DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/843,231 filed on 12/03/2025. Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 12, 14, 18, and 20 are canceled. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, 19, and 21-27 is/are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites:
“The electronic device according to claim 14…”
Claim 14 has been cancelled. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 5, which has been amended to depend on independent claim 1. Please amend claim 15 to depend on independent claim 9.
--The electronic device according to claim 9…--
Claim 21 recites:
“The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 20…”
Claim 20 has been cancelled. Please amend claim 21 to depend on independent claim 10.
--The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 10…--
Additionally recites:
“disconnect a data obtaining link for obtaining the initial audio data from the server.”
There is no prior mention of “initial audio data” in independent claim 10 from which claim 20 should depend.
Please amend to --disconnect a data obtaining link for obtaining .--
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicants assert on P.11 of 14 that “First, Swaminathan does not disclose caching first audio associated with a video prior to receiving the audio data switching instruction. Swaminathan, at [0027], merely states that "cache 112 can be associated with client device 102a for storing content received from server 106" and that "segments are temporarily stored." Swaminathan contains no disclosure of caching the first/current audio before the switching instruction is received. The Advisory Action does not address this limitation. Swaminathan therefore does not disclose caching first audio associated with a video prior to receiving the audio data switching instruction.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Swaminathan teaches in these paragraphs, including, but not limited to: Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Note that, Swaminathan explicitly teaches content is cached, temporarily stored as they are received, and then retrieved for playback. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. So in the case of an audio sub-stream being changed during the stream, the default audio sub-stream (first/current audio) would’ve first have been cached, temporarily stored as they are received, and then retrieved for playback, all before the switching instruction is received.
B) Applicant asserts on P.11 of 14 that “Second, Swaminathan does not disclose establishing, upon requesting the second audio data, a data obtaining link for the second audio data with the server; and upon establishing the data obtaining link for the second audio data with the server, obtaining the second audio data based on the data obtaining link and caching the second audio data based on the data obtaining link. The Office equates Swaminathan's general segment requests to the claimed requesting step. See Advisory Action, at 1-2 (mapping to Swaminathan ,i,i 0032, 0034, 0037, 0041, 0042, and 0070). However, Swaminathan does not disclose the specific client-side sequence of establishing a dedicated data obtaining link immediately upon the switching instruction, then obtaining and caching the new (second) audio data based on that newly established link. As such, Swaminathan does not disclose establishing, upon requesting the second audio data, a data obtaining link for the second audio data with the server; and upon establishing the data obtaining link for the second audio data with the server, obtaining the second audio data based on the data obtaining link and caching the second audio data based on the data obtaining link.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Please note that Applicant has not further detailed more in regards to “specific client-side sequence of establishing a dedicated obtaining link immediately upon the switching instruction” apart from what is presently claimed. Therefore, the request from the client comprising a URL that is then used to request and obtain the content, under broadest reasonable interpretation meets the limitation of establishing the data obtaining link, and obtaining the second audio data based on the data obtaining link. The caching of the audio content, is taught by Swaminathan based on the paragraph cited in the Office Action. Please also see Examiner’s response above in part (A) where the process of content is cached, temporarily stored as they are received, and then retrieved for playback, would also apply for the second audio content.
C) Applicants assert on P.11-12 that “Third, Swaminathan does not disclose, during the process of playing the video based on the second audio data obtained via the data obtaining link, switching from playing the first audio to playing the second cached audio at the second time, and clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time. Swaminathan discloses a user switching to a different audio sub-stream during a stream. However, Swaminathan does not disclose performing both the switch to the second cached audio and the affirmative clearing of cached first audio data at a precise second time (corresponding to an I-frame) while video playback continues uninterrupted. Instead, Swaminathan appears to suggest switching whenever the user makes the request, without any regard to the claimed I-frame timing or the explicit post switch cache clearing of the first audio while playing the second cached audio. The Advisory Action's mapping to iJ0027 (general temporary storage) does not teach this ordered distinction between the two cached data sets or the specific actions taken with each set at the second time. As such, Swaminathan does not disclose, during the process of playing the video based on the second audio data obtained via the data obtaining link, switching from playing the first audio to playing the second cached audio at the second time, and clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. New reference Song in combination with Swaminathan and Hoffmann is used to teach the limitation(s). Please see Office Action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, 19, 21, 23, 24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaminathan (US 2016/0182600) in view of Hoffmann et al. (US 2021/0258632), and further in view of Song et al. (US 2020/0204854).
