Priority
This application draws priority from PCT application filed on 03/04/2022
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending.
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are examined herein.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 15, 19, and subsequently dependent claims reference a Solanum lycopersicum species containing the Sw-8 gene (Seq ID NO: 2) encoding the protein with the SEQ ID NO: 1. The applicant demonstrates the transfer of the gene from Solanum peruvianum into Solanum lycopersicum by crossing with little information on how many backcrosses were performed. A cross between Solanum lycopersicum and Solanum peruvianum is commonly referred to as a F1 hybrid. To fully recover the recurrent parent, it would take multiple generations of backcrossing to bring a single trait over from the donor parent so enough of the recurrent parent’s genome is retained according to Hasan, Muhammad Mahmudul, et al. "Marker-assisted backcrossing: a useful method for rice improvement." Biotechnology & Biotechnological Equipment 29.2 (2015): 237-254 page 3 paragraph 4 and Figure 1 below. Therefore, progeny from a cross between Solanum lycopersicum and Solanum peruvianum will not be considered Solanum lycopersicum, but a F1 hybrid.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1)]
Specification
Applicant should review document for undefined acronyms in the specification, such as MAMP on page 3 line 6. The examiner was also unclear about what plants were tested in the first 4 rows in Table 2 as the plant names in the first columns were undefined in the specification. Clarification on breeding strategy on page 7 paragraph 5 is also requested. Specifically, on what plants were crossed to generate F1 hybrids. Clarity on how the resistant plant “LYC00346, S. lycopersicum”, introduced on page 9 paragraph 1, was generated is also requested. The sequence on page 13 line 11 is required to have a SEQ ID NO. All sequences in the disclosure must conform to CFR §§ 1.821 -1.825 (see MPEP §2422) which requires all sequences in claims and specification to be given SEQ ID NOs.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 draws dependence from claim 1 which is directed to a Solanum lycopersicum. There was little mention of backcrossing in the specification which would convey to the examiner that the deposited seeds were Solanum lycopersicum.
Claim 21 is objected to under 37 CFR § 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 18. Claim 21 is directed to a method for detecting the TSWV resistance gene. However, claim 18 already recites the same markers can be used to identify the TSWV gene in a breeding strategy. Applicant is advised that should claim 18 be found allowable, claim 21 will be objected to under 37 CFR § 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Multiple Dependent Claims
Claims 13, 15 and 21 draw dependence from both claims 11 and 12. Claims 13, 15 and 21 as well as all dependent claims, are objected to under 37 CFR § 1.75(c) as being in improper form (i) because a multiple dependent claim shall not serve as a basis for any other multiple dependent claim, and (ii) because of the unacceptable multiple dependent claim wording, where the claim does not refer back in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. §101 reads as follows:
Claims 1, 11-12, 15, and 19 as well as dependent claims 2-10, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The listed claims
Gramazio, Pietro, et al. "Morphoagronomic characterization and whole-genome resequencing of eight highly diverse wild and weedy S. pimpinellifolium and S. lycopersicum var. cerasiforme accessions used for the first interspecific tomato MAGIC population." Horticulture research 7 (2020) teaches that the Solanum lycopersicum var. cerasiforme in found in nature. Its natural habitat is described on page 2 paragraph 3 and is known to readily cross with other Solanum lycopersicum varieties which was taught in the abstract. A NCBI BLAST of SEQ ID NOs: 2-4 identified a sequence (ACCESSION XM_069290823) with ~95% identity and 100% coverage in Solanum lycopersicum which was marked with a black arrow in screenshot 1. The encoded protein in the example shares 91.4% similarity to SEQ ID NO:1 (Screenshots 2 and 3). Additionally the white arrow in screenshot 1 indicates another example of this sequence being mapped to Solanum lycopersicum’s chromosome 11. Regarding claims 15 and 19, which recites methods of transferring a Tomato spotted wilt virus (TSWV) resistance gene to Solanum lycopersicum. This phenomenon would also occurs in nature as the Solanum lycopersicum var. cerasiforme, which has a gene with 95% similar identity to SEQ ID NOs 2-4, is readily crossed with other cultivated Solanum lycopersicum varieties according to the abstract of Gramazio et al 2020.
