DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on August 30,2024 and July 13, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
5. In accordance with MPEP 2111.04, the claim language of claim(s) 3, 11, and 18 suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” Id. Although these claims involve the “adapts” and “adapting” clause, the above reasoning for objection remains the same.
Claim(s) 3 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) On line 20 of claim 3, replace “form” with –“from”-- after “procedure”;
b) On line 30 of claim 11, replace “form” with –“from”-- after “procedure”;. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 20240267888 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches a method (Fig(s).1 and 3), comprising:
configuring, by a processor of a network node (Fig(s).1 @ 12, 3 @ eNB, 12 @ 3020), at least one cell-specific discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter set in a system information block (SIB) (read as an SIB with a cell-specific DRX indication (Fig.3; Paragraph [0040])); and
transmitting, by the processor (Fig(s).1, 3, 12 @ 3020), the SIB to an apparatus of a wireless network. (Fig.3 @ 301)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0267888 A1) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0105856 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method (Fig(s).1 and 3), comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus (Fig.12 @ 3020), a system information block (SIB) from a network node of a wireless network (Fig.1 and Fig.3 @ 301),
wherein the SIB indicates at least one cell-specific discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter set (read as SIB comprising of a cell-specific DRX (Paragraph [0040]));
However, Li fails to explicitly teach determining one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set based on the SIB; and
applying the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set to a DRX procedure.
Rico Alvarino et al. teach a method for determining one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set based on the SIB (read as “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056])); and
applying the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set to a DRX procedure.(Fig(s).3 @ 350 and 4 @ 460)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for determining an NRS time based on cell-specific DRX parameter set as taught by Rico Alvarino et al. with the UE as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000), comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a network node of a wireless network (Fig(s).1, 3, and 12 @ 3016); and
a processor (Fig.12 @ 3020) communicatively coupled to the transceiver (Fig.12 @ 3016) such that, during operation, the processor (Fig.12 @ 3020) performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, a system information block (SIB) from the network node (Fig.1 and Fig.3 @ 301),
wherein the SIB indicates at least one cell-specific discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter set (read as SIB comprising of a cell-specific DRX (Paragraph [0040]));
However, Li fails to explicitly teach determining one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set based on the SIB; and
applying the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set to a DRX procedure.
Rico Alvarino et al. teach a method for determining one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set based on the SIB (read as “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056])); and
applying the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set to a DRX procedure.(Fig(s).3 @ 350 and 4 @ 460)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for determining an NRS time based on cell-specific DRX parameter set as taught by Rico Alvarino et al. with the UE as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, and as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, Li teaches a method (Fig.3) and an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 11, and 12 @ 3000) further comprising:
obtaining, by the processor (Fig.12 @ 3020), an indication configured by the SIB (Fig.1 and Fig.3 @ 301); and
However, Li fails to explicitly teach determining the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set based on the indication.
Rico Alvarino et al. teach a method wherein, during operation, the processor (Fig.2 @ 280) further performs operations comprising:
determining the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set based on the indication. (read as “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for determining an NRS time based on cell-specific DRX parameter set as taught by Rico Alvarino et al. with the UE as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Claims 3, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0267888 A1), in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0105856 A1), and Vajapeyam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0330791 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, and as applied to claims 2 and 10 above, Li teaches a method and apparatus further comprising:
receiving, by the processor, an adaptation configured by a system information update procedure form the network node (Fig(s).1 and 3 @ 301); and
Rico Alvarino et al. teach adapting, by the processor, the indication based on the adaptation to determine the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set. (read as “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056]))
However, Li and Rico Alvarino et al. fail to explicitly teach receiving an adaptation configured by a system information update procedure;
Vajapeyam et al. teach a method for receiving an adaptation configured by a system information update procedure (read as “… acquire (e.g., receive in a system information block (SIB)) the updated system information, …”(Paragraph [0102]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an SIB with updated system information as taught by Vajapeyam et al. and the function for determining an NRS time based on cell-specific DRX parameter set as taught by Rico Alvarino et al. with the UE as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0267888 A1) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0105856 A1), and Lin (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0271878 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, and as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, Li teaches “a method and an apparatus for determining a paging parameter, a communication device and a storage medium.” (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000; Paragraph [0002])
Rico Alvarino et al. teach a method for determining, by the processor, the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set based on the indication and the adaptation. (read as “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056]))
However, Li and Rico Alvarino et al. fail to explicitly teach obtaining an indication and an adaptation configured by a layer 1 (L1) signaling; and
Lin teaches a method for obtaining an indication and an adaptation configured by a layer 1 (L1) signaling (read as L1 based signaling (Paragraph [0186]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an L1 based signaling as taught by Lin and the function for determining an NRS time based on cell-specific DRX parameter set as taught by Rico Alvarino et al. with the UE as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, and as applied to claims 4 and 12 above, Li teaches “a method and an apparatus for determining a paging parameter, a communication device and a storage medium.” (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000; Paragraph [0002])
Rico Alvarino et al. teach a “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056]))
However, Li and Rico Alvarino et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of
an extended Downlink Control Information (DCI) format 2_7,
an extended paging DCI,
an extended primary synchronization signal (PSS),
an extended secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and
an extended periodic-tracking reference signal (periodic-TRS).
