DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024 & 10/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the specification does not identify this as different embodiment or clarify the difference and the figures are inconsistent; para. 0016 a cooling fin 52 is provided on the side edge of the cooling plate 5; see FIG. 1 cooling fin 52 provided on side edge, see FIG. 2 cooling fins 52 perpendicular to the side edge. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKADA (JP 2001111262 A) in view of L’Esperance et al. (US 20160197424 A1) and further in view of Goss(US5251099A), Petri (US 496065 A), and MICHINAKA (DE 102010036058 A1).
NAKADA teaches the lower-side substrate having a lower-side connector (plug 5 shown in FIG. 1) provided on an upper surface thereof; a step of positioning an upper-side substrate (printed circuit board 1 shown in FIG. 1), the upper-side substrate having an upper-side connector (connector 4 shown in FIG. 2) formed on a lower surface of the upper-side substrate in which a plurality of positioning through-holes (the printed circuit board 2 are inserted into the printed circuit board 1, lands for soldering are formed on the periphery. Many holes 6 are drilled. Shown in FIG. 1 para. 0037 para. 0041) are formed, by arranging the upper-side substrate on the cooling plate (flat plate 3 shown in FIG. 1 para. 014 a material such as aluminum is used for the flat plate para. 0037)
Regarding claim 1, NAKADA does not teach
a method for manufacturing a substrate cooling mechanism, comprising:
a step of arranging a lower-side substrate on a bottom surface of a housing
having an opening part formed in a side surface thereof
NAKADA does not explicitly teach;
and having the tip-end parts of the support members penetrate the positioning through-holes formed in the upper-side substrate; and
a step of inserting a cooling plate from the opening part formed in a side surface of the housing and disposing the cooling plate on the lower-side substrate, the cooling plate having through-holes formed therein;
a step of having a plurality of support members penetrate the through- holes formed in the cooling plate, each of the plurality of the support members having a male screw thread formed at a tip-end part thereof, and fixing the rear- end of each of the support members to the lower-side substrate;
a step of screwing a nut into a male screw thread of each of the tip-end parts of the support members so that the lower-side substrate and the upper-side substrate are brought closer to each other with the cooling plate sandwiched therebetween and having the upper-side connector and the lower-side connector penetrate the through-holes formed in the cooling plate and mated.
L’Esperance teaches a method for manufacturing a substrate cooling mechanism, comprising: a step of arranging a lower-side substrate on a bottom surface of a housing having an opening part formed in a side surface thereof (the cage 40 includes a front edge 43 and a rear wall 44 and can be formed by a top member 41a, a bottom member 41b and a rear member 41c fig. 3 para. 0029). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of L’Esperance, when combined the opening part formed in the side surface of the housing would be in the claimed location. The motivation allowing more space for the heat sink to dissipate heat (para. 0036).
L’Esperance teaches a step of inserting a cooling plate from the opening part formed in a side surface of the housing and disposing the cooling plate on the lower-side substrate (As noted above, a cage 40 is positioned around the housing 60 and helps shield the housing 60. Positioned between the ports 26, 28 is the thermal transfer module 70 that includes heat pipes 71 fig. 3 para. 0033). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of L’Esperance, when combined the opening part formed in the side surface of the housing would be in the claimed location. The motivation would be A heat sink can be coupled to the thermal management module to improve thermal dissipation (Abstract para. 1).
Goss teaches the cooling plate having through-holes formed therein; a step of having a plurality of support members penetrate the through- holes formed in the cooling plate (FIG. 6 shows the second heat sink 27 employed in the electronics package 10 of FIG. 1. The second heat sink 27 is shown having a conical outer edge 41 that engages the conical edge 38 of the wedge ring 31. Four slots 42 are shown that permit passage of connectors 44 on the third circuit card 25 that interconnect the third and fourth circuit cards 25, 26 together. Detailed Description para. 9). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of Goss, when combined the support members would be in the claimed location. The motivation securing the substrate and cooling plate within the housing (para. 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reversing the connector direction, such that the tip-end parts of the support member penetrate the positioning through-holes formed in the upper side substrate instead of the lower one, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) C
Petri teaches, each of the plurality of the support members having a male screw thread formed at a tip-end part thereof (The actuator 56 is a metal pin having a cylindrical tip portion 75 and a head portion 76 joined by a threaded shank portion 77 of larger diameter than the tip portion 75 fig. 1 para. 4), and fixing the rear- end of each of the support members to the lower-side substrate (Forming the spacer 55 is an open-ended sleeve have a body portion 61 shown in FIG. 1 para. 3). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of Petri, when combined the support member would be in the claimed location. The motivation utilizing improved spacer devices for separating and supporting a printed board from a chassis in the case of impact (background/summary para. 2).
ISHIBASHI teaches a step of screwing a nut into a male screw thread of each of the tip-end parts of the support members so that the lower-side substrate and the upper-side substrate are brought closer to each other with the cooling plate sandwiched therebetween and having the upper-side connector and the lower-side connector penetrate the through-holes formed in the cooling plate and mated (In addition, there are three stud bolts 10 correspondingly by soldering with opposite cooling main planes of the cooling plates 8th connected, which is in surface contact with the main planes of the module body 1a the semiconductor modules 1 are located. Each of these stud bolts 10 has a tip end portion passing through a hole 11 passes through a corresponding module body 1a is educated, and a mother 12 is so on a corresponding stud 10 screwed on that every semiconductor module 1 firmly on the heat sink 2 is secured. fig. 25 first embodiment para 27). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of NAKADA’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of ISHIBASHI, when combined the nut and screw would be in the claimed location. The motivation would be strength is reduced from hot heat produced during soldering, this is a strong way to press and fix in the tight space (second embodiment para. 6).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKADA (JP 2001111262 A) in view of L’Esperance et al. (US 20160197424 A1) and further in view of Goss(US5251099A), Petri (US 496065 A), and MICHINAKA (DE 102010036058 A1).
