DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending and under examination: claims 1-6
Rejected: claims 1-6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummel et al (US 20230008295 A1; available as prior art under 102(a)(2)).
Regarding claim 1, Hummel teaches the following composition which overlaps with the claimed ranges:
Element
Instant claim 1(wt. %)
Hummel(wt. %)
Location in reference
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
Si
5.0-12.0
5.0-9.0
[0005]
Mn
0.4-1.5
0.3-0.6
[0028]
Mg
0.05-0.6
0.25-0.5
[0005]
Cr
0.1-0.5
0.08-0.35
[0009]
Fe
>0 to 0.6
0-0.25
[0009]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 2, Hummel teaches the alloy of claim 1 above, and further teaches that the aluminum alloy can optionally have one or more alloying elements from the following group: up to 0.20 wt % copper (Cu), up to 0.025 wt % strontium (Sr), up to 0.2 wt % [0009]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 3, Hummel teaches the alloy of claim 1 above, and further teaches making a casting from the alloy as described above (Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Hummel teaches the alloy of claim 3 above, and although Hummel does not explicitly teach the claimed vending angle in the VDA bending test, Hummel teaches a substantially similar and overlapping composition with mechanical properties that are substantially similar to those in the instant disclosure; see Table 3 of Hummel: the tensile strength is 250-277 MPa, the 0.2% yield strength is 195 MPa, and the elongation at break is 12.4-12.8%, which is similar to the ranges of the disclosed inventive examples of 218-261 MPa, 90-127 MPa, and 12.7-16.4 MPa, respectively. Thus, it is prima facie expected that the alloy of Hummel has the same or substantially similar bending angle property as that in claim 4.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V).
"It is well established that, while a change in the proportions of a combination shown to be old, such as is here involved, may be inventive, such changes must be critical as compared with the proportions used in the prior processes, producing a difference in kind rather than degree."); In re Wells, 56 F.2d 674, 675 (CCPA 1932) (MPEP 2144.05 III. A.).
Regarding claim 5, Hummel teaches the casting of claim 3 above, and further teaches that the yield strength is 190 MPa or more [0047], which lies within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 6, Hummel teaches the alloy casting of claim 3 above, and further teaches that die-cast component is firmly connected to another component by means of a punch rivet [0035], which is the same as a self-piercing rivet.
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735