DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “vehicle camera comprising: a housing” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) (claim 10). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9, 11 , 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, last line, it is unclear as to what “the protrusion” is actually referred to since there are the protrusion of the first body and the protrusion of the inner surface of the space portion of the second body.
Regarding claim 17, last line, it is unclear as to what “the protrusion” is actually referred to since there are the protrusion of the first body and the protrusion of the inner surface of the space portion of the second body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 13, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lane et al. (US 20170271815 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lane et al. discloses a connector module comprising:
a first connector 1102 comprising a first terminal (para.[0024]) and a first body 1108, 1109 in which the first terminal is disposed; and
a second connector 1104 comprising a second terminal 1150 electrically connected to the first terminal and a second body 1110 in which the second terminal is disposed,
wherein the second body 1110 comprises a space portion 1106 to which at least a part of the first body 1108 is coupled and a through hole 1182 formed from an inner surface of the space portion 1106 so as to pass through an outer surface of the second body 1110,
wherein the first body 1108, 1109 comprises a protrusion 1122 that protrudes from an outer surface thereof more than other areas so as to be coupled to the through hole 1182, wherein the connector module comprises a cover 1120 disposed outside the through hole 1182,
wherein the cover 1120 comprises a hole (adjacent 1121, see fig. 6) to which the protrusion 1122 is coupled, wherein a guide groove 1144 is arranged on the inner surface of the space portion 1106, which is recessed outwardly from other regions, and
wherein a guide projection 1142 is arranged on the outer surface of the first body 1108, 1109, which protrudes outwardly from other regions and is coupled to the guide groove 1144.
Regarding claim 3, Lane et al. discloses a spacing between an inner surface of the hole and an outer surface of the protrusion 1122 is larger than the spacing between an inner surface of the through-hole 1182 and the outer surface of the protrusion 1122 (see figures 5, 6).
Regarding claim 5, Lane et al. discloses the guide projection 1142 is provided in plurality and arranged symmetrically with respect to each other with respect to a center of the first body 1108.
Regarding claim 6, Lane et al. discloses the protrusion includes a first protrusion (see annotated drawing below) disposed in the through-hole 1182, a second protrusion 1124 disposed in the hole (adjacent 1121, see fig. 6), and an upper surface of the second protrusion 1124 includes an inclined surface 1140.
Regarding claim 7, Lane et al. discloses an inner surface of the space portion 1106 includes a protrusion (see annotated drawing below) projecting inwardly from other regions, and the space portion includes a first region (see annotated drawing below) to which the first body 1108 is coupled and a second region (see annotated drawing below) to which the protrusion is disposed.
Regarding claim 10, Lane et al. discloses a connector module comprising:
a first connector 1102 comprising a first terminal (para.[0024]) and a first body 1108, 1109 in which the first terminal is disposed; and
a second connector 1104 comprising a second terminal 1150 electrically connected to the first terminal and a second body 1110 in which the second terminal is disposed,
wherein the second body 1110 comprises a space portion 1106 to which at least a part of the first body 1108 is coupled and a through hole 1182 formed from an inner surface of the space portion 1106 so as to pass through an outer surface of the second body 1110,
wherein the first body 1108, 1109 comprises a protrusion 1122 that protrudes from an outer surface thereof more than other areas so as to be coupled to the through hole 1182, wherein the connector module comprises a cover 1120 disposed outside the through hole 1182,
wherein the cover 1120 comprises a hole (adjacent 1121, see fig. 6) to which the protrusion 1122 is coupled, wherein a guide groove 1144 is arranged on the inner surface of the space portion 1106, which is recessed outwardly from other regions, and
wherein a guide projection 1142 is arranged on the outer surface of the first body 1108, 1109, which protrudes outwardly from other regions and is coupled to the guide groove 1144.
The recitation regarding “A vehicle camera comprising: a housing” has not been given significant patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 13, Lane et al. discloses a spacing between an inner surface of the hole and an outer surface of the protrusion 1122 is larger than the spacing between an inner surface of the through-hole 1182 and the outer surface of the protrusion 1122 (see figures 5, 6).
Regarding claim 15, Lane et al. discloses the guide projection 1142 is provided in plurality and arranged symmetrically with respect to each other with respect to a center of the first body 1108.
Regarding claim 16, Lane et al. discloses the protrusion includes a first protrusion (see annotated drawing below) disposed in the through-hole 1182, a second protrusion 1124 disposed in the hole (adjacent 1121, see fig. 6), and an upper surface of the second protrusion 1124 includes an inclined surface 1140.
Regarding claim 17, Lane et al. discloses an inner surface of the space portion 1106 includes a protrusion (see annotated drawing below) projecting inwardly from other regions, and the space portion includes a first region (see annotated drawing below) to which the first body 1108 is coupled and a second region (see annotated drawing below) to which the protrusion is disposed.
[AltContent: textbox (1st protrusion)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (protrusion)][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 12, 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane et al..
Regarding claim 2, Lane does not disclose a spacing between an inner surface of the through-hole 1182 and an outer surface of the protrusion 1122 is from 0 mm to 0.1 mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the spacing, to the extent that Lane et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the spacing would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 4, Lane does not disclose a gap between a side surface of the protrusion and an inner surface of the through hole is 0 mm to 0.1 mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the gap, to the extent that Lane et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the gap would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 8, Lane does not disclose a distance from an end surface of the first body coupled to the space portion to the projection is between 0.075 mm and 0.125 mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the distance, to the extent that Lane et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the distance would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 12, Lane does not disclose a spacing between an inner surface of the through-hole 1182 and an outer surface of the protrusion 1122 is from 0 mm to 0.1 mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the spacing, to the extent that Lane et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the spacing would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 14, Lane does not disclose a gap between a side surface of the protrusion and an inner surface of the through hole is 0 mm to 0.1 mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the gap, to the extent that Lane et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the gap would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 18, Lane does not disclose a distance from an end surface of the first body coupled to the space portion to the projection is between 0.075 mm and 0.125 mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the distance, to the extent that Lane et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the distance would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 19, 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
9/21/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834