CTNF 18/843,495 CTNF 92548 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, 9-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinzie et al. (US 8,896,167 B2) in view of Huang et al. (CN 111884428 A) . Regarding claim 1, McKinzie discloses a rotating electrical machine (16) comprising: a rotor (26) having a magnet (col. 1 ll. 56-58) disposed in a rotor core (44); and a stator (28) disposed radially outside of the rotor (26), wherein the rotor (26) is provided with a rotor shaft (24) on an inner circumferential side of the rotor (26), and the rotor shaft (24) is provided with, within the rotor shaft (24), a shaft channel (30) through which a coolant flows, the rotor (26) includes: a first channel (32) extending outside of the rotor shaft (24) in a radial direction, and having a first discharge port (40) opening radially outward; and a second channel (34, 36) extending outside of the rotor shaft (24) in the radial direction, extending along an axial direction inside the rotor core (26), and then extending outward in the radial direction, and having a second discharge port (42) opening radially outward, the first channel (32) and the second channel (34, 36) are connected to the shaft channel (30), and McKinzie does not disclose the second discharge port is disposed outside from the first discharge port in the radial direction. Huang discloses the second discharge port (35) is disposed outside from the first discharge port (36) in the radial direction (FIG. 19-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified McKinzie in view of Huang to disclose the second discharge port is disposed outside from the first discharge port in the radial direction, for the advantages of spraying the coolant away from the stator core by adjusting the angle of the discharge port. PNG media_image1.png 376 1100 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie further discloses a plurality of the first channels (32) and a plurality of the second channels (34, 36) are provided respectively at equal intervals in a circumferential direction. PNG media_image2.png 64 1074 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 62 1080 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie further discloses a number of the first channel (32) and a number of the second channel (34, 36) are identical (first channels are connected to the second channels, indicating that the number of first and second channels are equal). Regarding claim 6/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. Huang further discloses the second channel (311) is disposed so as to maintain one of magnetic pole symmetry and magnetic pole pair symmetry (outlets are symmetrically arranged). Regarding claim 9/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie further discloses the first channel (32) and the second channel (34, 36) share a connection portion to the shaft channel (30; FIG. 3). Regarding claim 10/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. Huang further discloses the second channel (36) has an upstream-side cross-sectional channel area equal to or larger than a downstream-side cross-sectional channel area (aperture size is uniform or smaller). Regarding claim 11/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. Huang further discloses a cross-sectional channel area of the first channel (32) is equal to or larger than a cross-sectional channel area of the second channel (34, 36; the channels are made to be the same in shape). Regarding claim 14/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie further discloses the rotor shaft (24) has an opening at one end (right end), and another end (left end) of the rotor shaft (24) is solid, in the axial direction. Regarding claim 15/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie further discloses the opening at the one end of the rotor shaft (24) is connected to a coolant pump (20). Regarding claim 16/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. Huang further discloses a vehicle driving device that drives a vehicle (300), the vehicle driving device comprising the rotating electrical machine (100) according to claim 1 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinzie et al. (US 8,896,167 B2) in view of Huang et al. (CN 111884428 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 11,611,253 B2) . Regarding claim 4/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie does not disclose the rotor includes: a third channel extending outward of the rotor shaft in the radial direction, and having a third discharge port opening radially outward; and a fourth channel extending along the axial direction inside the rotor core, and then extending outward in the radial direction, and having a fourth discharge port opening radially outward, the third channel and the fourth channel are connected to the shaft channel, the fourth discharge port is disposed outside from the third discharge port in the radial direction, and a connecting portion of the first channel and a connecting portion of the second channel with the shaft channel are located on one side of the rotor shaft, and a connecting portion of the third channel and a connecting portion of the fourth channel with the shaft channel are located on another side of the rotor shaft. Chen discloses the rotor (100) includes: a third channel (119A) extending outward of the rotor shaft (101) in the radial direction; and a fourth channel (118A, 121A) extending along the axial direction inside the rotor core (105), and then extending outward in the radial direction, and having a fourth discharge port (FIG. 3) opening radially outward, the third channel (119A) and the fourth channel (118A, 121A) are connected to the shaft channel (FIG. 3), a connecting portion of the first channel (119) and a connecting portion of the second channel (118, 121) with the shaft channel are located on one side of the rotor shaft (101), and a connecting portion of the third channel (119A) and a connecting portion of the fourth channel (118A, 121A) with the shaft channel are located on another side of the rotor shaft (101; FIG. 3). Chen discloses that the end plates 103 and 104 are identical to each other. Chen’s disclosure can be implemented into McKinzie to have the end plates 46 and 48 to be identical to each other, which would disclose having a third discharge port (same as the