DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an amendment/argument submitted on 05/26/2026. The applicant amends claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 12, 15 – 18. Claims 21 – 23 are new. Claims 11, 19, and 20 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 6, 9, 10, 12 - 14, 16, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bielby US 2022/0017044 in view of Herman US 2022/0243521.
As per claim 1 A method comprising:
processing a transmission for an operation of a remote keyless system of a vehicle, the remote keyless system having a behavioral security layer; (Herman paragraph 0030 teaches, "The method includes the step of receiving one of a motion input and an automatic mode initiation input to control movement of the closure member in a powered assist mode in response to receiving the motion input and in an automatic mode in response to receiving the automatic mode initiation input." And paragraph 0118 teaches, "which may receive a wireless command to control the door opening based on a signal such as a wireless signal received from the key fob 60,")
determining whether the transmission is associated with behavior of a legitimate user of the vehicle based on one or more transmission behavior parameters of the transmission, by using the behavioral security layer; (Bielby paragraph 0051 discloses, “The machine-learning model 130 may learn about user(s) 112 associated with the vehicle 102, including, for example, features (e.g., facial features, height, body build, hair color, etc.), behavior 144 (e.g., posture, gait, voiceprint, etc.), and social connections (e.g., family members of the user, and/or friends of the user) and may store such data in the user database 110. The machine-learning model 130 may take data, such as, for example, camera data 128, sensor data 124, vehicle context 120, and data from user database 110 as input, and run algorithms (e.g., facial recognition, behavior recognition, voice recognition, etc.) in determining whether person 140 is a user 112 associated with the vehicle 102. The machine-learning model 130 may be trained to recognize user(s) 112 associated with vehicle 102 for a predetermined time period before security for recognized drivers is activated.” and paragraph 0019 discloses, "collecting data corresponding to a person that is approaching a vehicle; determining, based on the collected data, whether the person is associated with the vehicle; in response to determining that the person is a first user associated with the vehicle, determining a security risk (e.g., the presence of a stranger near the driver) based on monitoring an environment of the vehicle; and in response to determining the security risk, performing at least one action for the vehicle.") and
performing an action based on a determination that the transmission is not associated with the behavior of the legitimate user of the vehicle. (Bielby paragraph 0035 discloses, "The opening of the selected door can be conditional on the stranger being at least a predetermined distance away from the selected door and/or the vehicle." And paragraph 0052 discloses, "Vehicle 102 may take one or more action(s) 136 based on the risk score 134. For example, if the risk score 134 is below a predetermined threshold, vehicle 102 may take actions 136, such as, unlock one or more doors, and/or open one or more doors,")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the action includes at least one of: generating an alert regarding the transmission; (Bielby paragraph 0024 discloses, " In one embodiment, the actions that are performed can include one or more of delaying the unlocking of one or more doors, delaying the starting of the vehicle, disabling the starting of the vehicle, activating an alarm, or notifying an owner of the vehicle by sending a wireless communication to a computing device") and
refraining from performing the operation. (Bielby paragraph 0024 discloses, " In one embodiment, the actions that are performed can include one or more of delaying the unlocking of one or more doors, delaying the starting of the vehicle, disabling the starting of the vehicle, activating an alarm, or notifying an owner of the vehicle by sending a wireless communication to a computing device")
As per claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the behavioral security layer includes an artificial intelligence model that has been trained using one or more behavioral parameters associated with behaviors corresponding with transmissions for operations of the remote keyless system. (Bielby paragraph 0029 discloses, "an artificial neural network (ANN)-based recognizer analyzes the way that a person approaches the vehicle in connection with other inputs (e.g., time, location, routing) to make a determination regarding an identity (e.g., driver or stranger) of the person. In one embodiment, the ANN is trained using data obtained from a period of usage of the vehicle." And paragraph 0032 discloses, "an artificial neural network may be configured as an ANN or as a convolutional neural network (CNN) that is trained using reinforcement learning. For example, the ANN may gather images, voice recordings, and other sensor data for persons approaching the vehicle and store the data in a database during a training period. When a person enters the driver's seat during the training period, the person is identified in the database as an authorized user and the data for that person is reinforced in the ANN.")
