DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 9/25/2026. The previous claim interpretation under 112(f) remains and is not repeated below for brevity. Claims 1, 4-15, and 18-20 remain pending. This action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Romanchik et al. (U.S. 5,273,073).
Romanchik discloses a control valve, wherein the control valve is provided with an accommodation chamber (within 12), and the control valve comprises a valve body (12) and a valve core (24), the valve body comprises a side wall portion (the radially inward facing wall(s) of 12), the side wall portion forms at least a part of a peripheral wall of the accommodation chamber and is provided with at least four communication ports (14, 16, 18, 20), wherein at least a part of the valve core is located inside the accommodation chamber and is rotatable (figs. 1-4), and the valve core is provided with a first communication chamber (27), the valve core has at least a first position (fig. 4) and a second position (fig. 2), wherein, when the valve core is at the first position, the first communication chamber is configured to communicate at least two of the communication ports (fig. 4, 14 and 18), and when the valve core is at at least one of the first position and the second position, at least a part of a wall portion that forms the first communication chamber closes at least another one of the communication ports (16 is closed), the valve core comprises two first partitions (see at least Details A and B in the annotated figure below), the two first partitions form two side walls of the first communication chamber, and the two first partitions forms the at least the part of the wall portion (see the annotated figure below and figures 1-4), the first communication chamber is provided with two first openings (fig. 4, 27 has an opening leading to 14 and an opening leading to 18) at a peripheral side of the valve core, when the valve core is at the first position, one of the two first openings is in communication with at least one of the communication ports, and the other one of the two first openings is in communication with at least another one of the communication ports (fig. 4), and when the valve core is at the second position of the valve core (fig. 2), one of the two first openings is in communication with one of the communication ports (the larger opening of 27 is in communication with 20), and the other one of the two first openings is arranged staggeredly from any others of the communication ports (see the smaller of the two openings for 27 not being in communication with any port in fig. 2), wherein at least a part of the communication ports are arranged along a circumferential direction of the side wall portion (figs. 1-4), the valve core is provided with M communication chambers (25, 27), and each of the communication chambers is configured to communicate with at least two of the communication ports (figs. 1-4), in at least some of the operation modes of the control valve, the control valve has N flow paths (see the various flow paths in figs. 1-4), totaling N number), and each of the flow paths comprises one of the M communication chambers and at least two communication ports in communication with the one of the M communication chambers (figs. 1-4), wherein M is greater than or equal to 2 (as stated above, M = 2, chambers 25 and 27), wherein M and both M and N are positive integers, in at least one of the operation modes of the control valve, M>N (fig. 2, M totals two (25 and 27) and there is only one flow path, between 16 and 14), and a total number of the communication ports of the N flow paths is less than a total number of all of the communication ports on the side wall portion (fig. 2, two communication ports in fluid communication is less than the four total communication ports).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanchik in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 4,904,245) and Makihara et al. (U.S. 5,983,937).
Romanchik discloses the claimed structure and further discloses wherein the main body of the valve core is of a cylinder structure (see figs. 2-4), the valve core is of a one-piece structure (24 is shown as a single piece), and the valve core comprises a valve core shaft (26, 28).
Romanchik does not appear to disclose the one-piece structure made by injection molding or a component to be detected and a detector, the component to be detected is located at an end of the valve core shaft and is fixedly connected to the valve core shaft, and the detector is configured to cooperate with the element to be detected to detect a position of the valve core.
To the extent that the applicant recites the limitation of injection molding, this is viewed as a product-by-process claim and has not been given patentable weight; however, the limitation is seen to require the material of the core to be capable of being injection molded.
Chen teaches it was known in the art to have a similar valve core (34) that is a one-piece structure made by injection molding (figs. 5-10, see col. 2, ll. 33-34 describing the core being made of plastic that is molded which is seen to be capable of being injection molded).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Romanchik by having the core be made of plastic that is able to be injection molded as taught by Chen in order to have the material of the core be of a relatively inexpensive, easy to acquire and manufacture material and especially as it has been held that the selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP2144.07.
Makihara teaches it was known in the art to have a similar rotary valve (8) with a shaft (108) that is part of the rotary valve and a component to be detected (20) and a detector (ECU 21), the component to be detected is located at an end of the valve core shaft and is fixedly connected to the valve core shaft (fig. 3, connected at 8c, see also col. 7, ll. 6-9), and the detector is configured to cooperate with the element to be detected to detect a position of the valve core (col. 7, ll. 6-9, 17-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary valve of Romanchik by having a shaft for the core and a position detector located at the end of the shaft and fixedly connected to the shaft as taught by Makihara in order to be able to detect the position of the valve so that the various flow paths can be determined and changed if so desired by a user to connect the various ports and allow fluid communication amongst the different downstream and/or upstream components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-14, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At the top of page 11 of the response, applicant argues that in applicant’s figures 5 to 8, M = 3, which includes communication chambers 321 to 323. This argument is noted. However, applicant’s claim recites M ≥ 2. In other words, the applicant is claiming M is greater than or equal to 2. As described in at least the third line of the rejection of claim 3 on page 8 of the Non-Final Rejection dated 9/25/2026, M communication chambers total 2, elements 25 and 27, in the Romanchik reference. As such, Romanchik is seen to satisfy the limitation of M ≥ 2, as M is equal to two (and as applicant states at the top of page 12 of the response). The examiner has clarified this in the rejection above. It is noted that M equaling two total communication chambers was included in the third line of the rejection of claim 3 on page 8 of the Non-Final Rejection dated 9/25/2026, i.e. “provided with M communication chambers (25, 27)” and the fourth to last line of the rejection of claim 2, i.e. “M>N (fig. 2, M totals two (25 and 27) and there is only one flow path, between 16 and 14)”.
For at least the above reason(s), applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753