first discharge port) opening radially outward and the fourth discharge port (same as the second discharge port) is disposed outside from the third discharge port in the radial direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified McKinzie in view of Huang, further in view of Chen to disclose the rotor includes: a third channel extending outward of the rotor shaft in the radial direction, and having a third discharge port opening radially outward; and a fourth channel extending along the axial direction inside the rotor core, and then extending outward in the radial direction, and having a fourth discharge port opening radially outward, the third channel and the fourth channel are connected to the shaft channel, the fourth discharge port is disposed outside from the third discharge port in the radial direction, and a connecting portion of the first channel and a connecting portion of the second channel with the shaft channel are located on one side of the rotor shaft, and a connecting portion of the third channel and a connecting portion of the fourth channel with the shaft channel are located on another side of the rotor shaft, for the advantages of a bidirectional cross cooling to increase the cooling of the rotor, and reduce production cost by having the end plates identical to each other. Regarding claim 5/4, McKinzie in view of Huang and Chen was discussed above in claim 4. Chen further discloses a flow direction of the second channel (118) along the axial direction and a flow direction of the fourth channel (118A) along the axial direction are opposing to each other (FIG. 3) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinzie et al. (US 8,896,167 B2) in view of Huang et al. (CN 111884428 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujiyoshi et al. (JP 2011-142788 A) . Regarding claim 8/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie in view of Huang does not disclose the first channel and the second channel each independently communicate with the shaft channel. Fujiyoshi discloses the first channel (25 left) and the second channel (25 right) each independently communicate with the shaft channel (19; FIG. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified McKinzie in view of Huang, further in view of Fujiyoshi to disclose the first channel and the second channel each independently communicate with the shaft channel, for the advantages of improving the cooling to increase output and efficiency. Regarding claim 12/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie in view of Huang does not disclose the rotor shaft includes a first shaft channel hole communicating with the first channel and a second shaft channel hole communicating with the second channel, and a cross-sectional area of the first shaft channel hole is equal to or smaller than a cross-sectional area of the second shaft channel hole. Fujiyoshi discloses the rotor shaft (16) includes a first shaft channel hole (20 left) communicating with the first channel (25 left) and a second shaft channel hole (20 right) communicating with the second channel (25 right), and a cross-sectional area of the first shaft channel hole (20 left) is equal to or smaller than a cross-sectional area of the second shaft channel hole (20 right; FIG. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified McKinzie in view of Huang, further in view of Fujiyoshi to disclose the rotor shaft includes a first shaft channel hole communicating with the first channel and a second shaft channel hole communicating with the second channel, and a cross-sectional area of the first shaft channel hole is equal to or smaller than a cross-sectional area of the second shaft channel hole, for the advantages of improving the cooling to increase output and efficiency . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinzie et al. (US 8,896,167 B2) in view of Huang et al. (CN 111884428 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsubara et al. (US 8,080,908 B2) . Regarding claim 13/1, McKinzie in view of Huang was discussed above in claim 1. McKinzie in view of Huang does not disclose a first end plate disposed outside of the rotor core on one side in the axial direction; and a second end plate disposed outside of the first end plate on one side in the axial direction, wherein a part of the first channel and a part of the second channel are defined by being sandwiched respectively between the first end plate and the second end plate, and between the first end plate and the rotor core. Matsubara discloses a first end plate (41) disposed outside of the rotor core (11) on one side in the axial direction; and a second end plate (14) disposed outside of the first end plate (41) on one side in the axial direction, wherein a part of the first channel (31) and a part of the second channel (26) are defined by being sandwiched respectively between the first end plate (41) and the second end plate (14), and between the first end plate (41) and the rotor core (11; the channel passes between the first end plate and the rotor core at the connection point between the first channel and the second channel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified McKinzie in view of Huang, further in view of Matsubara to disclose a first end plate disposed outside of the rotor core on one side in the axial direction; and a second end plate disposed outside of the first end plate on one side in the axial direction, wherein a part of the first channel and a part of the second channel are defined by being sandwiched respectively between the first end plate and the second end plate, and between the first end plate and the rotor core, for the advantages of effective cooling the rotor core to decrease iron loss . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 7/1, the specific limitation of “the second channel (132a, 135a) is disposed so as to maintain none of magnetic pole symmetry and magnetic pole pair symmetry (FIG. 10)” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record. None of the prior arts discloses the cooling channels are located to be non-symmetrical. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MINKI CHANG whose telephone number is (571)270-0521. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Seye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/843,495 Page 12 Art Unit: 2834