Lin teaches a method wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of
an extended Downlink Control Information (DCI) format 2_7 (read as “the L1 based signaling can be determined based on validity duration based on the following rule: TRS availability indication field is present in DCI format 2_7 (if configured) with CRC scrambled by PEI-RNTI and DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI if validity duration is no less than X;”(Paragraph [0186])),
an extended paging DCI,
an extended primary synchronization signal (PSS),
an extended secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and
an extended periodic-tracking reference signal (periodic-TRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an L1 based signaling as taught by Lin and the function for determining an NRS time based on cell-specific DRX parameter set as taught by Rico Alvarino et al. with the UE as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, and as applied to claims 4 and 12 above, Li, as modified by Rico Alvarino et al. and Lin, a method and an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000) wherein, during operation, the processor (Fig.12 @ 3020) further performs operations comprising:
applying the adaptation according to an application delay. (read as delay (Paragraph [0038]); For example, “The delay depends on the eDRX cycle configuration, …” (Paragraph [0038]))
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0267888 A1) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0105856 A1), and Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0267648 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, and as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, Li teaches “a method and an apparatus for determining a paging parameter, a communication device and a storage medium.” (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000; Paragraph [0002])
Rico Alvarino et al. teach a “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056]))
However, Li and Rico Alvarino et al. fail to explicitly teach aligning, by the processor, a DRX active time with a cell-specific reference signal (RS) time based on a DRX offset,
wherein the DRX offset is configured by the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set.
Kim et al. teach a method for aligning a DRX active time with a cell-specific reference signal (RS) time based on a DRX offset (read as “The base station may allow the terminal to implicitly determine an offset and a transmission periodicity 807 of a reference signal 804, based on pre-configured DRX configuration information, or may additionally configure, for the terminal, the offset and the transmission periodicity through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) or L1 signaling (e.g., PDCCH).” (Paragraph [0186])),
wherein the DRX offset is configured by the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set. (read as “… an offset and a transmission periodicity 807 of a reference signal 804, based on pre-configured DRX configuration information …”(Paragraph [0186]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an RRC or L1 based signaling comprising of DRX configuration information as taught by Kim et al. and the function for determining an NRS time based on cell-specific DRX parameter set as taught by Rico Alvarino et al. with the UE as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, and as applied to claims 7 and 15 above, Li teaches “a method and an apparatus for determining a paging parameter, a communication device and a storage medium.” (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000; Paragraph [0002])
Rico Alvarino et al. teach a “… determination of NRS time instances using a cell-specific DRX cycle parameter set,”(Fig(s).3-4; Paragraph [0056]))
However, Li and Rico Alvarino et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the aligning of the DRX active time with the cell-specific RS time based on the DRX offset corresponds to an aggregation of activities of the network node.
