DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 2 “means of a pick-up member” and claims 10, 11, 12, and 40 “pick-up means” The corresponding structures in the disclosure for preforming the claimed “pick-up” are a tool that comprises a frame on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted with an actuator connected to one of said rollers. The actuator is mounted on the side of the frame and the frame is centrally engaged on a flange. A web is mounted on the rollers closed in a loop on the rollers (Specification page 7 Lines 1-7). Therefore, the interpretation of “means of a pickup member” and “pick-up means” is the tool described above.
Claims 10, 11 and 40 “handling means for said pick-up means programmed for moving the pick-up means along a predefined trajectory” The corresponding structures in the disclosure for preforming the claimed “handling” are an industrial robot comprising a support structure arranged in a predetermined area, an arm having two elements articulated on the supporting structure and actuators to rotate about 6 axes, the Kawasaki industrial robot model BX100L, model BX130X or Fanuc R-1000 series industrial robot (Specification Page 6 Lines 1-18 and Page 6 Lines 27-28). Therefore, the interpretation of “handling means for said pick-up means programmed for moving the pick-up means along a predefined trajectory” is the industrial robot described above or the Kawasaki industrial robot model BX100L, model BX130X or Fanuc R-1000 series industrial robot.
Claim 13 “means of which the release speed of the flexible material (P) by the pick-up member is controlled” The corresponding structures in the disclosure for preforming the claimed “controlled release speed” are a web mounted on roller (Page 10 Lines 1-4). Therefore, the interpretation of “means of which the release speed of the flexible material (P) by the pick-up member is controlled” is a web mounted on a roller.
Claim 28 “means configured to arrange the flexible materials in a picking position” The corresponding structures in the disclosure for preforming the claimed arranging the flexible materials in a picking position is a spreader consisting of “a rod (AD) mounted longitudinally sliding on a respective support (SD) that, in turn, is mounted sliding on a guide (GD) oriented orthogonally to the rod (AD)” (Specification Page 7 Lines 26-28) Therefore, the interpretation of “means configured to arrange the flexible materials in a picking position” is the spreader described above.
Claim 28 “locking means” The corresponding structures in the disclosure for preforming the claimed “locking” is a locking gripper (Page 20 Lines 29-32) Therefore, the interpretation of “locking means” is a locking gripper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 11-13, 15, 16, 18-20, 26, 27, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiwary et al. (US2022/0017316A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tiwary et al. discloses a process for the automated handling of flexible laminar materials, comprising
a step of picking-up a flexible material (Figure 4A-4E: 402a) from a pick-up point (Figure 4A-4E: 402b) by means of a pick-up member (a tool that comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74)) with an actuator connected to one of said rollers (Paragraph 109). The actuator is mounted on the side of the frame and the frame is centrally engaged on a flange (Figure 3A: first actuator is in housing 300, Figure 2B: housing centrally engaged on flange, Paragraph 7). A web is mounted on the rollers closed in a loop on the rollers (Figure 3A: 306 and 307)) configured to engage a first portion of the flexible material in correspondence with a contact area of the flexible material with an engagement surface of the pick-up member (Paragraph 93),
a step of moving the pick-up member along a predefined trajectory (Paragraph 105) until a second free portion of the flexible material is placed on a deposition surface for depositing the flexible materials at a deposition point on said surface (Paragraph 105), wherein
during the deposition step of each flexible material, a friction force develops between the flexible material and the deposition surface of the flexible materials (When placing the object on the stack a friction force develops between the object and stack Paragraph 105),
characterized in that the second portion of the flexible material is suspended to the pick-up member, and, after the deposition of said free portion of the flexible material at the deposition point, the pickup member exerts on the flexible material a tension force of lesser intensity than said frictional force (Tension force is formed when the robotic arm moves in a backwards Paragraph 105) while the flexible material is released on said surface with a controlled release speed, the pick-up member being controlled by a control unit (Figure 1: 108) programmed to control the intensity of the tension force as a function of the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the flexible material and the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material and being a force oriented along a direction opposite to said frictional force, such that the flexible material is tensioned during its positioning on the deposition surface while it is released with a controlled releasing speed by the pick-up member (Paragraph 105), wherein said pick-up member is mounted on an industrial robot (Figure 4A-4E: 118) so that the engagement surface of the pick-up member is movable and said contact area of the flexible material with the engagement surface varies during the release and the deposition of the flexible material onto said deposition surface (Paragraph 49).
