DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejections.
Further, Examiner respectfully submits that some of Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Specifically, on pages 10-12, Applicant argues that,
“ […]
The Examiner introduces new grounds of rejection in the Office Action, and now alleges that Ackerman in view of Cheng teaches every element previously recited by independent claim 1. Office Action 4-5 (citing Ackerman FIGS. 1A-1B, paras. [0031]- [0033], [0036]-[0039], [0057], [0076], [0080], [0129]; Cheng FIG. 8, paras. [0002], [0008], [0037]). However, there is nothing in the combination of Ackerman and Cheng that would fairly teach or suggest the elements presently recited in relation to detecting a gazing point of a user on a real space based on distance measurement information and estimation information of a visual line and eye positions of the user, and performing control relating to the imaging using information of a gazing area set based on the detected gazing point, let alone that the control relating to the imaging is performed by determining a scale of a display image relating to the imaging, the display image including an extraction image acquired by extracting the gazing area from the captured image, in anything remotely resembling the manner particularly claimed. As such, it is simply not possible for Ackerman in view of Cheng to satisfy the elements particularly recited by amended independent claim 1.
[…]”
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Ackerman as cited in the Office Action, teaches that circuitry of a camera detects a gazing point of a user (i.e. intersection of left-eye and right eye visual lines of the user) and based on a depth image, which is ‘measurement information representing a distance measurement result for a predetermined range including an imaging range that is a target range of imaging on the real space’ measured by a depth camera. The circuitry then controls the imaging using the information of a gazing area, i.e. determining imaging parameters to capture the gazing area in focus. As such, Ackerman clearly teaches “an information processing device comprising: circuitry configured to detect a gazing point of a user on a real space based on distance measurement information representing a distance measurement result for a predetermined range including an imaging range that is a target range of imaging on the real space as a target and estimation information of a visual line and eye positions of the user, and perform control relating to the imaging using information of a gazing area set based on the detected gazing point,” as described in details below.
Further, Cheng teaches a preview image relating to imaging is resized so that they can be displayed in the scale-invariant manner in at least [0037]. Thus, Cheng clearly teaches the limitation of “the control relating to the imaging is performed by determining a scale of a display image relating to the imaging” as discussed in details below.
With respect to the limitation of “the display image including an extraction image acquired by extracting the gazing area from the captured image,” Examiner respectfully submits that the limitation necessitated a new ground of rejections as detailed below.
Other arguments on pages 13-19 are moot in view of a ground of rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackerman et al. (US 2015/0003819 A1 – hereinafter Ackerman), Kogure et al. (US 2020/0134336 A1 – hereinafter Kogure), and Cheng et al. (US 2016/0212357 A1 – hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 1, Ackerman discloses an information processing device comprising: circuitry configured to detect a gazing point of a user on a real space ([0032]-[0033]; Figs. 1A-1B – a detecting unit detects a gazing point of a user 13 on a real space where objects A and B are located) based on distance measurement information representing a distance measurement result for a predetermined range including an imaging range that is a target range of imaging on the real space as a target ([0031]; [0038]; [0057] – based on a depth image, which is ‘measurement information representing a distance measurement result for a predetermined range including an imaging range that is a target range of imaging on the real space’ measured by a depth camera) and estimation information of a visual line and eye positions of the user ([0031]; [0036]-[0037]; [0076]; [0080]; [0129] – estimation information comprising gaze directions comprising visual line and eye positions of the user), and perform control relating to the imaging using information of a gazing area set based on the detected gazing point ([0038]-[0039] – a control unit performs focusing the camera lens using information of a gazing area set on the basis of the gazing point accordingly).
However, Ackerman does not disclose the control relating to the imaging is performed by determining a scale of a display image relating to the imaging, the display image including an extraction image acquired by extracting the gazing area from the captured image.
Kogure discloses a display image including an extraction image acquired by extracting the gazing area from a captured image ([0039]; [0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kogure into the device taught by Ackerman and Cheng in order to allow the user to confirm the gazed target accurately.