Kim et al. teach clearly shows and discloses an apparatus wherein the aligning of the DRX active time with the cell-specific RS time based on the DRX offset corresponds to an aggregation of activities of the network node. (read as “… an offset and a transmission periodicity 807 of a reference signal 804, based on pre-configured DRX configuration information …”(Paragraph [0186]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an RRC or L1 based signaling comprising of DRX configuration information as taught by Kim et al. with the Base station as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0267888 A1), in view of Vajapeyam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0330791 A1).
Regarding claim 18, and as applied to claim 17 above, Li teaches a method (Fig(s).1 and 3) further comprising:
configuring, by the processor (Fig.12 @ 3020), an indication in the SIB to the apparatus (read as an SIB with a cell-specific DRX indication (Fig.3 @ 301; Paragraph [0040])); and
However, Li fails to explicitly teach configuring an adaptation with a system information update procedure to the apparatus, wherein the adaptation adapts the indication in the SIB.
Vajapeyam et al. teach a method for configuring an adaptation with a system information update procedure to the apparatus, wherein the adaptation adapts the indication in the SIB. (read as “… acquire (e.g., receive in a system information block (SIB)) the updated system information, …”(Paragraph [0102]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an SIB with updated system information as taught by Vajapeyam et al. with the base station (eNB) as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0267888 A1) in view of Lin (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0271878 A1).
Regarding claim 19, and as applied to claim 17 above, Li teaches “a method and an apparatus for determining a paging parameter, a communication device and a storage medium.” (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000; Paragraph [0002])
However, Li fails to explicitly teach wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of
an extended Downlink Control Information (DCI) format 2_7,
an extended paging DCI,
an extended primary synchronization signal (PSS),
an extended secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and
an extended periodic-tracking reference signal (periodic-TRS).
Lin teaches a method wherein the L1 signaling comprises at least one of
an extended Downlink Control Information (DCI) format 2_7 (read as “the L1 based signaling can be determined based on validity duration based on the following rule: TRS availability indication field is present in DCI format 2_7 (if configured) with CRC scrambled by PEI-RNTI and DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI if validity duration is no less than X;”(Paragraph [0186])),
an extended paging DCI,
an extended primary synchronization signal (PSS),
an extended secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and
an extended periodic-tracking reference signal (periodic-TRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an L1 based signaling as taught by Lin with the base station (eNB) as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0267888 A1) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0105856 A1), and Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0267648 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, and as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, Li teaches “a method and an apparatus for determining a paging parameter, a communication device and a storage medium.” (Fig(s).1 @ 11, 3, and 12 @ 3000; Paragraph [0002])
However, Li and Rico Alvarino et al. fail to explicitly teach aligning a DRX active time with a cell-specific reference signal (RS) time based on a DRX offset,
wherein the DRX offset is indicated by the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set.
Kim et al. teach a method for aligning a DRX active time with a cell-specific reference signal (RS) time based on a DRX offset (read as “The base station may allow the terminal to implicitly determine an offset and a transmission periodicity 807 of a reference signal 804, based on pre-configured DRX configuration information, or may additionally configure, for the terminal, the offset and the transmission periodicity through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) or L1 signaling (e.g., PDCCH).” (Paragraph [0186])),
wherein the DRX offset is configured by the one of the at least one cell-specific DRX parameter set. (read as “… an offset and a transmission periodicity 807 of a reference signal 804, based on pre-configured DRX configuration information …”(Paragraph [0186]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring an RRC or L1 based signaling comprising of DRX configuration information as taught by Kim et al. with the base station (eNB) as taught by Li for the purpose of improving resource allocation for exchanging communications by devices in a communication network.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Pal et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0300746 A1) teach “… during initial cell access, the UE may receive a SIB (e.g., SIB2) including DRX parameters for the I-DRX mode. The UE may then transition to the RRC idle state and enter I-DRX mode for power savings.”(Fig.4; Paragraph [0072])
Han et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0292395 A1) teach “A parameter in the SL MIB indicates whether the SL SIB indicates SL DRX configuration information. A parameter in the MIB indicates whether information of SL DRX configuration in the SL SIB is changed.”(Fig.4; Paragraph [0072])
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
July 21, 2026