DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on August 30, 2024 wherein claims 1-27 remain pending and ready for examination.
Requirement
Requirement — Overview
The applicant is required to submit copies of non-patent literature and relevant technical information as set forth below.
Basis for Requirement
35 U.S.C. § 131 provides:
The Director shall cause an examination to be made of the application and the alleged new invention; and if on such examination it appears that the applicant is entitled to a patent under the law, the Director shall issue a patent therefor.
37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a) provides:
In the course of examining or treating a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 or 371 (including a reissue application), in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding, the examiner or other Office employee may require the submission, from individuals identified under § 1.56(c), or any assignee, of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat the matter, for example:
….
(iii) Related information: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign), by any of the inventors, that relates to the claimed invention.
(iv) Information used to draft application: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used to draft the application.
(v) Information used in invention process: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used in the invention process, such as by designing around or providing a solution to accomplish an invention result.
…
(viii) Technical information known to applicant. Technical information known to applicant concerning the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or concerning the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Background
The applicant has stated in a publicly available European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI) record that PCT/CN2022/090393 (or, WO2022CN90393), which is a parent of Application No. 18/842,936 (“the Application”), “may be or may become ESSENTIAL in relation to at least the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the attached IPR Information Statement Annex.”1
Necessity for this Requirement.
This Requirement is issued pursuant to the Director’s duty and authority to examine patent applications. See 35 U.S.C. § 131; 37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a). The ETSI record indicates the applicant likely possesses information relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) that is necessary for a more complete understanding of the invention and its context. See MPEP § 704.11. Such information may include non-patent literature and technical materials (e.g., contribution papers or Tdocs) authored, generated, or submitted by the applicant or others that form the basis of, or resulted from, the claimed invention.
Applicant is Required to Submit:
Copies of any non-patent literature relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which satisfies any of the following criteria:
Authored by any of the inventors and related to the claimed invention,
Used to draft the present application, or
Used in the invention process (for example, used to design around prior art or to provide a solution that enabled the claimed invention); and
Any technical information known to the applicant relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which concerns the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Instructions to Applicant
A complete reply to this Requirement is a reply to each enumerated requirement for information giving either the information required or a statement that the information required to be submitted is unknown and/or is not readily available to the applicant. There is no requirement for the applicant to show that the required information was not, in fact, readily attainable, but the applicant is required to make a good faith attempt to obtain the information and to make a reasonable inquiry once the information is requested. See MPEP § 704.12(b).
This Requirement is subject to the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.134, 1.135 and 1.136 and is accorded the same period for reply as the action on the merits sent with this Requirement. See MPEP § 704.13 (third paragraph). EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136 (a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 14-23, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 20250219696 A1, hereafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses:
A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figs.6, 11-13, 15, 17, 19-20, 25, 27-28, UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration that configures the UE ([0043] The UE may receive information related to a CSI report (report configuration information), and may control, based on the report configuration information, CSI reporting. The report configuration information may be, for example, an information element (IE) “CSI-ReportConfig” of radio resource control (RRC), [0482] The transmitting/receiving section 220 may receive a configuration indicating X channel measurement resources for X transmission/reception points (TRPs) for coherent joint transmission. The control section 210 may control, based on the configuration, a CSI report including X pieces of channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the respective X channel measurement resources.) with at least one first combination of different channel state information (CSI) measurement hypotheses types (different combinations of CSI measurement/reporting hypotheses in [0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0274], [0302]–[0305]), the at least one first combination including one or more multiple transmitter receiver point (mTRP) coherent joint transmission (CJT) hypotheses ([0066]–[0075], [0081]–[0089], [0137]–[0140], [0142]–[0147] also disclose single-TRP measurement hypotheses, NCJT measurement hypotheses, and CJT for multi-TRP transmission.) ([0081]–[0089], [0142]–[0147], [0238]–[0257], [0456]–[0460] disclose CSI report configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) in which the UE is configured to report CSI associated with multi-TRP coherent joint transmission (CJT) hypotheses.);
