DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
REGARDING THE DRAWINGS:
“First surfaces are identified as 31’ & 14”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The applicant’s Specification describes element 31’ as a free main surface or a first main face and element 14 as a flat annular face. Neither element describe “first surfaces” as recited in the claim.
“Second surfaces are identified as 32’ & 16.1”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The applicant’s Specification describes element 32’ as a free main surface or first main face and element 16.1 an internal surface. Neither element describe “second surfaces” as recited in the claim.
“Third surfaces are identified as 33’ & 15.2”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The applicant’s Specification describes element 33’ as a free main surface or a first main face and element 15.2 an external surface. Neither element describe “third surfaces” as recited in the claim.
“Fourth surfaces are identified as 34’ & 16.2”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The applicant’s Specification describes element 34’ as a free main surface and element 16.2 an internal surface. Neither element describe “fourth surfaces” as recited in the claim.
“Reference numeral 105.1 has been added to FIG. 4 and into the specification for designation the rim flank”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The specification does not mention 105.1 as the rim flank nor amended specification was submitted.
“The magnetic braking device further comprises three magnetic rings 31, 32, 33 each comprising a three magnetic rings 31, 32, 33 each comprising a plurality of magnets.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The three magnetic rings 31, 32, 33 are not described which one is the first, second or third magnet, third, fourth of magnets as recited in the claims.
In the figures, one magnet of each magnetic ring is shown transversally cut. The first and second rotor sleeves 11.1, 11.2 are shown in the drawings, and the stator inner and outer sleeves 21.2, 21.1 are shown in FIGS. 10 and 11.
The examiner agrees with the applicant’s remarks regarding the first and second rotor sleeves and stator inner and outer sleeve. However, those are not all the limitations as recited in the objection.
Landing gears and rolling devices are shown in FIG. 1 and described at pages 5-6: "Each landing gear comprises a leg 101 having one end provided with two coaxial shafts 102, on each of which a wheel 103 is mounted so as to pivot.", and "an aircraft 100 comprising rolling devices each forming a landing gear mounted on the structure of the aircraft to pivot between a deployed position (shown in Figure 1) and a position stowed in a hold 108 under the action of a landing gear actuator 109 that is known per se and connected to an electronic control unit 110".
The examiner agrees with the applicant. The specific objection for the landing gear and structure & rolling device is withdrawn.
REGARDING THE 112 REJECTION:
Without acquiescing to the rejection, the claims as amended delete "at least" before each recitation of a plurality of magnets. Accordingly, each claim now recites a single first, second, third, or fourth plurality of magnets, as applicable. The claims themselves specify which pair of surfaces each magnetic flux passes through. It is noted that the pluralities of magnets may be carried by either the stator or the rotor. See As-Filed Specification, page 18, lines 10-14 ("Preferably, the pluralities of magnets 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 are secured to the stator 20 and the rotor 10 is made from an electrically conductive material. However, as a variant, the magnets may be carried by the rotor instead of the stator").
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The recited “a plurality of magnets” from the first & second plurality of magnets still recites multiple magnets and therefore still unclear for the same reasoning as in Office Action dated 08/10/2026.
REGARDING THE 102 REJECTION:
In explaining the rejection of claim 1, the Office takes the position that Sullivan's element 5 corresponds to the claimed rotor. However, Applicant respectfully submits that this interpretation is incorrect.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Although the citation does not expressly apply a separate reference numeral to a “rotor”, a person of ordinary skill would reasonably understand that a rotor is associated with shaft 3 and rotates about the shaft axis and bearings. In a rotating electrical machine, the rotor need not be drawn as separately named component for its presence to be understood from the disclosed figure and annotated figure.
Furthermore, Sullivan describes a disk-type axial flux motor/generator in which the permanent magnets produce only axial flux. Sullivan explicitly states that the permanent magnets "are substantially located within the rotor disk 1 with an axial flux orientation in which all said permanent magnets are in the same vector direction." Sullivan, paragraph [0031]. Sullivan further describes that the system is "unique in the area of disk type axial flux motor/generators." Sullivan, paragraph [0023]. Accordingly, Sullivan describes only a single plurality of magnets arranged on the rotors 1 to produce only axial flux. Sullivan therefore neither discloses nor suggests a second plurality of magnets arranged so that the second magnetic flux is radial while the first magnetic flux is axial, as recited by claim 1 as amended.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The applicant’s claim recites “a first magnetic flux” & “a second magnetic flux”. Moreover, “The rotor disks 1, which may be constructed of an electrically conductive material or may be constructed of permanent magnets” (Sullivan para [0030]). Therefore, each rotor disk 1 carries one or more magnets and consequently functions as each disk with an individual magnetic flux. Moreover, each disk is “radial” and therefore each magnetic flux from each disk.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
first/second surface; first/second pair of surfaces; first/second plurality of magnets recited in Claim 1;
rim flank recited in Claim 2;
third/fourth surface/magnets/plurality of magnets/plurality of magnets etc. recited in the Claims;
all elements as recited in Claim 5-13;
landing gear recited in Claim 14;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the applicant recites “… the wheel and provided with a first surface facing a first surface of the stator to form a first pair of surfaces, and a first plurality of magnets for generating a first magnetic flux which passes through the first pair of surfaces, characterized in that the rotor comprises at least one second surface facing a second surface of the stator to form a second pair of surfaces and the magnetic braking device comprises a second plurality of magnets for generating a second magnetic flux which passes through the second pair of surfaces, and in that the first pair of surfaces and the first plurality of magnets are arranged in such a way that the first magnetic flux is axial and the second pair of surfaces and the second plurality of magnets are arranged in such a way that the second magnetic flux is radial.”