Consider claims 1, 9, and 10, Swaminathan teaches an audio playing method, electronic device, and a storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to/comprising: at least one processor; and a storage device with at least one program stored thereon, the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, (Fig.1A-B, processor(s) 614, memory 612 - Fig.6, Paragraph 0086-0088) causes the at least one processor to:
caching first audio associated with a video (Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0029 teaches multimedia content can include a plurality of sub-streams. Each sub-stream is divided into a sequence of media segments. Paragraph 0030 teaches Each sub-stream in multimedia content may correspond to one or more of video, audio, text, still photographs, data, graphics, etc. Paragraph 0033 teaches at least two sub-streams such as two of sub-streams 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 are included in streaming multimedia content 116 to a client device. For example, the stream may include at least one video sub-stream, e.g. corresponding to sub-stream 120, and at least one audio sub-stream, e.g. corresponding to sub-stream 124);
after caching the first audio associated with the video, receive an audio data switching instruction at a first time during a process of playing the video, wherein the audio data switching instruction comprises an instruction to switch from playing the cached first audio associated with the video to playing second audio associated with the video (Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0033 teaches at least two sub-streams such as two of sub-streams 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 are included in streaming multimedia content 116 to a client device. For example, the stream may include at least one video sub-stream, e.g. corresponding to sub-stream 120, and at least one audio sub-stream, e.g. corresponding to sub-stream 124. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0070 teaches a client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream);
requesting, upon receiving the audio data switching instruction, second audio data associated with the second audio from a server during the process of playing current the video (Paragraph 0032 teaches sub-stream 124 is an audio sub-stream of multimedia content 116 corresponding to Language A, e.g. English. Sub-stream 126 is an audio sub-stream of multimedia content 116 corresponding to Language B, e.g. Spanish. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0037 teaches the client device may use a request comprising a URL provided by the manifest to request a corresponding resource. Paragraph 0041 teaches client device 102a is to play back both sub-streams 120 and 124 substantially concurrently, for example, where sub-stream 124 is an audio sub-stream that accompanies sub-stream 120, which is a video sub-stream. Client device 102a may request media segment 120a and receive a response that includes media segment 120a. Client device 102a may subsequently request media segment 124a and receive a response that includes media segment 124a. Paragraph 0042 teaches a server can receive requests to stream media segments of multimedia content to a client device. Based on each request, the server can send to the client device a plurality of media segments of the multimedia content. Paragraph 0070 teaches the sub-streams included in a stream of multimedia content can vary throughout the stream. The client device could select at least one new sub-stream, which could optionally replace another sub-stream in the stream. A client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream);
establishing, upon requesting the second audio data, a data obtaining link for the second audio data with the server; upon establishing the data obtaining link for the second audio data with the server; obtaining the second audio data based on the data obtaining link, and caching the second audio data (Paragraph 0032 teaches sub-stream 124 is an audio sub-stream of multimedia content 116 corresponding to Language A, e.g. English. Sub-stream 126 is an audio sub-stream of multimedia content 116 corresponding to Language B, e.g. Spanish. Paragraph 0034 teaches a client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0037 teaches the client device may use a request comprising a URL provided by the manifest to request a corresponding resource. Paragraph 0041 teaches a client device 102a is to play back both sub-streams 120 and 124 substantially concurrently, for example, where sub-stream 124 is an audio sub-stream that accompanies sub-stream 120, which is a video sub-stream. Client device 102a may request media segment 120a and receive a response that includes media segment 120a. Client device 102a may subsequently request media segment 124a and receive a response that includes media segment 124a. Paragraph 0042 teaches a server can receive requests to stream media segments of multimedia content to a client device. Based on each request, the server can send to the client device a plurality of media segments of the multimedia content. Paragraph 0070 teaches the sub-streams included in a stream of multimedia content can vary throughout the stream. The client device could select at least one new sub-stream, which could optionally replace another sub-stream in the stream. A client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream. Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Each media segment may correspond to an HTTP resource, for example, in implementations where an HTTP protocol is employed. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0029 teaches multimedia content can include a plurality of sub-streams. Each sub-stream is divided into a sequence of media segments. Paragraph 0030 teaches Each sub-stream in multimedia content may correspond to one or more of video, audio, text, still photographs, data, graphics, etc.);
