DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Application filed on 08/30/2024
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, 13-21, 23, 25 are pending in this action
This application claims domestic priority from PCT/CN2022/091127 filed on 05/06/2022
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “power power parameter” in paragraphs [0095] [0096] [0098] [0099] [0101] [0102] and [0103].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, 13-21, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230114010, effectively filed on 2021-12-11 (hereinafter Zhu) in view of He, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210044342, published on 2021-02-11 (hereinafter He).
As for claim 1, Zhu discloses a system comprising a first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to
(Zhu paragraphs [0010] and [0015] disclose a UE (a first network entity) with processor and memory, “The UE further includes a processor operably coupled to the transceiver. The processor configured… Moreover, various functions described below can be implemented or supported by one or more computer programs… such as read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM)”)
wherein each respective TRP of the set of TRPs corresponds to a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of a set of TCI states
(Zhu paragraphs [0161] and [0173] discloses the UE receiving TCI state info from a set of TRPs, “In the present disclosure, in a multi-TRP system or for multi-TRP operation, the UE can be provided a BFD RS (beam) set p, where 1,2,...,N} and N denotes the total number of BFD RS (beam) sets configured/provided to the UE…. Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR could be a common/unified TCI state indication/update described/discussed herein in the present disclosure for various DL and/or UL channels/signals such as PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH.”)
wherein the PDCCH transmission is based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) request
(Zhu paragraph [0173] discloses the signal the UE received is a BFRR, “Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR could be a common/unified TCI state indication/update described/discussed herein in the present disclosure for various DL and/or UL channels/signals such as PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH.”)
wherein the BFR request includes a failed cell identifier (ID) or a failed TRP ID associated with one TRP of the set of TRPs
(Zhu paragraphs [0106], [0441], and [0505] disclose the BFRR including a failed BFD RS set which is the index of the failed reference signals corresponding to the TRPs, “In the present disclosure, in a multi-TRP system or for multi-TRP operation, the UE can be provided a BFD RS (beam) set p, where 1,2,...,N} and N denotes the total number of BFD RS (beam) sets configured/provided to the UE. For this case, the first BFD RS set or BFD RS set 1 (e.g., p=1) could correspond to the set q.sub.0,0 described herein, and the second BFD RS set or BFD RS set 2 (e.g., p=2) could correspond to the set described herein… The BFRR for the (failed) BFD RS set p corresponds to the common DL TCI state p for both PDCCH and PDSCH indicating the NBI RS/new beam selected from the NBI RS set p associated with the (failed) BFD RS set p as the QCL source RS, where p∈{1, 2,..., N}…. after the UE has sent to the network a BFRQ for a failed TRP (e.g., a failed BFD RS beam set) in the multi-TRP system”)
wherein the failed cell ID or the failed TRP ID is associated with a unified TCI state of the set of TCI states
(Zhu paragraph [0173] discloses the BFRR including unified TCI state indication, “Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR could be a common/unified TCI state indication/update described/discussed herein in the present disclosure for various DL and/or UL channels/signals such as PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH.”)
transmit, to the second network entity based on an adjustment to a first set of power control parameters, one or more uplink (UL) transmissions
(Zhu paragraph [0370] discloses a UE transmitting and update to UL power control parameters, “the UE could transmit PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) in a CC or in a set of configured CCs configured with one or more Rel. 17 TCI states/beams (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17) activation or update using a same spatial filter as the one used for transmitting the last PRACH, and/or a power determined as described in the 3GPP TS 38.213 clause 7.2.1 with the UL power control parameters q_u=0, q_d=q_new and closed loop index 1=0.”)
wherein the one or more UL transmissions are associated with the unified TCI state and one of the failed cell ID or the failed TRP ID
(Zhu paragraphs [0441] and [0442] disclose a UE transmitting TCI state information with UL parameters, “after the UE has sent to the network a BFRQ for a failed TRP (e.g., a failed BFD RS beam set) in the multi-TRP system… Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR for the multi-TRP BFR could be a common TCI state indication for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH associated with the failed TRP (or failed BFD RS set).”)
Zhu does not appear to discloses a system configured to receive, from a second network entity associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission.
However, He does disclose a system configured to receive, from a second network entity associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission
(He paragraph [0079] discloses a base station with a TRP transmitting a PDCCH, “One or more base stations comprising TRP 804 and/or TRP 806 may configure the TRP 804 to transmit one set of BFD RS resources 808 and TRP 806 to transmit another set of BFD RS resources 810. TRP 804 and 806 may provide UE 802 the RS resources 808, 810 over different PDCCH serving beams”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the second PDCCF of the multi TRP system of He into the multi TRP system of Zhu in order to increase the reliability of the serving cell as taught by He in [0078].
