2. Claims 1-15 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sakashita et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0236376), herein after referred to as Sakashita.
Regarding independent claim 1, Sakashita discloses an authentication apparatus (Figure 2 server 13 paragraphs [0014], [0017], [0024] uses information acquisition section 12 as an image pickup device for use in face authentication.) comprising:
at least one memory (230) configured to store instructions ([0021] program); and
at least one processor (100 [0021]) configured to execute the instructions to:
authenticate a person (figure 3 S1), by using a first image (12) that is generated by an imaging apparatus (11+12) imaging the person before the person enters a target area (200) ([0015] card read 12 (described to be alternatively implemented as an image pickup device for face authentication [0017 and [0024]) is used to grant entry into room 200, figure 1); and
perform counting processing (S3) for counting ([0027]-[0030] and [0040]-[0041] cameras 11 (figures 1-2) detects the number of persons in room 200) a number of persons staying in the target area (200), by using one or more second images (video by 11) generated by the imaging apparatus (11+12) imaging persons entering and leaving the target area (200) ([0013], [0028]-[0029], and [0040] the captured videos (plurality of sequential images) from the cameras 11 are used to detect individual persons including persons having entered/exited the room 200), the counting processing including:
detecting (133), based on the one or more second images (video by 11), a person moving from outside the target area (200) to inside the target area (200) through an entrance (102) of the target area (200) ([0040] section 133 detects persons entering the room 200 based on videos captured by cameras 11. Entry is via gate 102 [0037].); and
detecting, based on the one or more second images (video by 11), the person moving from inside the target area (200) to outside the target area (200) through the entrance (102) of the target area (200) ([0046] and S11 determine that a person has left the room. Entry is via gate 102 [0037].).
Regarding claim 2, Sakashita discloses the authentication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (100) is configured to execute the instructions ([0021]) to start the counting processing (S3) when authentication of the person is successful (S2 YES person is authenticated, [0040]-[0041]), and does not start the counting processing (S3) when the authentication of the person is not successful (S2 NO process is ended without performing S3 process of detecting room occupants, [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Sakashita discloses the authentication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
a restriction object (automatic locking/unlocking mechanism on entrance gate 102) that is configured to restrict an entry of the person to the target area (200) ([0037]), is disposed (figure 1) between the target area (200) and an outside area of the target area (200) ([0037]), and
the at least one processor (100) is configured to execute the instructions to start the counting processing (S3) when a state of the restriction object (102) is an unrestricted state (unlocked) in which the entry of the person to the target area (200) is not restricted (S2 YES user is approved/not restricted, [0040]-[0041]), and does not start the counting processing (S3) when the state of the restriction object (102) is a restricted state (locked) in which the entry of the person to the target area (200) is restricted (S2 NO process is ended without performing S3 process of detecting room occupants, [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Sakashita discloses the authentication apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the at least one processor (100) is configured to execute the instructions to switch the state of the restriction object (102) to the restricted state (locked), when authentication of the person is successful (Figure 3 S2 user is authenticated YES, however the user is refused entry (restricted) in S8 after authentication S2 because the priority for entry is lower S7 than those in the room).
Regarding claim 6, Sakashita discloses the authentication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the person performs a first procedure ([0024] pre-stored face image) for entering the target area (200) before entering the target area (200) ([0024] S2 for determining if imaged person int target area is matched with pre-approved stored image),
the person performs a second procedure (S10) for ending a use of the target area (200) when ending the use of the target area (200) ([0046]), and
the at least one processor (100) is configured to execute the instructions to start the counting processing (S2) when the person completes the first procedure (pre-stored face image) ([0024] S2 started after pre-approved face image is matched with image of user entering target area 200), and ends the counting processing (S2) when the person completes the second procedure (S10) (Figure 3 after S10 is completed the process ends until a new entry applicant is detected.).
Regarding independent claim 9, Sakashita discloses an authentication method (Figure 3 [0017]) comprising:
authenticating a person (figure 3 S1), by using a first image (12) that is generated by an imaging apparatus (11+12) imaging the person before the person enters a target area (200) ([0015] card read 12 (described to be alternatively implemented as an image pickup device for face authentication [0017 and [0024]) is used to granted entry into room 200); and
performing counting processing (S3) for counting ([0027]-[0030] and [0040]-[0041] cameras 11 (figures 1-2) detects the number of persons in room 200) a number of persons staying in the target area (200), by using one or more second images (video by 11) generated by the imaging apparatus (11+12) imaging persons entering and leaving the target area (200) ([0013], [0028]-[0029], and [0040] the captured videos (plurality of sequential images) from the cameras 11 are used to detect individual persons including persons having entered/exited the room 200), the counting processing including:
detecting (133), based on the one or more second images (video by 11), a person moving from outside the target area (200) to inside the target area (200) through an entrance (102) of the target area (200) ([0040] section 133 detects persons entering the room 200 based on videos captured by cameras 11. Entry is via gate 102 [0037].); and
detecting, based on the one or more second images (video by 11), the person moving from inside the target area (200) to outside the target area (200) through the entrance (102) of the target area (200) ([0046] and S11 determine that a person has left the room. Entry is via gate 102 [0037].).
