Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 6, 14, and 18 have been amended; claims 2 and 15 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-14, and 16- 18 are pending.
Based on an updated search, new art has been found which places the previously indicated allowable subject matter unpatentable. This action is a non-final rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-14, 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (Pub 20160341945) in view of Turpin (U.S. 5079555) in view of Bloom (Pub 20060049355).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Ou discloses a ptychographic imaging system (fig
5), comprising:
at least one light source (see Para. [0111] laser light source not depicted), a converging
lens, (first lens 514 fig 5) and
a rotatable mirror, (Para. [0111] rotatable mirror 513 fig 5).
However, a converging lens and a mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of
the converging lens and reflect light beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Turpin discloses a converging lens and a rotatable mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of the converging lens and reflect light beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens, (see converging lens 94 fig 9 positioned at 2f, from Bragg cells 82, col. 9 lines 52-57. The Bragg cells 82 perform an equivalent function to rotatable mirrors since light beam is deflected in X/Y direction by the Bragg cells, col. 9 lines 17-18 and 34-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ou by Turpin in order to synthesize images at high speed thereby improving efficiency of the ptychographic system.
The combination does not disclose a sample position placed at a second 2f plane of the converging lens.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bloom discloses a sample position placed at a second 2f plane of the converging lens, (see sample stage 120 fig 1 placed at 2f from converging lens 115). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Bloom for the common purpose of allowing a coherent beam to be focused on a sample and generating a high resolution image.
Regarding claim 4, Ou discloses claim 1. However, wherein the mirror is located at an
intersection point between an optical axis and the first 2f plane of the converging lens or a normal of the mirror is parallel to the plane formed by the optical axis and the first 2f plane of the converging lens is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Turpin discloses wherein the mirror is located at an
intersection point between an optical axis and the first 2f plane of the converging lens, (see Bragg cells 82, are located at an intersection point between an optical axis passing through the lens 94 Fig 9. The distance between lens 94 and Bragg cells 82 is at 2f, see claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ou by Turpin in order to synthesize images at high speed thereby improving efficiency of the ptychographic system.
Regarding claim 6, Ou discloses a ptychographic imaging system (fig 5) comprising at
least one light source, (see Para. [0111] laser light source not depicted), a converging lens, (first lens 514 fig 5), a rotatable mirror, (Para. [0111] rotatable mirror 513 fig 5) and wherein the mirror is configured to be rotated about an axis which passes through the intersection point between the optical axis and the first plane of the converging lens and is perpendicular to a plane formed by the optical axis and the first plane of the converging lens, (see configuration of mirror 513 with respect to first lens 514 construed as converging lens. For different/maximum angle illuminations, the mirror may rotate about an axis which passes through the intersection point between the optical axis and the first plane of the converging lens and is perpendicular to a plane formed by the optical axis and the first plane of the converging lens).
However, a converging lens and a mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of
the converging lens and reflect light beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Turpin discloses a converging lens and a rotatable mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of the converging lens and reflect light beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens, (see converging lens 94 fig 9 positioned at 2f, from Bragg cells 82, col. 9 lines 52-57. The Bragg cells 82 perform an equivalent function to rotatable mirrors since light beam is deflected in X/Y direction by the Bragg cells, col. 9 lines 17-18 and 34-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ou by Turpin in order to synthesize images at high speed thereby improving efficiency of the ptychographic system.
The combination does not disclose wherein the mirror is located at an intersection point between an optical axis and the first 2f plane of the converging lens, or a normal of the mirror is parallel to the plane formed by the optical axis and the first 2f plane of the converging lens.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bloom discloses wherein the mirror is located at an intersection point between an optical axis and the first 2f plane of the converging lens, or a normal of the mirror is parallel to the plane formed by the optical axis and the first 2f plane of the converging lens, (see mirror 110 is located at an intersection point between an optical axis and the first 2fL of lens 115). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Bloom for the common purpose of allowing a coherent beam to be focused on a sample and generating a high resolution image.
Regarding claim 7, Ou discloses wherein the mirror is configured to be rotated by a predefined angle for each image, (Para. [0100] see holding a rotatable mirror 413 at a position for at least an exposure time, then the mirror rotates to a different angle to illuminate a specimen at a different angle at a different sampling time).
Regarding claim 8, Ou discloses wherein the ptychographic imaging system comprises a
control unit configured to control the position or rotation of the mirror, (Para. [0102]).
Regarding claim 9, Ou discloses wherein the light source is a collimated light source,
(Par. [0097]).
Regarding claim 10, Ou discloses wherein the light source is a laser, (Para. [0097]).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Turpin in view of Hao (CN 110376665 B).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein a
resolution limit of the ptychographic imaging system is configured to be in relation to a maximum illumination angle which is determined by a diameter and a focal length of the converging lens is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hao discloses wherein a resolution limit of
the ptychographic imaging system is configured to be in relation to a maximum illumination angle which is determined by a diameter and a focal length of the converging lens, (Page 16 2nd paragraph. See super lens can converge incident light to be smaller to obtain higher resolution compared with a conventional lens which depends on focal spot intensity of a numerical aperture and focal length). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Hao for the benefit of increasing resolution of captured images.
