DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al (CN 108 890 633), hereinafter “Fang”.
With respect to Claim 1, Fang, Figures 1-2, teaches a finger sub-assembly for a gripper assembly, the finger sub- assembly comprising:
a base unit 6 configured to be connectable to a gripper assembly by a mount 1; and;
a high-friction pad 10 for contacting an article during article manipulation, wherein the high-friction pad is mechanically secured to the base unit 1 and configured to prevent relative movement between the base unit 1 and an article to be manipulated.
With respect to Claim 2, Fang further teaches wherein the base unit comprises:
a cutout (See Figure 2) defining a recessed area into which the high-friction pad is received.
With respect to Claim 7, Fang further teaches wherein the high-friction pad comprises:
a rigid plate overmolded by a high-friction material, and wherein the base unit includes:
longitudinal undercuts 8 into which parts of the rigid plate are received when the high- friction pad 10 is received in the cutout.
With respect to Claim 16, Fang further teaches a finger sub-assembly according to Claim 1 in combination with a gripper assembly configured for manipulating an article.
With respect to Claim 17, Fang further teaches a finger sub-assembly in combination with a gripper assembly according to Claim 16 configured as a robotic manipulator.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yi et al (CN 108 890 633), hereinafter “Yi”.
With respect to Claim 1, Yi, Figures 1-5, teaches a finger sub-assembly for a gripper assembly, the finger sub- assembly comprising:
a base unit 1 configured to be connectable to a gripper assembly by a mount (See Figure 1); and
a high-friction pad 3 for contacting an article during article manipulation, wherein the high-friction pad is mechanically secured to the base unit 1 and configured to prevent relative movement between the base unit 1 and an article to be manipulated.
With respect to Claim 2, Yi further teaches wherein the base unit comprises:
a cutout 2 defining a recessed area into which the high-friction pad 3 is received.
With respect to Claim 11, Yi further teaches wherein the cutout comprises: an open end through which the high-friction pad is received.
With respect to Claim 16, Yi further teaches a finger sub-assembly according to Claim 1 in combination with a gripper assembly configured for manipulating an article.
With respect to Claim 17, Yi further teaches a finger sub-assembly in combination with a gripper assembly according to Claim 16 configured as a robotic manipulator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8-10, 12-15, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654