Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-17, 21-22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradley (U.S. 2024/0002000A1).
Regarding claim 15, Senatro discloses an apparatus (10, fig. 1 and para 0037), comprising:
a skirt (18) that has an inner surface (see fig. 1); and
a bending member (14, 16; see figs. 1-4 and para 0037) that has a vertical length in a vertical direction (28, see fig. 2), wherein surfaces facing the inner surface along at least 30% of the vertical length of the bending member are non-parallel to the inner surface (see annotated fig. 4 below; also see figs. 3-5);
wherein the bending member (14, 16) is longer in the vertical direction than in a lateral direction (see figs. 3-5), and wherein the bending member (14, 16) is longer in the vertical direction than in a longitudinal direction (see figs. 3-5); and
wherein the bending member (14, 16) is configured for being deflected from an at rest position (see fig. 4) upon application of force to the skirt (18; refer to para 0043), and wherein the bending member (14, 16) is configured for returning on its own to the at rest position upon removal of the force from the skirt (refer to para 0043).
Regarding claim 16, Senatro discloses wherein the at least 30% of the vertical length of the bending member is a non-parallel section that is a continuous section in the vertical direction (see annotated fig. 4 below; also see figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, Senatro discloses wherein the non-parallel section has a single continuous concave surface (48; see fig. 11 and refer to para 0052) that directly faces the inner surface along an entire height of the non-parallel section in the vertical direction (see fig. 11).
Regarding claim 21, Senatro discloses an attachment device (“brackets”) configured to attach the bending member to an I-beam of a trailer (refer to para 0038).
Regarding claim 22, Senatro discloses wherein the bending member (14, 16) has a top portion (12), a middle portion (32 and part of 16), and a bottom portion (60; see fig. 3), wherein the top portion is located higher in the vertical direction than the middle portion and the bottom portion (see fig. 2), and wherein the middle portion (32) is located between the top portion (12) and the bottom portion (60) in the vertical direction (see fig. 2); and
wherein surfaces of the middle portion (around the upper section of 16) that face the inner surface are non-parallel to the inner surface (see annotated fig. 4 above), and wherein a space is defined between the inner surface and the middle portion in the lateral direction (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 25, Senatro discloses wherein the least 30% of the vertical length of the bending member that does not have any surfaces parallel to the inner surface is a non-parallel section that has a convex part that directly faces the inner surface, and that has two concave parts that directly face the inner surface (see figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 26, Senatro discloses wherein the at least 30% of the vertical length of the bending member is a non-parallel section that is not continuous in the vertical direction such that discontinuities are created by parallel sections of the bending member that have surfaces parallel to the inner surface (see figs. 3-7).
Regarding claim 27, Senatro discloses wherein the at least 30% of the vertical length of the bending member is spaced from the inner surface (see figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 28, Senatro discloses wherein a majority of a total surface area of the bending member is non-parallel to the inner surface (see figs. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley (U.S. 2024/0002000A1) alone.
Regarding claim 18, Senatro discloses wherein surfaces facing the inner surface along at least a percentage of the vertical length of the bending member are non-parallel to the inner surface (see annotated fig. 4 below; also see figs. 3-5).
However, Senatro is silent to 50%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least 50% of the vertical length of the bending member are non-parallel to the inner surface since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In other words, narrowing a general condition taught by the prior art to a specific numerical value has been held to be an obvious variation thereof. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 19, Senatro is silent to wherein surfaces facing the inner surface along at least 70% of the vertical length of the bending member are non-parallel to the inner surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have surfaces facing the inner surface along at least 70% of the vertical length of the bending member are non-parallel to the inner surface since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In other words, narrowing a general condition taught by the prior art to a specific numerical value has been held to be an obvious variation thereof. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 20, Senatro is silent to wherein surfaces facing the inner surface along at least 80% of the vertical length of the bending member are non-parallel to the inner surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have surfaces facing the inner surface along at least 80% of the vertical length of the bending member are non-parallel to the inner surface since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In other words, narrowing a general condition taught by the prior art to a specific numerical value has been held to be an obvious variation thereof. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.04.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bradley (U.S. 2023/0415834A1), Boivin et al. (U.S. 2022/0126931A1), Bradley (U.S. 2020/0039587A1), Emery et al. (U.S. 2018/0093719A1), Boivin et al. (U.S. 2017/0274942A1), and Senatro (U.S. 9,211,919B2).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672