CTNF 18/843,283 CTNF 89587 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 9, 10 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam et al (US 2023/0164795, hereinafter Nam, claiming priority date of provisional application 63/264,349) . Regarding claim 1 , Nam discloses a method for sending downlink control information, performed by a network device, comprising: sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate a time domain characteristic of a common search space (CSS) ( CSS monitoring occasions is configured to occur every so often, with multiple configurable periodicities, Para [0087], BS transmits CSS monitoring configuration in an RRC communication, Para [0097] ); and sending the downlink control information to the user equipment in the CSS according to the time domain characteristic ( BS transmits DCI for UEs to monitor in the CSS monitoring occasion, Para [0073]. Also see Para [0071, 85, 95] from the provisional application ). Regarding claims 2 and 10 , Nam discloses the method according to claim 1/9, wherein the time domain characteristic is period information of the CSS ( CSS monitoring occasions can occur periodically, such as once every 20 milliseconds, Para [0087] ). Regarding claim 9 , Nam discloses a method for receiving downlink control information, performed by user equipment, comprising: receiving indication information sent by a network device, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate a time domain characteristic of a common search space (CSS) ( CSS monitoring occasions is configured to occur every so often, with multiple configurable periodicities, Para [0087], BS transmits CSS monitoring configuration in an RRC communication, Para [0097] ); and receiving the downlink control information sent by the network device in the CSS according to the time domain characteristic ( BS transmits DCI for UEs to monitor in the CSS monitoring occasion, Para [0073]. Also see Para [0071, 85, 95] from the provisional application ). Regarding claim 19 , Nam discloses a communication apparatus ( BS, Fig. 2 ), comprising one or more processors and a memory ( processor, memory, Fig. 2 ), wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to: send indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate a time domain characteristic of a common search space (CSS) ( CSS monitoring occasions is configured to occur every so often, with multiple configurable periodicities, Para [0087], BS transmits CSS monitoring configuration in an RRC communication, Para [0097] ); and send downlink control information to the user equipment in the CSS according to the time domain characteristic ( BS transmits DCI for UEs to monitor in the CSS monitoring occasion, Para [0073]. Also see Para [0071, 85, 95] from the provisional application ). Regarding claim 20 , Nam discloses a communication apparatus ( UE, Fig. 2 ), comprising one or more processors and a memory ( processor, memory, Fig. 2 ), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and the computer program when executed by the one or more processors cause the communication apparatus to execute the method according to claim 9 ( see claim 9 ). Regarding claim 21 , Nam discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ( non-transitory computer readable medium, Para [0014] ), storing an instruction, wherein when the instruction is invoked and executed in a computer, the computer is caused to execute the method according to claim 1 ( see claim 1 ). Regarding claim 22 , Nam discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ( non-transitory computer readable medium, Para [0014] ), storing an instruction, wherein when the instruction is invoked and executed in a computer, the computer is caused to execute the method according to claim 9 ( see claim 9 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 5, 6, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam and in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al (US 2022/0078819, hereinafter Taherzadeh) . Regarding claims 3 and 11 , Nam discloses the method according to claim 2/10, but not fully wherein a multiplexing pattern of a synchronization signal block (SSB) and the CSS is a first pattern, and a period of the CSS is N*20 ms; or, a multiplexing pattern of an SSB and the CSS is a second pattern, a period of the CSS is N*T, and T is a period of sending the SSB; wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1. Taherzadeh discloses the BS can configure a multiplexing pattern between SSB and CSS, Para [0095]. Nam discloses the CSS can occur every 20 milliseconds but other periodicities are possible, Para [0087], obvious the periodicity could be ever 40 milliseconds, where N=2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Taherzadeh in the system of Nam in order to increase reliability and quality of communications between the UE and BS. Regarding claims 5 and 13 , Nam discloses the method according to claim 1/9, but not wherein the indication information is further configured to indicate whether to send the CSS within first duration and second duration, the first duration is a time period before sending a current SSB, and the second duration is a time period after sending the current SSB. Taherzadeh discloses the CSS and SSB can be time or frequency multiplexed, Para [0086], in one case the CSS is transmitted before the SSB, Fig. 5b. Regarding claims 6 and 14 , Nam discloses the method according to claim 1/9, but not explicitly wherein the indication information is further configured to indicate whether to send the CSS within a radio frame where a current SSB is located. Taherzadeh discloses the CSS and SSB can be time or frequency multiplexed, Para [0086], in one case transmitted in the same slot and same radio frame, Fig. 5b . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam and in view of Taherzadeh and in view of Iyer et al (US 2021/0235491, hereinafter Iyer) . Regarding claims 4 and 12 , Nam discloses the method according to claim 1/9, but not wherein a multiplexing pattern of an SSB and the CSS is a second pattern, the time domain characteristic is an aperiodic characteristic. Iyer discloses aperiodic search space monitoring occasion, Para [0430] and aperiodic search space configured in RRC signaling, Para [0431]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Iyer in the system of Nam in view of Taherzadeh in order to improve coexistence by allowing spatial resources to be used efficiently . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7, 8, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam and in view of Taherzadeh and in view of Lin et al (US 2021/0007066, hereinafter Lin) . Regarding claims 7 and 15 , Nam discloses the method according to claim 1/9, wherein the indication information is carried in a reserved bit of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Lin discloses content of PBCH such as reserved bits, is used to indicate sub-CORESETs for PDCCH monitoring, the index of associated sub-CORESET is indicated in the configuration of the associated CSS set, Para [0271]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lin in the system of Nam in view of Taherzadeh in order to improve coexistence by allowing spatial resources to be used efficiently. Regarding claims 8 and 16 , Nam discloses the method according to claim 7/15, wherein the indication information is carried in the reserved bit of the PBCH as follows: the indication information is carried in a reserved domain of a main information block of the PBCH; or, the indication information is carried in a reserved bit of a physical layer in an FR1 (Frequency Range 1) frequency band of the PBCH. Lin discloses the CSS set is configured in MIB, Para [0116] and PBCH is used to deliver MIB to UEs, Para [0102]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEVIN CUNNINGHAM whose telephone number is (571) 272-1765. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday 7:30-18:00 (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Vu can be reached on (571) 272-3155. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/843,283 Page 2 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/843,283 Page 3 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/843,283 Page 4 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/843,283 Page 5 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/843,283 Page 6 Art Unit: 2461