DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 08/30/2024, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_”, “L_” and “Pr_” are used to mean “column_”, “line_” and “paragraph_”.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 reads “…a first inlet and a first outlet leading to the accommodation space”. The phrase “leading to” is being interpreted as “fluidly connected to”, based on the originally filed drawings, filed 08/30/2024.
Claim 1 reads “a filter… configured to filter slurry flowing in through the first inlet and discharge the filtered slurry to the first outlet”. This is being interpreted to mean that the filter is configured to discharge the filtered slurry to the first outlet.
Claims depending on the independent Claim 1 are affected by this interpretation.
Claim 6 reads “pores… have a smaller size as they are located closer to the hollow”. This is being interpreted to mean that the pores decrease in size as the pores approach the hollow of the porous structure.
Claim 11 reads “an oscillator configured to generate a high-frequency electrical signal corresponding to an oscillation frequency of the at least one vibrator and to provide the same to the at least one vibrator”. This is being interpreted to mean that the oscillator generates a high-frequency electrical signal and provides said high-frequency electrical signal to the at least one vibrator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 reads “the ultrasonic module comprises a plurality of vibrators”, whereas Claim 9, upon which Claim 10 depends, reads “the ultrasonic module comprises… at least one vibrator”. It is unclear whether the “plurality of vibrators” of Claim 10 and the “at least one vibrator” of Claim 9 refer to the same or distinct vibrator(s), rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Patent KR101362109B1 (‘Woo’). Machine translations accompany this detailed action and the claims are mapped to those translations and the drawings in the original documents.
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 1, 4 and 9-10, Woo discloses a slurry filtering apparatus (abstract), comprising:
an accommodation structure (Fig. 1, pg. 4/Pr2, cylindrical main body 10) having an accommodation space therein (Fig. 2), and a first inlet (Fig. 1, pg. 4/Pr2, inlet port 11) and a first outlet (Fig. 1, pg. 4/Pr2, outlet port 12) leading to the accommodation space (Fig. 2);
a filter (Fig. 2-3, pg. 4/Pr3, filtering nets 21, 22) accommodated in the accommodation space (Fig. 2-3) and configured to filter slurry flowing in through the first inlet (Fig. 3, pg. 4/last Pr) and discharge the filtered slurry to the first outlet (Fig. 3, pg. 4/last Pr); and
an ultrasonic module (Fig. 4-5, pg. 5, section of suction duct 70 comprising ultrasonic generator 75 in Fig. 4) having at least a portion that is disposed in an internal space of the filter (Fig. 5) and configured to generate ultrasonic vibration inside the filter (pg. 5).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 4: wherein the filter comprises a porous structure (Fig. 2-3, pg. 4/Pr3, filtering nets 21, 22) configured to filter the slurry flowing in through the first inlet (Fig. 3, pg. 4/last Pr), and
wherein the at least a portion of the ultrasonic module is disposed in a hollow provided inside the porous structure (Fig. 5).
Claim 9: wherein the ultrasonic module comprises:
an insertion rod (Fig. 3-4, pg. 4/Pr3, suction duct 70) having a predetermined length and having at least one end inserted into the internal space of the filter (Fig. 3); and
at least one vibrator (Fig. 4-5, pg. 5, ultrasonic generator 75) coupled to and supported by the at least one end of the insertion rod and configured to generate ultrasonic vibration.
Claim 10: wherein the ultrasonic module comprises a plurality of vibrators (Fig. 4-5, pg. 5), and wherein the plurality of vibrators are coupled to the at least one end of the insertion rod so as to be spaced a predetermined distance apart from each other in the longitudinal direction of the insertion rod (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent KR101362109B1 (‘Woo’) in view of Korean Publication KR19990033672U (‘Han’). Machine translations accompany this detailed action and the claims are mapped to those translations and the drawings in the original documents.
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 2-3¸ Woo discloses the slurry filtering apparatus of Claim 1, except that the accommodation structure comprises: a base structure having the first inlet and the first outlet and supporting the filter; and a cap structure capable of being coupled to and separated from the base structure forming the accommodation space by being coupled to the base structure.
Han also relates to a filtering apparatus (abstract), including that the accommodation structure comprises: a base structure (Fig. 1, pg. 2, housing 21) having the first inlet (Fig. 2, pg. 1, inlet port 28) and the first outlet (Fig. 2, pg. 1, outlet 29) and supporting the filter (Fig. 2, pg. 2, filter 24); and a cap structure (Fig. 2, pg. 2, cap 22) capable of being coupled to and separated from the base structure forming the accommodation space by being coupled to the base structure (Fig. 2, pg. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the accommodation structure of Woo to comprise a base structure, as demonstrated by Han, because both Woo and Han are concerned with filtering apparatus (Woo, abstract and Han, abstract).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 3: a first insertion groove into which at least one end of the filter is inserted so as to be seated thereon (Han, Fig. 2) and a second insertion groove (Han, Fig. 2) provided on an inner surface of the first insertion groove so as to lead to the first inlet and into which a second inlet (Han, Fig. 2-3, see inflow into inlet 28) provided at the at least one end of the filter is inserted, and a third insertion groove (Han, Fig. 3, see outflow out of outlet 29) provided on the inner surface of the first insertion groove so as to lead to the first outlet and into which a second outlet provided at the at least one end of the filter is inserted.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent KR101362109B1 (‘Woo’) in view of Korean Patent KR101068435B1 (‘Kim ‘435’). Machine translations accompany this detailed action and the claims are mapped to those translations and the drawings in the original documents.
