DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a light emitting unit configured to emit light” in claim 1;
“a beam steering unit configured to perform beam steering on light emitted by the light emitting unit” in claim 11; and
“a light emitting unit that emits light’ in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ridderbusch (US 2017/0090032 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ridderbusch discloses a distance measuring device (abstract, Figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a light emitting unit configured to emit light (ref 103, paragraph [0047]);
a sensor unit configured to perform a light receiving operation for distance measurement by a ToF method (ref 111, paragraph [0049]), for reflected light obtained when an object reflects light emitted from the light emitting unit (ref 105, paragraph [0048]);
a calculation unit configured to calculate a distance by the ToF method on a basis of a light reception signal of the sensor unit (ref 117, paragraphs [0051], [0054], [0056]);
an object detection unit configured to perform object detection processing on a basis of a sensing image obtained by sensing on a distance measurable range that is a view angle range in which distance measurement can be performed using the sensor unit (ref 111, paragraph [0056]); and
a control unit configured to control the calculation unit to calculate a distance to a target object on a basis of a light reception signal obtained by the sensor unit when a position according to a position of the target object detected by the object detection unit is irradiated with light emitted by the light emitting unit (paragraphs [0037], [0056], [0060], [0063]).
Regarding claim 2, Ridderbusch discloses wherein the object detection unit performs the object detection processing on a basis of a gradation image generated on a basis of a light reception signal of the sensor unit (paragraphs [0004], [0026], [0053]-[0056], an image represents the distance to a photographed object by pixel values is a gradation image).
Regarding claim 3, Ridderbusch discloses wherein the control unit causes the object detection unit to execute the object detection processing on the gradation image obtained by causing the sensor unit to execute a light receiving operation in a state where the light emitting unit does not emit light (paragraphs [0017], [0053]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Ridderbusch discloses wherein the control unit performs evaluation processing of evaluating whether or not reflected light from the target object is received in an object detection pixel region in the sensor unit for every irradiation position of light while changing the irradiation position, the light being emitted by the light emitting unit in a partial region including an object detection region in the distance measurable range, and performs control to output, as a value of a distance to the target object, a value based on a distance in the object detection pixel region and calculated by the calculation unit in a setting state of an irradiation position at a time when evaluation is made that reflected light from the target object is received in the object detection pixel region, in a case where the evaluation is made in the evaluation processing (paragraphs [0048]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Ridderbusch discloses an optical transmission control unit configured to be switchable between a filter enabling mode in which an optical bandpass filter effect is applied to light received by the sensor unit and a filter disabling mode in which the optical bandpass filter effect is not applied to light received by the sensor unit, the optical bandpass filter effect setting a wavelength band of light emitted by the light emitting unit as a target wavelength band, wherein the control unit controls the optical transmission control unit to the filter enabling mode in a case where the sensor unit performs light reception for distance measurement, and controls the optical transmission control unit to the filter disabling mode in a case where the sensor unit performs light reception for the object detection processing (paragraphs [0037], [0046]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 11, Ridderbusch discloses a beam steering unit configured to perform beam steering on light emitted by the light emitting unit (ref 105, paragraphs [0048], [0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Ridderbusch discloses, wherein the object detection unit performs the object detection processing on a basis of the gradation image obtained by the sensor unit and a sensing image obtained by a different sensor unit that obtains a sensing image whose type is different from a type of a sensing image obtained by the sensor unit (ref 205, paragraphs [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Ridderbusch discloses a distance measuring device comprising:
a sensor unit configured to perform a light receiving operation for distance measurement by a ToF method (ref 111, paragraph [0049]), for reflected light obtained when an object reflects light emitted from a light emitting unit that emits light (ref 105, paragraph [0048]);
a calculation unit configured to calculate a distance by the ToF method on a basis of a light reception signal of the sensor unit;
an object detection unit configured to perform object detection processing on a basis of a sensing image obtained by sensing on a distance measurable range that is a view angle range in which distance measurement can be performed using the sensor unit (ref 111, paragraph [0056]); and
a control unit configured to control the calculation unit to calculate a distance to a target object on a basis of a light reception signal obtained by the sensor unit when a position according to a position of the target object detected by the object detection unit is irradiated with light emitted by the light emitting unit (paragraphs [0037], [0056], [0060], [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ridderbusch as applied to claim 1 or claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Belokonskiy (WO 2020/089062 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ridderbusch is silent regarding wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels.
However, Belokonskiy teaches a ToF device (abstract, Figs. 7, 8) including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels (page 8, line 25 – page 9, line 30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ridderbusch with the teaching of Belokonskiy by including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels in order to reduce measurement time and single processing time.
Regarding claim 5, Ridderbusch is silent regarding wherein the control unit gives an instruction to the sensor unit to perform partial reading of an object detection pixel region specified from an object detection processing result obtained by the object detection unit, and causes the calculation unit to calculate the distance on a basis of a light reception signal subjected to partial reading by the instruction.