As for claim 2, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the at least one processor is configured to: reset to the first set of power control parameters from a second set of power control parameters associated with the one or more UL transmissions after a quantity of symbols from an end of the PDCCH transmission wherein the adjustment to the first set of power control parameters corresponds to the reset to the first set of power control parameters.
(Zhu paragraphs [0317], [0318], and [0322] disclose a UE resetting UL parameters based on symbols received from the base stations, “Various UE’s behaviors of resetting or updating DL and/or UL beams/spatial filters after receiving one or more of the above discussed BFRR formats/forms…That is, under the Rel. 17 unified TCI framework when a UE is configured with/provided by the network TCI-State_r17 indicating a unified TCI state, X symbols after receiving the BFRR… if the UE receives or is configured a Rel. 17 unified TCI state/beam indication (e.g., the UE is configured with a DL TCI state or an UL TCI state or a joint DL and UL TCI state or a separate DL TCI state and a separate UL TCI state via the Rel. 17 TCI state/beam indication, e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17), the UE transmits PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) in a CC or in a set of configured CCs configured with one or more Rel. 17 TCI states/beams (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter TCI-State_rl7) activation or update using a spatial filter x, and/or a power determined as described in the 3GPP TS 38.213 clause 7.2.1 with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with index q_new, e.g., q_u=0, q_d=q_new and closed loop index 1=0 or 1”)
As for claim 3, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to the second network entity, the BFR request indicating the failed cell ID or the failed TRP ID
(Zhu paragraphs [0441], [0442], and [0505] disclose the BFRR including a failed TRPs, “after the UE has sent to the network a BFRQ for a failed TRP (e.g., a failed BFD RS beam set) in the multi-TRP system… Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR for the multi-TRP BFR could be a common TCI state indication for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH associated with the failed TRP (or failed BFD RS set). The BFRR for the (failed) BFD RS set p corresponds to the common DL TCI state p for both PDCCH and PDSCH indicating the NBI RS/new beam selected from the NBI RS set p associated with the (failed) BFD RS set p as the QCL source RS, where p∈{1, 2,..., N}.”)
transmit a reference signal index indicative of candidate spatial filter information associated with the failed cell or the failed TRP
(Zhu paragraphs [0328] and [0547] disclose the UE transmitting information based on what is received including TCI state which is defined to include spatial information which is tied to the failed BFD RS sets (or failed TRPs) by the common TCI state, “the UE transmits other signals/channels sharing the same indicated Rel. 17 TCI state/beam (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17) as for the PUCCH/PUSCH including the dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources in the CC using spatial filter x …. The BFRR for the (failed) BFD RS set p corresponds to the common UL TCI state p for both PUCCH and PUSCH indicating the NBI RS/new beam selected from the NBI RS set p associated with the (failed) BFD RS set p as the QCL source RS, where p∈{1, 2,..., M}.”)
wherein, to receive the PDCCH transmission, the at least one processor is configured to receive the PDCCH transmission based on the BFR request.
(Zhu paragraph [0306] discloses the UE changing its receive configuration for a PDCCH based on information received from a BFRR, “If the new beam q_new indicated in the BFRR (i.e., in the separate UL TCI state) may be applied to at least one of PDCCH and PDSCH, in yet another example, the UE could receive from the network an indicator indicating whether the new beam q_new indicated in the separate UL TCI state may be applied to the PDCCH or PDSCH or both”)
As for claim 4, the limitations of the parent claim 3 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the one or more UL transmissions are at least one of: a respective physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission a respective physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, or a respective sounding reference signal (SRS)
(Zhu paragraph [0074] discloses UE transmitting data through PUCCH and PUSCH, “A UE transmits data information or UCI through a respective physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical UL control channel (PUCCH). A PUSCH or a PUCCH can be transmitted over a variable number of slot symbols including one slot symbol. The gNB can configure the UE to transmit signals on a cell within an UL BWP of the cell UL BW.”)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive an indication associated with the unified TCI state.
(Zhu paragraph [0173] discloses the BFRR including unified TCI state indication, “Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR could be a common/unified TCI state indication/update described/discussed herein in the present disclosure for various DL and/or UL channels/signals such as PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH.”)