determining a video image information of the video corresponding to the first time at which the audio data switching instruction was received; determining a content of the video that occurs after the video image information and that has not yet been played, wherein the content is to be played at a second time during the process of playing the video (Fig.1B, Paragraph 0029 teaches a plurality of sub-streams divided into a sequence of media segments, which can be played back in order by a video player on a client device. Each media segment may correspond to a substantially fixed time period of multimedia content 116. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0041 teaches as each video segment of sub-stream 120 has a corresponding audio segment of sub-stream 124 for playback, client device 102a refrains from playing back media segment 120a until the audio content of media segment 124a is also received and ready for playback. Paragraph 0052 taches media segments that are sent can correspond at least partially to concurrent portions of the multimedia content. In particular, these media segments may at least partially temporally overlap in the multimedia content, may completely overlap in the multimedia content, or may correspond to a substantially same time period in the multimedia content. Examples of concurrent portions of multimedia content are media segments in FIG. 1B that share the same letter in their reference signs. Paragraph 0053 teaches where received media segments correspond to at least partially concurrent portions of the multimedia content, a client device may play back the received media segments at least partially concurrently, i.e. the content of those segments may be played back at least partially concurrently. For example, audio and video segments that correspond to substantially the same time period in the multimedia content may be played back together. Paragraph 0061 teaches the requests could instead be for media segments in sub-stream 124 where the media segments of sub-stream 120, or of another sub-stream, are sent in response to the requests. As client(s) play back the content, when requesting to switch audio data, system would determine the playback time of the content, in order to request subsequent sub-stream(s) corresponding to the desired audio data, in order to receive subsequent audio sub-stream(s) along with the corresponding video sub-stream); and
during the process of playing the video based on the second audio data obtained via the data obtaining link, switching from playing the first audio to playing the cached second audio at the second time (Paragraph 0027 teaches video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0053 teaches where received media segments correspond to at least partially concurrent portions of the multimedia content, a client device may play back the received media segments at least partially concurrently, i.e. the content of those segments may be played back at least partially concurrently. For example, audio and video segments that correspond to substantially the same time period in the multimedia content may be played back together. Paragraph 0070 teaches the sub-streams included in a stream of multimedia content can vary throughout the stream. The client device could select at least one new sub-stream, which could optionally replace another sub-stream in the stream. A client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream. Once requested subsequent sub-stream(s) are received, the target audio and video sub-streams are played back together).
Swaminathan does not explicitly teach wherein video image information is video image frame;
wherein content is an I-frame;
and clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time.
In an analogous art, Hoffmann teaches wherein video image information is video image frame (Paragraph 0084 teaches AV bistream may include a sequence of video I-frames and video P-frames);
wherein content is an I-frame (Paragraph 0085 teaches each segment of content, audio content or video content, of the AV bitstream start with an I-frame, to enable seamless adaptation, e.g., splicing or switching, at segment boundaries, e.g., at the start of a segment of the video content of a video elementary stream, indicated by a video I-frame, time-aligned with the start of a segment, indicated by an audio I-frame, of corresponding audio content of each of at least one audio elementary stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Swaminathan to include wherein video image information is video image frame; wherein content is an I-frame, as taught by Hoffmann, for the advantage of enabling seamless adaptation at segment boundaries (Hoffmann – Paragraph 0085), providing high level of temporal accuracy, allowing better and finer synchronization of audio/video content.