Regarding Claim 2, Tiwary et al. discloses a process for the automated handling of flexible laminar materials, comprising
a step of picking-up a flexible material (Figure 4A-4E: 402a) from a pick-up point (Figure 4A-4E: 402b) by means of a pick-up member (a tool that comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) with an actuator connected to one of said rollers (Paragraph 109). The actuator is mounted on the side of the frame and the frame is centrally engaged on a flange (Figure 3A: first actuator is in housing 300, Figure 2B: housing centrally engaged on flange, Paragraph 7). A web is mounted on the rollers closed in a loop on the rollers (Figure 3A: 306 and 307)) configured to engage a first portion of the flexible material in correspondence with an engagement surface of the pick-up member (Paragraph 93),
a step of moving the pick-up member along a predefined trajectory until a second free portion of the flexible material is placed on a deposition surface for depositing the flexible materials at a deposition point on said surface (Paragraph 105), wherein
during the deposition step of each flexible material, a friction force develops between the flexible material and the deposition surface of the flexible materials (When placing the object on the stack a friction force develops between the object and stack Paragraph 105),
characterized in that said pick-up member is mounted on an industrial robot (Figure 4A-4E: 118) so that the engagement surface of the pick-up member is movable,
the second portion of the flexible material is suspended to the pick-up member, and, after the deposition of said free portion of the flexible material at the deposition point, the pickup member exerts on the flexible material a tension force of lesser intensity than said frictional force (Tension force is formed when the robotic arm moves in a backwards Paragraph 105) while the flexible material is released on said surface with a controlled release speed, the pick-up member being controlled by a control unit (Figure 1: 108) programmed to control the intensity of the tension force as a function of the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the flexible material and being oriented along a direction opposite to said frictional force, such that the flexible material is tensioned during its positioning on the deposition surface while it is released with a controlled releasing speed by the pick-up member (The robotic arm moving backwards creates a tension force and friction force is accounted for as to not disturb the stack Paragraph 105),
said picking member comes into contact, during the entire handling operation, with only one of the two surfaces of the flexible material (Figure 4A-4E: the pick-up member 122 comes into contract with only one of the surfaces of the flexible material).
Regarding Claim 3, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the flexible material is higher than the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material (Paragraphs 84 and 85: the device is capable of handling multiple types of objects and stacking them on multiple types of surfaces including stacks, Each of these objects would have different frictional coefficients between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the object and the object and the deposition surface. This would include a situation where the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the flexible material is higher than the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material).
Regarding Claim 4, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing that said engagement surface is a surface by which the release speed of the flexible material by the pick-up member is controlled, said surface being moved with predetermined speed along a predetermined release direction during the positioning of the flexible material on the deposition surface (Figure 3A: the control server controls direction and speed of conveyers 306, 308, Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 5, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing said engagement surface is subjected to rotation with a predetermined angular speed around a respective rotation axis (Figure 3A: the control server controls direction and speed of conveyers 306, 308, Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 6, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing said engagement surface is a movable surface which controls the speed of release of the flexible material (Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 8, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing the deposition surface is a mobile surface or a fixed surface (the end effector is capable of placing the object on an operating station or a stack which is fixed Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 9, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing during the deposition of the flexible material, the pick-up member is moved with a predefined speed along a direction opposite to a release direction of the flexible material by the pick-up member (Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 10, Tiwary et al. discloses a device for the automated handling of flexible laminar materials, comprising pick-up means (a tool that comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74)) with an actuator connected to one of said rollers (Paragraph 109). The actuator is mounted on the side of the frame and the frame is centrally engaged on a flange (Figure 3A: first actuator is in housing 300, Figure 2B: housing centrally engaged on flange, Paragraph 7). A web is mounted on the rollers closed in a loop on the rollers (Figure 3A: 306 and 307)) configured to engage a flexible material (Figure 4A-4E: 402a in correspondence with a contact area of the flexible material with said pick-up means, and means for moving said