measuring CSI reference signals from multiple TRPs ([0476] The transmitting/receiving section 220 (measurement section 223) may perform the measurement related to the received signal. For example, the measurement section 223 may perform RRM measurement, CSI measurement, and so on, based on the received signal. The measurement section 223 may measure received power (for example, RSRP), received quality (for example, RSRQ, SINR, SNR), signal strength (for example, RSSI), channel information (for example, CSI), and so on. The measurement results may be output to the control section 210.; [0453]–[0460], [0482]–[0497] also disclose that the UE is configured with X channel measurement resources for X TRPs for coherent joint transmission and measures CSI based on those resources/CSI-RS from multiple TRPs); and
transmitting a CSI report in accordance with the configuration ([0008], [0043]–[0049], [0456]–[0460], [0490]–[0497] disclose that the UE transmits one CSI report including multiple CSI corresponding to a plurality of TRPs in accordance with the CSI report configuration; e.g., [0494] The control section 210 the transmitting/receiving section 220 may determine channel state information (CSI) between a plurality of transmission/reception points for coherent joint transmission. The transmitting/receiving section 220 may transmit a CSI report including the CSI.).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the at least one combination also includes: one or more single transmitter receiver point (sTRP) hypotheses; or one or more mTRP non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) hypotheses ([0066]–[0075], [0081]–[0089], [0137]–[0140], [0142]–[0147] also disclose single-TRP measurement hypotheses, NCJT measurement hypotheses, and CJT for multi-TRP transmission.).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the configuration configures the UE with at least one second combination of different CSI measurement hypotheses for CSI reporting ([0081]–[0089], [0137]–[0140], [0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0305] disclose CSI report configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) used by the UE to control CSI reporting, including options in which the UE reports CSI associated with single-TRP measurement hypotheses and NCJT measurement hypotheses, as well as configurations for multiple TRPs and different reporting arrangements).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the CSI report includes: multiple CSI for multiple CSI measurement hypothesis types; or a single CSI for the different CSI measurement hypotheses ([0081]–[0089], [0137]–[0138], [0263]–[0305] disclose reporting multiple CSI corresponding to multiple TRPs, and a single best CSI among measurement hypotheses).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the CSI report includes CSI for all of multiple TRPs ([0081]–[0089], [0137]–[0138], [0263]–[0305] disclose CSI for all TRPs in the 4-TRP CJT embodiments.).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the CSI report indicates at least one of: CSI for a subset of the multiple TRPs; or more than one CSI for different subsets of the multiple TRPs ([0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0305] disclose CSI reports for subsets of TRPs and multiple CSI reports for different TRP subsets, including 2-TRP, 3-TRP, and 4-TRP CJT CSI.).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura discloses:
further comprising receiving signaling indicating one or more TRP subsets ([0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0305] disclose configurations for X TRPs and reports based on different subsets of TRPs, including 2-TRP, 3-TRP, and 4-TRP CJT CSI. [0238]–[0244], [0410]–[0412], [0456]–[0460] also disclose that the number of TRPs and associated configurations may be explicitly or implicitly indicated.).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the signaling indicates one or more numbers of TRPs in each subset ([0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0305] disclose configurations for X TRPs and reports based on different subsets of TRPs, including 2-TRP, 3-TRP, and 4-TRP CJT CSI. [0238]–[0244], [0410]–[0412], [0456]–[0460] also disclose that the number of TRPs and associated configurations may be explicitly or implicitly indicated.).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Matsumura discloses:
wherein:
the CSI report indicates a rank indicator (RI) for a CJT mTRP CSI ([0182]–[0183], [0245]–[0253], [0317]-[0321], [0491]–[0497] disclose that CSI reports include RI, including in CSI reporting for CJT/multi-TRP configurations); and
the CSI report includes one joint RI for all TRPs or per-TRP RIs reported separately ([0182]–[0183], [0190]–[0198], [0200]–[0205], [0317]-[0321] disclose that, for CSI per TRP, the same RI may be assumed and a common RI may be used, while also describing per-TRP CSI reporting).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Matsumura discloses:
wherein the CSI report indicates a channel quality indicator (CQI) rank indication (RI) for a CJT mTRP CSI ([0286]–[0305], [0319]–[0344] disclose CQI reporting in connection with CJT CSI, including 2-TRP CQI, 3-TRP CQI, and 4-TRP CQI, together with RI reporting.).
