DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 20200247986 in view of Hunter US 20120010329.
Regarding claims 1-10, Ito teaches a resin composition (Abstract). Ito teaches the resin composition is cured at 2 hours at 180C (Paragraph [0118]). Ito is silent on the thermal diffusivity rate of the composition. Ito also teaches the char generation rate is between 4 and 30% (Tables 1-3). Ito teaches the char generation rate is measured at 650C. Ito is silent on the char generation rate at 600C.
However, Ito teaches the composition comprises an amine-based hardener
where R1 is R 1 represents a hydrocarbon
group with a carbon number of 2 to 4 (Paragraph [0018-0019]) This reads on the structure of claim 4, chemical formula 1, where R is a hydrocarbon group having 1-4 carbon atoms. This reads on the limitations of claim 4.
Ito teaches the composition further comprises a thermoplastic resin (Paragraph [0074]). Ito also teaches the composition comprises thermoplastic resin particles (Paragraph [0076]). This reads on the limitations of claims 8 and 9.
Ito also teaches the composition comprises a component (A) where component A has the structure of
where R7 and R8 are each independently selected from a hydrogen atom, an aliphatic hydrocarbon group with a carbon number of 1 to 4, an alicyclic hydrocarbon group with a carbon number of 3 to 6, an aromatic hydrocarbon group with a carbon number of 6 to 10, a halogen atom, an acyl group, a trifluoromethyl group and a nitro group. (Paragraph [0038]). It would have been obvious to select this structure as the structure of component (A) because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
This reads on the limitations of claims 5 and 6 where R7 is a hydrocarbon having 1-4 carbon groups and X is a hydrogen atom. It would have been obvious to select this structure as the structure of component (A) because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Ito also teaches that component (A) is 10-50 parts by weight of the epoxy resins. This overlaps with claimed range of 10-60 parts by weight of component (C). This reads on the limitations of claim 7.
Ito also teaches the composition comprises a filler component such as carbon particles (Paragraph [0077]). However, Ito is silent on the carbon particle being graphite.
Hunter teaches an epoxy resin composition used in application for the aerospace industry, (Title, Paragraph [0098]). Hunter teaches the composition comprises an amine-based hardener and a filler (Paragraph [0069] and [0093]). Hunter teaches the filler can be graphite (Paragraph [0093]). It would have been obvious to select graphite as the filler because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Hunter also teaches impregnating fibers with the epoxy resin to form a prepreg (Paragraph [0012]).
Hunter teaches a similar composition for a similar application. It would have been obvious combine the teachings of Ito and Hunter and use the graphite filler of Hunter as the carbon particle filler of Ito because this represents a suitable filler identified by Hunter as being suitable for use in applications similar to Ito. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07. This reads on the limitations of claims 2 and 3.
Ito also teaches a prepreg composition can be formed by impregnating a reinforced fiber with the epoxy resin composition (Paragraph [0078]). This reads on the limitations of claim 10. Ito also teaches the resulting prepreg can be used in various applications including industrial equipment, civil engineering and aerospace engineering (Paragraph [0003]).
Ito in view of Hunter does not expressly disclose the char generation rate at 600C or the thermal diffusivity of the epoxy resin composition. Nevertheless, products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the epoxy resin composition of Ito in view of Hunter as described above will therefore necessarily possess the claimed char generation and thermal diffusivity.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762