DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, a new rejection is being supplied.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “MAGNETIC WEDGE WITH ROUNDED SIDES”
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 103 as being unpatentable over Kinouchi (US PG Pub 20190238021a1 hereinafter “Kinouchi”) in view of Nishimura (US PG Pub 20190355503 hereinafter “Nishimura”).
Re-claim 1, Kinouchi discloses a method (P[0071]) for manufacturing a magnetic wedge (100), comprising: a first step (P[0071]) of obtaining a mixture by mixing a binder and powder of Fe-based soft magnetic particles (P[0071], , it is preferable. An additive element having a large difference in the atomic radius of a first element, which is at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Co, and Ni, is preferred.) containing an element M that is more easily oxidized than Fe (P[0071], it is preferable that the magnetic body contains at least one additive element selected from the group consisting of boron (B), silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), carbon (C), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), copper (Cu), tungsten (W), phosphorus (P), nitrogen (N), gallium (Ga), and yttrium (Y).)) ; a second step (P[0071) of obtaining a green compact by pressing the mixture (P[0071], Furthermore, since semi-metallic additive elements such as B and Si have slow rates of crystallization and are easily amorphized, it is advantageous when those additive elements are mixed into the system green compact from particle sof Fe and additives aboe, B, Si, Ai, or others above]); a substantially third step (P[0071) of performing machining on the green compact (P[0068, It is preferable that the magnetic body contains at least one non-magnetic metal selected from the group consisting of Mg, Al, Si, Ca, Zr, Ti, Hf, Zn, Mn, Ba, Sr, Cr, Mo, Ag, Ga, Sc, V, Y, Nb, Pb, Cu, In, Sn, and rare earth elements. Thereby, thermal stability or oxidation resistance of the magnetic body can be enhanced. Among them, Al and Si are particularly preferred because these elements can easily form solid solutions with Fe, Co, and Ni, which are main components of the magnetic body, and can contribute to an enhancement of thermal stability and oxidation resistance., see Fug,9c, forming thin bands, with principel surface of magnetic bodies).
Kinouchi fails to explicitly teach the third step of performing machining on the green compact, and a fourth step (S4) of heat-treating the green compact (, which has been subjected to the third step (S3), to form surface oxide phases of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles that bind the Fe-based soft magnetic particles to each other between particles of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles (.
However, Nishimura teaches third step (third step, Fig.1, and Fig.2, cutting, grinding, machining) third step (P[0037, P[0049]) of performing machining on the green compact), and a fourth step (see fig.1 and fig.2, fourth step) of heat-treating the green compact, which has been subjected to the third step (Step 3), to form surface oxide phases of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles that bind the Fe-based soft magnetic particles to each other between particles of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles (see P[0036], the fourth step, the heat treatment forms the oxide layer, with which the soft magnetic material particles are bonded together and insulated from each other. The insulating oxide layer can be formed on the surface of the soft magnetic material powder only by performing the heat treatment on the compact, which makes the insulating coating-forming step simple. In addition, one of the features of the invention is the third step including performing grinding or the like to obtain a predetermined shape, size, or geometry before the fourth step for imparting high strength to the powder magnetic core.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the method of making the device of Kinouchi wherein the third step of performing machining on the green compact, and a fourth step (S4) of heat-treating the green compact (, which has been subjected to the third step (S3), to form surface oxide phases of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles that bind the Fe-based soft magnetic particles to each other between particles of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles as suggested by Nishimura to obtain needed size and shape before imparting high strength to the powder magnetic core, and prevent material exposure after heat treatment, (see Nishimura, P[0036-0037]).
Re-claim 2, Kinouchi as modified discloses the method for manufacturing the magnetic wedge according to claim 1, wherein the element M is at least one selected from a group consisting of Al, Si, Cr, Zr, and Hf (P[0071], it is preferable that the magnetic body contains at least one additive element selected from the group consisting of boron (B), silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), carbon (C), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), copper (Cu), tungsten (W), phosphorus (P), nitrogen (N), gallium (Ga), and yttrium (Y).).
Re-claim 3, Kinouchi as modified discloses the method for manufacturing the magnetic wedge according to claim 1, wherein the Fe-based soft magnetic particles are Fe—Al—Cr-based alloy particles (P[0071], , it is preferable. An additive element having a large difference in the atomic radius of a first element, which is at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Co, and Ni, is preferred.)].
Re-claim 4, Kinouchi as modified discloses the method for manufacturing the magnetic wedge according to claim 1, wherein the green compact has a prismatic shape (2 in fig.5a, or see fig.11, shape of 100, or shape in fig.10, also see P[0035]) obtained by stretching a line-symmetric figure drawn on an arbitrary plane in a normal direction of the plane (see fig.5a, line a is symmetric), and the machining is performed on a pair of surfaces (surface of 2a, 2b,or if you see Fig.7, line axial direction uz is symmetrical and both surfaces are machines, smooth) obtained by stretching a pair of sides located symmetrically in the line-symmetric figure in the normal direction (see fig.5 and afig.7)).
Re-claim 6, Kinouchi as modified the method for manufacturing the magnetic wedge according to claim 4 , wherein in the second step or the third step (making the wedge), at least a pair of opposing sides of one or both end surfaces in a longitudinal direction are rounded (see annotated fig.10, or seeing fig.5a-5c are curved, or seeing the wedge in fig.8 with curved surfaces see fig.8).
