DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valois (US 2023/0012810 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Valois teaches a vehicle lamp (see paragraph [0001] where invention relates to the field of lighting and light signaling, especially for automotive vehicles) that includes a light source (see figure 1-3; light source 8; paragraph [0033]) and a rod-shaped light guide body (light guide 2; figures 1-3) and that is configured to cause light emitted from the light source (8; figure 1-3) to enter the light guide body (2) from an incident part (entrance face 6; see figure 3 and paragraph [0033]) provided on a base end side of the light guide body (2), guide the light toward a tip side of the light guide body (2; see figure 1-3 where light is guided through guide body 2), and emit the light reflected by a plurality of reflection cuts (12; see figure 1; paragraph [0033]) provided on a back surface side of the light guide body (2; see at figure 1 and 2) from a front surface side of the light guide body (2) to the outside of the light guide body (2; see figure 2 and 3), thereby causing a light emitting part (14) provided on the front surface side of the light guide body (2) to emit light, the vehicle lamp further including:
a curved part (6.1; figure 2 and 3)in which a part of the light guide body (2) is curved between the incident part (6) and the light emitting part (14; see figure 2); and
an upright wall (6.2) standing up from a front surface side of the curved part by cutting out a part of the curved part (6.1) on the front surface side in an axial direction, wherein the upright wall (lateral portions 6.2; see paragraph [0039]) forms a reflective surface that reflects light guided in the curved part (see paragraph [0039] where lateral portions are configured to reflect light).
Regarding claim 2, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 1, wherein two of the upright walls (6.2; figure 2) facing each other are provided in a central portion of the curved part (6.1) on a front surface side (see figure 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 2, wherein the upright walls (6.2; figure 2 and 3) are provided on both side surfaces of a convex portion (see figure 2 and 3) which is formed by cutting out both sides of the central portion of the curved part (6.1; see figure 2 and 3) on the front surface side in the axial direction (see figure 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 2, wherein the upright walls (6.2; paragraph [0039]) are provided on both side surfaces of a concave portion (see figure 3) which is formed by cutting out the central portion of the curved part (see figure 2; central portion 12) on the front surface side in the axial direction (see figure 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of reflection cuts (12; see figure 2), provided on the back surface side of the light guide body (light guide 2), are formed by cutting out in a vertical direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the light guide body (2) and are aligned in the axial direction (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 7, wherein a pair of reflective surfaces (lateral portions 6.2) are provided on both sides of the back surface side of the light guide body (2) while having the plurality of reflection cuts (see figure 2) sandwiched between the pair of reflective surfaces (6.2), the pair of reflective surfaces (6.2) being constituted by concave curved surfaces, which are curved in an arc shape, in a cross section in the vertical direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the light guide body (2).
Regarding claim 9, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 1, wherein a curvature of the curved part (6.1; see figure 2) is equal to or greater than R18.5 on a central axis of the curved part (6.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valois (US 2023/0012810 A1) in view of Potter et al. (US 2016/0109084 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts are provided on a front surface side of the curved part.
Potter et al. teaches a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts (12c; figure 1E; paragraph [0074] are provided on a front surface side of the curved part (see figure 1E where 12c is provided on curved part 12b)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the curved part of Valois to include a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts as taught by Potter et al. to promote uniformity by introducing an amount of scattering into the projected beams or rays (see paragraph [0074] of Potter et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts are constituted by a plurality of knurlings extending in the axial direction of the curved part and arranged in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the curved part.
Potter et al. teaches wherein the plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts (scallops 12c; see figure 1E and paragraph [0074]) are constituted by a plurality of knurlings (see scallops 12c; see paragraph [0074]) extending in the axial direction of the curved part (12b) and arranged in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction (see figure 1E).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the curved part of Valois to include a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts as taught by Potter et al. to promote uniformity by introducing an amount of scattering into the projected beams or rays (see paragraph [0074] of Potter et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 2, but is silent about wherein a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts are provided on a front surface side of the curved part. Potter et al. teaches a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts (12c; figure 1E; paragraph [0074] are provided on a front surface side of the curved part (see figure 1E where 12c is provided on curved part 12b)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the curved part of Valois to include a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts as taught by Potter et al. to promote uniformity by introducing an amount of scattering into the projected beams or rays (see paragraph [0074] of Potter et al.).
Regarding claim 11, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 10, but is silent about wherein the plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts are constituted by a plurality of knurlings extending in the axial direction of the curved part and arranged in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the curved part.
Potter et al. teaches wherein the plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts (scallops 12c; see figure 1E and paragraph [0074]) are constituted by a plurality of knurlings (see scallops 12c; see paragraph [0074]) extending in the axial direction of the curved part (12b) and arranged in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction (see figure 1E).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the curved part of Valois to include a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts as taught by Potter et al. to promote uniformity by introducing an amount of scattering into the projected beams or rays (see paragraph [0074] of Potter et al.).
Regarding claim 13, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts are provided on a front surface side of the curved part.
Potter et al. teaches a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts (12c; figure 1E; paragraph [0074] are provided on a front surface side of the curved part (see figure 1E where 12c is provided on curved part 12b)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the curved part of Valois to include a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts as taught by Potter et al. to promote uniformity by introducing an amount of scattering into the projected beams or rays (see paragraph [0074] of Potter et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Valois teaches the vehicle lamp according to claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts are constituted by a plurality of knurlings extending in the axial direction of the curved part and arranged in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the curved part.
Potter et al. teaches wherein the plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts (scallops 12c; see figure 1E and paragraph [0074]) are constituted by a plurality of knurlings (see scallops 12c; see paragraph [0074]) extending in the axial direction of the curved part (12b) and arranged in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction (see figure 1E).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the curved part of Valois to include a plurality of diffusion/reflection cuts as taught by Potter et al. to promote uniformity by introducing an amount of scattering into the projected beams or rays (see paragraph [0074] of Potter et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment of independent claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875