Regarding claim 14, Matsumura discloses:
A method of wireless communication at a network entity (Figs.6, 11-13, 15, 17, 19-20, 25-26, 28, Base Station, TRPs), comprising:
transmitting a configuration that configures a user equipment (UE) ([0043] The UE may receive information related to a CSI report (report configuration information), and may control, based on the report configuration information, CSI reporting. The report configuration information may be, for example, an information element (IE) “CSI-ReportConfig” of radio resource control (RRC), [0482] The transmitting/receiving section 220 may receive a configuration indicating X channel measurement resources for X transmission/reception points (TRPs) for coherent joint transmission. The control section 210 may control, based on the configuration, a CSI report including X pieces of channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the respective X channel measurement resources.) with at least one first combination of different channel state information (CSI) measurement hypotheses types (different combinations of CSI measurement/reporting hypotheses in [0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0274], [0302]–[0305]), the at least one first combination including one or more multiple transmitter receiver point (mTRP) coherent joint transmission (CJT) hypotheses ([0066]–[0075], [0081]–[0089], [0137]–[0140], [0142]–[0147] also disclose single-TRP measurement hypotheses, NCJT measurement hypotheses, and CJT for multi-TRP transmission.) ([0081]–[0089], [0142]–[0147], [0238]–[0257], [0456]–[0460] disclose CSI report configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) in which the UE is configured to report CSI associated with multi-TRP coherent joint transmission (CJT) hypotheses.); and
receiving a CSI report with CSI measurements taken by the UE in accordance with the configuration ([0476] The transmitting/receiving section 220 (measurement section 223) may perform the measurement related to the received signal. For example, the measurement section 223 may perform RRM measurement, CSI measurement, and so on, based on the received signal. The measurement section 223 may measure received power (for example, RSRP), received quality (for example, RSRQ, SINR, SNR), signal strength (for example, RSSI), channel information (for example, CSI), and so on. The measurement results may be output to the control section 210.; [0453]–[0460], [0482]–[0497] also disclose that the UE is configured with X channel measurement resources for X TRPs for coherent joint transmission and measures CSI based on those resources/CSI-RS from multiple TRPs; [0008], [0043]–[0049], [0456]–[0460], [0490]–[0497] disclose that the UE transmits one CSI report including multiple CSI corresponding to a plurality of TRPs in accordance with the CSI report configuration; e.g., [0494] The control section 210 the transmitting/receiving section 220 may determine channel state information (CSI) between a plurality of transmission/reception points for coherent joint transmission. The transmitting/receiving section 220 may transmit a CSI report including the CSI.).
Regarding claim 20, Matsumura discloses:
further comprising transmitting signaling indicating, to the UE, one or more TRP subsets ([0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0305] disclose configurations for X TRPs and reports based on different subsets of TRPs, including 2-TRP, 3-TRP, and 4-TRP CJT CSI. [0238]–[0244], [0410]–[0412], [0456]–[0460] also disclose that the number of TRPs and associated configurations may be explicitly or implicitly indicated.).
Regarding claim 27, Matsumura discloses:
An apparatus (Figs.6, 11-13, 15, 17, 19-20, 25, 27-28, UE), comprising:
at least one memory comprising executable instructions (memory, storage) ; and
one or more processors (processor) configured to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
receive a configuration that configures the apparatus ([0043] The UE may receive information related to a CSI report (report configuration information), and may control, based on the report configuration information, CSI reporting. The report configuration information may be, for example, an information element (IE) “CSI-ReportConfig” of radio resource control (RRC), [0482] The transmitting/receiving section 220 may receive a configuration indicating X channel measurement resources for X transmission/reception points (TRPs) for coherent joint transmission. The control section 210 may control, based on the configuration, a CSI report including X pieces of channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the respective X channel measurement resources.) with at least one first combination of different channel state information (CSI) measurement hypotheses types (different combinations of CSI measurement/reporting hypotheses in [0238]–[0257], [0263]–[0274], [0302]–[0305]), the at least one first combination including one or more multiple transmitter receiver point (mTRP) coherent joint transmission (CJT) hypotheses ([0066]–[0075], [0081]–[0089], [0137]–[0140], [0142]–[0147] also disclose single-TRP measurement hypotheses, NCJT measurement hypotheses, and CJT for multi-TRP transmission.) ([0081]–[0089], [0142]–[0147], [0238]–[0257], [0456]–[0460] disclose CSI report configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) in which the UE is configured to report CSI associated with multi-TRP coherent joint transmission (CJT) hypotheses.);
measure CSI reference signals from multiple TRPs ([0476] The transmitting/receiving section 220 (measurement section 223) may perform the measurement related to the received signal. For example, the measurement section 223 may perform RRM measurement, CSI measurement, and so on, based on the received signal. The measurement section 223 may measure received power (for example, RSRP), received quality (for example, RSRQ, SINR, SNR), signal strength (for example, RSSI), channel information (for example, CSI), and so on. The measurement results may be output to the control section 210.; [0453]–[0460], [0482]–[0497] also disclose that the UE is configured with X channel measurement resources for X TRPs for coherent joint transmission and measures CSI based on those resources/CSI-RS from multiple TRPs); and
transmit a CSI report in accordance with the configuration ([0008], [0043]–[0049], [0456]–[0460], [0490]–[0497] disclose that the UE transmits one CSI report including multiple CSI corresponding to a plurality of TRPs in accordance with the CSI report configuration; e.g., [0494] The control section 210 the transmitting/receiving section 220 may determine channel state information (CSI) between a plurality of transmission/reception points for coherent joint transmission. The transmitting/receiving section 220 may transmit a CSI report including the CSI.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Rahman et al. (US 20230254718 A1, hereafter Rahman).
