DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Application filed on 8/30/2024 in which claims 1-20 were presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations in claim 19, for example, “web” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheetham (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0192784 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheetham discloses a device (10) for mixing a first component with a second component (See for example para. 0012), comprising
a housing (50) forming a first chamber (51) for the first component (para. 0082 describe powder), a second chamber (40) for the second component (para. 0070 describe liquid), and a separation element separating the first chamber and the second chamber (Fig. 1 identifier 42);
an activation element (22) configured to create a breakthrough through the separation element (para. 0102), the activation element integrally formed with the housing; and
a predetermined breaking area (which is the entire circumference area at opening 55) formed in the housing (See Fig. 1) to create an outlet to withdraw a mixture of the first component and the second component (the mixture exit opening 55 after seal 60 is broken, into discharge cap 70, also see para. 0104).
Regarding claim 2, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the predetermined breaking area (See above) extends around at least a majority of a circumference of the housing (as explained above).
Regarding claim 3, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the predetermined breaking area (See above) is arranged so that the device is intentionally breakable into two parts (when the breakable seals 42 and 60 are broken).
Regarding claim 4, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the second chamber (40) is formed by a separate container attachable or attached to a remainder of the housing (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the housing (50) forms a passage for at least partly receiving the separate container (the opening at end 57).
Regarding claim 6, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the separation element (42) is attached to the separate container (40 as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the second chamber (40) is sealed by the separation element in a non-activated state against environmental influences (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the predetermined breaking area (See above) is breakable by kinking the housing (para. 0101).
Regarding claim 9, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the activation element (22) is arranged between the first chamber and the second chamber (See Fig. 7) and defines an opening so that in an activated state the second component is capable of flowing through the opening past the activation element into the first chamber (paras. 0104, 0105).
Regarding claim 10, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the activation element (22) has a shape of a bullet (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the housing (50) has a bottom portion (at end 57), and the bottom portion is connected to the remaining portion of the housing via a snap fit connection (See Figs. (2-7).
Regarding claim 12, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the housing (50) defines a third chamber (See Figs. 1 and 7 identifier 30), and the third chamber (30) at least partially surrounds the first chamber (51) (as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the predetermined breaking area (See above) is arranged so that the device is intentionally breakable into a first part and a second part (See Figs. 1-7), the first part forming the first chamber and the second part forming the second chamber and the activation element (See above and Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 17, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the housing (50) forms a passage for at least partly receiving the separate container (See Figs. 2-7), and the separate container (See above) is axially guided by the passage during attachment of the container or activation of the device (See Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 18, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the activation element (22) forms a sharp (pointy) edge (See Fig. 1), the sharp edge being separated by an opening connecting the first chamber and the second chamber in an activated state (See Figs. 2-7), at a distal end of the activation element (See Figs. 2-7).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Cheetham discloses a device wherein the activation element (22) comprises a web extending from an inner circumferential surface towards a spike portion of the activation element (See Fig. 1), the opening of the activation element comprises a channel extending inside of the activation element through a majority of the activation element (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 20, Cheetham has been previously discussed, but their teachings will again be summarized below. Cheetham discloses a device (10) for mixing a first component with a second component (See for example para. 0012), comprising
a housing (50) forming a first chamber (51) for the first component (para. 0082 describe powder), a second chamber (40) for the second component (para. 0070 describe liquid), and a separation element separating the first chamber and the second chamber (Fig. 1 identifier 42); an activation element (22) configured to create a breakthrough through the separation element (para. 0102), the activation element integrally formed with the housing; and a predetermined breaking area (which is the entire circumference area at opening 55) formed in the housing (See Fig. 1) to create an outlet to withdraw a mixture of the first component and the second component (the mixture exit opening 55 after seal 60 is broken, into discharge cap 70, also see para. 0104). Under the principles of anticipation, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would inherently perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir.1986). MPEP 2112.02
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered (See PTO-892) pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KHALED ANNIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732