[AltContent: textbox (Screenshot 1)]
[AltContent: textbox (NCBI BLAST results of SEQ ID NO: 4)]
[AltContent: textbox (Screenshot 2)]
[AltContent: textbox (Screenshot 3)]
Sequence 1: SEQ ID NO: 1
Sequence 2: GeneID:138339241
Note: This screenshot does not show the entire alignment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Regarding claims 4, 13,15, 18, and 21 as well as dependent claims 5, 14, and 17, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 4, 13,15, 18, and 21 recite the broad recitation along with the phrases “preferably” and “for example” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 encompassing a tomato spotted wilt virus resistance gene are rejected as being anticipated under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) over Huang et al 2008 seen in screenshot 4. Screenshot 4 shows a NCBI BLAST result, which has greater than 90% sequence similarity to SEQ ID NO: 4, and is indicated by the white arrow in Screenshot 1. Screenshot 4 shows this gene, directed to by claim 11 and SEQ ID NO: 4, is already present in the Solanum lycopersicum’s genome, as taught by Huang et al 2008. The same BLAST result is identified when SEQ ID NO:3 is used as the query (claim 12). Regarding claims 13-14, the prior art sequences have the function of providing Tospovirus resistance, including TSWV with C118Y and T120N mutations in their non-structural movement proteins, because they have the structure that is required for the claimed function, absent evidence to the contrary.
[AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (Screenshot 4)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 encompassing a plant are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al 2008 in view of Roselló, Salvador, et al. "Resistance to Tomato spotted wilt virus introgressed from Lycopersicon peruvianum in line UPV 1 may be allelic to Sw-5 and can be used to enhance the resistance of hybrids cultivars." Euphytica 119.3 (2001): 357-367, US-20020062504-A1, and Fidan, H., and N. Sari. "Molecular characterization of resistance-breaking tomato spotted wilt virus (TSWV) isolate medium segment in tomato." Applied Ecology & Environmental Research 17.2 (2019).
Claims 1-10 are directed to a Solanum lycopersicum species (see claim interpretation of this document) that is resistant to the TSWV, including TSWV that contains mutations in a non-structural movement protein. The plant encodes one of the nucleotide coding sequence listed in SEQ ID NOs: 2-4 and encodes a protein with an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1. The plant can also be homozygous for the TSWV resistance gene which can have originated from Solanum peruvianum. Applicant’s claimed plant can also harbor the known TSWV resistance, Sw-5 gene.
Huang et al 2008 teaches the sequence of Solanum lycopersicum’s chromosome 11 has been sequenced since 2008 (See screenshot 4) and has ~91% sequence similarity to the nucleotide sequences directed to in claims 2-3. Even though Huang et al 2008 does not explicitly teach the sequences of SEQ ID NO 1, the polynucleotide that encodes obvious variants of SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been disclosed. Additionally, claim 7 is drawn to a Solanum lycopersicum plant with the resistance gene, which is already disclosed in Huang et al 2008, indicating a Solanum lycopersicum plant that reads on the deposit with accession number NCIMB 43771 existed prior the filing date.
Huang et al 2008 does not explicitly teach this gene’s ability to convey resistance to TSWV, any other Tospovirus, or the TSWV resistance gene originating from Solanum peruvianum.
