DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/09/2026. As indicated by the amendment: claim 8 has been amended. In response to the amendment of claim 24, its rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn. Claims 1-19 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the housing unit" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the housing unit" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the housing unit" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the housing unit" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the device" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 13, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qiu (US 2017/0049980 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qiu discloses an imaging system for an automated intubation system (par. [0030], [0032] and [0046]), comprising: at least one imaging sensor (64a/64b; Fig. 4; par. [0051]) that utilizes either electromagnetic or ultrasound waves for imaging (par. [0051]); a processing circuitry (par. [0042] – data processor) that receives data from the at least one imaging sensor (par. [0042] and [0049]) and uses the data to: predict at least one intended path and to generate control signals to actuate a tube based on the least one intended path (par. [0042] and [0080]-[0081]); and recognize at least one anatomical structure (par. [0059]-[0061]); and a user interface (140; Fig. 13; par. [0108]) to display the at least one intended path and the at least one anatomical structure overlaying on the data received from the at least one imaging sensor (par. [0067]), to an operator and allow the operator to select or modify the at least one intended path (par. [0108] and [0114]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 2, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry further identifies at least one anatomical structure utilizing the received data (par. [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry further calculates the distance to an identified anatomical structure utilizing the received data (par. [0065]; calculating the distance to the trachea opening is necessary for determining the position of the trachea opening relative to the guide stylet).
Regarding claim 4, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry further calculates the position of an identified anatomical structure utilizing the received data (par. [0065]).
Regarding claim 7, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the imaging system comprises at least two imaging sensors (64a/64b; Fig. 4; par. [0051] and [0058]), and the processing circuity receives data from the at least two imaging sensors (64a/64b) to predict an intended path (55d; Fig. 7) and to generate the control signals to actuate the tube for insertion of the tube based on the intended path (par. [0011], [0042], and [0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the at least one imaging sensor (64a/64b; Fig. 4; par. [0051]) is contained within [[the]] a device (46; Fig. 4) and not contained within [[the]] a housing unit (44; Fig. 3). The Examiner notes that neither the device nor the housing unit have been recited in claim 1. Additionally, neither the structures nor configurations of the device and housing unit within the system have been claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the at least one imaging sensor (64a/64b) comprises of at least one of the following: an optical camera (par. [0051]), an infrared camera, a temperature sensor, an ultrasound sensor, a LIDAR sensor, a sonar sensor, a time of flight sensor, a magnetic resonance imaging sensor, an x-ray sensor a carbon dioxide sensor, or an ultraviolet camera (par. [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the at least one imaging sensor (64a/64b; Fig. 4; par. [0051]) comprises of a camera utilizing the electromagnetic spectrum.
Regarding claim 11, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the housing unit (46; Fig. 4) comprises at least two imaging sensors (64a/64b; Fig. 4; par. [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the housing unit (46; Fig. 4) comprises an optical camera (par. [0051]) and an infrared camera (par. [0051]).
Regarding claim 15, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the data from the at least one imaging sensor is transmitted via a wired or wireless connection to the processing circuitry (par. [0042] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry (par. [0042] – data processor) is located within the device (44; Fig.3; par. [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tata et al. (US 2020/0275824 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry further calculates the orientation of an identified anatomical structure utilizing the received data. Tata teaches an analogous system wherein the processing circuitry calculates the orientation of an identified anatomical structure utilizing the received data (par. [0006] and [0057]). Tata teaches calculating the orientation of an identified structure utilizing the received data to help align the user’s reference frame with the patient anatomy (par. [0030] and [0057]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art have the processing circuitry of Qiu calculate the orientation of an identified anatomical structure utilizing the received data to align the user’s reference frame with the patient anatomy, as taught by Tata.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Halmann et al. (US 2019/0328361 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry further calculates at least one of the acceleration or velocity of an identified anatomical structure relative to a fixed or a moving point utilizing the received data. Halmann teaches an analogous system wherein the processing circuitry calculates at least one of the acceleration or velocity of an identified anatomical structure relative to a fixed or a moving point utilizing the received data (par. [0048]-[0049]). Halmann teaches that if the processing circuitry determines that the speed at which the probe is moved is faster than an upper limit or slower than a lower limit, the processing circuitry can warn the operator to change the speed of the probe (par. [0071]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the processing circuitry calculates at least one of the acceleration or velocity of an identified anatomical structure relative to a fixed or a moving point utilizing the received data, such that the processing circuitry can warn the operator to change the speed of the probe if it determines that the probe is moved at a speed that is faster than an upper limit or slower than a lower limit, as taught by Halmann.
Claim(s) 12, 14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Gormley et al. (US 2021/0059607A1).
Regarding claim 12, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, specifically disclose wherein the housing unit comprises an optical camera (64a/64b; Fig. 4; par. [0051]), but does not specifically disclose that it includes a time of flight sensor. Gormley teaches an analogous system having a time of flight sensor (108; Fig. 1A; par. [0094]) within a housing unit (502; Fig. 5A; par. [0089]). Gormley teaches that the processing circuitry may be configured to execute a volume sensing module configured to obtain volume measurements of an enteral space, respiratory tract, or other cavity in which the catheter tube is disposed based on time of flight imaging (par. [0049]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a time of flight sensor in the housing unit to obtain volume measurements of the trachea thereby improving navigation of the device.