As per claim 4, The method of claim 3, wherein the behavioral parameters include at least a predetermined number of parameters selected from a set of parameters including: a time of day of the transmission; a date of the transmission; a location of the vehicle; a distance between the vehicle and a customer identification device (CID) that transmitted the transmission; a number of times per day of operation of the CID; a time taken to open a door of the vehicle; and a time taken to close the dooparagraph 124 teaches, "The body control module 52 may also be in communication with an environmental sensor (e.g., temperature sensor 80). The controller 50 is also configured to modify the at least one stored motion control parameter in response to detecting the user interface input." And paragraph 0129 teaches, "Specifically, the at least one environmental sensor 80, 81 can be at least one of a temperature sensor 80 or a rain sensor 81." And paragraph 0152 teaches, "shows adjustments to force profiles related to the force experienced by the closure member (e.g., measured at a handle of the closure member) for each of the plurality of closure member angles." and paragraph 0192 teaches, "environmental data as a function of the provided current GPS positional information, such as temperature, wind speed, precipitation, humidity, pressure, and the like." And paragraph 0234 teaches, "the method proceeds with the step 2108 of verifying motion of door within a predetermined period of time (e.g. seconds) by the controller 50.")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 5, The method of claim 4, wherein the behavioral parameters include all parameters of the set of parameters. (Herman paragraph 0224 teaches, "the controller 50 can learn and incorporate user patterns to anticipate and optimize the interaction (e.g., if a useralways opens the door 12 on hot days to cool the vehicle 10, the system 20 may choose to lower a window and/or open a door 12 before operator physically reaches the vehicle 10, thus saving time). If, for example, an operator continually overrides the power close at 5 pm (i.e., in a rush), the system 20 may choose to implement a higher speed power close at 5 pm as compared to other times.")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein the behavioral security layer is one of a plurality of security layers of the remote keyless system, and wherein the behavioral security laver is implemented as a first security laver before other security layers of the plurality of security layers. (Herman paragraph 0030 teaches, "The method includes the step of receiving one of a motion input and an automatic mode initiation input to control movement of the closure member in a powered assist mode in response to receiving the motion input and in an automatic mode in response to receiving the automatic mode initiation input." And paragraph 0118 discloses, "which may receive a wireless command to control the door opening based on a signal such as a wireless signal received from the key fob 60,") and (Bielby paragraph 0043 discloses, “Vehicle 102 includes a processing device 104. In one embodiment, the processing device 104 uses a machine-learning model 130 and a user database 110, along with input from camera(s) 126, and/or sensor(s) 122, and/or information about the vehicle context 120 to implement security in response to determining a security risk (e.g., to put vehicle 102 into a security mode for recognized drivers).” And paragraph 0051. The security system performs the identification first and the locks of the door are the second security system.)
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 9, The method of claim 1, wherein the remote keyless system includes at least one of: a remote keyless entry system; (Herman paragraph 0226 teaches, "The method 1500 begins by the controller 50 monitoring for a user or human originating indication of their intent to close the door 12, for example by the controller 50 monitoring for an automatic close command at step 1502 such as from an inside door handle switch, or key FOB button, or remote device input,") and
a remote keyless ignition system. (Bielby paragraph 0054 discloses, "The actions 136 can include, for example, unlocking only the door closest to the location 142 of the first user, locking all other doors, activating an alarm, delaying starting a component of the vehicle 102 until the first user is inside the vehicle and all the doors are locked,")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 10, The method of claim 1, wherein the operation is selected from a group including: a door lock operation; a door unlock operation; an engine start operation; an engine stop operation; an activate antitheft alarm operation; a deactivate antitheft alarm operation; and a panic-signal operation. (Bielby paragraph 0024 discloses, "the actions that are performed can include one or more of delaying the unlocking of one or more doors, delaying the starting of the vehicle, disabling the starting of the vehicle, activating an alarm, or notifying an owner of the vehicle by sending a wireless communication to a computing device")
11. (Cancelled)