With respect to claims 9-10, Roselló et al 2001 teaches the introgression of a Tomato spotted wilt virus resistance gene into Solanum lycopersicum (see claims 1 and 4) from Solanum peruvianum (i.e. claim 9) to generate the UPV 1 breeding line (i.e. plant directed to in claim 10). This is taught on page 2 paragraph 6 in the “Plant Material” section. It describes how the PE-18 accession of Solanum peruvianum was crossed with the Solanum lycopersicum line Fortuna C. It then teaches backcrossing in the passage “Once incompatibility barriers were overcome, in the third backcross the recurrent parent was changed to the L. esculentum hybrid Arletta which has better agronomic traits. UPV 1, which is a thirteenth generation selection shows no evidence of L. peruvianum morphological or agronomic characters, except for resistance to TSWV”. In regards to claims 4, 6, and 8, which recite a homozygous tospovirus resistance gene as well as a plant with the Sw-5 gene; Roselló et al 2001 teaches “This gene (i.e. Sw-5) when homozygous confers a high level of resistance to mechanical inoculation of some TSWV isolates, and also to other members of the genus Tospovirus, including groundnut ringspot virus (GRSV), tomato chlorotic spot virus (TCSV) and even groundnut bud necrosis virus (GBNV). The Sw-5 gene has been widely used by breeders due to its wide protection in different regions of the world, its mono genic dominant inheritance and its good expression in the genetic background of L. esculentum” on page 2 paragraph 1. Page 2 paragraph 7 also lists crosses where plants harboring the Solanum peruvianum resistance gene were crossed with plants harboring a Sw-5 gene to generate produce plants with both TSWV resistance genes (Claim 8).
While Roselló et al 2001 teaches Solanum peruvianum genes can provide resistance to TSWV isolates on page 10 paragraph 4, it does not discuss a Sw-5 protein with at least 95% amino acid sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 11 or TSWV resistance breaking isolates containing mutation in C118Y or T120N in the non-structural movement protein.
Document US-20020062504-A1 teaches a gene which encodes a Sw-5 protein for Tospovirus resistance with 99.1% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:11 recited in claim 8 and seen below. A description of this gene and protein can be found in paragraph 22 of US-20020062504-A1.
RESULT 2
US-09-803-286A-2
Sequence 2, US/09803286A
Publication No. US20020062504A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Tanksley, Steven D.
APPLICANT: Brommonschenkel, Sergio H.
TITLE OF INVENTION: PLANT GENE CONFERRING RESISTANCE TO TOSPOVIRUSES
FILE REFERENCE: 19603/3201
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/09/803,286A
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2001-08-31
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 60/188,356
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2000-03-10
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 12
SEQ ID NO 2
LENGTH: 1247
ORGANISM: Lycopersicon var.
Query Match 99.1%; Score 6383.5; Length 1247;
Best Local Similarity 99.3%;
Matches 1238; Conservative 3; Mismatches 5; Indels 1; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 MAENEIEEMLEHLRRIKSGGDLDWLDILRIEELEMVLRVFRTFTKYNDVLLPDSLVELTK 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||
Db 1 MAENEIEEMLEHLRRIKSGGDLDWLDILRIEELEMVLRVFRTFTKYHDVLLPDSLVELTK 60
Qy 61 RAKLIGEILHRLFGRIPHKCKTNLNLERLESHLLEFFQGNTASLSHNYELNNFDLSKYMD 120