Regarding claim 14, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the housing unit comprises an infrared camera (64a/64b; Fig. 4; par. [0051]), but does not specifically disclose that it includes a time of flight sensor. Gormley teaches an analogous system having a time of flight sensor (108; Fig. 1A; par. [0094]) within a housing unit (502; Fig. 5A; par. [0089]). Gormley teaches that the processing circuitry may be configured to execute a volume sensing module configured to obtain volume measurements of an enteral space, respiratory tract, or other cavity in which the catheter tube is disposed based on time of flight imaging (par. [0049]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a time of flight sensor in the housing unit to obtain volume measurements of the trachea thereby improving navigation of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is located in a remote device or a server. Gormley teaches an analogous system wherein the processing circuitry is located in a remote device or a server (par. [0107]). Gormley teaches that locating the processing circuitry in a remote device or a server can decrease costs and, in some cases, the footprint of the device (par. [0107]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a remote device for the processing circuitry in order to decrease costs and, in some cases, the footprint of the device, as taught by Gormley.
Regarding claim 18, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the data from the at least one imaging sensor is logged to a data storage system. Gormley teaches an analogous system wherein the data from the at least one imaging sensor is logged to a data storage system (par. [0099]). Gormley teaches that logging the data into a data storage system allows subsequent analysis of the images by personnel for identification of abnormal tissue (par. [0099]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to log the image data into a data storage system to allow subsequent analysis of the images by personnel for identification of abnormal tissue, as taught by Gormley.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Holsing et al. (US 2013/0223702 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Qiu discloses the imaging system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the data from the at least one imaging sensor comprises of at least a point cloud. Holsing teaches an analogous system wherein the data from the at least one imaging sensor comprises of at least a point cloud (par. [0097]). Holsing teaches that using a point cloud provides more accurate navigation of the instrument (par. [0097]). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to use a point cloud for the data from the imaging sensor in order to provide more accurate navigation of the instrument, as taught by Holsing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant contends that claims 8, 11-14 and 17 have been amended to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Only dependent claim 8 has been amended. Dependent claims 11-14 and 17 have not been amended and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are maintained.
Next, Applicant argues that Qui does not disclose a processing circuitry that uses data to: “predict at least one intended path and to generate control signals to actuate at tube based on the least one intended path; and recognize at least one anatomical structure”. Applicant contends that Qui does not disclose determining or predicting an intended insertion path from recognized anatomical structures, nor does Qui disclose generating control signals based on such a predicted intended path (see Remarks ate page 8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., determining or predicting an intended insertion path from recognized anatomical structures) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Examiner asserts that Qui teaches that if the trachea is identified by a trachea identifying device, the processing circuitry provides navigation to direct the device to the trachea (see par. [0042] and [0080]-[0081]). Thus, if the trachea is identified by the trachea identifying device, the processing circuitry generates control signals to actuate the tube to move to the trachea, thereby providing a path to the trachea (see par. [0042] – “[i]n some embodiments, insertion guide device 44 may include a data processor configured to receive the data detected by a trachea identifying device, analyze a pattern of the detected data and generate a navigation element to direct the guide stylet's movement. The navigation element may be a navigation guidance display generated by software or hardware of the intubation system. Alternatively, the navigation element may be a directional movement generated by the software, hardware or a controller to enable semi-automatic or automatic movement of the guide stylet.”). Applicant appears to argue that because Qui only discloses one intended path and one anatomical structure, it does not read on the claimed invention. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Independent claim 1 recites “at least one intended path” and “at least one anatomical structure”. Thus, only one path and one anatomical structure is required. Should Applicant intend to claim multiple intended paths and/or recognizing multiple anatomical structures, independent claim 1 should be amended to reflect the desired claim scope.
Applicant further contends that Qui does not disclose “a user interface to display the at least one intended path and the at least one anatomical structure overlaying on the data received from the at least one image sensor, to an operator and allow the operator to select or modify the at least one intended path”. Applicant contends that “the claimed invention specifically requires a user interface that displays an overlay of the intended path together with at least one recognized anatomical structure on the imaging data received from the imaging sensor” (see Remarks at page 10). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a user interface that displays an overlay of the intended path together with at least one recognized anatomical structure on the imaging data received from the imaging sensor) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Contrary to that contended by Applicant, the claim does not recite displaying an overlay of the intended path together with at least one recognized anatomical structure on the imaging data received from the imaging sensor. The user interface displays 1) the at least one intended path and 2) the at least one anatomical structure overlaying on the data received from the at least one image sensor. Should Applicant intend to claim a different interpretation of the claim language, independent claim 1 should be amended to reflect the desired claim scope.
Finally, Applicant contends that Qui does not teach “presenting multiple intended paths, permitting operator selection of an intended path, or enabling modification of a displayed intended path” (see Remarks at page 11). In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., presenting multiple intended paths) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As discussed above, independent claim 1 recites “at least one intended path”. Thus, only one path is required. Should Applicant intend to claim multiple intended paths, independent claim 1 should be amended to reflect the desired claim scope. Additionally, Qui teaches that the device may be guided by that navigation element presented on the display device (par. [0115]) and the device may be moved semi-automatically through use of the input device by the user to direct movement of the device (par. [0114]). Thus, Qui discloses selection or modification of an intended path. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained. The Examiner recommends amending independent claim 1 to reflect the claim scope presented in its arguments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYNAE E BOLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
08/30/26