Regarding claims 11 and 24,
Matsumura does not disclose wherein: the configuration configures at least two TRP groups; and the different hypotheses types include mTRP CJT hypotheses within a TRP group and mTRP NCJT hypotheses across TRP groups.
However, Rahman discloses:
wherein:
a configuration configures at least two TRP groups (a TRP group comprising multiple TRPs across which CJT is assumed; multiple TRP groups, each of which comprising a single TRP of multiple TRPs across which NCJT is assumed); and
a different hypotheses types include mTRP CJT hypotheses (CJT across multiple TRP) within a TRP group (a TRP group comprising multiple TRPs across which CJT is assumed) and mTRP NCJT hypotheses (NCJT across multiple TRPs) across TRP groups (multiple TRP groups, each of which comprising a single TRP of multiple TRPs across which NCJT is assumed) ([0274] In one example, a UE is configured with 3 reports, one assuming a single RRH/TRP selection (the best TRP/RRH among the multiple RRHs, i.e., TRP selection), the second assuming multiple RRHs/TRPs (e.g., NRRH>1 RRHs/TRPs) assuming NCJT across multiple TRPs, and the third assuming multiple RRHs/TRPs (e.g., NRRH>1 RRHs/TRPs) assuming CJT across multiple TRPs. [0282] In one example, the CSI reporting mode corresponds to including CSI components for (A) single TRP/RRH selection, (B) NCJT across multiple TRPs, and (C) CJT across multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may also perform Z>1 TRP selection from NRRH TRPs, and report the CJT/NCJT CSI for the selected TRPs. The UE can also report S≥1 sTRP CSI(s) as described above.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the configuration of Matsumura to configure TRP groups as taught by Rahman and modify the different hypotheses types of Matsumura to include mTRP CJT/NCJT hypotheses as taught by Rahman, in order for the network to determine appropriate transmission method when CJT and NCJT are available (Matsumura, [0142] … Signal quality may be improved by using 4-TRP joint precoding; Rahman, [0095] In Rel. 18 MIMO WID includes the following objectives on CSI enhancements: [0096] Study, and if justified, specify enhancements of CSI acquisition for Coherent-JT targeting FR1 and up to 4 TRPs, assuming ideal backhaul and synchronization as well as the same number of antenna ports across TRPs).
Regarding claims 12 and 25,
Matsumura does not disclose wherein: the CSI report includes CSI for mTRP CJT within one TRP group and mTRP NCJT across groups; and the CSI report includes a respective rank indicator (RI) for each TRP group.
