Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 14, 37, 38, 40, 42, 44-48, 53, 62 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeck (2005/0112020).
Regarding claim 1, Zeck discloses a system for pumpless delivery of a product (A system is shown for injecting a chemical, abstract; The system of the invention offers advantages over both pulse and pump systems, para. [0039]), comprising: at least one container (tank 11 and/or injection chamber 17, Fig. 1), each container enclosing an associated fluid (the vapor pressure of the liquid in the tank 11 forces odorant upwardly through probe assembly 14 to the inlet valve 15 gas supply opens isolation valve 15 and odorant begins to fill an external injection chamber 17, para. [0034]), the at least one container operably coupled to a gas (a pressurized gas source such as nitrogen tank 10 communicates with the chemical storage tank 11, para. [0032]); at least one sensor (drip chamber 32, shown in Fig. 4, similar to drip chamber 28, shown in Fig. 1) configured to detect a flow of the associated fluid in an output line (conduit 26, Fig. 1) from the at least one container (FIG. 4 shows an alternative drip chamber 32 through which drops of odorant 34 are falling. As the drops of liquid odorant 34 land on an impingement surface 35, a sound wave is generated. The surface 36 can be, for example, the diaphragm of a piezoelectric, i.e., essentially a microphone. The force each wave generates is transmitted to a crystal associated with the sensor. The crystal, in turn, generates a proportional electric charge which results in a voltage difference between two electrodes. The controller 12 counts and measures the resulting voltage spikes which are produced, para. [0053]); and a controller (controller 12, Fig. 1) in communication with the at least one sensor (The controller 12 counts and measures the resulting voltage spikes which are produced, para. [0053]), the controller configured to control at least one valve (metering valve 20, Fig. 1) using a velocity or a flow rate based on a voltage from the at least one sensor (the controller 12 provides a means to input odorant properties, desired injection rates and gas flow rate data. The controller uses this input, as well as live data, to adjust the metering valve 20 to deliver the desired Injection rate, proportional to the gas flow passing down the pipeline 23, para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the container is connected to a source for a pressurized gas (a pressurized gas source such as nitrogen tank 10 communicates with the chemical storage tank 11, para. [0032]; When the controller 12 opens solenoid valve 16, gas supply opens isolation valve 15 and odorant begins to fill an external injection chamber 17, para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the gas is a low-pressure gas (the storage tank 11 can be maintained in the range of 500 psi by means of nitrogen blanket provided by the nitrogen tank 10, para. [0032]; odorants are typically provided in liquid form and are typically added to the gas at a location where distribution gas is taken from a main gas pipeline and provided to a distribution pipeline. In such circumstances, the gas pressure may be stepped down through a regulator from, for example, 600 psi or more, to a lower pressure in the range of 100 psi or less, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the low-pressure gas is generated by a venturi device (see Fig. 1 showing a pressurized gas such as nitrogen tank 10 communicating with chemical storage tank 11 and injection chamber 17, via tank 11, such that the pressurized gas is capable of being generated by a venture device).
Regarding claim 5, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the associated fluid is a liquid (the vapor pressure of the liquid in the tank 11 forces odorant upwardly through probe assembly 14 to the inlet valve 15 gas supply opens isolation valve 15 and odorant begins to fill an external injection chamber 17, para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein a pressure in each container is less than or equal to 100 psig (the gas pressure may be stepped down through a regulator from, for example, 600 psi or more, to a lower pressure in the range of 100 psi or less, pará. [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one container comprises a plurality of containers (tank 11 and injection chamber 17, Fig. 1), each operably connected to a source (nitrogen tank 10, Fig. 1) through a manifold (see Fig. 1 showing conduit 8 defining a manifold that branches out from tank 10 in one direction to valve 16 which is operably connected to chamber 17 via isolation valve 15, and in another direction to valve 13 which is operably connected to tank 11).
