DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 8/30/2024.
Claims 1-11, 22-32 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 9/18/2024 has/have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Mapping Notation
In this office action, following notations are being used to refer to the paragraph numbers or column number and lines of portions of the cited reference.
In this office action, following notations are being used to refer to the paragraph numbers or column number and lines of portions of the cited reference.
[0005] (Paragraph number [0005])
C5 (Column 5)
Pa5 (Page 5)
S5 (Section 5)
Furthermore, unless necessary to distinguish from other references in this action, “et al.” will be omitted when referring to the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 22-28, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Kalra et al. (US 11302012 B2)
1. A system for inspecting transparent or translucent features on a substrate of an object comprising:
a vision system camera assembly having a first image sensor that provides image data to a vision system processor, the first image sensor receiving light from a first field of view that includes the object through a first light-polarizing filter assembly;
C7 “The polarization camera 10 further includes a polarizer or polarizing filter or polarization mask 16 placed in the optical path between the scene 1 and the image sensor 14”
C8 “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the processing circuit 100 is implemented using one or more electronic circuits configured to perform various operations as described in more detail below. Types of electronic circuits may include a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), an artificial intelligence (AI) accelerator (e.g., a vector processor, which may include vector arithmetic logic units configured efficiently perform operations common to neural networks, such dot products and softmax), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP), or the like.”
an illumination source that projects polarized light onto the substrate within the field of view;
C7 “The polarization camera 10 may be configured to detect light in a variety of different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, such as the human-visible portion of the electromagnetic spectrum, red, green, and blue portions of the human-visible spectrum, as well as invisible portions of the electromagnetic spectrum such as infrared and ultraviolet.”
See also Fig. 5.
a vision system process that locates and registers the substrate and locates thereon, based upon registration, the transparent or translucent features,
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
the location of features being based upon a difference in contrast generated by a different degree of linear polarization (DoLP) and angle of linear polarization (AoLP) between the substrate versus the features; and
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
C2 “The one or more first tensors in the one or more polarization representation spaces may include: a degree of linear polarization (DOLP) image in a DOLP representation space; and an angle of linear polarization (AOLP) image in an AOLP representation space.”
a vision system process that performs inspection on the features using predetermined thresholds.
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
C6 “As used herein, the term “optically challenging” refers to objects made of materials that satisfy one or more of the following four characteristics at a sufficient threshold level or degree: non-Lambertian (e.g., not matte); translucent; multipath inducing; and/or non-reflective. In some circumstances an object exhibiting only one of the four characteristics may be optically challenging to detect… In some embodiments, the degree or level to which an object is optically challenging is quantified using the full-width half max (FWHM) of the specular lobe of the bidirectional reflectance distribution function (BRDF) of the object. If this FWHM is below a threshold, the material is considered optically challenging.”
2. The system as set forth in claim 1 wherein the substrate is a shipping box and the translucent or transparent features are packing tape or a seal.
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
C8 “For example, a polarization camera 10 may move with respect to the scene 1 between different polarization raw frames (e.g., when different raw polarization raw frames corresponding to different angles of polarization are captured at different times, such as in the case of a mechanically rotating polarizing filter), either because the polarization camera 10 has moved or because objects in the scene 1 have moved (e.g., if the objects are located on a moving conveyor belt).”
One of ordinarily skilled in the art understand that tapes or seal in a shipping box is the type of inspection system that is used with the objects in the conveyor belt mentioned in the reference.
3. The system as set forth in claim 2 wherein the vision system camera is positioned to image a portion of a conveyor that transports the shipping box.
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
C8 “For example, a polarization camera 10 may move with respect to the scene 1 between different polarization raw frames (e.g., when different raw polarization raw frames corresponding to different angles of polarization are captured at different times, such as in the case of a mechanically rotating polarizing filter), either because the polarization camera 10 has moved or because objects in the scene 1 have moved (e.g., if the objects are located on a moving conveyor belt).”
