DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, it is unclear how the sonotrode can be touching the workpiece and the processing slide then be moved to the starting position by movement in the direction of the end position, i.e. moved downward since the sonotrode is already touching the workpiece and there is no room to move it downward as the workpiece is in the way. AS the scope of this claim cannot be determined, no rejection can be made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Soda(JP 2004-276255).
Soda discloses a welding apparatus comprising an ultrasonic welder comprising a stand(24), a welding unit with a sonotrode(21), a set slide connected to the stand which can be moved vertically(shaft 23B), a processing slide connected to the welding unit and thus to the set slide(26A), a set motor for the set slide(13), and a processing motor for the processing slide(23A) which moves the welder vertically.([0012]-[0017],Figure 1)
Regarding claim 2, Soda discloses a base the workpiece is placed on(anvil) and moving the device towards the workpiece.(Figure 1, [0012])
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Soda shows the setting slide only moves vertical on the shaft(12) which acts as a linear guide.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Soda teaches the processing motor is an air cylinder, which is pneumatic.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Soda discloses moving the setting slide until the sonotrode is in contact with the workpiece and moving it downward with the processing slide to the end of the work.[0019]
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Matsuda et al.(JP 2013-63521).
Matsuda et al. discloses a welding apparatus comprising an ultrasonic welder comprising a stand(10), a welding unit with a sonotrode(44), a set slide connected to the stand which can be moved vertically(20), a processing slide(40) connected to the welding unit and thus to the set slide, a set motor for the set slide(13), and a processing motor(28) for the processing slide which moves the welder vertically.(machine translation, Figure 1)
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda et al discloses a base the workpiece is placed on(11) and moving the device towards the workpiece.(Figure 1, machine translation
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Matsuda et al. shows the setting slide only moves vertically on the shaft(20) which acts as a linear guide.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Matsuda et al. teaches the processing motor is an air cylinder, which is pneumatic.
Regarding claim 5 and 17, Matsuda et a. detects the amount of the horn descends into the workpiece when it melts. This is the displacement, and one in the art would understand that detects the amount would require a sensor to detect it.
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda et al. discloses a force sensor which measures a force applied to the workpiece.(Abstract)
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda et al .discloses a controller which stores data for a plurality of start and end points, i.e. movement profiles.(machine translation)
Regarding claim 9, a spring is located between the stand and the welder which acts in the Z direction.(32b)
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Matsuda et al. discloses moving the setting slide until the sonotrode is in contact with the workpiece and moving it downward with the processing slide to the end of the work.(machine translation)
Regarding claim 14, the welding force is detected and the bonding begins when the desired welding force is met.(machine translation)
Regarding claim 15, a spring is provided between the stand and the welding unit which moves it vertically and the welding presses against the spring force and it reaches a set welding force.(machine translation)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al.
Matsuda et al. does not disclose a clamp which fixes the welding device in place prior to welding. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to fix to lock the welding head in place when in use so it could not move since ultrasonic vibrations transmitted through the device could otherwise move the welding head away from its desired location as is well-known and conventional with adjustable equipment.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746