As per claim 12, A method of securing access to a vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving a transmission to access a function of a remote keyless system of the vehicle, the remote keyless system having a plurality of security layers including a behavioral security layer and one or more cryptographic security layers, wherein the behavioral security laver precedes the one or more cryptographic security layers; (Herman paragraph 0029 teaches, “ The controller is configured to receive one of a motion input and an automatic mode initiation input to control movement of the closure member in a powered assist mode in response to receiving the motion input and in an automatic mode in response to receiving the automatic mode initiation input.” And paragraph 0030 teaches, "The method includes the step of receiving one of a motion input and an automatic mode initiation input to control movement of the closure member in a powered assist mode in response to receiving the motion input and in an automatic mode in response to receiving the automatic mode initiation input." And paragraph 0118 teaches, "which may receive a wireless command to control the door opening based on a signal such as a wireless signal received from the key fob 60,")
analyzing a behavior of the transmission using a behavioral analytics model included in the behavioral security laver; (Bielby paragraph 0042 discloses, "vehicle 102 uses a machine-learning model 130 to identify one or more security risks 132 associated with a person that is detected as approaching the vehicle 102 (e.g., a first person 146 and/or a second person 150) (e.g., a user of the vehicle 102).") and (Herman paragraph 0134 teaches, "the historical operation monitored and analyzed by the controller 50 using the artificial intelligence learning algorithm 61 can include the at least one environmental condition of the vehicle 10.") and
performing a first action when anomalous transmission behavior is detected by the behavioral analytics model; (Bielby paragraph 0035 discloses, "The opening of the selected door can be conditional on the stranger being at least a predetermined distance away from the selected door and/or the vehicle." And paragraph 0052 discloses, "Vehicle 102 may take one or more action(s) 136 based on the risk score 134. For example, if the risk score 134 is below a predetermined threshold, vehicle 102 may take actions 136, such as, unlock one or more doors, and/or open one or more doors," and paragraph 0031 discloses, "The ANN can be trained to classify an item into a plurality of categories, or data points into clusters. Multiple training algorithms can be employed for a sophisticated machine learning/training paradigm." And paragraph 0051 discloses, “The machine-learning model 130 may learn about user(s) 112 associated with the vehicle 102, including, for example, features (e.g., facial features, height, body build, hair color, etc.), behavior 144 (e.g., posture, gait, voiceprint, etc.), and social connections (e.g., family members of the user, and/or friends of the user) and may store such data in the user database 110. The machine-learning model 130 may take data, such as, for example, camera data 128, sensor data 124, vehicle context 120, and data from user database 110 as input, and run algorithms (e.g., facial recognition, behavior recognition, voice recognition, etc.) in determining whether person 140 is a user 112 associated with the vehicle 102. The machine-learning model 130 may be trained to recognize user(s) 112 associated with vehicle 102 for a predetermined time period before security for recognized drivers is activated.”) and (Herman paragraph 0029 teaches, “ The controller is configured to receive one of a motion input and an automatic mode initiation input to control movement of the closure member in a powered assist mode in response to receiving the motion input and in an automatic mode in response to receiving the automatic mode initiation input.”)
performing a second action when anomalous transmission behavior is not detected by the behavioral analytics model, wherein the behavioral analytics model has been trained using one or more parameters associated with transmission behaviors of access functions of the remote keyless system. (Bielby paragraph 0035 discloses, "The opening of the selected door can be conditional on the stranger being at least a predetermined distance away from the selected door and/or the vehicle." And paragraph 0052 discloses, "Vehicle 102 may take one or more action(s) 136 based on the risk score 134. For example, if the risk score 134 is below a predetermined threshold, vehicle 102 may take actions 136, such as, unlock one or more doors, and/or open one or more doors," and paragraph 0031 discloses, "The ANN can be trained to classify an item into a plurality of categories, or data points into clusters. Multiple training algorithms can be employed for a sophisticated machine learning/training paradigm.")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 13, The method of securing access to the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the action includes at least one of: generating an alert regarding the transmission; (Bielby paragraph 0024 discloses, " In one embodiment, the actions that are performed can include one or more of delaying the unlocking of one or more doors, delaying the starting of the vehicle, disabling the starting of the vehicle, activating an alarm, or notifying an owner of the vehicle by sending a wireless communication to a computing device") and