Regarding claim 37, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein there is at least one valve (metering valve 20, Fig. 1) on at least one output line (conduit 26, Fig. 1) that is controlled by the controller using data from the at least one sensor (the controller 12 provides a means to input odorant properties, desired injection rates and gas flow rate data. The controller uses this input, as well as live data, to adjust the metering valve 20 to deliver the desired injection rate, proportional to the gas flow passing down the pipeline 23, para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 38, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses a pressure regulator between a source (nitrogen tank 10, Fig. 1) and the at least one container (regulator valve 12, between tanks 10 and 11, Fig. 1), configured to control a pressure of a flow of pressurized gas into the at least one container (pressurized gas source such as nitrogen tank 10 communicates with the chemical storage tank 11 by means of conduit 8 and regulator valve 12 for maintaining the tank 11 at a desired positive pressure above the pressure of the natural gas pipeline 23, para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 40, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses a pressure sensor between a source (nitrogen tank 10, Fig. 1) and the at least one container (regulator valve 12, between tanks 10 and 11, Fig. 1), configured to measure a pressure of a pressurized gas flowing into the at least one container (pressurized gas source such as nitrogen tank 10 communicates with the chemical storage tank 11 by means of conduit 8 and regulator valve 12 for maintaining the tank 11 at a desired positive pressure above the pressure of the natural gas pipeline 23, para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 42, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, further comprising a valve (valve 16, Fig. 1) between a source (nitrogen tank 10, Fig. 1) and the at least one container (see Fig. 1 showing valve 16 between tanks 10 and 11, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 44, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses at least one temperature sensor collocated with the at least one valve, configured to measure a temperature of a product flowing out of the at least one container (A temperature sensor (not shown) is located in the odorant stream, para. [0044]; see Fig. 1 showing valve 20 located in the odorant stream in conduit 26, collocated with a temperature sensor, configured to measure a temperature of the odorant stream flowing out of tank 11 via valves 14 and 15 and into conduit 26).
Regarding claim 45, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses at least one temperature sensor (A temperature sensor (not shown) is located in the odorant stream, para. [0044]) between the at least one container and an external container (pipeline 23, Fig. 1), configured to measure a temperature of a product flowing out of the at least one container (see Fig. 1 showing conduit 26, containing an odorant stream from tank 11 and positioned between tank 11 and pipeline 23, configured to measure a temperature of the odorant stream flowing out of tank 11 via valves 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 46, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 45, and further discloses wherein the temperature sensor communicates with the controller (The controller 12 calculates drop size based on temperature, pressures, physical constants of the odorant blend and orifice size. The drop size can thus be verified and adjusted, para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 47, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the controller comprises at least one processor (The preferred odorization system of the invention utilizes a microprocessor based controller 12 in its operation, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 48, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 47, and further discloses wherein the processor controls the at least one valve (a controller, operative under the control of a program stored therein, is provided to precisely adjust the motor driven needle valve 20 used for metering individual drops of chemical, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 53, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the product comprises a food concentrate, a beverage concentrate, a flavor concentrate, a pharmaceutical ingredient, a biopharmaceutical ingredient, a fertilizer, or a cosmetic composition (see Fig.: 1 showing a system for pumpless delivery of a product, which is capable of comprising a food concentrate, a beverage concentrate, a flavor concentrate, a pharmaceutical ingredient, a biopharmaceutical ingredient, a fertilizer, or a cosmetic composition).
Regarding claim 62, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the controller is configured to: cause the product to begin to flow from the at least one container, past the at least one sensor (the measuring means of the invention includes a measuring unit associated with the metering valve 20 for measuring flow passing through the metering valve and into the pipeline, para. [0040]); receive data comprising at least one flow rate from the sensor (As the drops of liquid odorant 34 land on an impingement surface 35, a sound wave is generated. The surface 36 can be, for example, the diaphragm of a piezoelectric, i.e., essentially a microphone, para. [0053]); determine a total amount of output from the at least one container based on the received data (controller 12 counts and measures the resulting voltage spikes which are produced, para. [0053]; controller 12 calculates drop size based on temperature, pressures, physical constants of the odorant blend and orifice size, para. [0037]); and
adjust the at least one valve based on the determined total amount of output (controller 12 provides a means to input odorant properties, desired injection rates and gas flow rate data. The controller uses this input, as well as live data, to adjust the metering valve 20 to deliver the desired injection rate, proportional to the gas flow passing down the pipeline 23, para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 63, Zeck discloses a method for pumpless dispensing, comprising: receiving voltage data from a sensor (drip chamber 32, shown in Fig. 4, similar to drip chamber 28, shown in Fig. 1) as a fluid (the vapor pressure of the liquid in the tank 11 forces odorant upwardly through probe assembly 14 to the inlet valve 15 gas supply opens isolation valve 15 and odorant begins to fill an external injection chamber 17, para. [0034]) is flowing past (FIG. 4 shows an alternative drip chamber 32 through which drops of odorant 34 are failing. As the drops of liquid odorant 34 land on an impingement surface 35, a sound wave is generated. The surface 36 can be, for example, the diaphragm of a piezoelectric, i.e., essentially a microphone. The force each wave generates is transmitted to a crystal associated with the sensor. The crystal, in turn, generates a proportional electric charge which results in a voltage difference between two electrodes. The controller 12 counts and measures the resulting voltage spikes which are produced, para. [0053]); determining a velocity, a mass flow rate, or a volumetric flow rate from a container (tank 11, Fig. 1) based on the voltage data (The controller 12 counts and measures the resulting voltage spikes which are produced, para. [0053]; controller 12 calculates drop size based on temperature, pressures, physical constants of the odorant blend and orifice size, para. [0037]); and
adjusting a valve (metering valve 20, Fig. 1) based on the determined velocity, a mass flow rate, or a volumetric flow rate (the controller 12 provides a means to input odorant properties, desired injection rates and gas flow rate data. The controller uses this input, as well as live data, to adjust the metering valve 20 to deliver the desired injection rate, proportional to the gas flow passing down the pipeline 23, para. [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 55-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeck (2005/0112020).