pick-up means (an industrial robot comprising a support structure (Figure 2B: 210) arranged in a predetermined area, an arm having two elements articulated on the supporting structure (Figure 2B: 118) and actuators to rotate about 6 axes (Paragraph 66) programmed for moving the pick-up means along a predefined trajectory for depositing a second free portion of the flexible material on a predetermined deposition point of a predetermined target surface with the development of a frictional force between the flexible material and said surface (Paragraph 105), characterized in that said pick-up means are mounted on an industrial robot (Figure 4A-4E: 118) so that the engagement surface of the pick-up means is movable and the pick-up means exert on the flexible material a tension force of lesser magnitude than said frictional force while the flexible material is positioned with a controlled release speed on said surface (Tension force is formed when the robotic arm moves in a backwards Paragraph 105), said pick up means being controlled by a control unit (Figure 1: 108) programmed to control the intensity of the tension force as a function of the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up means and the flexible material and the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material, and being oriented along a direction opposite to the friction force, the control unit controls the pick-up means while the same flexible material is released and positioned onto said surface varying the contact area during the release and the deposition of the flexible material onto said surface (The robotic arm moving backwards creates a tension force and friction force is accounted for as to not disturb the stack Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 11, Tiwary et al. discloses a device for the automated handling of flexible laminar materials, comprising pickup means (a tool that comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted (Paragraph 74) with an actuator connected to one of said rollers (Paragraph 109). The actuator is mounted on the side of the frame and the frame is centrally engaged on a flange (Figure 3A: first actuator is in housing 300, Figure 2B: housing centrally engaged on flange, Paragraph 7). A web is mounted on the rollers closed in a loop on the rollers (Figure 3A: 306 and 307)) configured to engage a flexible material (Figure 4A-4E: 402a) in correspondence with a first portion of the latter and handling means for said pick-up means (an industrial robot comprising a support structure (Figure 2B: 210) arranged in a predetermined area, an arm having two elements articulated on the supporting structure (Figure 2B: 118) and actuators to rotate about 6 axes (Paragraph 66)) programmed for moving the pick-up means along a predefined trajectory to arrange a second free portion of the flexible material on a given deposition point of a given target surface with the development of a friction force between the flexible material and said surface (Paragraph 105), characterized by the fact that said pick-up means are mounted on an industrial robot (Figure 4A-4E: 118) so that the engagement surface of the pick-up means is movable and the same pick-up means come into contact with a surface only of the flexible material and exert on the flexible material a distension force of a lower intensity than said friction force while the flexible material is released by the pick-up means with a controlled release speed and is simultaneously positioned on said surface (Figure 4A-4E, Paragraph 105), the pick-up member being controlled by a control unit (Figure 1: 108) programmed to control the intensity of the distension force as a function of the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up means and the flexible material and the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material and being oriented in a direction opposite to the friction force, and the control unit controls the movement of the first portion of the flexible material with respect to the pick-up means while the same flexible material is released and positioned on said surface (The robotic arm moving backwards creates a distension force and friction force is accounted for as to not disturb the stack Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 12, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 in addition to disclosing the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up means and the flexible material is higher than the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material (Paragraphs 84 and 85: the device is capable of handling multiple types of objects and stacking them on multiple types of surfaces including stacks, Each of these objects would have different frictional coefficients between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the object and the object and the deposition surface. This would include a situation where the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the flexible material is higher than the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material).
Regarding Claim 13, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 in addition to disclosing the pick-up member is provided with a surface for engaging the flexible materials (Figure3A: 306, 308) which is a surface by means of which the release speed of the flexible material by the pick-up member is controlled, said surface being moved with a predetermined speed along a predetermined release direction during the positioning of the flexible material on the deposition surface (Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 15, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 in addition to disclosing the deposition surface is a mobile or a fixed surface (the end effector is capable of placing the object on an operating station or a stack which is fixed Paragraph 105).
