DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 9/2/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-2, 8, 14-24, 30, 36-39 and 42 are pending.
5. Claims 3-7, 9-13, 25-29, 31-35, 40-41, 43-45 are cancelled prior to examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/2/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-2, 8, 14-24, 30, 36-39 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. US 20230179372 hereafter Liu.
As to Claim 1. (Original) Liu discloses a method for sending a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS), performed by a terminal [i.e. UE], comprising [Fig. 3, Sections 0002-0003: The present disclosure relates to methods and apparatus for configuration of sounding reference signals. Sounding reference signals (SRSs) are reference signals transmitted by user equipment (UEs) in the uplink]:
configuring and sending an SRS of 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource [Sections 0125, 0210, 0212: DCI is used to convey the SRS configuration, the indication of the layers or ports assigned for a UE a predefined number of SRS port resources is assigned, such as, 8 or 12 ports. In 3GPP Release 17, sounding reference signal (SRS) enhancements include: Specify SRS for up to 8 antennas], wherein the 8 antenna ports are mapped onto same physical resources [Fig. 22A (Antennas-2204), Sections 0072, 0096, 0098, 0116: A UE includes N transmit antennas and N receive antennas, where N (i.e. any number) is the number of layers (or ports). The configuration of the SRS parameters such as the SRS resource and SRS transmission ports performed using higher layer configuration defined by the network which configure the UEs with mappings between downlink ports and uplink ports or layers (SRS). SRS transmissions are associated with many parameters, such as antenna ports. In example embodiment, there is a resource with 8 ports within the cell for the UE to use].
As to Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a transmission comb parameter K TC of the SRS resource is equal to 8 [Sections 0004, 0116, 0207: The configuration of SRS parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports, SRS resources, transmission comb and cyclic shift. There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs for use. For example, SRS comb may be increased to 8];
wherein a transmission comb offset value ₖτC corresponding to the SRS resource is a non-negative integer less than 8; or a maximum number SRS cs,max of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 8, and a value range of the nsrs cs,max is nsRs E {0,1, , ⁿSRS cs,max - 1}; and wherein the SRS resource is generated using all of the 8 cyclic shift parameters; or a maximum number SRS cs,max of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 12, and a value range of the SRS cs,max is nᶜˢRS E {0,1, , SRS cs,max - 1}; and wherein the SRS resource is generated using some cyclic shift parameters among the 12 cyclic shift parameters [Note: The above limitations recites “or” which is an alternative language. Sections 0004, 0116, 0121, 0144: The configuration of SRS parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports, SRS resources, transmission comb and cyclic shift. There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs which one of the arrangements to use. The network define SRS resource ports with the ports (ranks) which may be tied to the cyclic shift, comb, and offset. 8 Ports are associated with SRS port resource, select from n available for comb and cyclic shift].
As to Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a transmission comb parameter K TC of the SRS resource is equal to 12 [Sections 0144, 0207: The configuration of SRS related parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports, SRS resources sets, transmission comb and cyclic shift. For example, SRS comb may be increased to 12];
wherein a transmission comb offset value ₖτC. corresponding to the SRS resource is a non-negative integer less than 12; or a maximum number cs,max SRS of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 8, and a value range of the nsrs cs,max is nsRS E {0,1, ⁿSRS cs,max - 1}; wherein the SRS resource is generated using all of the 8 cyclic shift parameters; or a maximum number SRS cs,max of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 12, and a value range of the SRS cs,max is nsᵣₛ E {0,1, , ⁿSRS cs,max - 1}; wherein the SRS resource is generated using some cyclic shift parameters among the 12 cyclic shift parameters [Note: The above limitations recites “or” which is an alternative language. Sections 0110, 0116, 0121: SRS resource or port signaling, consider a communication system with 12 DMRS ports and informing the UEs which uplink SRS resources to use may involve indicating which comb, symbol, cyclic shift, number of OFDM symbols, etc., to use. There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs which one of the arrangements to use. The network define SRS resource ports with the ports (ranks) which may be tied to the cyclic shift, comb, and offset].