Re-claim 7, Kinouchi discloses a magnetic wedge (2,100), comprising: a plurality of Fe-based soft magnetic particles (P[0071) containing an element M that is more easily oxidized than Fe ( P[0071], it is preferable that the magnetic body contains at least one additive element selected from the group consisting of boron (B), silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), carbon (C), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), copper (Cu), tungsten (W), phosphorus (P), nitrogen (N), gallium (Ga), and yttrium (Y).)) ; are bound by oxide phases containing the element M( it is preferable. An additive element having a large difference in the atomic radius of a first element, which is at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Co, and Ni, is preferred), and at least a portion of a surface of the magnetic wedge is a machined surface. see fig.8, and other figures of 10, 11 showing machined surfaces of wedges).
Furthermore, Kinouchi is silent about machines surface.
However, However, Nishimura teaches machined surface as third step (third step, Fig.1, and Fig.2, cutting, grinding, machining) third step (P[0037, P[0049]) of performing machining on the green compact),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the method of making the device of Kinouchi wherein the third step of performing machining on the green compact to obtain a machined surface as suggested by Nishimura to obtain needed size and shape before imparting high strength to the powder magnetic core, and prevent material exposure after heat treatment, (see Nishimura, P[0036-0037]).
Re-claim 8, Kinouchi as modified discloses the the magnetic wedge according to claim 7, wherein the element M is at least one selected from a group consisting of Al, Si, Cr, Zr, and Hf (P[0071], it is preferable that the magnetic body contains at least one additive element selected from the group consisting of boron (B), silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), carbon (C), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), molybdenum (Mo), chromium (Cr), copper (Cu), tungsten (W), phosphorus (P), nitrogen (N), gallium (Ga), and yttrium (Y).).
Re-claim 9, Kinouchi as modified discloses magnetic wedge of claim 7, wherein the Fe-based soft magnetic particles are Fe—Al—Cr-based alloy particles (P[0071], , it is preferable. An additive element having a large difference in the atomic radius of a first element, which is at least one selected from the group consisting of Fe, Co, and Ni, is preferred.)].
Re-claim 10, Kinouchi as modified discloses the the magnetic wedge according to claim 7, wherein the green compact has a prismatic shape (2 in fig.5a, or see fig.11, shape of 100, or shape in fig.10, also see P[0035]) obtained by stretching a line-symmetric figure drawn on an arbitrary plane in a normal direction of the plane (see fig.5a, line a is symmetric), and the machining is performed on a pair of surfaces (surface of 2a, 2b,or if you see Fig.7, line axial direction uz is symmetrical and both surfaces are machines, smooth) obtained by stretching a pair of sides located symmetrically in the line-symmetric figure in the normal direction (see fig.5 and afig.7)).
Re-claim 11, Kinouchi as modified discloses the magnetic wedge according to claim 10, wherein at least a pair of surfaces obtained by stretching at least a pair of sides located symmetrically in the line-symmetric figure in the normal direction are non-parallel (annotated fig.8).
Re-claim 12, Kinouchi as modified discloses the magnetic wedge according to claim 10 , wherein at least a pair of opposing sides of one () or both end surfaces in a longitudinal direction are rounded (see annotated fig.10, or seeing fig.5a-5c are curved, or seeing the wedge in fig.8 with curved surfaces see fig.8).
Re-claim 13, Kinouchi as modified discloses a stator (220) for a rotating electric machine, comprising: a plurality of teeth (250); and a plurality of slots (location of 230) formed by the plurality of teeth, wherein the magnetic wedge (100) fitted between tips of adjacent teeth (see fig.7).
Re-claim 14, Kinouchi as modified discloses the stator for the rotating electric machine according to claim 13, wherein the magnetic wedge (100) is in contact with the teeth (250) by at least a portion of the machined surface (surface of 100).
Re-claim 15, Kinouchi as modifeid discloses the rotating electric machine, comprising: the stator for the rotating electric machine according to claim 13; and a rotor (210) disposed inside the stator (220) for the rotating electric machine (Fig.2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 recites INTER ALIA “1. [Claim 1] (original) A method for manufacturing a magnetic wedge, comprising: a first step of obtaining a mixture by mixing a binder and powder of Fe-based soft magnetic particles containing an element M that is more easily oxidized than Fe; a second step of obtaining a green compact by pressing the mixture; a third step of performing machining on the green compact; and a fourth step of heat-treating the green compact, which has been subjected to the third step, to form surface oxide phases of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles that bind the Fe-based soft magnetic particles to each other between particles of the Fe-based soft magnetic particles.
Claim 4] (currently amended) The method for manufacturing the magnetic wedge according to claim lwherein the green compact has a prismatic shape obtained by stretching a line-symmetric figure drawn on an arbitrary plane in a normal direction of the plane, and the machining is performed on a pair of surfaces obtained by stretching a pair of sides located symmetrically in the line-symmetric figure in the normal direction. The method for manufacturing the magnetic wedge according to claim 4, wherein the machining is performed on the green compact to form non-parallel surfaces and increase surface roughness.
The method in claim 5 and 4 combined with claim 1 is found to be unique and allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834