|||| ||||||: ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||
Db 61 RAKLTGEILHRVLGRIPHKCKTNLNLERLESHLLEFFQGNTASLSHNYELNDFDLSKYMD 120
Qy 121 CLENFLNDVLMMFLQKDRFFHSREQLAKHRSIKELKIVQKKIRFLKYIYATEINGYVDYE 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 CLENFLNDVLMMFLQKDRFFHSREQLAKHRSIKELKIVQKKIRFLKYIYATEINGYVDYE 180
Qy 181 KQECLENRIQFMTNTVGQYCLAVLDYVTEGKLNEENDNFSKPPYLLSLIVLVELEMKKIF 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 KQECLENRIQFMTNTVGQYCLAVLDYVTEGKLNEENDNFSKPPYLLSLIVLVELEMKKIF 240
Qy 241 HGEVKASKFTQSKTFKDKKLPKGFSHHLHNLLMYLRNKKLENFPNNIAAQNIDVAIEFLL 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 HGEVKASKFTQSKTFKDKKLPKGFSHHLHNLLMYLRNKKLENFPNNIAAQNIDVAIEFLL 300
Qy 301 VFLDADVSNHVINGNWLKKVLLKVGAIA GDILYVIQKLLPRSINKDETSNISLCSIQILE 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 VFLDADVSNHVINGNWLKKVLLKVGAIA GDILYVIQKLLPRSINKDETSNISLCSIQILE 360
Qy 361 KTKDLKAQVETYYKSLKFTPSQFPTFGGLSFLNSLLRKLNEMSTSKSGLGFLMKPLLGNL 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 KTKDLKAQVETYYKSLKFTPSQFPTFGGLSFLNSLLRKLNEMSTSKSGLGFLMKPLLGNL 420
Qy 421 EKELSSLTSILEKELSSIFRDVVHHEHNIPKDLQRRTINLSYEAEVAIDSILAQYNAFLH 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 EKELSSLTSILEKELSSIFRDVVHHEHNIPKDLQRRTINLSYEAEVAIDSILAQYNAFLH 480
Qy 481 IFCSLPTIVKEIKQINAEVTEMWSADIPLNPHYVAAPLKHLPDRHSNLVTDEEVVGFENK 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 IFCSLPTIVKEIKQINAEVTEMWSADIPLNPHYVAAPLKHLPDRHSNLVTDEEVVGFENK 540
Qy 541 AEELIDYLIRGTNELDVVPIVGMGGQGKTTIARKLYNNDIIVSRFDVRAWCIISQTYNRR 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 AEELIDYLIRGTNELDVVPIVGMGGQGKTTIARKLYNNDIIVSRFDVRAWCIISQTYNRR 600
Qy 601 ELLQDIFSQVTGSDDNGATVDVLADMLRRKLMGKRYLIVLDDMWDCMVWDDLRLSFPDDG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 ELLQDIFSQVTGSDDNGATVDVLADMLRRKLMGKRYLIVLDDMWDCMVWDDLRLSFPDDG 660
Qy 661 IRSRIVVTTRLEEVGKQVKYHTDPYSLPFLTTEESCQLLQKKVFQKEDCPPELQDVSQAV 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 IRSRIVVTTRLEEVGKQVKYHTDPYSLPFLTTEESCQLLQKKVFQKEDCPPELQDVSQAV 720
Qy 721 AEKCKGLPLVVVLVAGIIKKRKMEESWWNEVKDALFDYLDSEFEEYSLATMQLSFDNLPH 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 AEKCKGLPLVVVLVAGIIKKRKMEESWWNEVKDALFDYLDSEFEEYSLATMQLSFDNLPH 780
Qy 781 CLKPCLLYMGMFSEDARIPASTLISLWIAEGFVENTESGRLMEEEAEGYLMDLISSNLVM 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 CLKPCLLYMGMFSEDARIPASTLISLWIAEGFVENTESGRLMEEEAEGYLMDLISSNLVM 840
Qy 841 LSKRTYKGRVKYCQVHD-VVHHFCLEKSREAKFMLAVKGQYIHFQPSDWKGTRVSFSFSE 899
||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 LSKRTYKGRVKYCQVHDVVVHHFCLEKSREAKFMLAVKGQYIHFQPSDWKGTRVSFSFSE 900
Qy 900 ELSKFASLVSKTQKPFHQHLRSLITTNRAKSINDIFSCQISELRLLKVLDLSSYIVEFLS 959
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 ELSKFASLVSKTQKPFHQHLRSLITTNRAKSINDIFSCQISELRLLKVLDLSSYIVEFLS 960
Qy 960 LATFKPLNQLKYLAVQAFEFYFDPGSHLPHIETFIVMNLPYYDILLPVSFWEMKKLRHAH 1019
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 LATFKPLNQLKYLAVQAFEFYFDPGSHLPHIETFIVMNLPYYDILLPVSFWEMKKLRHAH 1020
Qy 1020 FGKAEFDKQGLSEGSSKLENLRILKNIVGFDRVDVLSRRCPNLQQLQITYFGNNEEPFCP 1079
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 FGKAEFDKQGLSEGSSKLENLRILKNIVGFDRVDVLSRRCPNLQQLQITYFGNNEEPFCP 1080
Qy 1080 KLENLTQLQQLQLSFARPRTLSGLQLPSNLNKLVLEGIHIGCVIPFIAGLPSLEYLQLHD 1139
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||| |
Db 1081 KLENLTQLQQLQLSFARPRTLSGLQLPSNLNKLVLEGIHIESVIPFIAGLPSLEYLQLQD 1140
Qy 1140 VCFPQSEEWCLGDITFHKLKLLKLVKLNISRWDVSEESFPLLETLVIKKCIDLEEIPLSF 1199
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 VCFPQSEEWCLGDITFHKLKLLKLVKLNISRWDVSEESFPLLETLVIKKCIDLEEIPLSF 1200
