Response to Amendment and Argument
Claims 1, 5-12 and 15-18 are pending and under examination in this office action.
.
Claims 1, 5, 9-12 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Is withdrawn bases on the amendment to the claims.
Maintained Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-12 and 16-18 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadakekuttu et al. (US 2018/0325105) in view of Bos et al. (WO 2021/074831).
Vadakekuttu teaches with regards to instant claim 1,a granular composition comprising fungicide (see 0064), that comprises inorganic compound (i.e., tribasic copper sulphate (-TBCS), as required by instant claims 1-2, see 0065), one or more anionic surfactant include wherein the sulfonic acid is ammonium lignosulfonate and alkylnaphthalene sulfonic acid (see 0099, 0100,0104, as required by instant claims 1b, 5-6). The reference also teaches a water-disintegrated granular (i.e., water-dispersible granular -WDG as required by instant claim 12, see abstract) comprising one or more fungicide tribasic copper sulfate (i.e., TBCS; see 0065) and zoxamide (see 0065). Additionally, the reference teaches that their composition is for controlling soil borne pest and disease (see 0015), wherein the composition is
However, Vadakekuttu fails to teach the ratio as recited by instant claim 1, 7-8.
Bos teaches the addition of sodium isopropyl naphthalene sulfonate, sodium lignosulfonate and fungicides such as prothioconazole and macozebin a composition for controlling fungi, thus a fungicidal composition (as required by instant claim 12) wherein the weight ration is 1:1 to 20:1 (20:1 to1:1, as required by instant claim 16, see example 6 wherein the weight ratio of the ionic surfactant is 171g/kg is 4.3:1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determine of the optimum therapeutic index. It is well within the level of the ordinary skill in the art, and the artisan to determine the optimum amounts to get the maximum effect of the drug, hence the reference makes obvious the instant invention. Therefore the combination of the cited prior art would have resulted in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regards to the ratio it would have been obvious to use the substitute granular pesticidal composition comprising pesticidal active such as fungicide comprising one or more of metalaxyl and tribasic copper sulfate or mixture thereof at 0.1% to 60%, 0.1% to 40% or 0.1% to 20% by weight, and surfactant at 0.1% to 85% or 0.1% to 40% such as dispersing agents (as required by instant claims 9-10)one or more of alkali metal salt of lignosulfonic acid, sodium salts of sulfonated naphthalene, salts of naphthalene sulfonic acids and formulate a granular fungicide comprising an inorganic copper compound and a benzamide and an anionic surfactant blend in a ratio from 10:1 to 1:1 as Vadkekekuttu makes it obvious to do so as the ratio of metalaxyl and tribasic copper sulfate to anionic surfactant 1:1 to 20:1 is easily obtained according to 0.1% to 60% of metalaxyl and tribasic copper sulfate as well as surfactant at 0.1% to 85% or 0.1% to 40%.
Applicant argues that “The primary reference, Vadakekuttu, is directed broadly to water-disintegrable agricultural granules containing nutrients, algae, or pesticidal active ingredients. The emphasis of Vadakekuttu is on granule technology and physical properties such as density, hardness, attrition resistance, and disintegration characteristics. Although Vadakekuttu identifies TBCS and zoxamide individually among an extensive list of possible pesticidal active ingredients, it does not disclose or suggest a fungicide component comprising the particular combination of TBCS and zoxamide. The mere inclusion of TBCS and zoxamide among numerous possible pesticidal active ingredients does not provide a reason for a person of ordinary skill in the art to select these two particular active ingredients and combine them in the manner presently claimed.
In response the instant claims do recite a granular composition comprising fungicide (see 0064), wherein the two agents tribasic copper sulfate and zoxamide and an anionic sulfate are present (see rejection above). Applicant should note that The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggests the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (see MPEP 2144). Therefore, Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive.
With regards to the weight ratios, it is within the purview of the skilled artisan to determine composition in the amounts as the amount is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of the active ingredient in order to best achieve the desired results. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of dosage amount would havebeen obvious at the time of applicant's invention.
Claim(s) 15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadakekuttu et al. (US 2018/0325105) for the reason below/
Vadakekuttu teaches with regards to instant claim 15, a process for preparing a water dispersible granular fungicidal composition comprising the agrochemical (i.e., inorganic copper compound and benzamide by mixing (blending to get a premix), and the granular coated.
The process of preparing a water dispersible granular fungi would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988).
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 15-18 stand provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 19-21 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18835471 in view of Vadakekuttu et al. (US 2018/0325105). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
· Both sets of claims refer to granular fungicidal composition comprising:(a) a fungicide component; and (b) an anionic surfactant blend; wherein a weight ratio of the fungicide component to the anionic surfactant blend is 1:1 to 20:1. in the copending applicationand the instant claima are drawn to a granular fungicidal composition comprising:(a) a fungicide component comprising an inorganic copper compound and a benzamide fungicide; and (b) an anionic surfactant blend; wherein a weight ratio of the fungicide component to the anionic surfactant blend is from about 10:1 to about 1:1. The current application claims are obvious variation of the copending application claims
· Both applications recite using the same compositions and/or derivatives thereof. Differ only in that the fungicide agent as a phenylalamide and the current claims fungicide is a benzamide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted one the benzamide for a phenylalamide and would expect a reasonable expectation of success. The compositions recited in the claims are anticipatory of each other.
· In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Applicant request holding the double patenting rejection in abeyance.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 09/25/26