Regarding claim 55, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 54, but does not disclose wherein the pressure is less than or equal to 10 psig. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein the pressure is less than or equal to 10 psig, since discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The
motivation for doing SO would have been to provide a low pressurized gas to control a fluid mixture to be accurately metered at a specific low flow rate.
Regarding claim 56, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 55, but does not disclose wherein the pressure is less than or equal to 5 psig. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein the pressure is less than or equal to 5 psig, since discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The
motivation for doing so would have been to provide a low pressurized gas to control a fluid mixture to be accurately metered at a specific low flow rate.
Regarding claim 57, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 56, but does not disclose wherein the pressure is less than or equal to 2.5 psig. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein the pressure is less than or equal to 2.5 psig, since discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The
motivation for doing so would have been to provide a low pressurized gas to control a fluid mixture to be accurately metered at a specific low flow rate.
Claim(s) 35, 36, 39, 41, and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeck in view of US 2003/0097314 to Crisp, III et al. (hereinafter, "Crisp").
Regarding claim 35, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein a manifold further comprises one or more valves (valve 13, Fig. 1) for controlling a flow of a pressurized gas into at least one container of a plurality of containers (plurality of containers shown at tank 11 and chamber 17 in Fig. 1; see Fig. 1 showing conduit 8 defining a manifold that branches out to valve 16 in one direction and to check valve 13 in another direction which controls a flow of a pressurized gas from tank 10 into tank 11). Zeck does not disclose one or more valves for controlling a flow of a pressurized gas into a plurality of containers. However, Crisp teaches a system for pumpless delivery of a product (beverage dispensing apparatus having fluid director, title; see system shown in Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: at least one container (drink supply canisters 24, Fig. 3), each container enclosing an associated fluid (The drink supply canister 24 can be filled with drink supply, para. [0094]), the at least one container operably coupled to a gas (gas supplier 28 coupled to drink supply canisters 24 via gas supplier valves 54 and gas inlet valves 64, Fig. 3); at least one sensor (beverage requesters 36 (such as indicators, buttons, actuators, sensors, a keyboard, touch panel, touch screen or any combination thereof), para. [0082]) configured to detect a flow of the associated fluid in an output line (fluid director 34, Fig. 2) from the at least one container (The fluid director 34 is thus constructed with predetermined dimensions and a predetermined shape to enable the typical beverage supply to mix sufficiently with the water and to facilitate control of the beverage brix ratios by suitably adjusting the pressure and flow rate of drink supply and water, para. [0098]); and a controller (controller 38, Fig. 3) in communication with the at least one sensor (When a user desires to obtain a beverage, the user makes the user's request through one of the beverage requesters 36 which is connected to or in communication with the controller 38 as illustrated in FIG. 7, para. [0083]), the controller configured to control at least one valve using a velocity or a flow rate from the at least one sensor (As shown in FIG. 3, the controller 38 generates the appropriate beverage dispense signal. Upon receiving a beverage dispense signal from the controller 38, the drink supply outlet valve (discussed below) associated with the appropriate drink supply canister 24 is opened or opens to dispense the appropriate amount of drink supply from the drink supply canister 24, para. [0083]), wherein the at least one container comprises a plurality of containers (drink supply canisters 24, Fig. 3), each operably connected to a source through a manifold (gas manifold 132, Fig. 3), wherein the manifold further comprises one or more valves (two-way gas valve 136, Fig. 3) for controlling a flow of pressurized gas into the plurality of containers (The gas manifold 132 connected to the gas supply canisters is preferably a conventional safe transfer device that provides consistent low pressure flow to the drink supply canisters, para. [0120]; the gas pressure regulator 134 is a conventional regulator adapted to reduce CO 2 gas pressure to levels in the approximate pressure range between ten (10) and eighty (80) PSI. The two-way gas valve 136 is connected to gas lines 142 a and 142 b. Gas line 142 a communicates gas to the drink supply canisters 24, para. [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the system of Zeck to include one or more valves for controlling a flow of pressurized gas into the plurality of containers, as taught by Crisp, for the purpose of providing means for simultaneously controlling a pressure inside multiple containers.