Regarding Claim 16, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 in addition to disclosing deposition surface is a mobile surface or a fixed surface (deposition surface can be at an operation station or a fixed stack, Figure 4A: 402b).
Regarding Claim 18, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 in addition to disclosing a database (Figure 1: 110, Paragraph 132) in which is capable of storing a plurality of values, including said friction coefficients, and the control unit (Figure 1: 108) is connected to the database (Figure 3A: the second conveyor 308 rotates in a direction to ensure the form factor of the stack during picking and placing so frictional forces are taken into account, Paragraph 95, Paragraph 132: the physical attributes stored in the control server include shape, size, weight, number of folds, or the like which would include friction coefficient).
Regarding Claim 19 Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 in addition to disclosing the pick-up member comprises a frame on which at least two rollers are mounted parallel to each other (Figure 3A: first conveyor 306 is controlled by second and third rollers and second conveyor 308 is controlled by fourth and fifth that extend longitudinally between the first and second side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) and enslaved to a corresponding actuator which controls their rotation around the respective longitudinal axes (Figure 5: 514, Paragraph 109), and on the rollers there is mounted a web (Figure 3A: 306, 308) closed in a loop on the rollers themselves which, therefore, guide the movement thereof along a direction orthogonal to a central longitudinal axis of the frame which is engaged on a terminal axis of a robotic arm (Figure 2B: 118). The side casings (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) which contain the rollers would make a central longitudinal axes of the frame which is engaged at the terminal end of the robotic arm as it would go through the middle of the main casing (Figure 3A: 302) and be at the terminal end of the robotic arm. The movement of the rollers would be orthogonal to this axis.
Regarding Claim 20, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 19 and additionally discloses a frame that uses multiple rollers and conveyor belts that are in a triangular arrangement (Figures 3D and 5, Paragraph 74: the first conveyor 306 is driven by the second and third rollers and the second conveyor is driven by the fourth and fifth rollers. The third and fifth rollers are at the end of the triangular configuration. The second third and fourth rollers are mounted on the frame 300 are arranged in a triangular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 26, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 19 in addition to disclosing a sensor on the web for detecting, on said web, the presence of the flexible material (Paragraph 79: the pressure sensors would have to be in contact with the web to measure the pressure of the object which would make them on the web).
Regarding Claim 27, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 in addition to disclosing the engagement surface is a flat surface subject to translation in the release phase (Figure 3A: 306).
Regarding Claim 40, Tiwary et al. discloses a device for the automated handling of flexible laminar materials, comprising pick-up means (a tool that comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74)) with an actuator connected to one of said rollers (Paragraph 109). The actuator is mounted on the side of the frame and the frame is centrally engaged on a flange (Figure 3A: first actuator is in housing 300, Figure 2B: housing centrally engaged on flange, Paragraph 7). A web is mounted on the rollers closed in a loop on the rollers (Figure 3A: 306 and 307)) configured to engage a flexible material (Figure 4A-4E: 402a) in correspondence with a contact area of a first free portion of a flexible material with an engagement surface of said pick-up means (Figure 3A: 306), and means for moving said pick-up means programmed for moving the pick-up means (an industrial robot comprising a support structure (Figure 2B: 210) arranged in a predetermined area, an arm having two elements articulated on the supporting structure (Figure 2B: 118) and actuators to rotate about 6 axes (Paragraph 66)) along a predefined trajectory for depositing a second free portion of the flexible material on a predetermined deposition point of a predetermined target surface with the development of a frictional force between the flexible material and said surface (Paragraph 105), characterized in that said pick-up means are controlled by a control device (Figure 1: 108) programmed such that said pick-up means exert on the flexible material a tension force of lesser magnitude than said frictional force while the flexible material is positioned with a controlled release speed on said surface (Tension force is formed when the robotic arm moves in a backwards Paragraph 105), the tension force being oriented along a direction opposite to the friction force, the control device controls the pick-up means while the same flexible material is released and positioned onto said surface varying the contact area during the release and the deposition of the flexible material onto said surface (Paragraph 105) and the pick-up means comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which at least two rollers parallel to each other are mounted (side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) and enslaved to a corresponding actuator which controls their rotation around the respective longitudinal axes (Figure 5: 514, Paragraph 109), and on the rollers there is mounted a web closed in a loop on the rollers themselves which, therefore, guide the movement thereof along a direction orthogonal to a central longitudinal axis of the frame which is engaged on a terminal axis of a robotic arm (Figure 3A: 306, 308,). The side casings (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) which contain the rollers would make a central longitudinal axes of the frame which is engaged at the terminal end of the robotic arm as it would go through the middle of the main casing (Figure 3A: 302) and be at the terminal end of the robotic arm. The movement of the rollers would be orthogonal to this axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwary et al. (US2022/0017316A1) in view of Wetzel et al. (EP0885664B1) and Wehner (US9169072B2).