Combination of Swaminathan and Hoffmann teach determining a video image frame of the video corresponding to the first time at which the audio data switching instruction was received; determining an I-frame of the video that occurs after the video image frame and that has not yet been played, wherein the I-frame is to be played at a second time during the process of playing the video. Where Swaminathan teaches during playback of content, at a particular time during playback of a segment of the content, requesting of subsequent segment of audio/video for playback. Where playback of a subsequent segment of the video at a second time, that occurs after the point at where the switching instruction is received, where the subsequent segment of the video has not yet been played. Hoffman teaches that each segment of content such as video content starts with an I-frame. Thus, the combination would yield for where segments made up of frames, where a request is received at a certain frame within the segment of content, resulting in request for subsequent segment that are after that particular frame/segment, where the segment that starts with an I-frame is determined and played back at the second time.
Swaminathan and Hoffmann do not explicitly teach and clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time.
In an analogous art, Song teaches and clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time (Paragraph 0178, 0282 teaches before playing audio data, audio data may be placed in cache, where player reads the audio data from cache during playing. After playing is completed, the played audio data may be deleted from cache queue).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Swaminathan and Hoffmann to include and clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time, as taught by Song, for the advantage of providing intelligent and efficient management of the data cache, allowing for unnecessary data to be purged in order to make room for subsequent data.
The combination of Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song would teach clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time, where the I-frame is to be played at a second time. As Swaminathan and Hoffmann in combination, would teach playback of content at the I-frame. When switching audio, playback would be synchronized to the I-frames, where first audio would end and second audio would be played back after a subsequent I-frame starts. As, playback of audio content is synchronized with the I-frame, the start of the subsequent I-frame would mark the end/completion of playback of the first audio. Thus, in combination, the cache is cleared after playing is complete, where completion is after the second time, which is after the start of the I-frame.
Consider claims 3 and 19, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach wherein the switching from playing the first audio to playing the cached second audio at the second time during the process of playing the video based on the second audio obtained via the data obtaining link (Swaminathan - Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0037 teaches the client device may use a request comprising a URL provided by the manifest to request a corresponding resource. Paragraph 0053 teaches where received media segments correspond to at least partially concurrent portions of the multimedia content, a client device may play back the received media segments at least partially concurrently, i.e. the content of those segments may be played back at least partially concurrently. For example, audio and video segments that correspond to substantially the same time period in the multimedia content may be played back together. Paragraph 0070 teaches the sub-streams included in a stream of multimedia content can vary throughout the stream. The client device could select at least one new sub-stream, which could optionally replace another sub-stream in the stream. A client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream. Hoffmann – Paragraph 0085) comprises:
reading the cached data of the second audio data from the second time (Swaminathan - Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback).
Consider claims 5, 15, and 21, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach upon receiving the audio data switching instruction (Swaminathan – Paragraph 0070), further comprising:
disconnecting a data obtaining link for obtaining initial audio data associated with the first audio from the server (Swaminathan - Paragraph 0034, 0047; Paragraph 0037, 0070).
Consider claims 6 and 16, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach before the playing the first audio during the process of playing the video, further comprising: requesting, according to an audio and video data obtaining instruction of a user, the/a data obtaining link for video data associated with the audio and video data obtaining instruction and a data obtaining link for at least one piece of audio data corresponding to the video data from the server; and determining, according to an initial audio data determination instruction of the user, initial audio data associated with the first audio from the at least one piece of audio data, and obtaining the video data and the initial audio data as the first audio and video data through data obtaining links respectively corresponding to the video data and the initial audio data (Swaminathan – Fig.1B, Paragraph 0032, 0034, 0037, 0041-0042).