refraining from performing the function. (Bielby paragraph 0024 discloses, "In one embodiment, the actions that are performed can include one or more of delaying the unlocking of one or more doors, delaying the starting of the vehicle, disabling the starting of the vehicle, activating an alarm, or notifying an owner of the vehicle by sending a wireless communication to a computing device")
As per claim 14, The method of securing access to the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the parameters associated with behaviors include at least a predetermined number of parameters selected from a set of parameters including: a time of day of the transmission; a date of the transmission; a location of the vehicle; a distance between the vehicle and a customer identification device (CID) that transmitted the transmission; a number of times per day of operation of the CID; a time taken to open a door of the vehicle; a time taken to close the door; a force of opening the door; a force of closing the door; a temperature inside the vehicle; a temperature outside the vehicle; and a humidity. (Bielby paragraph 0029 discloses, "In one example, an artificial neural network (ANN)-based recognizer analyzes the way that a person approaches the vehicle in connection with other inputs (e.g., time, location, routing) to make a determination regarding an identity (e.g., driver or stranger) of the person.") and (Herman paragraph 124 teaches, "The body control module 52 may also be in communication with an environmental sensor (e.g., temperature sensor 80). The controller 50 is also configured to modify the at least one stored motion control parameter in response to detecting the user interface input." And paragraph 0129 teaches, "Specifically, the at least one environmental sensor 80, 81 can be at least one of a temperature sensor 80 or a rain sensor 81." And paragraph 0152 teaches, "shows adjustments to force profiles related to the force experienced by the closure member (e.g., measured at a handle of the closure member) for each of the plurality of closure member angles." and paragraph 0192 teaches, "environmental data as a function of the provided current GPS positional information, such as temperature, wind speed, precipitation, humidity, pressure, and the like." And paragraph 0234 teaches, "the method proceeds with the step 2108 of verifying motion of door within a predetermined period of time (e.g. seconds) by the controller 50.")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 16, A remote keyless system for a vehicle, comprising:
one or more processors; (Bielby paragraph 0043 discloses, "The processing device 104 may be, for example, a microprocessor, graphics processor, embedded processor, embedded computer, system on a chip, ASIC, FPGA, or other processing device.") and
a non-transitory memory storing a multi-layer security system comprising a plurality of security layers comprising a behavioral security laver and one or more cryptographic security layers, the non-transitory memory having executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to: (Bielby paragraph 0051)
receive a transmission for an operation of the remote keyless system from a customer identification device (CID); (Bielby paragraph 0085 discloses, "a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., memory 106) stores instructions which, when executed on a computing device, cause the computing device to at least: collect data corresponding to a person that is approaching a vehicle; determine, based on the collected data, whether the person is a driver of the vehicle; in response to determining that the person is a driver of the vehicle, determine a security risk based on monitoring an environment of the vehicle;") and (Herman paragraph 0226 teaches, "The method 1500 begins by the controller 50 monitoring for a user or human originating indication of their intent to close the door 12, for example by the controller 50 monitoring for an automatic close command at step 1502 such as from an inside door handle switch, or key FOB button, or remote device input," and paragraph 0118 teaches, “or other wireless device such as a cellular smart phone,”)
conduct an analysis of a transmission behavior of the transmission from the CID using a behavioral analytics model[[,]] stored within the behavioral security laver and based on a set of parameters of the transmission behavior; (Bielby paragraph 0051)
determine, based on the analysis of the transmission behavior, whether the transmission behavior is not associated with a legitimate user of the vehicle; (Bielby paragraph 0029 discloses, "an artificial neural network (ANN)-based recognizer analyzes the way that a person approaches the vehicle in connection with other inputs (e.g., time, location, routing) to make a determination regarding an identity (e.g., driver or stranger) of the person." And paragraph 0051) and
perform an action[[,]] based on determination that the behavior is not associated with the legitimate user of the vehicle, including at least one of:
generate an alert regarding the operation; (Bielby paragraph 0024 discloses, " In one embodiment, the actions that are performed can include one or more of delaying the unlocking of one or more doors, delaying the starting of the vehicle, disabling the starting of the vehicle, activating an alarm, or notifying an owner of the vehicle by sending a wireless communication to a computing device") and
refrain from performing the operation, wherein the behavioral analytics model has been trained using at least a predetermined number othe set of parameters of transmission behaviors, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least two of: a time of day of the transmission; a date of the transmission; a location of the vehicle; a distance between the vehicle and the CID; and a number of times per day of operation of the CID. (Bielby paragraph 0029 discloses, "In one example, an artificial neural network (ANN)-based recognizer analyzes the way that a person approaches the vehicle in connection with other inputs (e.g., time, location, routing) to make a determination regarding an identity (e.g., driver or stranger) of the person." And paragraph 0051) and (Herman paragraph 124 teaches, "The body control module 52 may also be in communication with an environmental sensor (e.g., temperature sensor 80). The controller 50 is also configured to modify the at least one stored motion control parameter in response to detecting the user interface input." And paragraph 0129 teaches, "Specifically, the at least one environmental sensor 80, 81 can be at least one of a temperature sensor 80 or a rain sensor 81." And paragraph 0152 teaches, "shows adjustments to force profiles related to the force experienced by the closure member (e.g., measured at a handle of the closure member) for each of the plurality of closure member angles." and paragraph 0192 teaches, "environmental data as a function of the provided current GPS positional information, such as temperature, wind speed, precipitation, humidity, pressure, and the like." And paragraph 0234 teaches, "the method proceeds with the step 2108 of verifying motion of door within a predetermined period of time (e.g. seconds) by the controller 50." and paragraph 0118 teaches, “or other wireless device such as a cellular smart phone,”)
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 17, The remote keyless system of claim 16, wherein set of transmission behavioral parameters further comprises a time taken to open a door of the vehicle; a time taken to close the door; a force of opening the door; a force of closing the door; a temperature inside the vehicle; a temperature outside the vehicle; and a humidity. (Bielby paragraph 0029 discloses, "In one example, an artificial neural network (ANN)-based recognizer analyzes the way that a person approaches the vehicle in connection with other inputs (e.g., time, location, routing) to make a determination regarding an identity (e.g., driver or stranger) of the person.") and (Herman paragraph 124 teaches, "The body control module 52 may also be in communication with an environmental sensor (e.g., temperature sensor 80). The controller 50 is also configured to modify the at least one stored motion control parameter in response to detecting the user interface input." And paragraph 0129 teaches, "Specifically, the at least one environmental sensor 80, 81 can be at least one of a temperature sensor 80 or a rain sensor 81." And paragraph 0152 teaches, "shows adjustments to force profiles related to the force experienced by the closure member (e.g., measured at a handle of the closure member) for each of the plurality of closure member angles." and paragraph 0192 teaches, "environmental data as a function of the provided current GPS positional information, such as temperature, wind speed, precipitation, humidity, pressure, and the like." And paragraph 0234 teaches, "the method proceeds with the step 2108 of verifying motion of door within a predetermined period of time (e.g. seconds) by the controller 50.")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a remote keyless device. Herman teaches of a remote keyless device to gain entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Herman et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
19-20. (Cancelled)
As per claim 21, The remote keyless system of claim 16, wherein the behavioral analytics model has been trained using at least the predetermined number of the set of parameters of transmission behaviors over a training period based on one of a duration of time, an amount of data collected, and a number of access attempts. (Bielby paragraph 0021 discloses, “the data regarding context can include a location of the vehicle, sensor data previously collected by the vehicle and/or other vehicles at the location, and/or a time of day.” And paragraph 0032 discloses, “During the training period the machine-learning model will take in new data from sensors on the vehicle for authorized users (e.g., changes in appearance (clothing, glasses, facial hair, etc.), different lighting conditions, different angles, etc.) and will learn and reinforce recognition of authorized users.”)
Claims 7, 8, 15, 18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bielby US 2022/0017044 in view of Herman US 2022/0243521 in view of Patne US 2020/0334357.