Similar reasoning applies as claim 2.
4. The system as set forth in claim 2 wherein the vision system process that locates and registers identifies flaps on the shipping box and a seam therebetween.
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
C8 “For example, a polarization camera 10 may move with respect to the scene 1 between different polarization raw frames (e.g., when different raw polarization raw frames corresponding to different angles of polarization are captured at different times, such as in the case of a mechanically rotating polarizing filter), either because the polarization camera 10 has moved or because objects in the scene 1 have moved (e.g., if the objects are located on a moving conveyor belt).”
Similar reasoning applies as claim 2.
5. The system as set forth in claim 4 wherein the vision system process that locates and registers identifies corners of a side containing the flaps.
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
Similar reasoning applies as claim 2.
6. The system as set forth in claim 2 wherein the vision system process that locates and registers and the vision system process that performs inspection employ at least one of deep learning and vision system tools.
C3 “The memory may further store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to compute the prediction by supplying the one or more first tensors to one or more corresponding convolutional neural network (CNN) backbones, wherein each of the one or more CNN backbones is configured to compute a plurality of mode tensors at a plurality of different scales.
The memory may further store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: fuse the mode tensors computed at a same scale by the one or more CNN backbones.”
7. The system as set forth in claim 1 wherein the illumination source comprises at least two pairs of light assemblies adapted to project polarized light onto the object from at least two discrete orientations.
C7 “The polarization camera 10 may be configured to detect light in a variety of different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, such as the human-visible portion of the electromagnetic spectrum, red, green, and blue portions of the human-visible spectrum, as well as invisible portions of the electromagnetic spectrum such as infrared and ultraviolet.”
See also Fig. 5.
8. The system as set forth in claim 7 wherein the at least two orientations are (a) an orientation aligned with a leading and trailing edge of the object along a direction of travel and (b) an orientation skewed at an acute angle relative to the direction of travel.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
C2 “The one or more first tensors in the one or more polarization representation spaces may include: a degree of linear polarization (DOLP) image in a DOLP representation space; and an angle of linear polarization (AOLP) image in an AOLP representation space.”
Given that multiple polarization angles are used one of ordinarily skilled in the art understand that the reference discloses the defined alignments.
9. The system as set forth in claim 2, further comprising, a threshold process that applies the thresholds to analyzed features of the packing tape or the seal so as to determine if the shipping box is acceptable.
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
C6 “As used herein, the term “optically challenging” refers to objects made of materials that satisfy one or more of the following four characteristics at a sufficient threshold level or degree: non-Lambertian (e.g., not matte); translucent; multipath inducing; and/or non-reflective. In some circumstances an object exhibiting only one of the four characteristics may be optically challenging to detect… In some embodiments, the degree or level to which an object is optically challenging is quantified using the full-width half max (FWHM) of the specular lobe of the bidirectional reflectance distribution function (BRDF) of the object. If this FWHM is below a threshold, the material is considered optically challenging.”
Similar reasoning applies as claim 2.
Regarding the claim 11, it recites elements that are at least included in the claims 1 above but in a different claim form. Therefore, the same rationale for the rejection of the claim 1 applies.
22. A system for inspecting transparent or translucent features on a substrate of an object comprising:
a vision system camera having a first image sensor that provides image data to a vision system processor, the first image sensor receiving light from a first field of view that includes the object through a first light-polarizing filter assembly;
C7 “The polarization camera 10 further includes a polarizer or polarizing filter or polarization mask 16 placed in the optical path between the scene 1 and the image sensor 14”
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
an illumination source that projects at least three discrete polarization angles of polarized light onto the substrate within the field of view, wherein the vision system camera acquires at least three images of the substrate illuminated by each of the at least three discrete angles of polarized light, respectively;
C7 “The polarization camera 10 may be configured to detect light in a variety of different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, such as the human-visible portion of the electromagnetic spectrum, red, green, and blue portions of the human-visible spectrum, as well as invisible portions of the electromagnetic spectrum such as infrared and ultraviolet.”
