DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-5 filed 08/30/024 are pending in the application and are hereby examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “to form an acidic emulsified composition” should read “to form the acidic emulsified composition”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Max US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0076389 A1 (cited in the IDS submitted on 08/30/2024, hereinafter referred to as Max).
Regarding claims 1-4, Max teaches an acidic emulsified composition (e.g., an O/W cream having a pH of 5.5) comprising water, fat and oil (e.g., paraffin oil and caprylic/capric triglyceride), cyclodextrin (e.g., β-cyclodextrin) a water-soluble gelling agent (e.g., xanthan gum), a water-soluble organic solvent (e.g., glycerol and cetylstearyl alcohol), and an acidic substance (e.g., citric acid) ([0100]). Further, the mixing of the aforementioned ingredients is taught by Max to form the O/W cream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teruo JPS61260849 A (English translation relied upon for reference, hereinafter referred to as Teruo) in view of Oguchi US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0020177 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Oguchi).
Regarding claims 1-5, Teruo teaches a method of making an acidic emulsion (e.g., mayonnaise, dressing. etc.) comprising mixing water, fat and oil, cyclodextrin, a water-soluble gelling agent (e.g., gum arabic), sugar, and an acidic substance (e.g., vinegar) (Abstract; page 4, and Examples). Teruo further teaches subjecting the acidic emulsified composition to a drying treatment (e.g., by spray-drying, Abstract; Examples).
Teruo teaches sugar but is silent regarding the specific species of sugar.
Oguchi in the same field of endeavor teaches an acidic O/W emulsified condiment (e.g., mayonnaise, dressing, tartar sauce, etc.) comprising water, oil, an acid (e.g., acetic acid), a gum, sugar, etc. (0008; 0015; 0022; 0065-0066). Oguchi teaches that suitable sugar is glucose, galactose, fructose, mannose, etc. (0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Teruo by using glucose or galactose as the sugar source for the acidic emulsion of Teruo with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that prior art has established that glucose or galactose is an art-recognized sugar suitable for use in an acidic emulsion (e.g., mayonnaise, dressing. etc.). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07.
Glucose or galactose reads on the water-soluble organic solvent as recited in claims 1 and 3 (see para. 0024 of the instant specification for evidence).
Conclusion
/CHANGQING LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791