As to Claim 14. (Original) Liu discloses the method of claim 8, wherein a bandwidth parameter is greater than or equal to a bandwidth of 6 Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs); or the bandwidth parameter is a multiple of 6 PRBs; or the bandwidth parameter is greater than or equal to a bandwidth of 8 PRBs; or the bandwidth parameter is a multiple of 8 PRBs [Sections 0098, 0244, 0250 SRS transmissions are associated with transmission bandwidth in terms of the number (i.e. any of) of PRBs. Assume that 8 ports, RBG (or PRB see 0144), or cell for UEs, is used. RGBs (or PRBs) with mapping of SRS resources and ports for each cell, restrict to a specified number (e.g., 8, but other values are possible)].
As to Claim 15. (Original) Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a transmission comb parameter of the SRS resource is equal to 2; or a transmission comb parameter is equal to 4 [Sections 0112, 0191, 0246-0248: UEs having cyclic shift 8 and comb 4. Where the SRS port resources are in terms of cyclic shift and comb. For comb 4, For comb 2; The SRS on cells multiplexed on the n SRS port resources].
As to Claim 16. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein before configuring and sending the SRS of the 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource, the method comprises: receiving a configuration parameter corresponding to the SRS resource sent by a network device [Sections 0096, 0098, 0125: The configuration of the SRS parameters such as the SRS resource and SRS transmission ports performed using higher layer configuration defined by the network which configure the UEs with mappings between downlink ports and uplink ports or layers (SRS). SRS transmissions are associated with many parameters, such as antenna ports. DCI is used to convey the SRS configuration, the indication of the layers or ports assigned for a UE a predefined number of SRS port resources is assigned, such as 8].
As to Claim 17. (Original) Liu discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the configuration parameter corresponding to the SRS resource comprises at least one of: a transmission comb parameter K TC of the SRS resource; a transmission comb offset value ₖτᶜ corresponding to the SRS resource; or a number of antenna ports of the SRS [Sections 0004, 0210, 0212: The configuration of SRS parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports, SRS resources, transmission comb. In 3GPP Release 17, sounding reference signal (SRS) enhancements include: Specify SRS for up to 8 antennas].
As to Claim 18. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a number of antenna ports of the SRS is NSRS = 8; and port numbers of the 8 antenna ports is P₁ = 1000 + i, i E {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} [Sections 0004, 0072, 0210, 0212: The configuration of SRS parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports and SRS resources. A UE includes N transmit antennas and N receive antennas, where N (i.e. any number) is the number of layers (or ports). In 3GPP Release 17, sounding reference signal (SRS) enhancements include: Specify SRS for up to 8 antennas].
As to Claim 19. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein before sending the SRS of the 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource, the method comprises: receiving a cyclic shift parameter NSRS of the SRS configured by the network device for the terminal, wherein nsrs is a non-negative integer [Sections 0116, 0125, 0144: There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs which one of the arrangements to use. DCI is used to convey the SRS configuration, the indication of the layers or ports assigned for a UE a predefined number of SRS port resources is assigned, such as 8. The 8 Ports are associated with SRS port resource, select from n available for comb and cyclic shift].
As to Claim 20. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a transmission comb offset value corresponding to the SRS resource is carried in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling [Sections 0004, 0099, 0121: The configuration of SRS related parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission comb are provided through higher layer signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling. A-SRS triggering offset is configured via RRC field. The network define SRS resource ports with the ports (ranks) which may be tied to the cyclic shift, comb, and offset].
As to Claim 21. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a function of the SRS resource is one of: codebook; antenna switching, or non-codebook [Sections 0212, 0223: Specify SRS switching for up to 8 antennas. In 5G NR, SRS used for SRS for antenna switching].