See also Fig. 5.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
a vision system process that locates and registers the substrate within the at least three images and
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
that combines the at least three images into a result image; and
C2 “receiving one or more polarization raw frames of a scene, the polarization raw frames being captured with a polarizing filter at a different linear polarization angle; extracting one or more first tensors in one or more polarization representation spaces from the polarization raw frames; and computing a prediction regarding one or more optically challenging objects in the scene based on the one or more first tensors in the one or more polarization representation spaces.”
a vision system process that performs inspection on the features in the result image to determine characteristics of the features.
C6 “Accordingly, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure relate to using polarization imaging to provide information for segmentation algorithms to detect transparent objects in scenes. In addition, aspects of embodiments of the present disclosure also apply to detecting other optically challenging objects such as transparent, translucent, and reflective objects as well as dark objects.”
C6 “As used herein, the term “optically challenging” refers to objects made of materials that satisfy one or more of the following four characteristics at a sufficient threshold level or degree: non-Lambertian (e.g., not matte); translucent; multipath inducing; and/or non-reflective. In some circumstances an object exhibiting only one of the four characteristics may be optically challenging to detect… In some embodiments, the degree or level to which an object is optically challenging is quantified using the full-width half max (FWHM) of the specular lobe of the bidirectional reflectance distribution function (BRDF) of the object. If this FWHM is below a threshold, the material is considered optically challenging.”
23. The system as set forth in claim 22 wherein the illumination source is arranged to project light through a polarizing filter that is located on a rotatable base.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
24. The system as set forth in claim 22 wherein the illumination source includes a plurality of polarizing filters, each having one of the discrete polarization angles, the filters each being arranged to filter the polarized light with respect to each of the at least three images.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
25. The system as set forth in claim 24 wherein the at least three filters are each located on discrete light sources that are each respectively activated for each image acquired by the vision system camera.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
C7 “The polarization camera 10 may be configured to detect light in a variety of different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, such as the human-visible portion of the electromagnetic spectrum, red, green, and blue portions of the human-visible spectrum, as well as invisible portions of the electromagnetic spectrum such as infrared and ultraviolet.”
See also Fig. 5.
26. The system as set forth in claim 25 wherein each of the discrete light sources are mounted on an attachment integrally located on the vision system camera.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
C7 “The polarization camera 10 may be configured to detect light in a variety of different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, such as the human-visible portion of the electromagnetic spectrum, red, green, and blue portions of the human-visible spectrum, as well as invisible portions of the electromagnetic spectrum such as infrared and ultraviolet.”
See also Fig. 5.
27. The system as set forth in claim 26 wherein the light sources are arranged to surround the first light-polarizing filter.
C12 “Print-Out Spoofs: algorithms using single RGB images as input are generally susceptible to print-out spoofs (e.g., printouts of photographic images) due to the perspective ambiguity. While other non-monocular algorithms (e.g., using images captured from multiple different poses around the scene, such as a stereo camera) for semantic segmentation of transparent objects exist, they are range limited and may be unable to handle instance segmentation.”
28. The system as set forth in claim 27 wherein the first light-polarizing filter is mounted rotatably on the attachment, and the attachment is positioned with respect to a lens optics of the vision system camera.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
31. The system as set forth in claim 22 wherein the at least three polarization angles relatively define approximately 0 degrees, 45 degrees, plus-or-minus 10 degrees, and 90 degrees, plus-or-minus 10 degrees.
C7 “As another example, the electro-optic modulator may be configured to transmit light of different linear polarizations when capturing different frames, e.g., so that the camera captures images with the entirety of the polarization mask set to, sequentially, to different linear polarizer angles (e.g., sequentially set to: 0 degrees; 45 degrees; 90 degrees; or 135 degrees). As another example, the polarization mask 16 may include a polarizing filter that rotates mechanically, such that different polarization raw frames are captured by the polarization camera 10 with the polarizing filter mechanically rotated with respect to the lens 12 to transmit light at different angles of polarization to image sensor 14.,”
Regarding the claim 32, it recites elements that are at least included in the claim 22 above but in a different claim form. Therefore, the same rationale for the rejection of the claim 22 applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalra in view of Baba et al. (US 10742894 B2).