However, Belokonskiy teaches a ToF device (abstract, Figs. 7, 8) including wherein the control unit gives an instruction to the sensor unit to perform partial reading of an object detection pixel region specified from an object detection processing result obtained by the object detection unit, and causes the calculation unit to calculate the distance on a basis of a light reception signal subjected to partial reading by the instruction (page 8, line 25 – page 9, line 30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ridderbusch with the teaching of Belokonskiy by including wherein the control unit gives an instruction to the sensor unit to perform partial reading of an object detection pixel region specified from an object detection processing result obtained by the object detection unit, and causes the calculation unit to calculate the distance on a basis of a light reception signal subjected to partial reading by the instruction in order to reduce measurement time and single processing time.
Regarding claim 8, Ridderbusch is silent regarding wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels, and the control unit causes the sensor unit to perform partial reading of a light reception signal of the object detection pixel region for the every irradiation position, and performs the evaluation on a basis of a light reception signal obtained by the partial reading, in the evaluation processing.
However, Belokonskiy teaches a ToF device (abstract, Figs. 7, 8) including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels, and the control unit causes the sensor unit to perform partial reading of a light reception signal of the object detection pixel region for the every irradiation position, and performs the evaluation on a basis of a light reception signal obtained by the partial reading, in the evaluation processing (page 8, line 25 – page 9, line 30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ridderbusch with the teaching of Belokonskiy by including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels, and the control unit causes the sensor unit to perform partial reading of a light reception signal of the object detection pixel region for the every irradiation position, and performs the evaluation on a basis of a light reception signal obtained by the partial reading, in the evaluation processing in order to reduce measurement time and single processing time.
Claims 4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ridderbusch as applied to claim 1 or claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Poikonen et al. (US 2021/0134854 A1), hereinafter “Poikonen”.
Regarding claim 4, Ridderbusch is silent regarding wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels.
However, Poikonen teaches a ToF device (abstract, Fig. 12A) including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels (paragraph [0424])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ridderbusch with the teaching of Poikonen by including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform partial reading of reading a light reception signal for only some pixels in order to reduce measurement time and single processing time.
Regarding claim 6, Ridderbusch is silent regarding wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform event-based type partial reading, and the control unit controls the calculation unit to calculate the distance on a basis of a light reception signal subjected to partial reading by the sensor unit.
However, Poikonen teaches a ToF device (abstract, Fig. 12A) including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform event-based type partial reading, and the control unit controls the calculation unit to calculate the distance on a basis of a light reception signal subjected to partial reading by the sensor unit (paragraph [0424])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ridderbusch with the teaching of Poikonen by including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform event-based type partial reading, and the control unit controls the calculation unit to calculate the distance on a basis of a light reception signal subjected to partial reading by the sensor unit in order to reduce measurement time and single processing time.
Regarding claim 9, Ridderbusch is silent regarding wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform event-based type partial reading, and the control unit performs evaluation as to whether or not reflected light from the target object is received in the object detection pixel region on a basis of whether or not a light reception signal is read in the sensor unit, as the evaluation for the every irradiation position.
However, Poikonen teaches a ToF device (abstract, Fig. 12A) including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform event-based type partial reading, and the control unit performs evaluation as to whether or not reflected light from the target object is received in the object detection pixel region on a basis of whether or not a light reception signal is read in the sensor unit, as the evaluation for the every irradiation position (paragraph [0424])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ridderbusch with the teaching of Poikonen by including wherein the sensor unit is configured to be able to perform event-based type partial reading, and the control unit performs evaluation as to whether or not reflected light from the target object is received in the object detection pixel region on a basis of whether or not a light reception signal is read in the sensor unit, as the evaluation for the every irradiation position in order to reduce measurement time and single processing time.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ridderbusch as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pastor et al. (US 2020/0110259 A1), hereinafter “Pastor”.
Regarding claim 12, Ridderbusch is silent regarding wherein the light emitting unit includes a plurality of light sources configured to emit light to individually different areas of the distance measurable range, and the control unit changes an irradiation position of light emitted by the light emitting unit in accordance with a light source to be caused to emit light among the plurality of light sources.
However, Pastor teaches an optical detection device (abstract, Fig. 2) including wherein the light emitting unit includes a plurality of light sources configured to emit light to individually different areas of the distance measurable range, and the control unit changes an irradiation position of light emitted by the light emitting unit in accordance with a light source to be caused to emit light among the plurality of light sources (paragraph [0062])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ridderbusch with the teaching of Pastor by including wherein the light emitting unit includes a plurality of light sources configured to emit light to individually different areas of the distance measurable range, and the control unit changes an irradiation position of light emitted by the light emitting unit in accordance with a light source to be caused to emit light among the plurality of light sources in order to reduce measurement time and single processing time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki (US 2005/0162638) teaches a device for generating range-image data including a range image represented by a graduation image.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877