Ackerman and Kogure do not disclose the control relating to the imaging is performed by determining a scale of a display image relating to the imaging.
Cheng discloses control relating to imaging is performed by determining a scale of a display image relating to the imaging (Fig. 8; [0037] – step 804 performs control relating to imaging by determining a scale, i.e. size, of a display image relating to the imaging).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Cheng into the display image taught by Ackerman and Kogure to bring better user experience where potential problem of making the user feel visually annoyed can be prevented ([0002]; [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate a three-dimensional map for the predetermined range based on the distance measurement information and detect an intersection with the visual line of the user on the three-dimensional map as the gazing point ([0054]; [0057] – generating a depth image, which is a three-dimensional map for the predetermined range, and detecting a point in the depth image corresponding to the intersection of gaze vectors).
Regarding claim 3, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to set an area including the gazing point as the gazing area ([0094]-[0095]; Fig. 6 – setting locations gazed at by the user to focus the camera).
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as discussed in claim 3 above. Ackerman in view of Kogure and Cheng also discloses the information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry identifies an object including the gazing point among objects detected in an object detecting process for the real space as a target as a gazing object ([0099]; [0108]-[0110] – identifying faces, objects, etc.), wherein the circuitry sets an area including the gazing object as the gazing area (Kogure: Fig. 5; Fig. 7 – setting a region 504 including the gazing object, i.e. a vehicle).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kogure has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, see the teachings of Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as discussed in claim 5 above. Kogure also discloses circuitry sets a gazing area such that a gazing object is located at a position inside of an area designated in advance through an operation (Figs. 5, 7 – the gazing object, i.e. a vehicle, is located at a position inside gazing area 504, such an area is designated in advance through an operation according to a specific algorithm).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kogure has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to estimate whether or not the gazing point has been moved to another object based on gazing point detection results of a plurality of number of times acquired by the circuitry and perform, in a case in which it is estimated that the gazing point has been moved to another object, a switching process in which the gazing area based on the gazing point that is newly detected by the circuitry is applied as the gazing area used for control relating to the imaging ([0032]-[0033]; [0099]; [0108]-[0110] – gazing point has been moved from object A to object B, performing switching process to switch focus from object A to object B).
Regarding claim 9, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 7, wherein, when estimation of the gazing point having been moved to the other object is set as a first condition, the circuitry performs the switching process in a case in which the first condition and a second condition different from the first condition are satisfied ([0095] - when a user moves their eyes and gazes for some minimum time, e.g. some predefined time such as 1 second, a few seconds etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 9, wherein the second condition is a condition that a state in which the gazing point is estimated to be present at the other object has lasted for a predetermined time or more ([0095] - when a user moves their eyes and gazes for some minimum time, e.g. some predefined time such as 1 second, a few seconds etc.).
Regarding claim 11, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 9, wherein the second condition is a condition that an imaging direction is directed in a direction in which the other object is present ([0032]-[0033]; [0103] – second condition is a condition that an imaging direction is directed in a direction in which object B is present).
Regarding claim 12, Ackerman also disclose the information processing device according to claim 7, wherein, when switching to the gazing area of the other object is performed, the circuitry changes at least one of a position and a size of the gazing area in a stepped manner (Figs. 1A-1B; [0032]-[0033] – at least the control unit changes at least a position of the gazing area in a stepped manner).
Regarding claim 13, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry performs control relating to recording of a captured image acquired using the imaging as control relating to the imaging ([0038]-[0039]; [0065]; [0086] – controlling recording of a captured image acquired using the imaging).
Regarding claim 14, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 18, wherein the circuitry performs control of recording a captured image acquired using the imaging and information representing the gazing area as control relating to the imaging ([0038]-[0039]; [0065]; [0086] – controlling recording of a captured image acquired using the imaging and information representing the gazing area).