Regarding claim 36, modified Zeck discloses the system according to claim 35, but Zeck does not disclose wherein the one or more valves are controlled by the controller. However, Crisp further teaches wherein the one or more valves are controlled by the controller (The actuator program provides the processor 158 with instructions for controlling the operation of the valve actuators. The actuator program enables the processor to synchronize the operation of the actuators which controls the opening and closing of the valves in response to inputs, para. [0137]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the system of Zeck to include wherein the one or more valves are controlled by the controller, as taught by Crisp, for the purpose of providing means for
simultaneously controlling a pressure inside multiple containers.
Regarding claim 39, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 38, but does not disclose wherein the regulator is controlled by the controller. However, Crisp teaches a system for pumpless delivery of a product (beverage dispensing apparatus having fluid director, title; see system shown in Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: at least one container (drink supply canisters 24, Fig. 3), each container enclosing an associated fluid (The drink supply canister 24 can be filled with drink supply, para. [0094]), the at least one container operably coupled to a gas (gas supplier 28 coupled to drink supply canisters 24 via gas supplier valves 54 and gas inlet valves 64, Fig. 3); at least one sensor (beverage requesters 36 (such as indicators, buttons, actuators, sensors, a keyboard, touch panel, touch screen or any combination thereof), para.[0082]) configured to detect a flow of the associated fluid in an output line (fluid director 34, Fig. 2) from the at least one container (The fluid director 34 is thus constructed with predetermined dimensions and a predetermined shape to enable the typical beverage supply to mix sufficiently with the water and to facilitate control of the beverage brix ratios by suitably adjusting the pressure and flow rate of drink supply and water, para. [0098]); and a controller (controller 38, Fig. 3) in communication with the at least one sensor (When a user desires to obtain a beverage, the user makes the user's request through one of the beverage requesters 36 which is connected to or in
communication with the controller 38 as illustrated in FIG. 7, para. [0083]), the controller configured to control at least one valve using a velocity or a flow rate from the at least one sensor (As) shown in FIG. 3, the controller 38 generates the appropriate beverage dispense signal. Upon receiving a beverage dispense signal from the controller 38, the drink supply outlet valve (discussed below) associated with the appropriate drink supply canister 24 is opened or opens to dispense the appropriate amount of drink supply from the drink supply canister 24, para. [0083]), a pressure regulator between a source and the at least one container (gas pressure regulator 134, positioned between gas supply canisters 126 and drink supply canisters 24, Fig. 3), wherein, the pressure regulator is controlled by the controller (the pressure regulator 134 is a conventional regulator adapted to reduce CO 2 gas pressure to levels in the approximate pressure range
between ten (10) and eighty (80) PSI. The two-way gas valve 136 is connected to gas lines 142 a and 142 b. Gas line 142 a communicates gas to the drink supply canisters 24, para. [0123]; The actuator program provides the processor 158 with instructions for
controlling the operation of the valve actuators. The actuator program enables the processor to synchronize the operation of the actuators which controls the opening and closing of the valves in response to inputs, para. [0137]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the system of Zeck to include a pressure regulator controlled by the controller, as taught by Crisp, for the purpose of synchronizing an operation of actuators that control the opening and closing of the valves in response to inputs.