As to Claim 22. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses a method for receiving a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS), performed by a network device [i.e. BS/Base Station or Network], comprising [Sections 0002, 0096, 0108: The present disclosure relates to methods and apparatus for configuration of sounding reference signals (SRS). The configuration of the SRS parameters performed using higher layer configuration defined by network (i.e. BS) to configure the UEs with uplink port or layers (SRS). UE transmit on in the uplink (i.e. to BS) SRS transmission]:
receiving an SRS of 8 antenna ports sent on one SRS resource by a terminal [Sections 0108, 0125, 0212: The network indicates to the UE SRS resources and ports assigned to the UEs for uplink transmission. For a UE, a number of SRS port resources is assigned, such as 8 ports. Specify SRS for up to 8 antennas], wherein the 8 antenna ports are mapped onto same physical resources [Fig. 22A (Antennas-2204), Sections 0072, 0096, 0098, 0116: A UE includes N transmit antennas and N receive antennas, where N (i.e. any number) is the number of layers (or ports). The configuration of the SRS parameters such as the SRS resource and SRS transmission ports performed using higher layer configuration defined by the network which configure the UEs with mappings between downlink ports and uplink ports or layers (SRS). SRS transmissions are associated with many parameters, such as antenna ports. In example embodiment, there is a resource with 8 ports within the cell for the UE to use].
As to Claim 23. (Original) Liu discloses the method of claim 22, wherein before receiving the SRS of the 8 antenna ports sent on the SRS resource by the terminal, the method comprises: sending a configuration parameter corresponding to the SRS resource to the terminal [Sections 0096, 0098, 0125: The configuration of the SRS parameters such as the SRS resource and SRS transmission ports performed using higher layer configuration defined by the network which configure the UEs with mappings between downlink ports and uplink ports or layers (SRS). SRS transmissions are associated with many parameters, such as antenna ports. DCI is used to convey the SRS configuration, the indication of the layers or ports assigned for a UE a predefined number of SRS port resources is assigned, such as 8].
As to Claim 24. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the configuration parameter comprises: a transmission comb parameter K TC of the SRS resource, wherein K TC is equal to 8 [Sections 0004, 0116, 0207: The configuration of SRS related parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports, SRS resources sets, transmission comb and cyclic shift. There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs which one of the 8 resource arrangements to use. For example, SRS comb may be increased to 8];
wherein the configuration parameter comprises: a transmission comb offset value ₖτᶜ corresponding to the SRS resource, wherein ₖτс is a non-negative integer less than 8; or a maximum number nsrs cs,max of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 8, and a value range of the SRS cs,max is E {0,1, , SRS cs,max - 1}; and wherein the SRS resource is generated using all of the 8 cyclic shift parameters; or a maximum number SRS cs,max of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 12, and a value range of the n SRS cs,max is nsRs E {0,1, , nsrs cs,max - 1}; and wherein the SRS resource is generated using some cyclic shift parameters among the 12 cyclic shift parameters [Note: The above limitations recites “or” which is an alternative language. Sections 0004, 0116, 0121, 0144: The configuration of SRS parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports, SRS resources, transmission comb and cyclic shift. There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs which one of the arrangements to use. The network define SRS resource ports with the ports (ranks) which may be tied to the cyclic shift, comb, and offset. 8 Ports are associated with SRS port resource, select from n available for comb and cyclic shift].
As to Claim 30. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the configuration parameter comprises: a transmission comb parameter K TC of the SRS resource, wherein K TC is equal to 12 [Sections 0144, 0207: The configuration of SRS related parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission ports, SRS resources sets, transmission comb and cyclic shift. For example, SRS comb may be increased to 12];
wherein the configuration parameter comprises: a transmission comb offset value kTC corresponding to the SRS resource, wherein ₖτC is a non-negative integer less than 12; or a maximum number SRS cs,max of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 8, and a value range of the nsrs cs,max is E {0,1, SRS cs,max - 1}; and wherein the SRS resource is generated using all of the 8 cyclic shift parameters; or a maximum number nsrs cs,max of cyclic shift parameters supported by the transmission comb parameter is 12, and a value range of the nsrs cs,max is nᶜˢRS E {0,1, , ⁿSRS cs,max - 1}; and wherein the SRS resource is generated using some cyclic shift parameters among the 12 cyclic shift parameters [Note: The above limitations recites “or” which is an alternative language. Sections 0110, 0116, 0121: SRS resource or port signaling, consider a communication system with 12 DMRS ports and informing the UEs which uplink SRS resources to use may involve indicating which comb, symbol, cyclic shift, number of OFDM symbols, etc., to use. There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs which one of the arrangements to use. The network define SRS resource ports with the ports (ranks) which may be tied to the cyclic shift, comb, and offset].
