DETAILED ACTION
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without the written authorization in place, USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2019/0268846, “Xiao”) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2022/0078844, “Cherian”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Xiao unless otherwise mentioned.
Xiao comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, a method performed by a station (STA) in a wireless LAN system, the method includes:
establishing an agreement related to restricted-target wake time (r-TWT) (This will be discussed in view of Cherian.); and
transmitting at least one frame including a TWT information field to one or more other STAs ([0045] “The transmitter 135 may transmit a TWT information frame from the STA 114 to the AP 104 for the AP 104 to suspend or resume TWT sessions.”, and [0007] “the first device transmitting the TWT beacon to one or more stations to suspend the one or more broadcast-TWT sessions.”),
wherein the TWT information field includes an r-TWT related subfield ([0050] “The TWT Flow ID bit and the Response Requested bit (not shown) of the TWT information field are reserved and the Nest TWT Request bit (not shown) is set to 1 to indicate the new format. A new B-TWT ID/TWT Flow ID subfield 201 is added.”), an all TWT subfield ([0072] “the first device adds an “All Sessions” bit to a subfield of the TWT information frame.”), and a next TWT subfield ([0051] “Multiple fields of Next TWT 215 are used to resume or suspend one or more of the multiple broadcast-TWT sessions with one TWT information frame.”), and
wherein re-scheduling related information on a r-TWT service period (r-TWT SP) scheduled for the STA is indicated based on the r-TWT related subfield, the all TWT subfields, and the next TWT subfield ([0051] “The multiple Next TWT 215 and the multiple B-TWT ID/TWT Flow ID 212 apply also to individual-TWT sessions so that multiple individual-TWT sessions may be resumed or suspended with one TWT information frame.” r-TWT SP will be discussed in view of Cherian.).
It is noted that while disclosing a format of a TWT beacon frame, Xiao does not specifically teach about establishing a session. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Cherian as follows;
establishing an agreement related to restricted-target wake time (r-TWT) ([Cherian, 0039] “Various implementations relate generally to restricted target wake time (TWT) sessions on a wireless channel.”, and [Cherian, 0039] “an AP may establish, on a wireless channel, a restricted TWT session including at least one restricted TWT SP during which the AP reserves the wireless channel for P2P communications.”);
a r-TWT service period (r-TWT SP) (See aforesaid [Cherian, 0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Xiao by using the features of Cherian in order to minimize latency and satisfy performance requirements such that “an access point (AP) establishes a restricted target wake time (TWT) session including at least one restricted TWT service period (SP) for peer-to-peer (P2P) communications.” [Cherian, Abstract].
Regarding claim 12, it is a station claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver” (See Fig. 12 for 1214 for “Transmitter and Receiver” and 1204 “Processor Unit(s)”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Claim(s) 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2019/0268846, “Xiao”) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2022/0078844, “Cherian”) and further in view of Xin et al. (US 2022/0386372, “Xin”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Xiao unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that while disclosing a format of a TWT beacon frame, Xiao does not specifically teach about R-TWT or B-TWT. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Xin as follows;
the method of 1, wherein the r-TWT related subfield indicates whether a rescheduled TWT SP corresponds to a r-TWT SP ([Xin, 0080] “The R-TWT indication subfield is at bit 9 (B9) of the Request Type field (or the most significant bit) in a broadcast TWT parameter set field. The R-TWT indication provides one bit indication for indicating whether the signaling is for R-TWT or B-TWT. For example, when set to a first state (e.g., “1”), this indicates that the signaling is for R-TWT instead of a B-TWT. Accordingly, the TWT SP in the signaling would be scheduled for R-TWT SP.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Xiao by using the features of Xin in order to enhance handling of TWTs such that “A wireless protocol performing Restricted Target Wait Time (R-TWT) signaling and its parameters to reduce latency, such as for real-time application traffic.” [Xin, Abstract].