As per claim 7, The method of claim 6, wherein the plurality of security layers includes one or more cryptographic security layers. (Patne paragraph 0058 teaches, "The communication module 230, in one or more approaches, encrypts the code using one key of an asymmetric key pair, a private key, a rolling session key, or according to another encryption scheme. In either case, the communication module 230 is effectively including a secure authentication mechanism within the challenge message that is designed to only be decrypted by a valid device such as the fob transceiver 270. In further aspects, the communication module 230 digitally signs the challenge message, generates a message authentication code that is based, at least in part, on the code, or performs another secure cryptographic routine to provide the challenge message with a means to authenticate the access system 170 and the fob transceiver 270.")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a cryptographic security layers. Patne teaches of a cryptographic security layer in a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Patne et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 8, The method of claim 7, wherein the one or more cryptographic security layers are used to determine whether the transmission is legitimate after determining whether the transmission is associated with anomalous behavior by the behavioral security layer. (Patne paragraph 0058) and (Bielby paragraph 0051 discloses, “The machine-learning model 130 may learn about user(s) 112 associated with the vehicle 102, including, for example, features (e.g., facial features, height, body build, hair color, etc.), behavior 144 (e.g., posture, gait, voiceprint, etc.), and social connections (e.g., family members of the user, and/or friends of the user) and may store such data in the user database 110. The machine-learning model 130 may take data, such as, for example, camera data 128, sensor data 124, vehicle context 120, and data from user database 110 as input, and run algorithms (e.g., facial recognition, behavior recognition, voice recognition, etc.) in determining whether person 140 is a user 112 associated with the vehicle 102. The machine-learning model 130 may be trained to recognize user(s) 112 associated with vehicle 102 for a predetermined time period before security for recognized drivers is activated.” And paragraph 0003 discloses, "The mobile device has a facial recognition sensor that projects infrared dots onto the user's face and then reads the pattern. The pattern is evaluated by a processor of the mobile device to confirm a match with the phone owner's face.")
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a cryptographic security layers. Patne teaches of a cryptographic security layer in a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Patne et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 15, The method of securing access to the vehicle of claim 12,behavior by the behavioral security layer. (Patne paragraph 0058) and (Bielby paragraph 0051)
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a cryptographic security layers. Patne teaches of a cryptographic security layer in a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Patne et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 18, The remote keyless system of claim 16, wherein, after determining that the transmission is not associated with the legitimate user of the vehicle at the behavioral security layer, the transmission is passed to the one or more cryptographic security layers
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a cryptographic security layers. Patne teaches of a cryptographic security layer in a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Patne et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 22, The remote keyless system of claim 16, wherein the behavioral security layer is implemented as an additional security layer that precedes the one or more cryptographic security layers of the multi-layer security system. (Patne paragraph 0058) and (Bielby paragraph 0051)
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a cryptographic security layers. Patne teaches of a cryptographic security layer in a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Patne et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
As per claim 23, The remote keyless system of claim 16, wherein the behavioral security layer is integrated between first and second cryptographic security layers of the one or more cryptographic security layers of the multi-layer security system. (Patne paragraph 0058) and (Bielby paragraph 0051)
Bielby discloses an activating a security mode for vehicle based upon identification. Bielby does not disclose a cryptographic security layers. Patne teaches of a cryptographic security layer in a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Patne et.al. into the invention of Bielby. Such incorporation is motivated to ensure the correct person is authorized to operate the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant amends claims to contain and emphasize the feature of “behavior” and points to the specification for defining the scope of the feature. The feature is not defined other than distance in paragraphs 0063 and 0064. The art of record makes obvious the feature in Bielby paragraphs 0034 and 0035. The applicant emphasizes the feature of CID without defining the scope of the feature. The art of record makes obvious the feature as defined in Herman paragraph 0118. The applicant also identifies multiple layers of security. However, the applicant does not claim the various layers. The art of record makes obvious various layers that initiates automatically the identification of a person in proximity and then allows access to those authorized as identified in the claims.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments regarding security layers. The claims do not identify what the security system constitutes. Thus, the art of record makes obvious of various security systems such as the entry and use of the device used by the user such as a smartphone, the system recognizing the person approaching, and the locks on the doors. Therefore, operation of recognizing the person approaching is automatic to identify authorized versus unauthorized. The applicant uses broad language to define the inventive concept and features, which is the art of record makes the claims obvious.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the features of the art of record are all directed to security and allowing only those authorized entry into a vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the most up to date technology to protect their property. Thus, the features from the various art would be used to provide the most secure protection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664