NAKADA teaches an upper-side substrate arranged on the cooling plate (flat plate 3 shown in FIG. 1 para. 014 a material such as aluminum is used for the flat plate para. 0037), the upper-side substrate having a plurality of positioning through-holes formed therein (the printed circuit board 2 are inserted into the printed circuit board 1, lands for soldering are formed on the periphery. Many holes 6 are drilled. Shown in FIG. 1 para. 0037 para. 0041)
NAKADA does not explicitly teach;
A substrate cooling mechanism, comprising: a housing having an opening part formed in a side surface thereof; a lower-side substrate having a lower-side connector provided on an upper surface thereof and arranged on a bottom surface side of the housing; a plurality of support members disposed on the lower-side substrate, each of the support members having a male screw thread formed at a tip-end part thereof;
a cooling plate having through-holes formed therein, the cooling plate being inserted from an opening part of the housing and disposed on the lower-side substrate; and
and having an upper-side connector provided on the lower surface of the upper-side substrate, wherein the support members penetrate the cooling plate, the tip-end parts of the support members penetrating the positioning through-holes formed in the upper- side substrate, and by screwing a nut into a male screw thread of each of the tip- end parts, the lower-side substrate and the upper-side substrate are brought closer to each other with the cooling plate sandwiched therebetween, and the upper-side connector and the lower-side connector penetrate the through-holes formed in the cooling plate and are mated.
L’Esperance teaches substrate cooling mechanism, comprising: a housing having an opening part formed in a side surface thereof; a lower-side substrate having a lower-side connector provided on an upper surface thereof and arranged on a bottom surface side of the housing; (the cage 40 includes a front edge 43 and a rear wall 44 and can be formed by a top member 41a, a bottom member 41b and a rear member 41c fig. 3 para. 0029). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of L’Esperance, when combined the opening part formed in the side surface of the housing would be in the claimed location. The motivation allowing more space for the heat sink to dissipate heat (para. 0036).
Petri teaches a plurality of support members disposed on the lower-side substrate board from a chassis in the case of impact (background(Forming the spacer 55 is an open-ended sleeve have a body portion 61 shown in FIG. 1 para. 3), each of the support members having a male screw thread formed at a tip-end part thereof; (The actuator 56 is a metal pin having a cylindrical tip portion 75 and a head portion 76 joined by a threaded shank portion 77 of larger diameter than the tip portion 75 fig. 1 para. 4). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of Petri, when combined the support member would be in the claimed location. The motivation utilizing improved spacer devices for separating and supporting a printed /summary para. 2).
L’Esperance teaches a cooling plate having through-holes formed therein, the cooling plate being inserted from an opening part of the housing and disposed on the lower-side substrate; and (As noted above, a cage 40 is positioned around the housing 60 and helps shield the housing 60. Positioned between the ports 26, 28 is the thermal transfer module 70 that includes heat pipes 71 fig. 3 para. 0033). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of L’Esperance, when combined the opening part formed in the side surface of the housing would be in the claimed location. The motivation would be A heat sink can be coupled to the thermal management module to improve thermal dissipation (Abstract para. 1).
Goss teaches and having an upper-side connector provided on the lower surface of the upper-side substrate, wherein the support members penetrate the cooling plate, (FIG. 6 shows the second heat sink 27 employed in the electronics package 10 of FIG. 1. The second heat sink 27 is shown having a conical outer edge 41 that engages the conical edge 38 of the wedge ring 31. Four slots 42 are shown that permit passage of connectors 44 on the third circuit card 25 that interconnect the third and fourth circuit cards 25, 26 together. Detailed Description para. 9). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of Goss, when combined the support members would be in the claimed location. The motivation securing the substrate and cooling plate within the housing (para. 8).
Petri teaches the tip-end parts (The actuator 56 is a metal pin having a cylindrical tip portion 75 and a head portion 76 joined by a threaded shank portion 77 of larger diameter than the tip portion 75 fig. 1 para. 4) of the support members penetrating the positioning through-holes formed in the upper- side substrate, (Forming the spacer 55 is an open-ended sleeve have a body portion 61 shown in FIG. 1 para. 3). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of TORU’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of Petri, when combined the support member would be in the claimed location. The motivation utilizing improved spacer devices for separating and supporting a printed board from a chassis in the case of impact (background/summary para. 2).
ISHIBASHI teaches and by screwing a nut into a male screw thread of each of the tip- end parts, the lower-side substrate and the upper-side substrate are brought closer to each other with the cooling plate sandwiched therebetween, and the upper-side connector and the lower-side connector penetrate the through-holes formed in the cooling plate and are mated (In addition, there are three stud bolts 10 correspondingly by soldering with opposite cooling main planes of the cooling plates 8th connected, which is in surface contact with the main planes of the module body 1a the semiconductor modules 1 are located. Each of these stud bolts 10 has a tip end portion passing through a hole 11 passes through a corresponding module body 1a is educated, and a mother 12 is so on a corresponding stud 10 screwed on that every semiconductor module 1 firmly on the heat sink 2 is secured. fig. 25 first embodiment para 27). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of NAKADA’s rack attaching substrate method to include the design of ISHIBASHI, when combined the nut and screw would be in the claimed location. The motivation would be strength is reduced from hot heat produced during soldering, this is a strong way to press and fix in the tight space (second embodiment para. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mok (US 20050168947 A1).
/HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763