Claim(s) 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2019/0268846, “Xiao”) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2022/0078844, “Cherian”) and Xin et al. (US 2022/0386372, “Xin”), and further in view of Shafin et al. (US 2022/0303907, “Shafin”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Xiao unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that while disclosing a format of a TWT beacon frame, Xiao does not specifically teach about obtaining a membership. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Shafin as follows;
the method of 3, wherein the TWT information field further includes a broadcast TWT ID subfield, and wherein, based on the rescheduled TWT SP corresponding to the r-TWT SP, the broadcast TWT ID subfield indicates TWT membership for one or more STAs supporting the r-TWT SP ([Shafin, 0072] “broadcast TWT (upon which restricted TWT is based) is a special kind of TWT operation where multiple participating STAs can obtain membership to the same TWT schedule in a shared TWT session”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Xiao by using the features of Shafin in order to provide better support for latency sensitive applications such that “configured to negotiate a broadcast TWT schedule over a first link between a first STA and a first AP of the AP MLD, apply the broadcast TWT schedule to the group of links, negotiate a restricted TWT schedule with the AP MLD” [Shafin, Abstract].
Claim(s) 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2019/0268846, “Xiao”) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2022/0078844, “Cherian”) and further in view of Hu (US 2022/0132428).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Xiao unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that while disclosing a format of a TWT beacon frame, Xiao does not specifically teach about a type indication. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Hu as follows;
the method of 1,
wherein the TWT information field further includes a subfield indicating a type of r- TWT SP ([Hu, 0078] “The subfield configured in operation 502 may be configured by using/adding (modifying, inserting) an rTWT Parameter subfield (e.g., an optional rTWT subfield) in the TWT Parameter Set Field format.”), and
wherein the type of r-TWT SP includes a first type for uplink or downlink transmission and reception between an access point (AP) STA and a non-AP (non-AP) STA, and a second type for P2P transmission and reception between non-AP STAs ([Hu, 0081] “When an AP transmits the rTWT Parameter subfield 800 in a frame, bit 0 (or any other predefined bit) 802 may indicate whether P2P is allowed or supported. For example, the first device 501 in FIG. 5, which may be a rTWT scheduling AP such as AP 105, may allow/support a SP to be used for P2P communication. For instance, if bit 0 802 is set, the AP may advertise that P2P communication is allowed/supported during one or more rTWT SPs. If bit 0 802 is not set, the AP may be advertising that the one or more rTWT SPs do not support P2P communication.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Xiao by using the features of Hu in order to provide better protection for latency sensitive streams of traffic such that “a first wireless communication devices configures a subfield indicating use of peer-to-peer communication during a service period of a restricted target wake time.” [Hu, Abstract].
Claim(s) 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2019/0268846, “Xiao”) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2022/0078844, “Cherian”) and further in view of Shafin et al. (US 2023/0239798, “Shafin798”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Xiao unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that while disclosing a format of a TWT beacon frame, Xiao does not specifically teach about an extension. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Shafin798 as follows;
the method of 1, wherein the TWT information field further includes an extension-related subfield indicating whether to extend the end timing of the r-TWT SP scheduled for the STA ([Shafin798, 0082] “FIG. 8 illustrates an example of explicit indication of restricted TWT SP extension by the rTWT scheduling AP using a Restricted TWT SP Extension Information frame according to embodiments of the present disclosure. According to this example, if an rTWT scheduling AP cannot finish DL PPDU transmission to an rTWT scheduled STA within the restricted TWT SP duration, then the rTWT scheduling AP can send some specific frame as an indication to the corresponding rTWT scheduled STA to stay awake an additional amount beyond the nominal restricted TWT SP end time”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Xiao by using the features of Shafin798 in order to provide transmission efficiency such that “Methods and apparatuses for facilitating extension of the duration of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) for TWT operation of wireless devices in a wireless local area network (WLAN).” [Shafin798, Abstract].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 5-6 and 9-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims contain the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein a specific combination between a value of the r-TWT related subfield and a value of all TWT subfields indicates suspension of all r-TWT SPs scheduled for the STA.
5. The method of 1, wherein, for a same value of the all TWT subfield, the next TWT subfield set to a value 0 indicates suspension, and the next TWT subfield set to a value greater than 0 indicates resume timing information.
9. The method of claim 8,
wherein, based on the next TWT subfield being set to a value greater than 0, the extension-related subfield set to a first value indicates resumption in a first r- TWT SP after the value of the next TWT subfield, and the extension-related subfield set to the second value indicates that the end timing is extended to the value of the next TWT subfield.
10. The method of claim 8,
wherein, based on that the STA is a non-AP STA scheduled for r-TWT, and the one or more other STAs are AP STAs, the extension-related subfield set to a specific value and the next TWT subfield set to a value greater than 0 indicate a request to extend the end timing to the value of the next TWT subfield.
Regarding claims 6 and 11, these claims depend from claim 5 and 10, respectively, and thus are objected for the same reason stated above.
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411