As for claim 5, the limitations of the parent claim 4 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the BFR request includes the failed cell ID,
(Zhu paragraph [0099] discloses a BFRQ including a failed cell ID, “The UE could be indicated by the network an uplink grant in response to the BFRQ SR, which may allocate necessary resources for the MAC CE to carry new beam index (if identified), failed SCell index and etc. over the PUSCH for the working PCell”)
and wherein the first set of power control parameters is associated with the unified TCI state, wherein the unified TCI state is associated with the reference signal index.
(Zhu paragraph [0322] discloses power control parameters associated with unified TCI state and a reference signal index, “if the UE receives or is configured a Rel. 17 unified TCI state/beam indication… a power determined as described in the 3GPP TS 38.213 clause 7.2.1 with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with index q_new, e.g., q_u=0, q_d=q_new and closed loop index 1=0 or 1”)
As for claim 6, the limitations of the parent claim 5 have been discussed. wherein each power control parameter in the first set of power control parameters is included in the indication and associated with a respective UL transmission of the one or more UL transmissions.
(Zhu paragraph [0322] discloses the UE transmitting a UL (PUCCH) using power control parameter indicated, “the UE transmits PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) in a CC or in a set of configured CCs configured with one or more Rel. 17 TCI states/beams (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter TCI-State_rl7) activation or update using a spatial filter x, and/or a power determined as described in the 3GPP TS 38.213 clause 7.2.1 with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with index q_new, e.g., q_u=0, q_d=q_new and closed loop index 1=0 or 1”)
As for claim 7, the limitations of the parent claim 4 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the BFR request includes the failed cell ID, and wherein each respective power control parameter of the first set of power control parameters is associated with a respective UL bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the one or more UL transmissions and a respective UL transmission of the one or more UL transmissions.
(Zhu paragraphs [0117], [0322], and [0331] disclose power control parameters for a UL being associated with a TCI state which is defined to have a specific UL BWP and cell ID and all of this is sent in the context of a BFR when the identified cell has a failed beam, “The Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with eLCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1b in TS 38.321. It has a variable size consisting of one or more of the following fields: (1) serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies.… (3) UL BWP ID: This field indicates a UL BWP for which the MAC CE applies as the codepoint of the DCI bandwidth part indicator field… the UE transmits PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) in a CC or in a set of configured CCs configured with one or more Rel. 17 TCI states/beams (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter TCI-State_rl7) activation or update using a spatial filter x, and/or a power determined as described in the 3GPP TS 38.213 clause 7.2.1 with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with index q_new, e.g., q_u=0, q_d=q_new and closed loop index 1=0 or 1…That is, under the Rel. 17 unified TCI framework when a UE is configured with/provided by the network TCI-State_r17 indicating a unified TCI state, X symbols after receiving the BFRR, i.e., (i) X symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception in a search space set provided by recoverySearchSpaceId where the UE detects a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI for the PCell or PSCell, or (ii) X symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception that determines the completion of the contention based random access procedure for BFR as described in the 3GPP TS 38.321 for the PCell or the PSCell, or (iii) X symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception with a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission with a same HARQ process number as for the transmission of the PUSCH carrying the MAC CE for BFR and having a toggled NDI field value for the SCell.”)
As for claim 9, the limitations of the parent claim 4 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the BFR request includes the failed cell ID or the failed TRP ID, and wherein each respective power control parameter of the first set of power control parameters is associated with a respective cell associated with the unified TCI state and a respective UL transmission of the one or more UL transmissions.
(Zhu paragraphs [0117] and [0322] disclose power control parameters for a UL being associated with a TCI state which is defined to have a specific cell ID, “The Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with eLCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1b in TS 38.321. It has a variable size consisting of one or more of the following fields: (1) serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies… the UE transmits PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) in a CC or in a set of configured CCs configured with one or more Rel. 17 TCI states/beams (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter TCI-State_rl7) activation or update using a spatial filter x, and/or a power determined as described in the 3GPP TS 38.213 clause 7.2.1 with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with index q_new, e.g., q_u=0, q_d=q_new and closed loop index 1=0 or 1”)
As for claim 11, the limitations of the parent claim 4 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the BFR request includes the failed TRP ID, and wherein the first set of power control parameters is associated with the unified TCI state, wherein the unified TCI state is associated with the reference signal index.
(Zhu paragraphs [0359] and [0442] disclose UL power control parameters being associated with the TCI state and being associated with the RS resource which is defined to be TRP, “the UE could transmit PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) … with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with the RS resource (e.g., a SSB index/SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource/CSI-RS resource configuration index) in the CC, wherein the RS resource in the CC is associated with/linked to the index q_new…. after the UE has sent to the network a BFRQ for a failed TRP (e.g., a failed BFD RS beam set) in the multi-TRP system… Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR for the multi-TRP BFR could be a common TCI state indication for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH associated with the failed TRP (or failed BFD RS set).”)