Qy 1200 ADIPTLEQIKLIGSWKVSLEDSAVRMKEEIKDTEGCDRLHLVKQRSD 1246
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 ADIPTLEQIKLIGSWKVSLEDSAVRMKEEIKDTEGCDRLHLVKQRSD 1247
US-20020062504-A1 does not explicitly teach resistance to TSWV resistance breaking isolates containing mutation in C118Y or T120N in the non-structural movement protein
Fidan et al 2018 demonstrates a study that identifies TSWV containing C118Y mutations as was recited in claim 5. This was described in the abstract and page 7 paragraph 2.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the information stored in NCBI’s gene bank (Huang et al 2008) with the teachings of Roselló et al 2001, US-20020062504-A1, and Fidan et al 2019 for introgressing the resistant gene from Solanum peruvianum to Solanum lycopersicum. One would have also been motivated to look for TSWV resistance genes in Solanum peruvianum (recited in claim 9) because it has continuously been a source of resistance to TSWV1. Introgression of resistance genes from an identified resistant wild tomato plant could easily be performed according to the method described by Roselló et al 2001 on page 2 paragraph 5 meaning one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 15, 17-18, and 21 encompassing a method for providing a Solanum lycopersicum plant resistance to a Tospovirus and establishing the presence of a resistance gene using markers are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al 2008 in view Roselló et al 2001.
Claim 15 and 21 as well as dependent claims 17-18 are drawn to methods of providing a Solanum lycopersicum species that is resistant to a Tospovirus, comprises the steps of: selecting a tomato plant that is resistant to Tospovirus, wherein said selection comprises establishing the presence of the resistance gene using markers described in SEQ ID NOs 5-10; transferring the identified resistance gene, genomic sequence or locus into a Solanum lycopersicum plant, followed by subsequent crossing to Solanum lycopersicum (i.e. backcrossing) thereby conferring Tospovirus resistance to said Solanum lycopersicum plant.
Regarding claim 15 which draws dependence from claims 11-12, Huang et al 2008 teaches a nucleotide sequence with at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 2-4 is already present in the Solanum lycopersicum genome and was available since 2008. See “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102” section.
Huang et al 2008 does not explicitly teach the introgression of this gene into a TSWV susceptible Solanum lycopersicum species.
Roselló et al 2001 teaches the breeding of a TSWV resistant tomato line UPV1, harboring Solanum peruvianum TSWV resistance genes and crossing it with a susceptible tomato line, NE-1, as was recited in claim 15. It also teaches the subsequent backcrossing of the progeny as was recited in claim 17. This was taught on page 2 paragraph 6. Roselló et al 2001 also discloses markers, such as SCAR markers (page 2 paragraph 1) used to track TSWV resistance genes (see also page 8 paragraph 2) as was recited in claims 18 and 21. For example, SEQ ID NO: 9 (underlined) and SEQ ID NO: 10 (highlighted) in the genomic sequence of SEQ ID NO:3 are seen below. Other regions of the sequence could have been used to track the resistance gene. Because markers are already commonly used to track TSWV resistance genes, SEQ ID NOs: 5-10 in claims 18 and 21 are mere optimizations of the method.