Regarding claim 15, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry performs display control relating to a through image of a captured image acquired using the imaging as control relating to the imaging ([0038]-[0039]; [0065]; [0086] – controlling displaying of a captured image acquired using the imaging).
Regarding claim 18, Ackerman also discloses the information processing device according to claim 15, wherein, in a case in which the gazing point is not present inside of the captured image, the circuitry performs control to display a specific image (Fig. 2A – the user can gaze at any point, including a point not present inside of the currently captured image, in that case, a specific image displayed before or during the focus is adjusted is displayed).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Ackerman also disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having embodied therein a program, which when executed by a computer device, causes the computer device to execute the recited method ([0035]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 21, Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng also disclose the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein, in a case in which the gazing point is present inside of the captured image, the display image includes an area range of the extraction image superimposed onto the captured image prior to enlarging the scale of the extraction image displayed within the display image (Kogure: Figs. 5, 7).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, and 18-21 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2019/0236386 A1 – hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 4, see the teachings of Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as discussed in claim 3 above. However, Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng do not explicitly disclose the information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry sets an area of which positions of left, right, upper, and lower area ends are positions of a predetermined distance from the gazing point as the gazing area.
Yu discloses circuitry configured to set an area of which positions of left, right, upper, and lower area ends are positions of a predetermined distance from a gazing point as a gazing area ([0109] – a unit sets a user's gaze region as a circle or sphere centered on the gazed point with a determined radius).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the device taught by Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng to accommodate errors for the estimation of the gaze point.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, and 18-21 above, and further in view of Hirose et al. (US 2021/0203856 A1 – hereinafter Hirose).
Regarding claim 8, see the teachings of Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as discussed in claim 7 above. However, Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng do not explicitly disclose the circuitry is further configured to estimate whether or not the gazing point has been moved to the other object on the basis of range information of objects detected in the object detecting process for the real space as a target.
Hirose discloses circuitry configured to estimate whether or not a gazing point has been moved to another object on a basis of range information of objects detected in an object detecting process for a real space as a target ([0077]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hirose into the device taught by Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng to detect an object using the gaze point accurately and quickly.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, and 18-21 above, and further in view of Sung (US 2017/0060234 A1 – hereinafter Sung).
Regarding claim 16, see the teachings of Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as discussed in claim 15 above. However, Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng do not disclose in a case in which the gazing area is present inside of the captured image, the circuitry performs control such that an extraction image acquired by extracting the gazing area from the captured image is displayed as the through image.
Sung discloses in a case in which a gazing area is present inside of a captured image, circuitry performs control such that an extraction image acquired by extracting the gazing area from the captured image is displayed as a through image (Fig. 17D; [0285]; [0291]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Sung into the information processing device taught by Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng to allow the user to recognize or confirm the object to be focused on more noticeably.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, and 18-21 above, and further in view of Spencer et al. (US 2022/0326766 A1 – hereinafter Spencer).
Regarding claim 17, see the teachings of Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng as discussed in claim 15 above. However, Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng do not disclose, in a case in which the gazing area comes close to an end of the captured image to be within a predetermined distance, the circuitry performs control to display notification information to the user.
Spencer discloses in a case in which a gazing area comes close to an end of a captured image to be within a predetermined distance ([0032]-[0034]; [0038]-[0039] – when the user’s view of ambient environment and the FOV of the camera is misaligned, user gazes at an object close to an end of a captured image captured by camera 116 to be within an offset), circuitry performs control to prompt the user ([0039] – displaying to prompt the user).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Spencer into the device taught by Ackerman, Kogure, and Cheng to assist the user in correcting the FOV of the camera.
Ackerman, Kogure, Cheng, and Spencer do not explicitly disclose the prompt is by “displaying notification information to the user”.
Official Notice is taken that sending a prompt by displaying notification information to the user is well known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate “displaying notification information to the user” into the device taught by Ackerman, Kogure, Cheng, and Spencer because displaying notification information to the user is intuitive and effective in guiding the user.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484