As for claim 13, the limitations of the parent claim 4 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the BFR request includes the failed TRP ID, and wherein each power control parameter in the first set of power control parameters is associated with a respective TRP in the set of TRPs, a respective cell associated with the unified TCI state, and a respective UL transmission of the one or more UL transmissions.
(Zhu paragraphs [0359] and [0442] disclose UL power control parameters being associated with the TCI state and being associated with the RS resource which is defined to be TRP, “the UE could transmit PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) … with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with the RS resource (e.g., a SSB index/SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource/CSI-RS resource configuration index) in the CC, wherein the RS resource in the CC is associated with/linked to the index q_new…. after the UE has sent to the network a BFRQ for a failed TRP (e.g., a failed BFD RS beam set) in the multi-TRP system… Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR for the multi-TRP BFR could be a common TCI state indication for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH associated with the failed TRP (or failed BFD RS set).”)
As for claim 15, the limitations of the parent claim 4 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the BFR request includes the failed TRP ID, and wherein the first set of power control parameters includes a first subset of one or more power control parameters of the first set of power control parameters and a second subset of the one or more power control parameters of the first set of power control parameters, wherein each respective power control parameter in the first subset is associated with a respective TRP of the set of TRPs and a respective UL transmission of the one or more UL transmissions, and wherein each respective power control parameter in the second subset is associated with a respective cell associated with the unified TCI state and a respective UL transmission of the one or more UL transmissions.
(Zhu paragraphs [0359], [0360], and [0442] disclose UL power control parameters being associated with the TCI state (the parameter subset called “G>1 CCs” in the reference) and being associated with the RS resource which is defined to be TRP (the parameter subset is referred to as, q_u and q_d in the reference), “the UE could transmit PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) … with the UL power control parameters (such as q_u, q_d, closed loop index 1) associated with the Rel. 17 TCI state associated with the RS resource (e.g., a SSB index/SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource/CSI-RS resource configuration index) in the CC, wherein the RS resource in the CC is associated with/linked to the index q_new…. For instance, q_u=0, q_d=q_new, closed loop index 1=0 or 1, and q_new could correspond to the index of the RS resource in the NBI RS beam set q1 configured to the UE for new/candidate beam identification in the CC. The UE applies the procedure/assumption to transmit PUCCH including all of dedicated PUCCHs (or PUCCH resources) across all the G≥1 CCs configured with one or more Rel. 17 TCI states/beams… after the UE has sent to the network a BFRQ for a failed TRP (e.g., a failed BFD RS beam set) in the multi-TRP system… Under the unified TCI framework, the BFRR for the multi-TRP BFR could be a common TCI state indication for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH or PUSCH associated with the failed TRP (or failed BFD RS set).”)
As for claim 16, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the BFR request includes information of one or more failed component carrier (CC) indices associated with the failed cell ID or the failed TRP ID.
(Zhu paragraph [0099] discloses a BFRQ including a failed cell ID which applicant discloses is the same as a PCell or SCell in disclose paragraph [0041] “The UE could be indicated by the network an uplink grant in response to the BFRQ SR, which may allocate necessary resources for the MAC CE to carry new beam index (if identified), failed SCell index and etc. over the PUSCH for the working PCell”)
As for claim 17, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system wherein the first network entity corresponds to a user equipment (UE) and the second network entity corresponds to a base station.
(Zhu paragraphs [0010] and [0011] disclose a UE (a first network entity) and a base station , “The UE further includes a processor operably coupled to the transceiver. In another embodiment, a base station (BS) is provided”)
As for independent claim 18, claim 18 is a system directed to substantially similar subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for 19, the limitations of the parent claim 18 have been discussed. Claim 19 is a system directed to substantially similar subject matter as claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for 20, the limitations of the parent claim 19 have been discussed. Claim 20 is a system directed to substantially similar subject matter as claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for 21, the limitations of the parent claim 20 have been discussed. Claim 21 is a system directed to substantially similar subject matter as claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for 23, the limitations of the parent claim 20 have been discussed. Claim 23 is a system directed to substantially similar subject matter as claim 7 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for 25, the limitations of the parent claim 20 have been discussed. Claim 25 is a system directed to substantially similar subject matter as claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Conclusion
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646