Regarding the “a first surface facing a first surface of the stator to form a first pair of surfaces, and a first plurality of magnets for generating a first magnetic flux which passes through the first pair of surfaces” – how many “first plurality of magnets” are there? From the “first plurality of magnets”, what first surface(s) “generates the first magnetic flux”? Moreover, what “first surface(s)” (if any or all or some or one) comprises the “first plurality of magnets”?
The same reasoning applies regarding the “a second plurality of magnets for generating a second magnetic flux which passes through the second pair of surfaces”.
Claims 2-6 & 8-13 are rejected similar as in claim 1 for the additional “surface(s)” & “magnet(s) or magnetic flux(es)”.
Claims 2-15 are rejected based on the dependency from Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan (US 2008/0179146).
Regarding Claim 1, Sullivan discloses a rolling device for a vehicle [Aircraft landing gear] (Abstract), comprising
a wheel [4] having a hub [ “hub” where elements 1 & 2 are located] arranged to be mounted to pivot on a shaft [3] and a rim [“rim” – front part of 4] linked to the hub [“hub” where element 1 & 2 are located] by a disc [“disc” where tire would be placed on top and bottom of 4] so as to extend coaxially with the hub [ “hub” where element 1 & 2 are located] (Abstract, FIG. 1, Annotated FIG. Below),
the rim [“rim” – front part of 4] comprising at least one first annular portion [top annular portion for the rim] protruding axially from the disc [“disc” where tire would be placed on top and bottom of 4] and delimiting therewith a recess receiving an eddy current magnetic braking device comprising a stator [“stator” where elements 1 & 2 are located] constrained to rotate with the shaft [3] (Annotated FIG. Below, FIG. 1, ¶ [0033]; a motor action is produced either in the forward or reverse directions dependent upon the input from the user brake and motoring input control 7 which provides information to the processor 3 through the optical isolators 5 such as to initiate user input for forward or reverse motor action within the wheel hub motor/generator and the input from the parking brake controller 4),
a rotor [“rotor” where element 5 is located] constrained to rotate with the wheel [4] and provided with a first surface [“first surface” below for the top element 5] facing a first surface [“first surface” above for the top element 5] of the stator [“stator” where elements for the top elements 1 & 2 are located] to form a first pair of surfaces [at least one rotor and at least one stator arranged such that a gap exists between said rotor and said stator, said rotor being operably connected to a wheel of said wheeled ground vehicle for rotation and said stator member being operably connected to an axle or torque tube of said wheeled ground vehicle for non-rotational support], and a first plurality of magnets for generating a first magnetic flux which passes through the first pair of surfaces [the rotor member comprising a permanent magnet structure with an associated magnetic flux field and the stator member comprising current carrying conductors] (Claim 1, Annotated FIG. Below),
characterized in that
the rotor comprises at least one second surface [“second surface” below for the bottom element 5] facing a second surface [“second surface” above for the bottom element 5] of the stator to form a second pair of surfaces and the magnetic braking device comprises a second plurality of magnets for generating a second magnetic flux which passes through the second pair of surfaces, and in that the first pair of surfaces and the first plurality of magnets are arranged in such a way that the first magnetic flux is axial and the second pair of surfaces and the second plurality of magnets are arranged in such a way that the second magnetic flux is radial [the rotor member comprising a permanent magnet structure with an associated magnetic flux field and the stator member comprising current carrying conductors] (Claim 1; element (b), ¶ [0030]; The stator disks 2, which may be constructed of an electrically conductive material, are coupled to the shaft 3 and/or central torque tube, and are stationary with respect to the wheel in which said disks are electrically isolated from each other except through available electrical connections (not shown)).
Regarding Claim 2, Sullivan discloses the rolling device according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
in which the first pair of surfaces [“top surfaces” – refer to rejected Claim 1] is arranged in the vicinity of a rim flank [“rim flank” on the opposite side of the rim] secured to the first annular portion of the rim [rim] opposite the disc and the second pair of surfaces [“bottom surfaces” – refer to rejected Claim 1] is arranged in the recess in the vicinity of the first annular portion of the rim [rim] (FIG. 1 and annotated FIG. above).
Regarding Claim 14, Sullivan discloses the rolling device according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1] forming part of an aircraft landing gear [Aircraft landing gear] (FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Sullivan discloses an aircraft comprising a structure to which at least one of the rolling device according to claim 1 is fastened (FIG. 1, Abstract; a rolling device for a vehicle includes a wheel having a hub to be mounted to pivot on a shaft).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834