DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronay US20190056277.
Regarding claim 1, Ronay discloses a system (See Figs 27-31, Abstract) comprising: a liquid metal sensor (bladder-130, 140) including at least one trace (deformable conductor-132, 142); and a processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180) in electronic communication with the liquid metal sensor, wherein the processor is configured to perform AC-based resistive sensing of the liquid metal sensor (Paragraph 0177-0178). (Paragraph 0098, 0174-0189 and 0190-0199)
Regarding claim 2, Ronay discloses the processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180) is configured to measure geometrical modulation of an AC skin effect in the trace (deformable conductor-132, 142) of the liquid metal sensor (bladder-130, 140). (Figs 27-31, Paragraphs 0176-0177, 0193)
Regarding claim 3, Ronay discloses current flow is predominantly confined to a surface of the trace. (Figs 27-31. Paragraphs 0159 and 0179)
Regarding claim 4, Ronay discloses the processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180) is further configured to perform DC-based resistive sensing. (Paragraphs 0174-0180)
Regarding claim 5, Ronay discloses the processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180) is configured to detect tensile strain oriented axially along a direction of current conduction. (Paragraphs 0137, 0147, 0174-0180)
Regarding claim 6, Ronay discloses the processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180) is configured to detect compressive strain applied out of a plane of current conduction. (Paragraphs 0164, 0167, 0174-0180, 0194)
Regarding claim 7, Ronay discloses the trace has a diameter from 1 um to 10 cm. (Paragraphs 0015, 0070 and Figs 4A-4D)
Regarding claim 8, Ronay discloses the liquid metal sensor includes a gallium-indium alloy,InGaSn, an alloy of gallium, indium, and bismuth, or an alloy of gallium, indium, and cadmium. (Paragraph 0052, 0173-0180)
Regarding claim 9, Ronay discloses the at least one trace (deformable conductor-132, 142) is part of a network of liquid metal traces. (Paragraph 0082, 0100, 0115)
Regarding claim 11, Ronay discloses a method (See Figs 27-31 shows the sensor implementing the method, Abstract) comprising: receiving measurements of geometrical modulation of an AC skin effect in a trace (deformable conductor-132, 142) of a liquid metal sensor (bladder-130, 140); and performing AC-based resistive sensing on the measurements using a processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180). (Paragraph 0098, 0174-0189 and 0190-0199)
Regarding claim 12, Ronay discloses current flow is predominantly confined to a surface of the trace (deformable conductors -132, 142). (Figs 27-31, Paragraphs 0159, 0176-0177, 0193)
Regarding claim 13, Ronay discloses comprising performing DC-based resistive sensing using the processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180). (Paragraphs 0174-0180)
Regarding claim 14, Ronay discloses determining a mode and a degree of deformation of the trace (deformable conductors -132, 142). (Paragraph 0166, 0174-0180)
Regarding claim 15, Ronay discloses detecting tensile strain oriented axially along a direction of current conduction using the processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180). (Paragraph 0167, 0147, 0174-0180)
Regarding claim 16, Ronay discloses detecting compressive strain applied out of a plane of current conduction using the processor (Paragraph 0176, 0180). (Paragraph 0164-0167, 0174-0180, 0194)
Regarding claim 17, Ronay discloses the trace (deformable conductor-132, 142) has a diameter from 1 um to 10 cm. (Paragraphs 0015, 0070 and Figs 4A-4D)
Regarding claim 18, Ronay discloses the liquid metal sensor includes a gallium-indium alloy,InGaSn, an alloy of gallium, indium, and bismuth, or an alloy of gallium, indium, and cadmium. (Paragraph 0052, 0173-0180)
Regarding claim 19, Ronay discloses the trace (deformable conductor-132, 142) is part of a network of liquid metal traces. (Paragraph 0082, 0100, 0115, See Fig 38-39)
Regarding claim 20, Ronay discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program configured to instruct a processor to execute the method of claim 11. (Paragraph 0111 and 0176)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronay US20190056277 in view of Bespalov et al US20060103389 (hereinafter “Bespalov”).
Regarding claim 10, Ronay discloses the system according to claim 1.
However, Ronay fails to disclose the trace includes parallel strands woven together. Bespalov discloses the trace (trace-212) includes parallel strands woven together. (Paragraphs 0045-0046)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Bespalov into Ronay for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reducing skin effect measurement errors.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ /Eric S. McCall/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855