DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35 – 36, 38 – 43 and 47 – 50 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The multiple references on the IDS and the 892 and do not fairly teach or disclose alone or in combination the highlighted portions below.
35. (Original) A device, comprising:
a housing;
a piezoelectric component; and
a support assembly configured to support the piezoelectric component in the housing, wherein
the support assembly includes a spring, wherein the spring is, with respect to a cross- section lying on and parallel to a longitudinal axis of the device, in at least three-point contact or three-line contact with other components of the support assembly.
43. (Original) A device, comprising:
a housing;
a piezoelectric component having a maximum dimension; and
a spring, wherein
the piezoelectric component is supported by the spring, and
the spring extends along an axis that runs substantially parallel to the maximum dimension.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 51 - 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2)(a) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0124530 (Berg et al.).
Bergs teaches a device (fig. 9), comprising:
a housing (paragraph [17], FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a portion of the cross-section of the exemplary embodiment depicted in FIG. 8; paragraph [47], housing 854);
a piezoelectric component having a maximum dimension (paragraph [48], As can be seen, the piezoelectric material 855 is coated with a coating, thereby establishing the piezoelectric component. );
a spring (paragraph [48], The piezoelectric component 855 is clamped between two springs 910 and 920.), wherein
the piezoelectric component is supported by the spring (paragraph [48], The piezoelectric component 855 is clamped [supported] between two springs 910 and 920.), and
the spring has a curved major axis (paragraph [51], While the springs 910 and 920 have been depicted as coil springs, as will be seen below, in some exemplary embodiments, other types of springs can be utilized, such as leaf springs [curved major axis i.e. semi-elliptical shape] and Belleville springs.).
With respect to claims 52 and 54 – 57, note paragraph [51].
With respect to claim 53, note at least the Abstract.
.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Double Patenting
Claims 51 – 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,432,084. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims only differ by small and obvious word and/or phrase changes. For example, both the instant claims and the claims of the patent teach a medical device having a housing, a piezoelectric component and a spring. The main difference is that the instant claims disclose a spring which is curved while the patent discloses a leaf spring. It is noted that a leaf spring is curved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the Abstracts and Figs. of the additional references cited on the accompanying 892.
The official fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571 -273-8300. However, unofficial faxes can be direct to the examiner's computer at 571 273 -7484.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
03Apr2026
/WILLIAM J DEANE JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693