Regarding independent claim 10, Sakashita discloses a non-transitory recording medium on which a computer program ([0021]) that allows a computer to execute an authentication method (figure 3) is recorded, the authentication method including:
authenticating a person (figure 3 S1), by using a first image (12) that is generated by an imaging apparatus (11+12) imaging the person before the person enters a target area (200) ([0015] card read 12 (described to be alternatively implemented as an image pickup device for face authentication [0017 and [0024]) is used to granted entry into room 200); and
performing counting processing (S3) for counting ([0027]-[0030] and [0040]-[0041] cameras 11 (figures 1-2) detects the number of persons in room 200) a number of persons staying in the target area (200), by using one or more second images (video by 11) generated by the imaging apparatus (11+12) imaging persons entering and leaving the target area (200) ([0013], [0028]-[0029], and [0040] the captured videos (plurality of sequential images) from the cameras 11 are used to detect individual persons including persons having entered/exited the room 200), the counting processing including:
detecting (133), based on the one or more second images (video by 11), a person moving from outside the target area (200) to inside the target area (200) through an entrance (102) of the target area (200) ([0040] section 133 detects persons entering the room 200 based on videos captured by cameras 11. Entry is via gate 102 [0037].); and
detecting, based on the one or more second images (video by 11), the person moving from inside the target area (200) to outside the target area (200) through the entrance (102) of the target area (200) ([0046] and S11 determine that a person has left the room. Entry is via gate 102 [0037].).
Regarding claim 13, Sakashita discloses the authentication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the one or more second images comprise a plurality of second images that correspond to time-series data ([0029] cameras 11 capture videos (plurality of sequential images)),
the counting processing (S3) is performed based on the plurality of second images ([0013], [0028]-[0029], and [0040] the captured videos (plurality of sequential images) from the cameras 11 are used to detect individual persons including persons having entered/exited the room 200).
Regarding claim 14, Sakashita discloses the authentication method according to claim 9, wherein
the one or more second images comprise a plurality of second images that correspond to time-series data ([0029] cameras 11 capture videos (plurality of sequential images)),
the counting processing (S3) is performed based on the plurality of second images ([0013], [0028]-[0029], and [0040] the captured videos (plurality of sequential images) from the cameras 11 are used to detect individual persons including persons having entered/exited the room 200).
Regarding claim 15, Sakashita discloses the non-transitory recording medium according to claim 10, wherein
the one or more second images comprise a plurality of second images that correspond to time-series data ([0029] cameras 11 capture videos (plurality of sequential images)),
the counting processing (S3) is performed based on the plurality of second images ([0013], [0028]-[0029], and [0040] the captured videos (plurality of sequential images) from the cameras 11 are used to detect individual persons including persons having entered/exited the room 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita in view of Watanabe (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0162503).
Regarding claim 4, Sakashita discloses the authentication apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the target area (200) includes a [ ] room (room 200) of an [ ] facility (figure 1), and
the restriction object (102) includes a lockable door of the [ ] room ([0037]).
Sakashita does not specifically disclose the room to be a guest room of an accommodation facility.
Watanabe discloses a target area includes a guest room of an accommodation facility ([0067]-[0068] describes a hotel comprising image monitoring units 25d and 314d, via cameras 2, to count the number of people in and out of each guest room.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Sakashita’s target area room with lockable door with the known technique of being a guest room of an accommodation facility yielding the predictable results of detecting suspicious persons/behavior for increased security of guests as disclosed by Watanabe ([0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Sakashita discloses the authentication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the target area (200) includes a [ ] room (room 200) of an [ ] facility (figure 1), and
the first procedure includes a check-in procedure ([0024] pre-stored face image, if the face is not matched in S2 the user is unable to enter the room, therefore pre-stored face image is considered within a scope of “check-in” procedure for a facility) to the [ ] facility, and
the second procedure (S10) includes a check-out procedure from the [ ] facility ([0046]).
Sakashita does not specifically disclose the room to be a guest room of an accommodation facility.
Watanabe discloses A target area includes a guest room of an accommodation facility ([0067]-[0068] describes a hotel comprising image monitoring units 25d and 314d, via cameras 2, to count the number of people in and out of each guest room.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Sakashita’s target area room with lockable door with the known technique of being a guest room of an accommodation facility yielding the predictable results of detecting suspicious persons/behavior for increased security of guests as disclosed by Watanabe ([0068]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 8 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the newly amended subject matter. Please refer to the above office action as rebuttal.
This action is final necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gu et al. (US Patent 10,997,835) mirrors to widen views of a cameras (column 2 lines 35-50)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621