Regarding claim 41, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 40, but does not disclose wherein the pressure sensor communicates with the controller. However, Crisp teaches a system for pumpless delivery of a product (beverage dispensing apparatus having fluid director, title; see system shown in Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: at least one container (drink supply canisters 24, Fig. 3), each container enclosing an associated fluid (The drink supply canister 24 can be filled with drink supply, para. [0094]), the at least one container operably coupled to a gas (gas supplier 28 coupled to drink supply canisters 24 via gas supplier valves 54 and gas inlet valves 64, Fig. 3); at least one sensor (beverage requesters 36 (such as indicators, buttons, actuators, sensors, a keyboard, touch panel, touch screen or any combination thereof), para. [0082]) configured to detect a flow of the associated fluid in an output line (fluid director 34, Fig. 2) from the at least one container (The fluid director 34 is thus constructed with predetermined dimensions and a predetermined shape to enable the typical beverage supply to mix sufficiently with the water and to facilitate control of the beverage brix ratios by suitably adjusting the pressure and flow rate of drink supply and water, para. [0098]); and a controller (controller 38, Fig. 3) in communication with the at least one sensor (When a user desires to obtain a beverage, the user makes the user's request through one of the beverage requesters 36 which is connected to or in communication with the controller 38 as illustrated in FIG. 7, para. [0083]), the controller configured to control at least one valve using a velocity or a flow rate from the at least one sensor (As shown in FIG. 3, the controller 38 generates the appropriate beverage dispense signal. Upon receiving a beverage dispense signal from the controller 38, the drink supply outlet valve (discussed below) associated with the appropriate drink supply canister 24 is opened or opens to dispense the appropriate amount of drink supply from the drink supply canister 24, para. [0083]), a pressure sensor between a source and the at least one container (gas pressure regulator 134, positioned between gas supply canisters 126 and drink supply canisters 24, Fig. 3), configured to measure a pressure of a pressurized gas flowing into the at least one container (the gas pressure regulator 134 is a conventional regulator adapted to reduce CO 2 gas pressure to levels in the approximate pressure range between ten (10) and eighty (80) PSI. The two-way gas valve 136 is connected to gas lines 142 a and 142 b. Gas line 142 a communicates gas to the drink supply canisters 24, para. [0123]), wherein the pressure sensor is controlled by the controller (The actuator program provides the processor 158 with instructions for controlling the operation of the valve actuators. The actuator program enables the processor to synchronize the operation of the actuators which controls the opening and closing of the valves in response to inputs, para. [0137]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the system of Zeck to include a pressure sensor controlled by the controller, as taught by Crisp, for the purpose of providing means for controlling a pressure inside multiple containers.
Regarding claim 50, Zeck discloses the system according to claim 49, but does not disclose wherein the at least one display is a touch-sensitive display. However, Crisp teaches a system for pumpless delivery of a product (beverage dispensing apparatus having fluid director, title; see system shown in Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: at least one container (drink supply canisters 24, Fig. 3), each container enclosing an associated fluid (The drink supply canister 24 can be filled with drink supply, para. [0094]), the at least one container operably coupled to a gas (gas supplier 28 coupled to drink supply canisters 24 via gas supplier valves 54 and gas inlet valves 64, Fig. 3); at least one sensor (beverage requesters 36 (such as indicators, buttons, actuators, sensors, a keyboard, touch panel, touch screen or any combination thereof), para.
[0082]) configured to detect a flow of the associated fluid in an output line (fluid director 34, Fig. 2) from the at least one container (The fluid director 34 is thus constructed with predetermined dimensions and a predetermined shape to enable the typical beverage supply to mix sufficiently with the water and to facilitate control of the beverage brix ratios by suitably adjusting the pressure and flow rate of drink supply and water, para. [0098]); and a controller (controller 38, Fig. 3) in communication with the at least one sensor (When a user desires to obtain a beverage, the user makes the user's request through one of the beverage requesters 36 which is connected to or in communication with the controller 38 as illustrated in FIG. 7, para. [0083]), the controller configured to control at least one valve using a velocity or a flow rate from the at least one sensor (As shown in FIG. 3, the controller 38 generates the appropriate beverage dispense
signal. Upon receiving a beverage dispense signal from the controller 38, the drink supply outlet valve (discussed below) associated with the appropriate drink supply canister 24 is opened or opens to dispense the appropriate amount of drink supply from the drink supply canister 24, para. [0083]), wherein the controller comprises at least one display, and wherein the at least one display is a touch-sensitive display (In the embodiment where the beverage dispenser Includes an input device such as a touch screen, the beverage dispensing system of the present invention may enable a user to input the type of drink supply and the position of the drink supply such that the
controller knows or can determine the appropriate brix ratio, para. [0139]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the controller of Zeck to include a touch-sensitive display, as taught by Crisp, for the purpose of providing efficient means for an operator to input data to the
controller.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Kameyama (6685054) reference discloses a liquid delivery apparatus having a flow regulator, delivery control and liquid sensors (Figure 7).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753