Regarding Claim 21, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 19 and additionally discloses two rollers with a web on top mounted on one side of the frame (Figure 3A: first conveyor 306 is controlled by second and third rollers and second conveyor 308 is controlled by fourth and fifth that extend longitudinally between the first and second side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74). Tiwary et al. does not disclose two axially aligned rollers are mounted on another side of the frame the sum of the whose lengths equals the length of each of the other two rolls.
Wetzel et al. discloses a roller conveyor that uses multiple parallel and potentially axially aligned rollers of different sizes (angle W2 and W3 can be 0 degrees making rollers axially aligned Figure 3: R16, R17, R15, R40, Paragraph 19) for the purpose of reducing the gap in the transport route between rollers (Paragraph 3) and having two rows at different speeds (Paragraph 10).
Wehner discloses conveying devices that uses rollers (Figure 27: 505) and webs (Figure 27: 502a, 502b) and can operate parallel to each other (Figure 28) for the purpose of having individually controllable conveying devices that can move specific items (Column 29 Lines 3-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Tiwary et al. by including two axially aligned smaller rollers at the pointed end of the first conveyor (Figure 3A: 306) for the purpose of reducing the gap in the transport route between rollers as shown by Wetzel et al. and placing a web over them to make two parallel conveyors for the purpose of having individually controllable conveying devices that can move specific items as shown by Wehner.
Regarding Claim 22, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 19 and additionally discloses using a web made up of several elements connected to each other (Figure 3A: 306, 308). Tiwary et al. does not disclose the elements are placed side by side.
Wehner discloses conveying devices that uses rollers (Figure 27: 505) and webs (Figure 27: 502a, 502b) and can operate parallel to each other (Figure 28) for the purpose of having individually controllable conveying devices that can move specific items (Column 29 Lines 3-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Tiwary et al. by changing the first or second web (Figure 27: 502a, 502b) and splitting it into parallel webs as shown by Wehner for the purpose of having individually controllable conveying devices that can move specific items.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwary et al. (US2022/0017316A1) in view of JP5145606B2 and KR100985771B1.
Regarding Claim 28, Tiwary et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10 but does not disclose means configured to arrange the flexible materials in a picking position, said means being arranged and acting at a predetermined point for picking up the flexible materials and being provided with a spreader element controlled to spread one side of the flexible materials when preparing them for their picking up, wherein said means configured for arranging the flexible materials in a picking position are arranged at a picking station crossed by an overhead conveyor equipped with hangers from which the flexible materials are hung, characterized in that it comprises locking means controlled and configured to temporarily lock the hangers (40) that progressively reach the picking station, said locking means being arranged and acting in the same picking station.
