DETAILED ACTION
2. The preliminary amendment has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 113925154 – English translation).
This reference teaches a food composition (which reads on a pharmaceutical) comprising Pericarpium Zanthoxyli (sancho as defined by applicant on page 2 of the specification) and wasabi leaf. The ingredients are mixed with juices (see English abstract). This would create an extract of the ingredients.
The reference does not teach that the composition is used for the same purposes as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 1020030064902 (English translation provided by applicant in the IDS filed September 3, 2024) and KR 102006083915 (English translation provided by applicant in the IDS filed September 3, 2024).
KR ‘902 teaches a method for treating periodontal disease using a composition comprising wasabi leaf extracts. The extract is made using ethanol. In addition, the composition is formulated as a pharmaceutical or toothpaste (see paragraphs 1, 5, 8, and 24).
KR ‘915 teaches a method for treating periodontal disease (including gingivitis and periodontitis) using a composition comprising sancho (Zanthoxylum schinifolium) extract. The extract is made using ethanol or aqueous ethanol. The composition is formulated as a toothpaste, pharmaceutical, or cream (see paragraphs 1, 2, 12-19, 34 and 42).
These references show that it was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to use the claimed ingredients in compositions that treat periodontal disease. It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art.
Based on the disclosure by these references that these substances are used in compositions to treat periodontal disease, an artisan of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that a combination of the substances would also be useful in creating compositions to treat periodontal disease. Therefore, the artisan would have been motivated to combine the claimed ingredients into a single composition. No patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
The references do not specifically teach adding the ingredients together in the amounts claimed by applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” The references teach the use of each of the ingredients in a pharmaceutical composition. Varying the concentration of ingredients within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, applicant’s specification asserts that the combination of the ingredients produces a synergistic result. However, the results shown in the specification are not commensurate in scope with the broadly claimed invention. In addition, it is unclear if the results are synergistic rather than an expected additive effect. Thus, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
6. Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 1020030064902 (English translation provided by applicant in the IDS filed September 3, 2024) and KR 102006083915 (English translation provided by applicant in the IDS filed September 3, 2024) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9-16 above, and further in view of Park (Kor. J. Hort. Sci. Technol. (2006), vol. 24, no. 4, pp. 480-487) and Fang (Bulletin of the Korean Chemical Society (2010), vol. 32, no. 4, 5 pages).
The teachings of KR ‘902 and KR ‘915 are discussed above. The references do not discuss the concentrations of sinigrin in the extracts. However, each reference teaches that the effectiveness of the extracts in the treatment of periodontal disease is based on their antibacterial activity (see paragraph 7 of KR ‘902 and paragraph 4 of KR ‘915).
Park teaches that wasabi leaves contain sinigrin as an active antimicrobial component (see abstract). In addition, Fang teaches that Z. schinifolium (sancho) also contains sinigrin (see column 1 of page 1). Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that the extracts of KR ‘902 and KR ‘915 would show improved treatment of periodontal disease if the extracts were modified to obtain an optimal concentration of sinigrin as an active antibacterial agent. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify the extracts of KR ‘902 and KR ‘915 to obtain an optimized concentration of sinigrin.
7. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655