Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the present application.
Claims 1-2 are original; and claims 3-9 are currently amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs dated 25 November 2024 and 02 April 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 4-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Blanckenhagen (US20220107451).
Re: claim 1, Von Blanckenhagen discloses a method for producing a spectacle lens (para. 6 discloses spectacles) with a base material (para. 92 discloses that approximately 4-14 layers of the dielectric layer stack function to provide mechanical stability) and a metal atom-containing layer disposed on the base material (para. 60 discloses silver, gold, aluminum, chromium, titanium, or iron, and para. 61 discloses that the device is comprised of both dielectric layers and of a metal layer), the method comprising: forming the metal atom-containing layer on the base material (formation disclosed in para. 61), a vapor deposition source provided with a carrier that contains at least one granule selected from the group consisting of silicon dioxide (SiO2), zirconium oxide (IV) (ZrO2), and titanium oxide (IV) (TiO2) (carrier comprising SiO2 and TiO2 disclosed in para. 207) and carries a metal particle containing at least one metal (paras. 60 & 61 disclosed at least one metal).
While Von Blankenhagen does not explicitly disclose that the metal atom-containing is applied specifically using electron beam vapor disposition, Von Blankenhagen does disclose the use of PVD to apply all of the layers (paras. 42-43). Official notice is taken that there are approximately five types of PVD processes; namely, thermal evaporation, electron-beam, sputter, pulsed laser, and arc, and that electron-beam PVD is frequently used in the coating of optical devices. A person of ordinary skill at a time prior to the effective date would have been motivated to use electron-beam PVD in particular because it permits the creation of highly precise layer thicknesses. Hence, the claim limitation is the obvious application of a known technique to a known device that yields predictable results.
Re: claim 2, Von Blankenhagen discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Von Blankenhagen further discloses that the average particle diameter D50 of the granule is 0.1 to 5.0 mm (paras. 99-100 discloses 0.001 to 0.5 mm, which overlaps with the claimed range).
Re: claim 4, Von Blankenhagen discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Von Blankenhagen further discloses that in the metal particle includes silver (para. 60).
Re: claim 5, Von Blankenhagen discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Von Blankenhagen further discloses that the metal particle contains at least one selected from the group consisting of platinum, gold, palladium, mercury, cadmium, cobalt, nickel, copper, zinc, titanium, molybdenum, and tungsten (para. 60 discloses gold and titanium).
Re: claim 7, Von Blankenhagen discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Von Blankenhagen further discloses that the spectacle lens further has an anti-reflection film disposed on the base material (paras. 81 and 91 disclose alternating refractive index layers TiO2 and SiO2 as antireflection layers, where para. 92 discloses that the first 4-14 layers of TiO2 and SiO2 function as the base material and the additional layers of alternative TiO2 and SiO2 function as the antireflection layer; and where the table in para. 158 discloses 20 total layers, the table in para. 160 discloses 22 total layers, the table in para. 162 discloses 24 total layers, etc.), and the metal atom-containing layer is disposed on the anti-reflection film (disposition disclosed in paras. 60-61).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 8, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANGELA M. MEDICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871