JP5145606B2 discloses a deformable thin object picking device and spreader that can act as a means configured to arrange the flexible materials in a picking position (a spreader (Figure 23: 2A) consisting of a rod (Figure 23: 21A) mounted longitudinally sliding on a respective support that, in turn, is mounted sliding on a guide (Figure 23: 22 and Figures 24-30 show sliding) oriented orthogonally to the rod) for the purpose of spreading deformable thin objects without damaging them (Advantageous-Effects paragraph 2)
KR100985771B1 discloses an overhead conveyor (Figure 1) equipped with hangers (figure 1: 30) characterized in that it comprises locking means (locking gripper (Figure 1C shows the locking gripper)) and configured to temporarily lock the hangers for the purpose of moving objects through the processing steps (Background Art paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Tiwary et al. by including the spreader disclosed by JP 5145606 B2 to arrange the flexible materials in a picking position and overhead conveyor disclosed by KR 100985771 B1 to bring the flexible materials to the picking position for the purpose of spreading deformable thin objects without damaging them and flexible materials through the processing steps
Response to Arguments
Regarding the drawing objection, new drawings were submitted showing the sensor on the web. The drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Regarding claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the “means of a pick-up member” in claims 1 and 2, the “pick-up means” in claims 10, 11, 12, and 40, the “means of which the release speed of the flexible material (P) by the pick-up member is controlled” in claim 13, the “means configured to arrange the flexible materials in a picking position” in claim 28, and the “locking means” in claim 28 are not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for preforming the claimed function. The claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) remains.
Regarding the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), claim 10 has been amended and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claim 1, Tiwary discloses the objects that are handled includes apparel or the like (Figure 4a: 402a, Paragraph 84) which is a flexible material. During the put-down operation (Paragraph 105: describes the put-down operation), a tension force would be generated in the flexible material when the robotic arm moves backwards which would factor in the frictional coefficient between the first conveyor and the material. The part of the flexible material on the stack would generate a frictional force which would factor in the frictional coefficient between the flexible material and deposition surface. Rotating the first conveyor would decrease the tension force below the frictional force to allow the object to be placed on the stack. The control server would need to adjust the forces, that are a result of the coefficients of friction, to allow the manipulators to not disturb the stack (Paragraphs 8 and 42).
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claim 2, as mentioned in claim 2 the pick-up member of T is (a tool that comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted (a tool that comprises a frame (Figure 3A) on which two rollers oriented parallel are mounted (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) with an actuator connected to one of said rollers (Paragraph 109). The actuator is mounted on the side of the frame and the frame is centrally engaged on a flange (Figure 3A: first actuator is in housing 300, Figure 2B: housing centrally engaged on flange, Paragraph 7). A web is mounted on the rollers closed in a loop on the rollers (Figure 3A: 306 and 307)). The gripper arm is not included in the gripper member (Figure 5: the first and second conveyor 306 are part of the spatula shaped base 502 while the first roller 312 and gripper arm 310 are separate). The gripper arm and the gripper member are both part of the end effector but they are not the same. Additionally, the gripper arm may be used during the pick and place operation but is not necessary (Paragraph 77, Figures 7a and 7b: show a scenario where a third conveyor 704 is used and picking is performed by moving the gripper mechanism below the third conveyor, Paragraphs 120 and 121). In these situations, the picking member comes into contact, during the entire handling operation, with only one of the two surfaces of the flexible material.
Regarding the friction-coefficient-dependent control of FD, the argument for claim 1 would apply.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claim 3, Tiwary additionally discloses handling multiple types of objects and stacking them on multiple types of surfaces including stacks (Paragraphs 84 and 85). Each of these objects would have different frictional coefficients between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the object and the object and the deposition surface. This would include a situation where the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the flexible material is higher than the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claim 4, the control server of Tiwary would need to predetermine the speed and direction of the engagement surface as part of planning a sequence of actions for the robot (Figure 9A: 918).
Regarding the laydown process, the argument for claim 1 would apply.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claims 5, 6, and 9, the argument for claim 1 being anticipated by Tiwary would apply and claims 5, 6, and 9 are dependent on claim 1.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claim 10, the friction-coefficient-dependent control of FD argument for claim 1 would apply.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claim 11, Tiwary’s pick-up means would come into contact with only one surface of the flexible material as already discussed in the argument for claim 2 and friction-coefficient-dependent control of FD, the argument for claim 1 would apply.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to Claim 40, claim 40 line “at least two rollers (36) parallel to each other are mounted and enslaved to a corresponding actuator (37) which controls their rotation around the respective longitudinal axes” the side casings (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) which contain the rollers would make a central longitudinal axes of the frame which is engaged at the terminal end of the robotic arm as it would go through the middle of the main casing (Figure 3A: 302) and be at the terminal end of the robotic arm. The movement of the rollers would be orthogonal to this axis. Additionally, the friction-coefficient-dependent control of FD argument for claim 1 would apply.