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 5-6, Woo discloses the slurry filtering apparatus of Claim 4, except that the porous structure comprises a plurality of porous layers stacked on each other from the hollow toward outside of the porous structure, wherein pores formed in the plurality of porous layers have a smaller size as they are located closer to the hollow.
Kim ‘435 also relates to a filtering apparatus (abstract), including that the porous structure comprises a plurality of porous layers stacked on each other from the hollow toward outside of the porous structure (pg. 5), wherein pores formed in the plurality of porous layers have a smaller size as they are located closer to the hollow (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the porous structure of Woo to comprise a plurality of porous layers, wherein pores formed in the plurality of porous layers have a smaller size as they are located closer to the hollow, as demonstrated by Kim ‘435, so that minute particle elimination is excellent, the flux increases and filter durability improves (Kim ‘435, abstract).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent KR101362109B1 (‘Woo’) in view of Korean Publication KR20070008183A (‘Park ‘183’). Machine translations accompany this detailed action and the claims are mapped to those translations and the drawings in the original documents.
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 7, Woo discloses the slurry filtering apparatus of Claim 4, except that that the filter further comprises a filter housing accommodating the porous structure therein, and wherein the filter housing comprises: a second inlet leading to the first inlet and configured to provide the slurry flowing in through the first inlet to the porous structure; and a second outlet leading to the first outlet and configured to discharge the slurry filtered through the porous structure to the first outlet, and wherein the porous structure has an opening leading to the hollow, and wherein the opening is configured to lead to the second outlet.
Park ‘183 also relates to a filtering apparatus (abstract), including that the filter further comprises a filter housing (Fig. 1, pg. 7, housing 31) accommodating the porous structure (Fig. 1, pg. 7, filter 30) therein, and wherein the filter housing comprises:
a second inlet (Fig. 7, pg. 6, oil inlet 14) leading to the first inlet (pg. 2, oil circulation) and configured to provide the slurry flowing in through the first inlet to the porous structure; and
a second outlet (Fig. 7, pg. 6, oil outlet 15) leading to the first outlet (pg. 2, oil circulation) and configured to discharge the slurry filtered through the porous structure to the first outlet;
wherein the porous structure has an opening (Fig. 8) leading to the hollow, and
wherein the opening is configured to lead to the second outlet (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the slurry filtering apparatus of Woo to comprise a filter housing, as demonstrated by Park ‘183, because both Woo and Park ‘183 involve filtering (Woo, abstract and Park ‘183, pg. 6/last Pr) and a filter housing facilitates filter exchange and cleaning (Park ‘183, pg. 3).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent KR101362109B1 (‘Woo’) in view of Japanese Publication JP2006247484A (‘Nishi’). Machine translations accompany this detailed action and the claims are mapped to those translations and the drawings in the original documents.
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11, Woo discloses the slurry filtering apparatus of Claim 1, except that the ultrasonic module further comprises an oscillator configured to generate a high-frequency electrical signal corresponding to an oscillation frequency of the at least one vibrator and to provide the same to the at least one vibrator.
Nishi also relates to a slurry filtering apparatus (Fig. 1, [0037], filtering device 106), including that the ultrasonic module further comprises an oscillator configured to generate a high-frequency electrical signal corresponding to an oscillation frequency of the at least one vibrator and to provide the same to the at least one vibrator (Fig. 2, [0023-0024], ultrasonic oscillator 146 is connected to ultrasonic irradiation device 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ultrasonic module to comprise an oscillator configured to generate an electrical signal corresponding to an oscillation frequency of the at least one vibrator of Woo, as demonstrated by Nishi, because both Woo and Nishi are concerned with slurry filtering apparatuses (Woo, abstract and Nishi, [0005] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 13, Woo discloses the slurry filtering apparatus of Claim 1, except for a separator manufacturing system comprising the slurry filtering apparatus of Claim 1.
Nishi also relates to a slurry filtering apparatus ([0005]), including a separator manufacturing system ([0002] and [0020]) comprising the slurry filtering apparatus (Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a separator manufacturing system to comprise the slurry filtering apparatus of Woo, as demonstrated by Nishi, for the resulting particles to be homogeneous, without irregularities in structure, composition, particle size, or shape (Nishi, [0008]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent KR101362109B1 (‘Woo’) in view of U.S. Publication US20200406198A1 (‘Aho’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 12, Woo discloses the slurry filtering apparatus of Claim 1, except that the insertion rod is inserted into the internal space of the filter through the first outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the insertion rod of Woo to be inserted into the internal space of the filter through the first outlet so that the ultrasound can be applied to the filter element, causing filtrate to be forced inside the filter element, removing particles from the surface of the filter element (Aho, Fig. 2, [0043-0044], see ultrasonic element 204).
Conclusion
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779