DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to Preliminary Amendment made to an Application No. 18/843,543 filed on 09/03/2024 in which claims 3-5, 8, 15-16, 19, 23-25, 28, 35-36, 39, and 41-42 are amended and claims 6-7, 9-14, 17-18, 20, 26-27, 29-34, 37-38, and 40 are canceled.
Accordingly, Claims 1-5, 8, 15-16, 19, 21-25, 28, 35-36, 39, and 41-42 are currently pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 09/03/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 09/03/2024 and 01/09/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 36, 41, and 42 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 16 and 36 are objected to because they include reference characters (i.e., acronyms) are not enclosed within parentheses. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 41 recites “An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to…” in line 1-2. For clarity and formality, it is suggested to insert the colon ":" after the word -- comprising: -- in order to properly demarcate the preamble and the body of the claim.
Claim 41 recites “An apparatus” in the preamble which is directed to a machine type claim but the body of the claim appears to include only “a processor”. As per MPEP § 2106, a machine type defines as follow: “A machine is a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices.” Thus, it is suggested to include multiple hardware structures.
Claim 42 recites “A non-transitory computer readable medium…, to implement a method recited in claim 1.” For clarity and formality, it is suggested to incorporate steps/processes recited in claim 1 into claim 42.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 15-16, 19, 21-25, 28, 35-36, 39, and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US 2022/0039070 A1) hereinafter “Takeda” in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0101753 A1) hereinafter “Khoshnevisan”. The U.S. reference, Takeda, was cited in IDS filed on 09/03/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Takeda discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a radio configuration indicating M resource sets, wherein M is a positive integer (see FIG. 2 and 4; see ¶ [0154] [0156], the base station may transmit an RRC message to the UE based on identifying the communications configuration for communications between the UE and the base station and the communications configuration may include at least a first set of resources and a second set of resources);
receiving, after receiving the radio configuration, a scheduling message, wherein a scheduling information for each given reference resource included in the scheduling message applies to remaining resources in a corresponding resource set that includes the given reference resource (see FIG. 2 and 4; see ¶ [0161-62], the base station may transmit a DCI message to the UE, the DCI message may be used to reference the one or more configurations of the resource configuration to identify sets of resources which are to be released); and
operating the wireless device according to the scheduling message (see FIG. 2 and 4; see ¶ [0163] [0171], the DCI message is configured for scheduling transmissions or re-transmissions of resources and identify one or more sets of resources which are to be released based on identifying the communications configuration for communications between the UE and the base station).
Takeda does not explicitly disclose each of the M resource sets corresponds to N associated resources.
However, Khoshnevisan discloses wherein each of the M resource sets corresponds to N associated resources, wherein N is an integer greater than 1, wherein the N associated resources include a reference resource (see FIG. 7 and 9; see ¶ [0087] [0120], an SRS resource set may include one or more resources (e.g., shown as SRS resources), which may include time resources and/or frequency resources. The first SRS resource set includes four SRS resources and the second SRS resource set includes three SRS resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide each of the M resource sets corresponds to N associated resources as taught by Khoshnevisan, in the system of Takeda, so that it would provide to reduce the complexity for the mobile station handling DCI scheduling uplink communications, conserving resources of the mobile station (e.g., processing resources, power resources, and/or the like) and enabling efficient multi-TRP network communications, which may reduce wireless network congestion and lead to improved communications quality on the wireless network (Khoshnevisan: see ¶ [0157]).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the radio configuration is received in a message at a layer higher than a physical layer (Takeda: see ¶ [0156], the base station may transmit an RRC message to the UE).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the reference resource is indicated in the radio configuration (Takeda: see ¶ [0154], the communications configuration may include at least a first set of resources and a second set of resources).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the method further satisfies at least one of the following: the scheduling message is a semi-persistent scheduling message (Takeda: see ¶ [0057], DCI messages may be used to signal semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grants that schedule resources for downlink transmissions from the base station to the UE).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the scheduling message is received at a layer below layer 3 (Takeda: see ¶ [0161], the base station may transmit a DCI message to the UE).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the N associated resources satisfy one of the following: each resources of the N associated resource is associated with a corresponding carrier (Takeda: see ¶ [0096], DCI message may indicate multiple different resources, each resource associated with one of the component carriers and Khoshnevisan: see ¶ [0072], The base station may transmit, to the UE, DCI that schedules multiple communications for the UE. The multiple communications may be scheduled for at least two different cells (e.g., two different TRPs). In some cases, a cell may be referred to as a component carrier (CC)).