Regarding applicant’s arguments for claims 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, 19, 26, and 27, the scope of the claims has been changed, and the rejections have been updated accordingly.
Regarding applicant’s arguments for claim 12, Tiwary discloses the device is capable of handling multiple types of objects and stacking them on multiple types of surfaces including stacks (Paragraphs 84 and 85). Each of these objects would have different frictional coefficients between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the object and the object and the deposition surface. This would include a situation where the friction coefficient between the engagement surface of the pick-up member and the flexible material is higher than the friction coefficient between the deposition surface and the flexible material.
Regarding applicant’s arguments for claim 18, (Figure 3A: Tiwary discloses the second conveyor 308 rotates in a direction to ensure the form factor of the stack during picking and placing so frictional forces are taken into account, (Paragraph 95, Paragraph 132) The physical attributes stored in the control server include shape, size, weight, number of folds, or the like and frictional coefficient is a physical attribute.
Regarding applicant’s arguments for claim 19, The side casings of Tiwary (Figure 3A: side casings 304a and 304b, Paragraph 74) which contain the rollers would make a central longitudinal axes of the frame which is engaged at the terminal end of the robotic arm as it would go through the middle of the main casing (Figure 3A: 302) and be at the terminal end of the robotic arm. The movement of the rollers would be orthogonal to this axis.
Regarding applicant’s arguments for claim 26, the pressure sensors disclosed by Tiwary would have to be in contact with the web to measure the pressure of the object which would make them on the web (Paragraph 79).
Regarding applicant’s arguments to claim 20, the scope of claim 20 has been amended and the rejection has been updated.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to claim 21, Wetzel discloses the advantages of having two rollers that are axially aligned over a single roller are reducing the gap in the transport route between rollers (Paragraph 3) and having two rows at different speeds (Paragraph 10). and Wehner discloses the advantages of placing a web over the rollers is to have individually controllable conveying devices that can move specific items. For these reasons it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Tiwary et al. by including two axially aligned smaller rollers at the pointed end of the first conveyor (Figure 3A: 306) for the purpose of reducing the gap in the transport route between rollers as shown by Wetzel et al. and placing a web over them to make two parallel conveyors for the purpose of having individually controllable conveying devices that can move specific items as shown by Wehner. The two axially aligned rollers would have a sum of lengths equal to the length of each of the other two rolls in a similar manner to the applicants Figure 24 where there is a slight space between rollers 36A and 36B. The reason for having the configuration as explained by the applicant “increasing the flexural resistance of the pick-up frame when handling large, heavy flexible materials” is not part of claim 21.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to claim 22, claim 22 recites “in which the web is made up of several elements placed side by side” not that they must be “side-by-side elements of a single engagement web” The two conveyor belts disclosed by Tiwary (Figure 3D: 306 and 308) can act as elements of a single web since they can be controlled to work together (Paragraph 75). Wehner’s parallel conveyor belts (Figure 27: 502a, 502b) are side by side and can function as a single web because they are individually controllable and can move in the same direction (Column 29 Lines 3-13). Additionally, the applicant’s purpose of claim 22’s side-by-side web arrangement “improving the structural robustness of the pick-up member for handling large flexible materials” is not part of claim 22.
Regarding applicant’s arguments to claim 28, both the inventions of JP5145606B2 and KR100985771B1 are used in item manufacturing and handling scenarios where multiple devices work together (JP5145606B2 Description Paragraph 2, KR100985771B1 Description Paragraph 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have multiple item manufacturing and handling devices work together. The combination as applied in claim 28 as the device disclosed by JP5145606B2 would be capable of arranging flexible materials in a picking position, being located at a predetermined point for picking up flexible materials, prepping flexible materials for pick up and the device disclosed by KR100985771B1 would be capable of temporarily locking hangers at a picking station (KR100985771B1 Background Art paragraph 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fogli et al. (WO 9911548 A1) discloses a web with multiple rollers in a triangular arrangement.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653