However, Rahman discloses:
wherein:
a CSI report includes CSI for mTRP CJT (CJT across multiple TRP) within one TRP group (a TRP group comprising multiple TRPs across which CJT is assumed) and mTRP NCJT (NCJT across multiple TRPs) across groups (multiple TRP groups, each of which comprising a single TRP of multiple TRPs across which NCJT is assumed) ([0274] In one example, a UE is configured with 3 reports, one assuming a single RRH/TRP selection (the best TRP/RRH among the multiple RRHs, i.e., TRP selection), the second assuming multiple RRHs/TRPs (e.g., NRRH>1 RRHs/TRPs) assuming NCJT across multiple TRPs, and the third assuming multiple RRHs/TRPs (e.g., NRRH>1 RRHs/TRPs) assuming CJT across multiple TRPs. [0282] In one example, the CSI reporting mode corresponds to including CSI components for (A) single TRP/RRH selection, (B) NCJT across multiple TRPs, and (C) CJT across multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may also perform Z>1 TRP selection from NRRH TRPs, and report the CJT/NCJT CSI for the selected TRPs. The UE can also report S≥1 sTRP CSI(s) as described above.); and
the CSI report includes a respective rank indicator (RI) (RI) for each TRP group (single TRP, multiple TRPs across which NCJT is assumed, multiple TRPs across which CJT is assumed) ([0289] In one embodiment, a UE is configured to report CSI components such as PMI, CQI, RI, (and possibly LI and/or CRI), where at least one of the components is reported assuming two different CSI hypothesis (e.g., single TRP/RRH selection and CJT/NCJT across multiple TRPs), i.e., two values are reported for the at least one component.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the CSI report of Matsumura to include CSI and RI as taught by Rahman, in order for the network to determine appropriate transmission method when CJT and NCJT are available (Matsumura, [0142] … Signal quality may be improved by using 4-TRP joint precoding; Rahman, [0095] In Rel. 18 MIMO WID includes the following objectives on CSI enhancements: [0096] Study, and if justified, specify enhancements of CSI acquisition for Coherent-JT targeting FR1 and up to 4 TRPs, assuming ideal backhaul and synchronization as well as the same number of antenna ports across TRPs).
Regarding claims 13 and 26,
Matsumura does not disclose wherein: the CSI report includes CSI for mTRP CJT within one TRP group and mTRP NCJT across groups; and the CSI report includes one channel quality indicator (CQI).
However, Rahman discloses:
wherein:
a CSI report includes CSI for mTRP CJT (CJT across multiple TRP) within one TRP group (a TRP group comprising multiple TRPs across which CJT is assumed) and mTRP NCJT (NCJT across multiple TRPs) across groups (multiple TRP groups, each of which comprising a single TRP of multiple TRPs across which NCJT is assumed) ([0274] In one example, a UE is configured with 3 reports, one assuming a single RRH/TRP selection (the best TRP/RRH among the multiple RRHs, i.e., TRP selection), the second assuming multiple RRHs/TRPs (e.g., NRRH>1 RRHs/TRPs) assuming NCJT across multiple TRPs, and the third assuming multiple RRHs/TRPs (e.g., NRRH>1 RRHs/TRPs) assuming CJT across multiple TRPs. [0282] In one example, the CSI reporting mode corresponds to including CSI components for (A) single TRP/RRH selection, (B) NCJT across multiple TRPs, and (C) CJT across multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may also perform Z>1 TRP selection from NRRH TRPs, and report the CJT/NCJT CSI for the selected TRPs. The UE can also report S≥1 sTRP CSI(s) as described above.); and
the CSI report includes one channel quality indicator (CQI) (CQI) ([0289] In one embodiment, a UE is configured to report CSI components such as PMI, CQI, RI, (and possibly LI and/or CRI), where at least one of the components is reported assuming two different CSI hypothesis (e.g., single TRP/RRH selection and CJT/NCJT across multiple TRPs), i.e., two values are reported for the at least one component.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the CSI report of Matsumura to include CSI and CQI as taught by Rahman, in order for the network to determine appropriate transmission method when CJT and NCJT are available (Matsumura, [0142] … Signal quality may be improved by using 4-TRP joint precoding; Rahman, [0095] In Rel. 18 MIMO WID includes the following objectives on CSI enhancements: [0096] Study, and if justified, specify enhancements of CSI acquisition for Coherent-JT targeting FR1 and up to 4 TRPs, assuming ideal backhaul and synchronization as well as the same number of antenna ports across TRPs).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (US 20250286591 A1) also discloses receiving a configuration that configures the UE with at least one first combination of different channel state information (CSI) measurement hypotheses types, the at least one first combination including one or more multiple transmitter receiver point (mTRP) coherent joint transmission (CJT) hypotheses; measuring CSI reference signals from multiple TRPs; and transmitting a CSI report in accordance with the configuration (Fig.9, [0074]-[0080]).
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 See QUALCOMM Incorporated’s IPR Information Statement and IPR Licensing Declaration and IPR
Information Statement Annex, ISLD-202403-045, pp.1 & 7 (electronic pp.2 & 8) [online], Retrieved from the Internet<URL:http://ipr.etsi.org/IPRDetails.aspx?IPRD_ID=8412&IPRD_TYPE_ID=2&MODE=2&sessionkey=abafa2> (Year: 2024)