>SEQ ID NO: 3
gtactaatttcaagcaatcactgatcattcttgtttgcaaattactctcaacattcaacaggtaaagtaaagtattatctttgtagttgaagatagatagaaaaatttatcttctcaaaatcaattttgtgtttccttgcagatttgagaaatggagattgggttagcagttggtggtgcatttctttcctcagctttgaatgttctgtttgataggcttgctcctcacggtgatctgctcaacatgtttcggaagcacaaggatcatgttaagctcttaaagaagctggaggacattttgcttggtcttcagattgtgctaagtgatgcagagaataagcaagcatcaaatcgacacgtcagccagtggtttaataagcttcagagtgctgtggatggcgctgaaaacttgatagaacaagtcaattatgaagctttgaggcttaaggtggaaggccagcatcaaaatcttgcagaaacaagcaacaaacaagtaagtgacctcaacctgtgcttgagtgatggtttctttcgtaacataaaggataagttggaagaaaccattgaaacgttggaggtgttggaaaagcaaattggtcgccttggcttaaaggaacattttgttttgactaaacaagaaactagaacaccttcaacttctttggttgatgattctggtatctttggaaggaagaacgaaatagagaatttgattggccgtttgttgtctatggatacaaaggaaaaaaatctggctgtagttcctattgttggaatgggcggcctgggtaagacaacacttgctaaagccgtttacaatgataagagagtgcagaaacattttggtttgacagcttggttttgtgtttctgaggcatatgatgctttcagaataacaaaaggtttactccaagaaattggctcaactgacttgaaggctgatgacaatcttaatcagctacaagtcaaattgaaggaaagtttgaacggaaagaagtttcttattgttttggatgatgtgtggaatgacaattacaacgagtgggatgacttgagaaatatttttgtacaaggagatataggaagtaagatcattgtgacaacacgcaaagacagtgttgccttgatgatgggtagtggggcaatctacatgggaattctgtctaccgaagcctcttggtctttatttcaaagacatgcatttgaaaacatggatcctatgggacatccggaacttgaagaggttggaagacaaattgcagctaagtgcaaaggactgcccttagctctgaagacgctcgctggcatgttacgctccaaatcagaggttgaagagtggaaatgtattctgagaagtgaaatatgggagctgcgagacaatgacatattaccagcgttaatgttgagctacaatgatcttcccgcacatttaaagcgatgcttttctttttgtgcaatatttcctaaagattatccatttaggaaagaacaagttattcatctatggattgccaatggtcttgtacctgtggaagatgaaataattcaagatttaggcaaccaattcttcctcgagttgagttcaagatcattatttgaaagggtcccaaatccttctgaaggaaacataaaggaattattcctaatgcacgaccttgttaatgatttagcccaacttgcatcttcaaaactttgtatcaggttggaagagagccaaggatctcatatgttggaacaatgtcggcacttatcttattcaataggagttaatggtgagtttgagaaattggcacccctctacaaattggagcagctgaggacattgcttccgacatgtattagtgtcaattattgttatcaccctctaaccaagagggtgttgcataacatactgcctacactaagatccttaagggcattatcattgtcaggttatgggatgaaggagttgccaaatgacttgtttatcaaattaaagctcctcagatttttagatatttctcggacagagattaaaaggttgccagattccatttgtgtgttgtataacttagagacacttctcctttcatcttgtgatgatcttgaggagctaccgctgcagatggagaagttgattaacttgcgtcatcttgacataagcaacactaattgcttgaagaggcccctacatctgagcaggttgaaaagcctccaagtgttggtgggagccaagttttttgtaggtggttggagaatggaagatttgggtgaagcacaaaacttatatggatctctatcagttgtgaagttggaaaatgtggttgatagaagggaagctgtgaaggcaaagatgagggagaagaatcatgttgagcaattatcattggagtggagtgaaagtagtagtgccgacaattcacaaacagaaagagacatacttgatgagctacgctcacataaaaacatcaaagaagttgaaatcagtggatatagagggacaaactttccaaattgggtagctgatcctttgtttgttaagctagtgaaattgtctcttagcaactgcaagaactgttattcattgccagcactaggacaactcccttgtttgaaattcctttctattagagggatgtatggcataatagaggtgacagaagaattctatggtagtttgtcctctgaaaagccttttaactctcttaaaaggcttgaatttaaagatatgacggagtggaagcaatggcacactctaggaattggagagttccctacacttgagaacctttccattagaaattgccctgagctcagtttggagagacccatacaattttcaagtttaaaagtgtttcaagtagttggttgtccagttgtttttgatgatgctcaactgtttagatcccaacttgaggcaatgaagcagattgaggaaatatatatcagtggttgtaactctgttacctcctttccttttagcatactgccaactaccttgaagagaatagagatatctggtagcccaaaattgaaattggaggcgccagttggtgagatgtttgtggagaatttgagaatgaatgattgtggttgtgtagatgatatctcacctgagtttctcccaacagcacgtaaattgtttattcagaattgccacaacgttactaggtttttgattcctactgccactgaaactctccgtatttggaattgtgagaatgttgaaaaactatcggtggcatgtggaggagcggcccagatgaggtcactgattatttcgggatgtaagaagctcaagtgtctgccagaaaatatgcaggaactccttccatctctcaaggaactgctcctgtctgaatgtccagaaatagaaggagaattgcccttcaatttacaaaaactccatatcagaaattgcaagaaactggtgaatggccgaaaggagtggcctttacagagactcacagagttagtgatgtatcatgatgggagtgacaaagatattgaacattgggagttgccttgttctattacaagactggaggtatttaatctgataacattaagcagccaacatctcaaaagcctcacctctcttcagtatctacatattgatggtaatttatctcagattcagtcacagggccagctttcctccttttctcacctcacttcgcttcaaactctacaaatctggaatctccaatcacttgctgaatacgcactgccctcctccctctctcgcctgaccatctatgattgccctaatctccaatcactttcagaatcagcactgccctcctccctctctctcctgaacatctcctattgccctaatctccaatcacttgctgaatcagcactgccctcctccctctctcacctgaccatctcctattgccctaatctccaatcactttcagaatcagcactgccctcctccctctctcacctgaccatctacaattgccctaatctccaatcactttcagaatcagcactgccctcctccctctctaaattatctatttccaaatgtccattgctcacaccactactagaatttgacaaggaggaatactggccacaaattgctcatatccccaccataaagatcaatgaggaatatatttaacaattaaaacaaatggctctccaactgatgtaagccactcttttccctcagaagctttttatttcactttgcgtttttgttaattcttttcatttttaatcatgccgtgctagctcatcatcaaacacatagcattatatttatcctccagagagaatctaaattttttaaaggataacgatcacaagttttaggaaataagtgcaacttccattgtcacatgttatataattctatatttctcattgcatattagtttatgctcttaccgtgttttaattcacgtctcaatcgccaccatatttaatcgaaagtttttagtcctgtaatcatcaaccatcctatgtcactagaaattttgatagctaaaagaggtagacaaagaagctaaacatcttttttctttcgtatagcgaccagacaactacattttgataggtaacggctatagatatacatttgcagggtgttaatccaacgagtaagaaaatcactgtcttcagatatcttctcttgcatatacttttgtaattttaagctacattttgaactcatgtgttgttgctaacttaaacatgttttgtgcttaatcagatgtggaatttgaagagcgaatacgaaaagtctggtacatgaattgtccgtaggaaatgtttctaaggtgctgctgctattttacatctgttcccgagttcttttttttttttaatctttccactaaagctattatgtcgtccacaatgaattttcaggtttgttgttacaggcaagtctttgagatgcgactatcaaagaagggcgattacaatcagtgtacccgctgatactatttcatgtttccagtgcaagcctcttttgtaagttgacaaactcgattagttaatatgtttcggactcaactagtggttagagtactcattttgtaagacttgtgtacagaaaatcaaaatagaattataactcgtg
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang et al 2008 and Roselló et al 2001 to use markers to select for tomato’s harboring a TSWV resistance gene.2 A breeding strategy of crossing a TSWV resistance tomato line with a susceptible line followed by subsequent crossing to a recurrent Solanum lycopersicum plant would also have been obvious for the creation of a domesticated and edible tomato plant (“better agronomic traits”) with the TSWV resistance based on the teachings of Roselló et al 2001 page 2 paragraph 6. This example would also convey to one of ordinary skill in the art a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to breed for TSWV resistance would have been obvious as there is a great need to combat the disease that causes a billion dollars in losses each year3.