Regarding the claim 1, Kalra discloses the invention substantially as claimed as mentioned above for the claim 1.
Kalra does not disclose,
10. The system as set forth in claim 1 wherein the camera assembly includes a second image sensor that provides image data to the vision system processor, the second image sensor receiving light from a second field of view that includes the object through a second light-polarizing filter assembly, wherein the first light polarizing filter assembly and the second light polarizing filter assembly are respectively oriented in different directions.
Baba discloses,
10. The system as set forth in claim 1 wherein the camera assembly includes a second image sensor that provides image data to the vision system processor, the second image sensor receiving light from a second field of view that includes the object through a second light-polarizing filter assembly, wherein the first light polarizing filter assembly and the second light polarizing filter assembly are respectively oriented in different directions.
C8 “FIG. 1 is a flowchart 100 of an example imaging method according to disclosed technologies. In this method, light from a scene can be collected at a plurality of cameras to form respective images. These single-camera images can be registered and then fused. The fused image can be stored or output.
At process block 120, a first array of cameras collects light from a scene in different amounts, i.e. with exposure diversity. At process block 130, the collected light is used to form respective images of the scene for each camera. In like manner, a second array of cameras collects light from the scene with different polarizations, i.e. with polarization diversity, at process block 122. At process block 132, the collected light from the second array is used to form respective images of the scene for each camera.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Baba and apply them on the teachings of Kalra to incorporate the second camera system when performing inspection of substrates as taught by Baba.
One would have been motivated as utilizing multiple cameras would have increased accuracy of the inspection in Kalra as taught by Baba.
Unless stated otherwise, the same explanation for the rationale for the following dependent claims applies as given for the independent claim.
29. The system as set forth in claim 22, further comprising, at least (a) a second vision system camera having a second image sensor that provides image data to the vision system processor, the second image sensor receiving light from a second field of view that includes the object through a second light-polarizing filter assembly and (b) a third vision system camera having a third image sensor that provides image data to the vision system processor, the third image sensor receiving light from a third field of view that includes the object through a third light-polarizing filter assembly.
Baba C8 “FIG. 1 is a flowchart 100 of an example imaging method according to disclosed technologies. In this method, light from a scene can be collected at a plurality of cameras to form respective images. These single-camera images can be registered and then fused. The fused image can be stored or output.
At process block 120, a first array of cameras collects light from a scene in different amounts, i.e. with exposure diversity. At process block 130, the collected light is used to form respective images of the scene for each camera. In like manner, a second array of cameras collects light from the scene with different polarizations, i.e. with polarization diversity, at process block 122. At process block 132, the collected light from the second array is used to form respective images of the scene for each camera.”
30. The system as set forth in claim 29 wherein the first vision system camera and the at least the second vision system camera and the third vision system camera are arranged with the first field of view, the second field of view and the third field of view, respectively in a line along a conveyor surface that moves the object there along.
Baba C8 “FIG. 1 is a flowchart 100 of an example imaging method according to disclosed technologies. In this method, light from a scene can be collected at a plurality of cameras to form respective images. These single-camera images can be registered and then fused. The fused image can be stored or output.
At process block 120, a first array of cameras collects light from a scene in different amounts, i.e. with exposure diversity. At process block 130, the collected light is used to form respective images of the scene for each camera. In like manner, a second array of cameras collects light from the scene with different polarizations, i.e. with polarization diversity, at process block 122. At process block 132, the collected light from the second array is used to form respective images of the scene for each camera.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lu et al. (US 20080129541 A1) and Finarov et al. (US 5333052 A) disclose relevant art related to the subject matter of the present invention.
/JAE N NOH/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481