As to Claim 36. (Original) Liu discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the configuration parameter comprises: a bandwidth parameter corresponding to the SRS; wherein the bandwidth parameter is greater than or equal to a bandwidth of 6 Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs); or the bandwidth parameter is a multiple of 6 PRBs; or the bandwidth parameter is greater than or equal to a bandwidth of 8 PRBs; or the bandwidth parameter is a multiple of 8 PRBs [Sections 0098, 0244, 0250 SRS transmissions are associated with transmission bandwidth in terms of the number (i.e. any of) of PRBs. Assume that 8 ports, RBG (or PRB see 0144), or cell for UEs, is used. RGBs (or PRBs) with mapping of SRS resources and ports for each cell, restrict to a specified number (e.g., 8, but other values are possible)].
As to Claim 37. (Original) Liu discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the configuration parameter comprises: a transmission comb parameter K TC of the SRS resource, wherein K TC is equal to 2 or 4 [Sections 0112, 0191, 0246-0248: UEs having cyclic shift 8 and comb 4. Where the SRS port resources are in terms of cyclic shift and comb. For comb 4, For comb 2; The SRS on cells multiplexed on the n SRS port resources].
As to Claim 38. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the configuration parameter comprises: a cyclic shift parameter NSRS of the SRS, wherein nsrs is a non-negative integer [Sections 0116, 0125, 0144: There is physical resource with 8 ports with a cyclic shift and a comb to indicate to the UEs which one of the arrangements to use. DCI is used to convey the SRS configuration, the indication of the layers or ports assigned for a UE a predefined number of SRS port resources is assigned, such as 8. The 8 Ports are associated with SRS port resource, select from n available for comb and cyclic shift].
As to Claim 39. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses the method of claim 24, further comprising: sending a transmission comb offset value corresponding to the SRS resource to the terminal through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling [Sections 0004, 0099, 0121: The configuration of SRS related parameters of a SRS to be transmitted in the uplink such as SRS transmission comb are provided through higher layer signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling. A-SRS triggering offset is configured via RRC field. The network define SRS resource ports with the ports (ranks) which may be tied to the cyclic shift, comb, and offset].
As to Claim 42. (Currently Amended) Liu discloses a terminal, comprising [Fig. 3, Sections 0002-0003: The present disclosure relates to methods and apparatus for configuration of sounding reference signals. Sounding reference signals (SRSs) are reference signals transmitted by user equipment (UEs) in the uplink]:
a processor [Processing Unit-2200]; and a transceiver [Transceiver-2202] connected to the processor [Figs. 22A, Sections 0272-0273] wherein the processor [Processing Unit-2200] is configured to [Fig. 22A] configure and send a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) of 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource [Sections 0125, 0210, 0212: DCI is used to convey the SRS configuration, the indication of the layers or ports assigned for a UE a predefined number of SRS port resources is assigned, such as, 8 or 12 ports. In 3GPP Release 17, sounding reference signal (SRS) enhancements include: Specify SRS for up to 8 antennas], wherein the 8 antenna ports are mapped onto same physical resources [Fig. 22A (Antennas-2204), Sections 0072, 0096, 0098, 0116: A UE includes N transmit antennas and N receive antennas, where N (i.e. any number) is the number of layers (or ports). The configuration of the SRS parameters such as the SRS resource and SRS transmission ports performed using higher layer configuration defined by the network which configure the UEs with mappings between downlink ports and uplink ports or layers (SRS). SRS transmissions are associated with many parameters, such as antenna ports. In example embodiment, there is a resource with 8 ports within the cell for the UE to use].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. Park et al. US 20190379501
2. MUNIER et al. US 20220278881
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
June 24, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477