Consider claims 7 and 17, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach wherein initial audio data associated with the first audio and the second audio data are dubbing audio data of different languages matching a same video data (Swaminathan – Fig.1B, Paragraph 0029, 0032, 0034, 0041, 0070).
Consider claims 11, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach a computer program product, comprising a computer program carried on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer program comprises program codes for performing the audio playing method according to claim 1 (Swaminathan – Paragraph 0087).
Consider claim 13, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach wherein the at least one processor is further caused to: read and play cached data of the second audio data from the second time (Swaminathan - Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0070 teaches the sub-streams included in a stream of multimedia content can vary throughout the stream. The client device could select at least one new sub-stream, which could optionally replace another sub-stream in the stream. A client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream. Hoffmann – Paragraph 0085).
Consider claims 23 and 26, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach wherein the switching from playing the first audio to playing the second audio at the second time comprises playing the cached second audio data from the second time while clearing the cached data of the first audio after the second time (Swaminathan - Paragraph 0027 teaches video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0053 teaches where received media segments correspond to at least partially concurrent portions of the multimedia content, a client device may play back the received media segments at least partially concurrently, i.e. the content of those segments may be played back at least partially concurrently. For example, audio and video segments that correspond to substantially the same time period in the multimedia content may be played back together. Paragraph 0070 teaches the sub-streams included in a stream of multimedia content can vary throughout the stream. The client device could select at least one new sub-stream, which could optionally replace another sub-stream in the stream. A client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream. Once requested subsequent sub-stream(s) are received, the target audio and video sub-streams are played back together; Hoffman – Paragraph 0085; Song - Paragraph 0178, 0282 teaches before playing audio data, audio data may be placed in cache, where player reads the audio data from cache during playing. After playing is completed, the played audio data may be deleted from cache queue. The combination of Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song would teach clearing cached data of the first audio after the second time, where the I-frame is to be played at a second time. As Swaminathan and Hoffmann in combination, would teach playback of content at the I-frame. When switching audio, playback would be synchronized to the I-frames, where first audio would end and second audio would be played back after a subsequent I-frame starts. As, playback of audio content is synchronized with the I-frame, the start of the subsequent I-frame would mark the end/completion of playback of the first audio. Thus, in combination, the cache is cleared after playing is complete, where completion is after the second time, which is after the start of the I-frame.
Consider claims 24 and 27, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach wherein determining an I-frame of the video that occurs after the video image frame and that has not yet been played comprises determining the first video I-frame in cached and unplayed video data after the video image frame corresponding to the moment of the audio data switching instruction (Swaminathan – Fig.1B, Paragraph 0029 teaches a plurality of sub-streams divided into a sequence of media segments, which can be played back in order by a video player on a client device. Each media segment may correspond to a substantially fixed time period of multimedia content 116. Paragraph 0034 teaches default sub-streams may be changed before or during the stream. Sub-streams in the stream may change during the stream, for example, as selected by the client device and/or the server. Client device may select a lower bitrate for the stream, such that the server switches from sending video segments of sub-stream 120 to sending video segments of sub-stream 122, e.g. client device may request segments of a lower bitrate sub-stream(s). A client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0041 teaches as each video segment of sub-stream 120 has a corresponding audio segment of sub-stream 124 for playback, client device 102a refrains from playing back media segment 120a until the audio content of media segment 124a is also received and ready for playback. Paragraph 0052 taches media segments that are sent can correspond at least partially to concurrent portions of the multimedia content. In particular, these media segments may at least partially temporally overlap in the multimedia content, may completely overlap in the multimedia