Regarding claim 5, Ou discloses A ptychographic imaging system, (fig 5) comprising at
least one light source, (see Para. [0111] laser light source not depicted), a converging lens, (first lens 514 fig 5), a rotatable mirror, (Para. [0111] rotatable mirror 513 fig 5)
and wherein light beam and reflected light beam form an angle which changes when the
mirror is rotated, (note in fig 5 as mirror 513 rotates, the light beam 504 forms different reflected angles as collimated light is received and reflected to lens 514).
However, a converging lens and a mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of
the converging lens and reflect light beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Turpin discloses a converging lens and a rotatable mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of the converging lens and reflect light
beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens, (see converging lens 94 fig 9 positioned at 2f, from Bragg cells 82, col. 9 lines 52-57. The Bragg cells 82 perform an equivalent function to rotatable mirrors since light beam is deflected in X/Y direction by the Bragg cells, col. 9 lines 17-18 and 34-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ou by Turpin in order to synthesize images at high speed thereby improving efficiency of the ptychographic system.
The combination does not disclose wherein a resolution limit of the ptychographic
imaging system is configured to be in a relation to a maximum illumination angle which is determined by a diameter and a focal length of the converging lens.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hao discloses wherein a resolution limit of
the ptychographic imaging system is configured to be in relation to a maximum illumination angle which is determined by a diameter and a focal length of the converging lens, (Page 16 2nd paragraph. See super lens can converge incident light to be smaller to obtain higher resolution compared with a conventional lens which depends on focal spot intensity of a numerical aperture and focal length). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Hao for the benefit of increasing resolution of captured images.
Claim(s) 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Turpin in view of Yang (US.S. 12259541).
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the
Light source is a high-power LED with a working power more than 0.5 W is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang discloses wherein the light source is a high-
power LED with a working power more than 0.5 W, (col. 13 lines 10-11 3W LED illumination). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Yang for the benefit of mitigating imaging artifacts such as vignetting thereby enhancing the captured images.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the
light source is a high-power LED with a working power more than 1 W is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang discloses wherein the light source is a high-power
LED with a working power more than 1 W, (see 3W illumination col. 13 lines 10-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Yang for the benefit of mitigating imaging artifacts such as vignetting thereby enhancing the captured images.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Turpin in view of Bai (CN 113203485 A).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein
the ptychographic imaging system further comprises a beam expander arranged between the converging lens and the light source is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bai discloses wherein the ptychographic imaging
system further comprises a beam expander arranged between the converging lens and the light source, (see laser 1 and converging lens 4 and a beam expander 2 in between in fig 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Bai for the benefit of allowing simultaneous image capturing of two images thereby improving convergence efficiency of emitting light beams when capturing images.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Turpin in view of Manio (EP 4365570 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein
the ptychographic imaging system further comprises an optical filter arranged between the converging lens and the light source is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Manio discloses wherein the ptychographic imaging
system further comprises an optical filter arranged between the converging lens and the light source, (see optical filters 214a/214b arranged between light source 201 and converging lens 212, Para. [0087]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Manio for the benefit of selectively illuminating a sample to be captured thereby enhancing the captured images.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Turpin in view of Lundquist (WO 2018102747 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the
light source is a high-power LED with a working power more than 5 W is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lundquist discloses wherein the light source is a
high-power LED with a working power more than 5 W, (see 10W Para. [0270]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Lundquist for the benefit of generating bright field illumination thereby allowing high resolution images to be acquired.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Turpin in view of Zhu (Pub 20190056212).
Regarding claim 18, Ou discloses a ptychographic imaging system (fig 5) comprising at
least one light source, (see Para. [0111] laser light source not depicted), a converging lens, (first lens 514 fig 5), a rotatable mirror, (Para. [0111] rotatable mirror 513 fig 5).
However, a converging lens and a mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of
the converging lens and reflect light beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Turpin discloses a converging lens and a rotatable mirror configured to be placed at a 2f plane of the converging lens and reflect light beams emitted from the light source to the converging lens, (see converging lens 94 fig 9 positioned at 2f, from Bragg cells 82, col. 9 lines 52-57. The Bragg cells 82 perform an equivalent function to rotatable mirrors since light beam is deflected in X/Y direction by the Bragg cells, col. 9 lines 17-18 and 34-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ou by Turpin in order to synthesize images at high speed thereby improving efficiency of the ptychographic system.
The combination does not disclose a polarizer or a bandpass filter arranged between the
converging lens and the light source.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zhu discloses a polarizer between light source and the
converging lens, (see fig 2B comprising light source 103 a condenser lens before the Sample and polarizers 206 in between). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Zhu for the purpose of generating high sensitivity imaging of observed sample.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422