Regarding claims 15 and 35, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses wherein associated resources of a given resource set are configured according to one of following schemes: 1) one associated resource is associated with multiple carriers (Takeda: see ¶ [0096], DCI message may indicate multiple different resources, each resource associated with one of the component carriers and Khoshnevisan: see ¶ [0072], The base station may transmit, to the UE, DCI that schedules multiple communications for the UE. The multiple communications may be scheduled for at least two different cells (e.g., two different TRPs). In some cases, a cell may be referred to as a component carrier (CC)).
Regarding claims 16 and 36, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the operating the wireless device comprises at least one of the following: operating the wireless device according to a Semi-Persistent Scheduling, SPS, received from the radio configuration and the scheduling message (Takeda: see ¶ [0057], DCI messages may be used to signal semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grants that schedule resources for downlink transmissions from the base station to the UE).
Regarding claims 19 and 39, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses in a case where the operating the wireless device comprises at least one of operating the wireless device according to an uplink grant received from the radio configuration and the scheduling message (Takeda: see ¶ [0057], DCI messages may also be used to signal configured grants (CGs) that schedule resources for uplink transmissions from the UE to the base station).
Regarding claim 21, Takeda discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a network device to a wireless device, a radio configuration indicating M resource sets, wherein M is a positive integer (see FIG. 2 and 4; see ¶ [0154] [0156], the base station may transmit an RRC message to the UE based on identifying the communications configuration for communications between the UE and the base station and the communications configuration may include at least a first set of resources and a second set of resources);
transmitting, after receiving the radio configuration, a scheduling message, wherein a scheduling information for each given reference resource included in the scheduling message applies to remaining resources in a corresponding resource set that includes the given reference resource (see FIG. 2 and 4; see ¶ [0161-62], the base station may transmit a DCI message to the UE, the DCI message may be used to reference the one or more configurations of the resource configuration to identify sets of resources which are to be released); and
operating the wireless device according to the scheduling message (see FIG. 2 and 4; see ¶ [0163] [0171], the DCI message is configured for scheduling transmissions or re-transmissions of resources and identify one or more sets of resources which are to be released based on identifying the communications configuration for communications between the UE and the base station).
Takeda does not explicitly disclose each of the M resource sets corresponds to N associated resources.
However, Khoshnevisan discloses wherein each of the M resource sets corresponds to N associated resources, wherein N is an integer greater than 1, wherein the N associated resources include a reference resource (see FIG. 7 and 9; see ¶ [0087] [0120], an SRS resource set may include one or more resources (e.g., shown as SRS resources), which may include time resources and/or frequency resources. The first SRS resource set includes four SRS resources and the second SRS resource set includes three SRS resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide each of the M resource sets corresponds to N associated resources as taught by Khoshnevisan, in the system of Takeda, so that it would provide to reduce the complexity for the mobile station handling DCI scheduling uplink communications, conserving resources of the mobile station (e.g., processing resources, power resources, and/or the like) and enabling efficient multi-TRP network communications, which may reduce wireless network congestion and lead to improved communications quality on the wireless network (Khoshnevisan: see ¶ [0157]).
Regarding claim 42, the combined system of Takeda and Khoshnevisan discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having code stored thereon, the code when executed by a processor (Takeda: see ¶ [0309-10], a non-transitory storage medium), causing the processor to implement a method recited in claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 set forth in above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 2019/0281588 A1) (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0182-84])
Jia et al. (US 2023/0254073 A1) teaches a network device determines control information including resource scheduling indication information of data on different carriers, the resource scheduling indication information is used for resource scheduling of the data on the different carriers, the data cross different carriers may be scheduled by the control information (see Abstract).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462