content, or may correspond to a substantially same time period in the multimedia content. Examples of concurrent portions of multimedia content are media segments in FIG. 1B that share the same letter in their reference signs. Paragraph 0053 teaches where received media segments correspond to at least partially concurrent portions of the multimedia content, a client device may play back the received media segments at least partially concurrently, i.e. the content of those segments may be played back at least partially concurrently. For example, audio and video segments that correspond to substantially the same time period in the multimedia content may be played back together. Paragraph 0061 teaches the requests could instead be for media segments in sub-stream 124 where the media segments of sub-stream 120, or of another sub-stream, are sent in response to the requests. As client(s) play back the content, when requesting to switch audio data, system would determine the playback time of the content, in order to request subsequent sub-stream(s) corresponding to the desired audio data, in order to receive subsequent audio sub-stream(s) along with the corresponding video sub-stream; Hoffman - Paragraph 0085 teaches each segment of content, audio content or video content, of the AV bitstream start with an I-frame, to enable seamless adaptation, e.g., splicing or switching, at segment boundaries, e.g., at the start of a segment of the video content of a video elementary stream, indicated by a video I-frame, time-aligned with the start of a segment, indicated by an audio I-frame, of corresponding audio content of each of at least one audio elementary stream. The combination would provide for a combined system where content is stored in cache, and where switching would occur at segment boundaries, such as the start of an I-frame. Therefore, when audio data switching instruction is received, the subsequent unplayed I-frame would be determined as the point where the audio switch would occur).
Claim(s) 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaminathan (US 2016/0182600) in view of Hoffmann et al. (US 2021/0258632), in view of Song et al. (US 2020/0204854), and further in view of Yap et al. (US 2003/0072555).
Consider claims 22 and 25, Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song teach wherein the second audio data is cached based on the data obtaining link established upon requesting the second audio data (Paragraph 0032 teaches sub-stream 124 is an audio sub-stream of multimedia content 116 corresponding to Language A, e.g. English. Sub-stream 126 is an audio sub-stream of multimedia content 116 corresponding to Language B, e.g. Spanish. Paragraph 0034 teaches a client device may similarly select between sub-streams 124 and 126 to select the language to be played with the video content. Paragraph 0037 teaches the client device may use a request comprising a URL provided by the manifest to request a corresponding resource. Paragraph 0041 teaches a client device 102a is to play back both sub-streams 120 and 124 substantially concurrently, for example, where sub-stream 124 is an audio sub-stream that accompanies sub-stream 120, which is a video sub-stream. Client device 102a may request media segment 120a and receive a response that includes media segment 120a. Client device 102a may subsequently request media segment 124a and receive a response that includes media segment 124a. Paragraph 0042 teaches a server can receive requests to stream media segments of multimedia content to a client device. Based on each request, the server can send to the client device a plurality of media segments of the multimedia content. Paragraph 0070 teaches the sub-streams included in a stream of multimedia content can vary throughout the stream. The client device could select at least one new sub-stream, which could optionally replace another sub-stream in the stream. A client device, e.g. a user of the client device, could selectively switch to an audio sub-stream corresponding to a different language during a stream. Paragraph 0027 teaches a cache 112 for storing content received from server 106, such as one or more portions of multimedia content 116. Cache 112 may, for example, be used to temporarily store the media segments as they are received by client device 102a. Each media segment may correspond to an HTTP resource, for example, in implementations where an HTTP protocol is employed. Video player 110 may then access cache 112 and retrieve the media segments for playback. Paragraph 0029 teaches multimedia content can include a plurality of sub-streams. Each sub-stream is divided into a sequence of media segments. Paragraph 0030 teaches Each sub-stream in multimedia content may correspond to one or more of video, audio, text, still photographs, data, graphics, etc.), but do not explicitly teach cached separately.
In an analogous art, Yap teaches cached separately (Paragraph 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Swaminathan, Hoffmann, and Song to include cached separately, as taught by Yap, for the advantage of providing optimized system performance, allowing for greater flexibility of processing and storing of data.
Conclusion
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425