Claims 19-20 encompassing a method for providing a Solanum lycopersicum plant resistance to Tospovirus wherein the method comprises introducing the TSWV resistance gene that encodes the TSWV resistance protein into a genome of a susceptible tomato plant are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al 2008 in view of Qi, Shiming, et al. "Natural resources resistance to tomato spotted wilt virus (TSWV) in tomato (Solanum lycopersicum)." International journal of molecular sciences 22.20 (2021): 10978.
Claims 19-20 are drawn to method for providing a Solanum lycopersicum plant resistance to Tospovirus wherein the method comprises introducing the TSWV resistance gene that encodes for the TSWV resistance protein into a genome of a TSWV susceptible tomato plant using CRISPR Cas.
Huang et al 2008 teaches a DNA sequence with ~91% sequence similarity to SEQ ID NOs: 2-4 in the Solanum lycopersicum’s genome. Even though Huang et al 2008 does not explicitly teach the sequences of SEQ ID NO 1 in Claim 19, the polynucleotide that encodes obvious variants of SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been disclosed.
Huang et al 2008 does not explicitly teach the transformation of the gene using CRISPR Cas. However, Qi et al 2021 teaches Solanum peruvianum is a possible source of TSWV resistance on page 4 paragraph 3. It also teaches that identified virus resistance genes are commonly introduced into lines using CRISPR Cas 9 for engineered viral disease resistance on page 11 paragraph 4 (Claim 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang et al 2008 and Qi et al 2021 to introduce a resistance gene into a TSWV susceptible Solanum lycopersicum species. The strategy of introducing viral resistance genes into a susceptible plant is routinely done, as previously described in Qi et al 2021, and indicates the applicant would have a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have come from the need to combat TSWV infection in field tomatoes which leads to economic losses4.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Yang, Xiaohui, et al. "Fine mapping of the tomato yellow leaf curl virus resistance gene Ty-2 on chromosome 11 of tomato." Molecular Breeding 34.2 (2014): 749-760.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact
/GEORGE W MEYER/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/BRATISLAV STANKOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Units 1661 & 1662
1 as was taught in the first paragraph on page 5 in Kabaş, Aylin, Hakan Fidan, and M. Batuhan Demirelli. "Identification of new sources of resistance to resistance-breaking isolates of tomato spotted wilt virus." Saudi Journal of Biological Sciences 28.5 (2021): 3094-3099
2 More examples providing motivation for using markers to track TSWV resistance genes can be seen on page 2 paragraph 5 in Dianese, Erico C., et al. "Development of a locus-specific, co-dominant SCAR marker for assisted-selection of the Sw-5 (Tospovirus resistance) gene cluster in a wide range of tomato accessions." Molecular Breeding 25.1 (2010): 133-142.
3 according to Kabas et al 2021 page 1 paragraph 1
4 See Kabas et al 2021 page 1 paragraph 1